AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Equestrian Escapes

Ride in the sun close to Lisbon Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ride in the sun close to Lisbon

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 8
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 8
Reviews Accepted: 8
Reviews Rejected: 0
8 reviews
Sort by:
Ride in the sun close to Lisbon by Janine, 18 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

A seamless holiday experience

I and a friend had five days of riding (lessons and hacks) in Portugal in the region north of Lisbon, on Lucitano horses. The instructor tailored the lessons to us since we are novice riders and we gained hugely from the close attention, honesty, humour and kindness of our instructor. We were taken out for lunches and dinners to places we might never have found for ourselves - a real taste of local Portuguese cuisine. The whole experience ...

I and a friend had five days of riding (lessons and hacks) in Portugal in the region north of Lisbon, on Lucitano horses. The instructor tailored the lessons to us since we are novice riders and we gained hugely from the close attention, honesty, humour and kindness of our instructor. We were taken out for lunches and dinners to places we might never have found for ourselves - a real taste of local Portuguese cuisine. The whole experience was magical.

Rating for tour operator:

From the initial conversation to booking the whole holiday took a matter of a few hours. The planning was so simple - Equestrian Escapes had done all the hard work. All we had to do was pack our jodhpurs, turn up and enjoy ourselves. I felt that Lindsey at Equestrian Escapes understood our interests and needs, and she suggested a plan that worked perfectly for us.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 18 Jan 2018:

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your holiday, it means more than you could imagine to everyone involved!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 18 Jan 2018:

Thank you again we do try really hard with everyone who calls us to offer heartfelt and honest guidance to ensure that they enjoy a really exceptional horse riding holiday.

Ride in the sun close to Lisbon by Kerry, 1 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

4 days in Constancia

Absolutely brilliant holiday, can not wait to return! Antonio, his family and Ingrid could not have been more welcoming and hospitable. Everything from the moment I enquired about the trip to getting off the plane and returning again was seamless. Equestrian Escapes were very helpful in finding me the right trip to suit a solo traveller and Antonio did a great job showing us the sights of Portugal and teaching us well! Horses are beautiful ...

Absolutely brilliant holiday, can not wait to return! Antonio, his family and Ingrid could not have been more welcoming and hospitable. Everything from the moment I enquired about the trip to getting off the plane and returning again was seamless. Equestrian Escapes were very helpful in finding me the right trip to suit a solo traveller and Antonio did a great job showing us the sights of Portugal and teaching us well! Horses are beautiful and well bred and perfect weather topped it all off. As a solo traveller I was worried about being alone, but was well looked after by both the travel opperator and the riding school. Well recommended by me!

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and friendly, quick to respond to emails and questions and very professional.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 01 Sep 2017:

We love Antonio too - his feedback this year has been unbelievable!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 01 Sep 2017:

Thank you we try really hard to find a perfect holiday for our horsey soul mates!

Ride in the sun close to Lisbon by LTR, 17 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Pure bliss

I just wanted to say a massive thank you to Equestrian Escapes for an amazing trip to Portugal I have recently been on. Antonio and his wife are outstanding hosts and the horses were amazing to ride! The hotel with Ingrid was also perfect and made for an altogether perfect few days… my only issue being that I didn’t book to stay for long enough! I will be 100% be booking with Equestrian Escapes on a regular basis and am trying to work ...

I just wanted to say a massive thank you to Equestrian Escapes for an amazing trip to Portugal I have recently been on. Antonio and his wife are outstanding hosts and the horses were amazing to ride! The hotel with Ingrid was also perfect and made for an altogether perfect few days… my only issue being that I didn’t book to stay for long enough! I will be 100% be booking with Equestrian Escapes on a regular basis and am trying to work out dates to be able to go back to Portugal before the end of the year!

Rating for tour operator:

I found the tour operator to be incredibly easy to contact and always on hand to answer any questions I had about the holidays they had - there were a lot of questions!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 17 Jul 2017:

Please come back again! Portugal has had the most amazing reviews this year.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 17 Jul 2017:

Thank you, we are always striving to go the extra mile to ensure that we have happy customers.

Ride in the sun close to Lisbon by GM, 9 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic riding holiday just North of Lisbon

After a break of a few years I discussed with Sarah what were the best options for me and the few days I had to take a break. After thinking about it I went for a 3 day break at Ride and Escape just north of Lisbon, Portugal. The team at Equestrian Escapes were excellent and organised. They advised on many aspects even the recommendation to take the train back to Lisbon - I did and it was the right choice! As for the holiday a definite 5 stars...

After a break of a few years I discussed with Sarah what were the best options for me and the few days I had to take a break. After thinking about it I went for a 3 day break at Ride and Escape just north of Lisbon, Portugal. The team at Equestrian Escapes were excellent and organised. They advised on many aspects even the recommendation to take the train back to Lisbon - I did and it was the right choice! As for the holiday a definite 5 stars. The stables, instruction and horses were fabulous. Antonio was an great instructor plus the rides out in the river or in the hills were amazing. The pictures you see are exactly what you do I've got my pictures of myself with a splashing grey horse! In 3 lessons I felt an improvement and anyone would benefit regardless of your riding level. Antonio and his wife Marisa took us to different local restaurants for lunch and dinner. We learnt a lot about horses and history of the area. The accommodation with Ingrid and Hans is excellent just a 5 minute walk from the stables. Nothing is too much trouble for them. One of the reasons I chose here was Sarah and the team plus all the repeat visits Antonio's clients make I now understand why!

Rating for tour operator:

Organised, friendly and extremely honest and helpful. They listened to what your riding ability was and advised. They also took into account where you wanted to go. Their match for me was spot on. Thank you!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 09 Jul 2017:

Thank you Gwen for your kind words we are all passionate about riding and horses here and we try our hardest to match customers with their perfect equestrian break.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 09 Jul 2017:

Having just finished riding 3 horses myself this morning it was delightful to come in and read this feedback. I am passionate about training and believe that everyone can aspire to ride with more confidence and style and form that precious bond with a horse that life has so generously allowed us to share this planet with!!

Ride in the sun close to Lisbon by Andar De, 19 May 2017
Holiday Rating:

Great time horse riding in Portugal with Equestrian Escapes

Fantastic mix of really exciting hacking, including through the local town with a splash in the river, with in depth and informative lessons delivered by the owner who has more than 30 years of experience and always seemed to push us to just exactly the right level. The horses are beautifully presented and very well mannered. They have buttons to push that I did not know existed. Their lateral work was to die for, if we applied the correct ...

Fantastic mix of really exciting hacking, including through the local town with a splash in the river, with in depth and informative lessons delivered by the owner who has more than 30 years of experience and always seemed to push us to just exactly the right level. The horses are beautifully presented and very well mannered. They have buttons to push that I did not know existed. Their lateral work was to die for, if we applied the correct aids, the horses instantly responded. The owner personally takes you out for the lunches and more impressively to dinner every night as some wonderful places. We have had the best fun trying out his recommended Portuguese dishes. We have already booked to return which is very unusual for us.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used this company 4 times now and on every occasion they have delivered everything asked of them. Very friendly to interact with. They recommended our Portugal holiday only after a lengthy discussion as to our riding abilities and what we wanted from our holidays. They were very impressive when they helped us out after our flights were delayed. They ensured that the riding stables were kept informed as to our tardy progress across Europe. I would be very happy to recommend them to anyone looking for a riding holiday.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 19 May 2017:

This is a perfect summary of this holiday - thank you for that!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 19 May 2017:

Many thanks, Lindsey and I and now Matt and Chessy put 100% effort into our holidays. The best bit is when we get some praise like this, so thank you again, we really appreciate it.

Ride in the sun close to Lisbon by Ian, 14 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Riding fabulous horses at fabulous stables

Spent a week riding Lusitano horses under the instruction of Antonio. Well trained horses with expert guidance from our instructor. Improved our riding skills greatly. The accommodation was excellent and Antonio took us to great dining places each, including at a medieval festival nearby. We have already booked to go back again in 3 months time.

Spent a week riding Lusitano horses under the instruction of Antonio. Well trained horses with expert guidance from our instructor. Improved our riding skills greatly. The accommodation was excellent and Antonio took us to great dining places each, including at a medieval festival nearby. We have already booked to go back again in 3 months time.

Rating for tour operator:

Equestrian Escapes made sure that all of the arrangements worked for us.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 14 Jun 2016:

Thank you so much for the great review; Antonio is doing a wonderful job for us. His attention to detail is exceptional, we cant wait to go back to ride his lovely horses.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 14 Jun 2016:

We rode there in January this year and loved it - in fact we nearly brought one of the horses home with us!!!

Ride in the sun close to Lisbon by Gill, 14 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Could not be bettered

My daughter , grand daughter and I gravelled on Easter Saturday to Portugal for a 5 day riding holiday, I was a non rider. We were met at the airport and taken to lunch with another couple who were also on holiday. Every day the girls had 2 hours riding and an hour lesson in the afternoon. Every lunch and evening we were taken out to a local restaurant for lunch. Mostly a different restaurant every day. Antonio's wife mostly accompanied ...

My daughter , grand daughter and I gravelled on Easter Saturday to Portugal for a 5 day riding holiday, I was a non rider. We were met at the airport and taken to lunch with another couple who were also on holiday. Every day the girls had 2 hours riding and an hour lesson in the afternoon. Every lunch and evening we were taken out to a local restaurant for lunch. Mostly a different restaurant every day. Antonio's wife mostly accompanied him , so it was like a family outing. The local village had a festival on and we enjoyed the music and the stalls, with fireworks on the Monday.This helped to make it special

Rating for tour operator:

Equestrian Escapes were very helpful, , any query by email was dealt with promptly . Nothing was too much trouble.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 14 Apr 2016:

We cannot recommend Ride in the Sun in Portugal highly enough, the accommodation overlooks a stunning valley, the horses are the most beautiful Lusitanos and eating out in different restaurants everyday gives you the authentic 'taste' of Portugal. We couldn't agree more with you it is impossible to better this short break!!!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 14 Apr 2016:

Many thanks, we work really hard to make sure that the programmes we offer are absolutely first class!

Ride in the sun close to Lisbon by Duke box, 24 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

The place were dreams are made

Myself and a friend booked our holiday through equestrian escapes and we really have had the time of our lives, the horses couldn't be better cared for and was very happy in their work. Our host in Portugal was the owner of the riding centre and he really couldn't do enough for us. He was very knowledgeable in all areas of riding, he gave us some interesting techniques to use at home with our own horses. Sarah and Lindsey at equestrian escapes ...

Myself and a friend booked our holiday through equestrian escapes and we really have had the time of our lives, the horses couldn't be better cared for and was very happy in their work. Our host in Portugal was the owner of the riding centre and he really couldn't do enough for us. He was very knowledgeable in all areas of riding, he gave us some interesting techniques to use at home with our own horses. Sarah and Lindsey at equestrian escapes were extremely helpful making our whole holiday run very smoothly and successful. We are with out a doubt retuning next year. If your thinking of going on a horse riding holiday equestrian escapes are amazing. Thank you so much for an amazing adventure

Rating for tour operator:

Sarah and Lindsey at equestrian escapes were extremely helpful making our whole holiday run very smoothly and successful. We are with out a doubt retuning next year. If your thinking of going on a horse riding holiday equestrian escapes are amazing. Thank you so much for an amazing adventure

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 26 Jan 2016:

Thank you for writing we love this ride too; the horses are brilliant and the instruction and riding out is first class and that's before we get talking about the accommodation and meals.....lunch and dinner at different restaurants every day....heaven!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 26 Jan 2016:

Thanks again we really do try our very best to only offer first class breaks, places where we want to spend our own holidays!