AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Portugal Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Portugal

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 39
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 40
Reviews Accepted: 40
Reviews Rejected: 0
40 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Slinglow, 25 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Northern Portugal

A walking tour in beautiful Portuguese countryside, staying at different locations

A walking tour in beautiful Portuguese countryside, staying at different locations

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot holidays have dedicated staff who go out of their way to ensure you have a fantastic experience while being looked after by them and their local contacts

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Chasey, 15 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Walking in Northern Portugal

Despite torrential rain most days, we had a glorious 10 days in a part of Portugal that we have long wanted to see. Walking through this beautiful area was the perfect pace for an immersive experience.

Despite torrential rain most days, we had a glorious 10 days in a part of Portugal that we have long wanted to see. Walking through this beautiful area was the perfect pace for an immersive experience.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled twice with On Foot and find them to be utterly devoted to what they do so well. They are a conscientious team who plan walking tours which feel off the beaten track but also full of local flavours and colours. We also appreciate the independence they give us - as if we'd planned the walk ourselves.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Betsy, 5 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring rural Portugal

We recently completed a walking trip that took us through small villages in north-western Portugal in October. The route began in Soajo and took us through the Peneda-Geres National Park and on the Roman road. to Santa Maria de Bouro.

We recently completed a walking trip that took us through small villages in north-western Portugal in October. The route began in Soajo and took us through the Peneda-Geres National Park and on the Roman road. to Santa Maria de Bouro.

Rating for tour operator:

We traveled with On Foor Holidays which sets up trips that allow you to travel without a tour guide. The trip was well planned and organized; the extra information provided was helpful in navigating the walks and providing interesting details about the locations being visited. Support services during the walk were available and they made extra efforts to reach out to us with weather updates. Every detail was anticipated in advance, so we were able to enjoy the walk without worry.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Pamela, 21 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring the mountains and villages of remote northern Portugal

We walked the 5-day "Roman Road to the Monastery of Santa Maria" route. The paths were at times challenging, but the countryside was magnificent, the accommodations wonderful, and our experience overall extremely positive. We learned about espiguieros, the Geira (Roman road), long-horned cattle, granite-posted vineyards, native chestnut trees, gushing natural streams, and more. We loved the experience of being on our own while hiking, and yet ...

We walked the 5-day "Roman Road to the Monastery of Santa Maria" route. The paths were at times challenging, but the countryside was magnificent, the accommodations wonderful, and our experience overall extremely positive. We learned about espiguieros, the Geira (Roman road), long-horned cattle, granite-posted vineyards, native chestnut trees, gushing natural streams, and more. We loved the experience of being on our own while hiking, and yet having the security of GPS maps, detailed directions, and hosts who were expecting us.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays staff were unfailingly friendly, helpful, and quick to respond to all queries. They prepared a detailed "walkers pack" for each of us, with maps, instructions, and booklets with helpful information. They arranged the accommodations and luggage transfer and the phone number of a local guide to contact for questions and help. All in all, a superbly organized tour.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by CaroGod, 10 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking in the unspoilt mountains of N Porrugal

A 6 day 5 night self guided tour walking magical paths through varied landscape in the Portuguese mountains. Accommodation was varied, but all lovely and with wonderful hosts, and the luggage transfers all worked perfectly.

A 6 day 5 night self guided tour walking magical paths through varied landscape in the Portuguese mountains. Accommodation was varied, but all lovely and with wonderful hosts, and the luggage transfers all worked perfectly.

Rating for tour operator:

The team at On Foot were amazing and hugely knowledgeable, plus could not have been more helpful in every respect as nothing was ever too much trouble. They really were an absolute joy to deal with amd without a doubt we shall be using them again.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Netta, 5 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

A Roman road and much more

We walked a planned route from Soajo in the Peneda Geres national park in northern Portugal to the monastery of Santa Maria.

We walked a planned route from Soajo in the Peneda Geres national park in northern Portugal to the monastery of Santa Maria.

Rating for tour operator:

We travelled for the second time with On Foot Holidays. Their planning and attention to detail was first class and helped to ensure a memorable holiday.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Merete, 5 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic walk - ‘for independent people in remote place-“

Excellent arranged walk, extraordinary beautiful places to stay, marvellous landscape- And as a bonus: beautiful weather-

Excellent arranged walk, extraordinary beautiful places to stay, marvellous landscape- And as a bonus: beautiful weather-

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing but The Best

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by David and Rose , 21 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Excellent walking in delightful scenery in North Portugal

We walked for four days - arrangements by On Foot through the Geres National Park region and along a Roman road to Santa Maria do Bouro. Early May was a perfect time - comfortable temperature and vegetation at its best. Route planning by On Foot was good - challenging some days but just enough and transfers of us and our bags was smooth.

We walked for four days - arrangements by On Foot through the Geres National Park region and along a Roman road to Santa Maria do Bouro. Early May was a perfect time - comfortable temperature and vegetation at its best. Route planning by On Foot was good - challenging some days but just enough and transfers of us and our bags was smooth.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and responsive to queries - but the documentation including route planning app was comprehensive.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by JanBob, 16 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Northern Portugal

A self-guided walking holiday through remote parts of the Peneda-Geres national park, passing through spectacular scenery and isolated villages.

A self-guided walking holiday through remote parts of the Peneda-Geres national park, passing through spectacular scenery and isolated villages.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays, Salisbury. As always they provided a very personal, professional and immaculately organised holiday experience. They are very good at pre-departure and in-country information including detailed route notes and clear maps, and always respond very promptly to queries. On the ground in Portugal they have an excellent local contact who clearly knows the area and people well and was in touch with us every day.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by TJB, 13 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Off the beaten track in northern Portugal.

After spending a few days in the lovely city of Porto, we had 10 days' walking in the mountains of the Peneda Geres national park in northern Portugal. The national park is blissfully free of mass tourism and the walking trails lead you through tiny, old granite villages surrounded by luscious green countryside. It remains very much an authentic, rural way of life here and this is reflected in the food and drink which is almost always locally ...

After spending a few days in the lovely city of Porto, we had 10 days' walking in the mountains of the Peneda Geres national park in northern Portugal. The national park is blissfully free of mass tourism and the walking trails lead you through tiny, old granite villages surrounded by luscious green countryside. It remains very much an authentic, rural way of life here and this is reflected in the food and drink which is almost always locally sourced. Accommodation ranges from very simple to surprisingly luxurious, but everywhere the people are friendly and welcoming. English is widely spoken, as well as French. All in all, a wonderful escape from the daily grind and the opportunity to see a part of 'real' Portugal that could not be more different from the tourist hot spots of the south.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our fifth holiday with OnFoot. We find them a delight to deal with - they are knowledgeable, helpful and very accommodating to individual preferences and requests. Nothing is ever too much trouble and one is given the feeling that each holiday has been created with great care and attention to detail. It is so nice to deal with a tour operator who knows your name and is always happy to spend time explaining, exploring alternative options and providing additional information.