AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Portugal Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Portugal

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 20
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 21
Reviews Accepted: 21
Reviews Rejected: 0
21 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Kate, 19 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Unique and enjoyable holiday walking through stunning countryside with the comfort of great directions and organisation.

Our walking holiday in Northern Portugal was everything we hoped it would be. The tour was well put together and extremely well executed by the UK and local operators. We were given extensive and comprehensive information to cover all eventualities and the organisation was excellent. We would definitely use this company again and recommend them to friend and family.

Our walking holiday in Northern Portugal was everything we hoped it would be. The tour was well put together and extremely well executed by the UK and local operators. We were given extensive and comprehensive information to cover all eventualities and the organisation was excellent. We would definitely use this company again and recommend them to friend and family.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient, friendly and organised.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Scut, 7 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Walking in the hill country of Peneda-Geres, Northern Portugal.

Self guided walking holiday in beautiful Northern Portugal. A wonderful holiday experience in a magical part of Portugal, unspoilt and truly dramatic scenery and friendly hospitality shown by the locals.

Self guided walking holiday in beautiful Northern Portugal. A wonderful holiday experience in a magical part of Portugal, unspoilt and truly dramatic scenery and friendly hospitality shown by the locals.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used On Foot several times before and are completely satisfied with their services. They take utmost care in the planning of the walks, the accommodation and the provision of general background information necessary for your travel in your country of choice. They know the people providing the accommodation, and have people on the ground in that country who are available should you require their help. Although it must be a large business they have the critical ability to keep the personal touch and ensure that you are looked after very well after a hard days walking. They take customer satisfaction as top priority and look for suggestions and comments to enhance future customer experiences.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by VinhoWalker, 16 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful week walking off the beaten track in Northern Portugal

Remote walking between sleepy villages in Northern Portugal - wild horses, wild swimming, good wine and characterful local accommodation.

Remote walking between sleepy villages in Northern Portugal - wild horses, wild swimming, good wine and characterful local accommodation.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with On Foot several times now, and they are always a pleasure to deal with. Their service is excellent, comprehensive and personal. Heartily recommended.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Kate, 17 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant walking holiday in Portugal

Absolutely amazing walking holiday in unspoilt Northern Portugal! Beautiful villages, stunning scenery and delicious food. It's very hard to beat a lovely walk in gorgeous scenery, followed by an evening in a quiet village with only the odd cow passing along the road for traffic and enjoying good food, good wine and good company!

Absolutely amazing walking holiday in unspoilt Northern Portugal! Beautiful villages, stunning scenery and delicious food. It's very hard to beat a lovely walk in gorgeous scenery, followed by an evening in a quiet village with only the odd cow passing along the road for traffic and enjoying good food, good wine and good company!

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was organised quickly and efficiently by the extremely friendly and helpful staff of On-Foot both at the office in England and on the ground in Portugal. I particularly appreciated being able to talk to them about the walk before we booked as one of our party has quite severe vertigo and it was great to be able to chat through the walk with someone who had done it recently in order to ensure this wouldn't be a problem. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them, from ensuring allergies were catered for, to adding a last minute addition at very short notice. Would strongly recommend. This was my 3rd holiday with them and I know I will be back!

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Dr J S 15, 17 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

a well organised and enjoyable walk in Portugal

On Foot has planned a wonderful walk in the northern Portuguese hills with charming local hotels; well catered with local produce and wine. Interesting to be in rural un-touristed areas with outstanding scenery and friendly people.

On Foot has planned a wonderful walk in the northern Portuguese hills with charming local hotels; well catered with local produce and wine. Interesting to be in rural un-touristed areas with outstanding scenery and friendly people.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and really well organised and supportive. They have planned and set up unusual walks through out Europe; I have used their holidays before and continue to be impressed with their imaginative walking tours and their excellent communication

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by AlanNancy, 14 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Portugal: Walking the wild hill country

We booked our holiday with OnFoot Holidays of Salisbury, England. Starting at Soajo with a circular walk, then walking to Lindoso, Brufe, Campo do Geres, Emaus, and Santa Maria de Bouro. We were enchanted by the scenery in the hill country. Most days, we did not see another person, or hear a motor vehicle, only bird-song, and cow bells. It was delightful.

We booked our holiday with OnFoot Holidays of Salisbury, England. Starting at Soajo with a circular walk, then walking to Lindoso, Brufe, Campo do Geres, Emaus, and Santa Maria de Bouro. We were enchanted by the scenery in the hill country. Most days, we did not see another person, or hear a motor vehicle, only bird-song, and cow bells. It was delightful.

Rating for tour operator:

OnFoot's arrangements were excellent, and we loved the B&B's at which we stayed. The routes are well designed so as to be scenically varied, and challenging but "do-able" within the normal hours of daylight. If a day's route is longer than usual, the route instructions will detail "short cuts". This is the fifth walk that we have done with OnFoot, and we have always found their maps and route instructions to be detailed and excellent. Their instructions give the name of a person whom one can telephone if one needs help or advice. We would recommend OnFoot to anyone contemplating trying a walking holiday for the first time.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Dr N D 15, 8 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Walking in northern Portugal

Hotel to hotel with luggage transferred by car. Wonderful countryside great food and some stunning accomodation in a rarely visited area. We didn't see the wolves but were assured they were there. On foot provided their usual high quality service. Tough but very rewarding walking. Recommended without reservation

Hotel to hotel with luggage transferred by car. Wonderful countryside great food and some stunning accomodation in a rarely visited area. We didn't see the wolves but were assured they were there. On foot provided their usual high quality service. Tough but very rewarding walking. Recommended without reservation

Rating for tour operator:

We have walked with them 5 years in a row and will do so next year. They are professional and very helpful with very reasonable prices.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by GW, 10 May 2014
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic holiday with varied walking, beautiful scenery - an opportunity to see a part of Europe we had not visited before

We so enjoyed our holiday. All the arrangements made by "On Foot" went like clockwork. We loved the places that had been chosen for us to stay in for our trip. This was a part of Europe we had not visited before and the trip was carefully planned so that we saw quite a bit of Northern Portugal from Oporto (city life) to very rural parts of the Penedes Geres (National Park). The walking went very well with great directions and beautiful scenery...

We so enjoyed our holiday. All the arrangements made by "On Foot" went like clockwork. We loved the places that had been chosen for us to stay in for our trip. This was a part of Europe we had not visited before and the trip was carefully planned so that we saw quite a bit of Northern Portugal from Oporto (city life) to very rural parts of the Penedes Geres (National Park). The walking went very well with great directions and beautiful scenery. We had a chance to try lots of local food - dishes we had not come accross before which were delicious. We found the people we met in the hotels, guest houses and restaurants friendly and helpful. The holiday was perfect with a good mix of exercise and relaxation.The weather was perfect of walking.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our third holiday with "On Foot" and as usual the holiday arrangements went like clockwork. "On Foot" were very helpful and considerate in helping planning the trip with us, making the arrangements and ensuring we had all the information we would need for the trip. "On Foot" always answer any emails/correspondence in such a friendly and yet efficient way. When talking with any member of staff at "On Foot" they all are very knowledgable about the holidays they plan. When visiting Northern Portugal it was obvious that "On Foot" and their local representative are well known and liked. "On Foot" are meticulous in getting feedback in order to continually improve things for future travellers.We have great confidence in this company and plan to go with "On Foot" for another walking holiday in the future

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Al, 7 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Hiking in Northern Portugal

In September 2013 my wife and I did a "On Foot Holidays" seven day hike in the hill country of Peneda-Geres Portugal. On Foot Holidays provided us with detailed trail maps, trail notes, and directions for transportation to the start point. They arranged lodging, transport of our luggage and provided us with local contact.

In September 2013 my wife and I did a "On Foot Holidays" seven day hike in the hill country of Peneda-Geres Portugal. On Foot Holidays provided us with detailed trail maps, trail notes, and directions for transportation to the start point. They arranged lodging, transport of our luggage and provided us with local contact.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays does a wonderful job of planning independent hiking vacations in a number of countries and locations. They do a very complete job of taking care of all the details so that their clients have an enjoyable and trouble free hiking vacation. They are a pleasure to work with. We have enjoyed On Foot Vacations in France, Spain and most recently Portugal.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by francierhine, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Interesting and beautiful walking in a little known area of Portugal

This was our fifth holiday with On Foot - we really like their formula of self guided walking in little known areas of Europe. This time we went to NE Portugal which was very beautiful and the people were very friendly. Food was excellent and amazingly good value. As usual the walking instructions were first class and On Foot always manage to find interesting and unusual accommodation away from the tourist hordes. We booked independently ...

This was our fifth holiday with On Foot - we really like their formula of self guided walking in little known areas of Europe. This time we went to NE Portugal which was very beautiful and the people were very friendly. Food was excellent and amazingly good value. As usual the walking instructions were first class and On Foot always manage to find interesting and unusual accommodation away from the tourist hordes. We booked independently a hotel in Porto where we stayed for a few days after the walking holiday. We also like the fact that it is possible to 'customise' an On Foot holiday according to your own interests and budget.

Rating for tour operator:

It's great that at On Foot you always speak to a real live person who is in incredibly well informed on the holidays and can answer all your queries - that's quite rare these days. Their pre holiday information is first class and includes restaurant recommendations , shortening options for the walks, public transport., historical background to the area etc. etc. Their product is also as far as I can see pretty much unique - we will certainly be taking another holiday with them.