AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Portugal Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Portugal

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 32
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 33
Reviews Accepted: 33
Reviews Rejected: 0
33 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Portugal by David and Rose , 21 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Excellent walking in delightful scenery in North Portugal

We walked for four days - arrangements by On Foot through the Geres National Park region and along a Roman road to Santa Maria do Bouro. Early May was a perfect time - comfortable temperature and vegetation at its best. Route planning by On Foot was good - challenging some days but just enough and transfers of us and our bags was smooth.

We walked for four days - arrangements by On Foot through the Geres National Park region and along a Roman road to Santa Maria do Bouro. Early May was a perfect time - comfortable temperature and vegetation at its best. Route planning by On Foot was good - challenging some days but just enough and transfers of us and our bags was smooth.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and responsive to queries - but the documentation including route planning app was comprehensive.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by JanBob, 16 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Northern Portugal

A self-guided walking holiday through remote parts of the Peneda-Geres national park, passing through spectacular scenery and isolated villages.

A self-guided walking holiday through remote parts of the Peneda-Geres national park, passing through spectacular scenery and isolated villages.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays, Salisbury. As always they provided a very personal, professional and immaculately organised holiday experience. They are very good at pre-departure and in-country information including detailed route notes and clear maps, and always respond very promptly to queries. On the ground in Portugal they have an excellent local contact who clearly knows the area and people well and was in touch with us every day.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by TJB, 13 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Off the beaten track in northern Portugal.

After spending a few days in the lovely city of Porto, we had 10 days' walking in the mountains of the Peneda Geres national park in northern Portugal. The national park is blissfully free of mass tourism and the walking trails lead you through tiny, old granite villages surrounded by luscious green countryside. It remains very much an authentic, rural way of life here and this is reflected in the food and drink which is almost always locally ...

After spending a few days in the lovely city of Porto, we had 10 days' walking in the mountains of the Peneda Geres national park in northern Portugal. The national park is blissfully free of mass tourism and the walking trails lead you through tiny, old granite villages surrounded by luscious green countryside. It remains very much an authentic, rural way of life here and this is reflected in the food and drink which is almost always locally sourced. Accommodation ranges from very simple to surprisingly luxurious, but everywhere the people are friendly and welcoming. English is widely spoken, as well as French. All in all, a wonderful escape from the daily grind and the opportunity to see a part of 'real' Portugal that could not be more different from the tourist hot spots of the south.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our fifth holiday with OnFoot. We find them a delight to deal with - they are knowledgeable, helpful and very accommodating to individual preferences and requests. Nothing is ever too much trouble and one is given the feeling that each holiday has been created with great care and attention to detail. It is so nice to deal with a tour operator who knows your name and is always happy to spend time explaining, exploring alternative options and providing additional information.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Mr. R B 20, 9 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Awesome

We did a 7 day tour with On Foot Holidays in Northern Portugal: The Roman road to the monastery of Santa Maria. The tour was amazing. Very well organized. Great directions and GPS very helpful. All accommodations--hotels, restaurants, lunches-- excellent.

We did a 7 day tour with On Foot Holidays in Northern Portugal: The Roman road to the monastery of Santa Maria. The tour was amazing. Very well organized. Great directions and GPS very helpful. All accommodations--hotels, restaurants, lunches-- excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent. See comments re: holiday above. Very professional, detailed, well-organized. Kept us up to date on weather and changes to itinerary.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by MB , 2 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Walking in northern Portugal

A 7 day walking holiday in Geres National Oark in northern Portugal

A 7 day walking holiday in Geres National Oark in northern Portugal

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent communication and logistics

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by sam, 26 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Food for the soul - walking in Northern Portugal

Undiscovered Portugal - wonderful varied walking through sparsely populated villages and wild flower meadows. Despite being only an hour and a half away from the bustle of Porto we had the mountains to ourselves. Stayed in a couple of very special places (Brufe and Bouro) - would love to return

Undiscovered Portugal - wonderful varied walking through sparsely populated villages and wild flower meadows. Despite being only an hour and a half away from the bustle of Porto we had the mountains to ourselves. Stayed in a couple of very special places (Brufe and Bouro) - would love to return

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent walking notes, pack and general organisation. Attentive, friendly, efficient and knowledgeable team.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Helen, 4 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Getting to know the little-known.

Wonderful walking in a revelatory landscape - northern Portugal, largely in its national park. The walking routes were satisfyingly challenging, the sights and sounds and smells a joy for the senses, the people we met hospitable and kind, the places we stayed characterful and excellent. Oh, and the food and wine were great too!

Wonderful walking in a revelatory landscape - northern Portugal, largely in its national park. The walking routes were satisfyingly challenging, the sights and sounds and smells a joy for the senses, the people we met hospitable and kind, the places we stayed characterful and excellent. Oh, and the food and wine were great too!

Rating for tour operator:

This was our third trip with On Foot, and we cannot stop singing their praises. Utterly professional but also friendly and supremely helpful. Their love of sharing their joy of walking shines through, and the package they provide (walk routes and maps, accommodation, background information and support throughout the holiday) is absolutely brilliant. We feel in the safest of hands with On Foot.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by Pugwash, 27 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Self guided walking in North Portugal

Self guided walking in North Portugal with On Foot Travel - walking the old roman road between ancient villages

Self guided walking in North Portugal with On Foot Travel - walking the old roman road between ancient villages

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot travel is supremely well organised, personable and did such a great job managing the pandemic

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by JosefinaLaViajera, 18 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Adventurous, invigorating, informative and a much needed breath of fresh air

We walked the Soajo to Santa Maria Do Bouro route through the Penede-Geres National Park in North-West Portugal. It was a 6 day self-guided walking holiday booked through On Foot Holidays

We walked the Soajo to Santa Maria Do Bouro route through the Penede-Geres National Park in North-West Portugal. It was a 6 day self-guided walking holiday booked through On Foot Holidays

Rating for tour operator:

They are a small, friendly tour operator. Their attention to detail is phenomenal. This is the third holiday we have booked through them, and each time the experience has more than lived up to expectations.

On Foot Holidays - Portugal by VerySatisfied, 12 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

High quality support

A walking holiday in northern Portugal. The route was well planned, including varied topography and landscape. The hotel accommodation was of good quality. The support provided, in difficult times, both before and during the holiday itself, was of high quality. We were able to enjoy ourselves without worries.

A walking holiday in northern Portugal. The route was well planned, including varied topography and landscape. The hotel accommodation was of good quality. The support provided, in difficult times, both before and during the holiday itself, was of high quality. We were able to enjoy ourselves without worries.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided a great deal of personalised support. Because they have a local contact they were able to advise us about how to organised covid tests in Porto before our return. In addition, they had passed on to hotel operators in advance the information that we are vegetarian. This was a high level of customer service.