AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot - Basque Pyrenees Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot - Basque Pyrenees

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 11
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 11
Reviews Accepted: 11
Reviews Rejected: 0
11 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot - Basque Pyrenees by Lans, 8 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Basque Pyrenees to San Sebastián

In short: OUTSDANDING. 9 nights (7 days of walking) through the beautiful Navarra and the Basque Country area, ending in San Sebastian. Breathtaking scenery, challenging (for me) walking on stunning trails with few, if any, other people around. Cozy, homey accommodation and superb food. Culturally fascinating. Hondarribia and San Sebastian are knock-your-socks off beautiful. The trip was off-the-charts and I may well walk it again one day.

In short: OUTSDANDING. 9 nights (7 days of walking) through the beautiful Navarra and the Basque Country area, ending in San Sebastian. Breathtaking scenery, challenging (for me) walking on stunning trails with few, if any, other people around. Cozy, homey accommodation and superb food. Culturally fascinating. Hondarribia and San Sebastian are knock-your-socks off beautiful. The trip was off-the-charts and I may well walk it again one day.

Rating for tour operator:

I became aware of OnFoot after reading a travel article (published in 2019) in the Washington Post about their ‘Galicia – Lighthouse Way’ walk. Was immediately intrigued and booked the trip shortly thereafter. After Covid delays, in 2021 I walked the Lighthouse way and did the ‘Mallorca: Sierra de Tramuntana’ journey; both were absolutely FABULOUS. I’ve been hooked on OnFoot ever since. Besides the extremely well-planned itineraries, stunning (and challenging) walking, great accommodation, and food their service, client focus, and general competence have exceeded my expectations. I can reiterate this as I’ve now done four of their walks (added Andalucia and ‘Basque Country to San Sebastian’ walks this year). I travel on my own and OnFoot have an explicit policy of not over-charging single travelers, which I greatly appreciate. Finally, I find the trips to be extremely good value. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

On Foot - Basque Pyrenees by Becky , 6 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful 7 days of walking in the Basque Pyrenees

My husband and I love self guided walks, having someone else tend to the details. Our 7 day itinerary took us out in the Basque farming country staying in quaint villages where we experienced delicious food, and friendly people. Our last day took us down to the sea along a ridge where we had the most spectacular views. We experienced blue skies everyday and our holiday was perfect

My husband and I love self guided walks, having someone else tend to the details. Our 7 day itinerary took us out in the Basque farming country staying in quaint villages where we experienced delicious food, and friendly people. Our last day took us down to the sea along a ridge where we had the most spectacular views. We experienced blue skies everyday and our holiday was perfect

Rating for tour operator:

This is our second trip with On Foot Holidays and they pay attention to every detail from the time of booking to the very end of the tour. The hiking notes and GPS were very accurate and we always had a local contact that was readily available if needed. The staff is very professional and knowledge about the tours that they offer. They actually walk the routes and have firsthand experience of the trails and the accommodations. We have already booked our third trip with them because we know we will be in good hands!

On Foot - Basque Pyrenees by KT, 18 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful holiday in Basque Country

We did 5 days of walking in Basque Country and then 2 days eating and relaxing in San Sebastian. A beautiful and relaxing holiday.

We did 5 days of walking in Basque Country and then 2 days eating and relaxing in San Sebastian. A beautiful and relaxing holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays is so helpful and responsive-they couldn't be better!

On Foot - Basque Pyrenees by jzdean, 18 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Basque Pyrenees route

This is a great route, unique to On Foot, with not many other walkers. Each day sends you up and over the foothills of the Pyrenees to the next charming village. The lodging is always comfortable and food especially good in the Basque Country. This walk is an excellent introduction to the rural side of the Basque region.

This is a great route, unique to On Foot, with not many other walkers. Each day sends you up and over the foothills of the Pyrenees to the next charming village. The lodging is always comfortable and food especially good in the Basque Country. This walk is an excellent introduction to the rural side of the Basque region.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second walk arranged by On Foot. Coming out of Covid, we would not have gone with any other agency. The GPS files and app worked very well. And On Foot's local contact was of immense help when we found our path blocked by fences on Day 1.

On Foot - Basque Pyrenees by jules, 8 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

walking in the basque-pyranees- such a joy!

on foot holidays provided an itinerary that met all our needs- we felt very supported though the booking process, and especially in country with a local contact that gave us all the reassurance we needed that this was going to be fabulous. The routes chosen were excellent, with a great variety of terrain from mountain to sea, but with so much more, the accommodation was varied -full of local charm, history and we were made so welcome everywhere...

on foot holidays provided an itinerary that met all our needs- we felt very supported though the booking process, and especially in country with a local contact that gave us all the reassurance we needed that this was going to be fabulous. The routes chosen were excellent, with a great variety of terrain from mountain to sea, but with so much more, the accommodation was varied -full of local charm, history and we were made so welcome everywhere. Highlights included, wildlife, spectacular trails, food, vistas, and friendliness of all we met.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided an easy to navigate web site with wide range of self guided walking holidays, they supported us through-out or holiday- indeed prior to its start, in helping us with choosing range of routs/ accommodation, transfer advice, and information that only added to our enjoyment of the whole region.

On Foot - Basque Pyrenees by Russell, 28 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic walking holiday in the Basque Pyrenees

We enjoyed 7 days of glorious walking, starting off in picturesque hillside villages, navigating stunning mountain ridges with panoramic views, before finishing by the sea at San Sebastian. The routes were really well designed and we enjoyed the variety of very comfortable accommodation en route, as well as the food, wine and Basque hospitality.

We enjoyed 7 days of glorious walking, starting off in picturesque hillside villages, navigating stunning mountain ridges with panoramic views, before finishing by the sea at San Sebastian. The routes were really well designed and we enjoyed the variety of very comfortable accommodation en route, as well as the food, wine and Basque hospitality.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our 4th successive year with On Foot Holidays - we can completely rely on them to provide great walking routes, clear navigation instructions and fully vetted, comfortable accommodation. In addition, a local contact is available to provide any guidance if necessary.

On Foot - Basque Pyrenees by Al, 26 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Possibly the best walking holiday we have ever had

This was a 7 night medium/hard self guided walking holiday in the Basque Pyrenees. We were a party of 6 and walked every day with our luggage being carried forward to each new accommodation. We walked through oak and chestnut forests, did some long, steep and difficult ascents and descents, passing through wonderful scenery and with incredible views. All the lovely places to stay were organised by On Foot Holidays. We ate well and slept well.

This was a 7 night medium/hard self guided walking holiday in the Basque Pyrenees. We were a party of 6 and walked every day with our luggage being carried forward to each new accommodation. We walked through oak and chestnut forests, did some long, steep and difficult ascents and descents, passing through wonderful scenery and with incredible views. All the lovely places to stay were organised by On Foot Holidays. We ate well and slept well.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the second time we have walked with On Foot Holidays and the walks get better each time. They organise everything so well. They have a local Spanish expert who devised many of their Spanish walks and who keeps in close touch with us each evening, telling us about the weather ahead and giving us advice on the next stage of the walk. This is an invaluable service.

On Foot - Basque Pyrenees by Lovetohike, 16 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Basque Pyrenees

A challenging hiking holiday through the Basque country of Spain onto the Atlantic Coast. Great villages, people, views AND wine!

A challenging hiking holiday through the Basque country of Spain onto the Atlantic Coast. Great villages, people, views AND wine!

Rating for tour operator:

Attentive to questions both quickly and thoroughly. Excellent support along the way.

On Foot - Basque Pyrenees by B&J, 8 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Basque Pyrenees, 4 days, 5 nights, 6th and 7th night in San See

We had a wonderful time. On Foot did a great job, both from headquarters and locally. The route was spectacular and varied, the accommodations and food superb. We thoroughly enjoyed it and STRONGLY RECOMMEND this trip to others.

We had a wonderful time. On Foot did a great job, both from headquarters and locally. The route was spectacular and varied, the accommodations and food superb. We thoroughly enjoyed it and STRONGLY RECOMMEND this trip to others.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot provided perfect maps, GPX route tracking, and remote and on site assistance. Could not have been better!

On Foot - Basque Pyrenees by Denileem, 7 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Basking in the Basque Pyrenees

The Basque Pyrenees Walk encompasses culture, history, a unique language, stunning countryside, friendly locals, regional food and wine, an interesting variety of accommodation, abundant wildlife, accurate route notes and importantly the most amazing local contact in Aznar who could not have been more helpful. We loved this walk from the peace and tranquillity of Ziga on Day 1 to the hype of San Sebastian at the end.

The Basque Pyrenees Walk encompasses culture, history, a unique language, stunning countryside, friendly locals, regional food and wine, an interesting variety of accommodation, abundant wildlife, accurate route notes and importantly the most amazing local contact in Aznar who could not have been more helpful. We loved this walk from the peace and tranquillity of Ziga on Day 1 to the hype of San Sebastian at the end.

Rating for tour operator:

Faultless from the start. Great comms via email throughout process, local contact Aznar was exemplary - supportive and very helpful especially on the 2 days we could not walk due to rain, the route notes easy to read and possibly the most accurate we have experienced over 10 walks with 5 different walking companies. Background information was comprehensive, travel tips were also comprehensive and relevant. Could not fault the service received from On Foot at all.