AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Portugal Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Portugal

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 26
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 27
Reviews Accepted: 27
Reviews Rejected: 0
27 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Helen, 4 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Getting to know the little-known.

Wonderful walking in a revelatory landscape - northern Portugal, largely in its national park. The walking routes were satisfyingly challenging, the sights and sounds and smells a joy for the senses, the people we met hospitable and kind, the places we stayed characterful and excellent. Oh, and the food and wine were great too!

Wonderful walking in a revelatory landscape - northern Portugal, largely in its national park. The walking routes were satisfyingly challenging, the sights and sounds and smells a joy for the senses, the people we met hospitable and kind, the places we stayed characterful and excellent. Oh, and the food and wine were great too!

Rating for tour operator:

This was our third trip with On Foot, and we cannot stop singing their praises. Utterly professional but also friendly and supremely helpful. Their love of sharing their joy of walking shines through, and the package they provide (walk routes and maps, accommodation, background information and support throughout the holiday) is absolutely brilliant. We feel in the safest of hands with On Foot.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Pugwash, 27 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Self guided walking in North Portugal

Self guided walking in North Portugal with On Foot Travel - walking the old roman road between ancient villages

Self guided walking in North Portugal with On Foot Travel - walking the old roman road between ancient villages

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot travel is supremely well organised, personable and did such a great job managing the pandemic

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by JosefinaLaViajera, 18 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Adventurous, invigorating, informative and a much needed breath of fresh air

We walked the Soajo to Santa Maria Do Bouro route through the Penede-Geres National Park in North-West Portugal. It was a 6 day self-guided walking holiday booked through On Foot Holidays

We walked the Soajo to Santa Maria Do Bouro route through the Penede-Geres National Park in North-West Portugal. It was a 6 day self-guided walking holiday booked through On Foot Holidays

Rating for tour operator:

They are a small, friendly tour operator. Their attention to detail is phenomenal. This is the third holiday we have booked through them, and each time the experience has more than lived up to expectations.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by VerySatisfied, 12 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

High quality support

A walking holiday in northern Portugal. The route was well planned, including varied topography and landscape. The hotel accommodation was of good quality. The support provided, in difficult times, both before and during the holiday itself, was of high quality. We were able to enjoy ourselves without worries.

A walking holiday in northern Portugal. The route was well planned, including varied topography and landscape. The hotel accommodation was of good quality. The support provided, in difficult times, both before and during the holiday itself, was of high quality. We were able to enjoy ourselves without worries.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided a great deal of personalised support. Because they have a local contact they were able to advise us about how to organised covid tests in Porto before our return. In addition, they had passed on to hotel operators in advance the information that we are vegetarian. This was a high level of customer service.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Hollie, 6 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

A superb holiday walking in stunning scenery in a hidden corner of Portugal

We did a 7 day self guided walking holiday in northern Portugal Our luggage was transported to a new hotel every day. All the hotels we stayed in were small, family owned and very characterful. The walks were all very beautiful in stunning scenery and off the beaten track. We couldn’t have wished for more

We did a 7 day self guided walking holiday in northern Portugal Our luggage was transported to a new hotel every day. All the hotels we stayed in were small, family owned and very characterful. The walks were all very beautiful in stunning scenery and off the beaten track. We couldn’t have wished for more

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot holidays were superb from booking process to after we got back. We had booked when Portugal was on the green list when it changed to Amber we decided we would still go. On Foot were incredibly supportive and completely flexible in allowing us to change our minds at any point. We could phone with any number of questions and they were very happy to go out of their way to help. It was a very personal service. All the arrangements on holiday went very smoothly and we were given all the information we could need.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Pandi Walkers, 16 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely Fabulous walking holiday! Fantastic organisation, support and walking route and accommodations

3 day walking holiday in national park in Northern Portugal. We had 4 overnight stays in small /tiny villages. The scenery was magnificent - we saw virtually no other walkers and the locals in the villages could not be nicer.

3 day walking holiday in national park in Northern Portugal. We had 4 overnight stays in small /tiny villages. The scenery was magnificent - we saw virtually no other walkers and the locals in the villages could not be nicer.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent support in every way from start to end of holiday. Even the local who collected us from the airport and returned us there was delightful

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Davo, 7 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A charmingly rustic and very beautiful walk

Well planned itinerary with beautiful accommodation. Comprehensive tour notes. Excellent support at all stages of the walk.

Well planned itinerary with beautiful accommodation. Comprehensive tour notes. Excellent support at all stages of the walk.

Rating for tour operator:

Answered all questions promptly and readily contactable.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Diane, 7 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Adventurous, interesting and fun.

Self guided walking, staying in different accomodation and meeting new people. Northern Portugal is an interesting and scenic area and we loved staying in small villages and eating some good food.

Self guided walking, staying in different accomodation and meeting new people. Northern Portugal is an interesting and scenic area and we loved staying in small villages and eating some good food.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and thorough. Felt very safe and that we could ask questions and for help. We were treated as individuals.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Happily Anonymous, 13 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Meticulously organised, very enjoyable, fabulous landscapes

Self-guided walking holiday in a national park in northern Portugal with On Foot holidays. A beautifully planned route with an interesting range of places to stay.

Self-guided walking holiday in a national park in northern Portugal with On Foot holidays. A beautifully planned route with an interesting range of places to stay.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot were outstanding. Firstly, the range of holidays they offer and the options (length, etc) within each holiday. Secondly for the quality of the holiday and the support (eg local support person) available during the holiday. But principally for their helpfulness from the very first contact - quick to reply to emails, offering help in person (with using GPS, in my case) and additional instructions. Always friendly and able to give as much time as you might need.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Bernardo, 31 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Superb self-guided walking holiday in northern Portugal with On Foot Holidays.

I'm a 50-something Australian and I took two teenage nephews on their first overseas holiday: a five-night self-guided walk in rural northern Portugual. The program was especially tailored for us by On Foot Holidays (OFH) so as to get the best dining options en route. It was a truly marvellous experience, right from the time the OFH driver picked us up in Porto to take us to the starting point, to the last night in a beautiful monastery that ...

I'm a 50-something Australian and I took two teenage nephews on their first overseas holiday: a five-night self-guided walk in rural northern Portugual. The program was especially tailored for us by On Foot Holidays (OFH) so as to get the best dining options en route. It was a truly marvellous experience, right from the time the OFH driver picked us up in Porto to take us to the starting point, to the last night in a beautiful monastery that is now a pousada (luxury hotel). The walks were beautiful, the OFH hosts in each village were friendly and welcoming, the accommodation was clean and comfortable and the meals provided were very generous. This is a wonderful way to see the greenest, most beautiful and yet least known part of Portugal and to experience the traditional village life. It was our first walking holiday but it definitely won't be the last. It was a wonderful break from the rush and stress of the modern world, and a great way to immerse yourself in the wonders of nature.

Rating for tour operator:

I was very impressed with On Foot Holidays. They are very organised, they supply all the information you need well in advance: not just the practical stuff (paper maps, waterproof folders, digital maps, very detailed directions for your self-guided walk, emergency contact details, and outlines of what to expect of each day's route etc) but also interesting historical and cultural background information so that you have a good sense of the region before you arrive. Their on-gound staff in Portugal (the drivers, the hosts in each village) are helpful, multilingual, and very familiar with the OFH product. The main local contact and route designer Paul Burton kept in touch regularly both before the start and during the walk, sent us weather updates and alerts, and very kindly came to join us for breakfast one morning midway through the trip, which was great. Bascially, On Foot Holidays are very organised, very thorough and efficient, but a very personal one too - you don't feel like a number, you feel like you have a personal mentor, which is comforting if - as it was in our case - it happens to be your first walking/hiking holiday. In all sincerity I give On Foot Holidays10 out of 10.