AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Undiscovered Destinations

Oman - Desert to the coast Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Oman - Desert to the coast

Overall Holiday Rating
94%
Excellent 15
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 18
Reviews Accepted: 18
Reviews Rejected: 0
18 reviews
Sort by:
Oman - Desert to the coast by pammy, 4 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

OMAN

I EXPECTED THIS HOLIDAY TO BE AWAY FROM OTHER MASS TOURISTS. IT TURNED OUT JUST TO BE A TRAIL AROUND TOURIST SIGHTS. GIVEN THE NATURE OF THE TITLE UNDISCOVERED DESTINATIONS I THOUGHT WE WOULD SEE SIGHTS NOT SEEN BY OTHER TOURISTS AND A DESERT CMP OF OUR OWN NOT WITH HUNDREDS OF OTHER TOURISTS A VERY DISAPPOINTING HOLIDAY. THIS IS MY PERSONAL VIEW. I CANNOT FAULT THE ORGANIZATION ON THE TRIP. THE TRANSPORT HOTEL AND MEALS WERE ALL VERY GOOD

I EXPECTED THIS HOLIDAY TO BE AWAY FROM OTHER MASS TOURISTS. IT TURNED OUT JUST TO BE A TRAIL AROUND TOURIST SIGHTS. GIVEN THE NATURE OF THE TITLE UNDISCOVERED DESTINATIONS I THOUGHT WE WOULD SEE SIGHTS NOT SEEN BY OTHER TOURISTS AND A DESERT CMP OF OUR OWN NOT WITH HUNDREDS OF OTHER TOURISTS A VERY DISAPPOINTING HOLIDAY. THIS IS MY PERSONAL VIEW. I CANNOT FAULT THE ORGANIZATION ON THE TRIP. THE TRANSPORT HOTEL AND MEALS WERE ALL VERY GOOD

Rating for tour operator:

the booking was done satisfactorily

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 04 Mar 2015:

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your views on Oman and the tour. Oman continues to be one of our most popular destinations and the vast majority of feedback we receive has been positive. However, we do accept that it is one of our less adventurous destinations and may not appeal to the particularly well-travelled. It is a very different destination and tour compared to others that we offer in places such as Bangladesh, Sudan and the Congo. It is good to know that you found the organisation, transport, hotel and meals all very good.

We are currently preparing the next edition of our brochure and detailed tour dossier. Changes will be made in respect of the tour grades and descriptions and we are confident this will help manage travellers’ expectations of this destination.

Aled Evans
Undiscovered Destinations

Oman - Desert to the coast by Stan, 21 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

A qonderfultrip to a beautiful country Oman

This was an eight day private tour of Oman, taking in green turtle watching, walking in the stunning mountains of Jabal Al Akhtar, visiting the desert of the Wahiba Sands and several forts.

This was an eight day private tour of Oman, taking in green turtle watching, walking in the stunning mountains of Jabal Al Akhtar, visiting the desert of the Wahiba Sands and several forts.

Rating for tour operator:

Undiscovered Destinations was found through a web search and served us extremely well.

Oman - Desert to the coast by Anna, 12 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic!

..

..

Rating for tour operator:

..

Oman - Desert to the coast by vreny, 12 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

OMAN unexpected -

Organised 7days tour "from the desert to the coast" + pre and post days were memorable in every respect, clean, friendly, efficient and welcoming country - diversity of mountains, deserts, beaches, perfect temperature Dec/Jan- simple, clean hotels en route, mixture of food, top star hotels on ideal location - modern but still keeping to traditionl style - lots more - no hesitation to return to see north of OMAN

Organised 7days tour "from the desert to the coast" + pre and post days were memorable in every respect, clean, friendly, efficient and welcoming country - diversity of mountains, deserts, beaches, perfect temperature Dec/Jan- simple, clean hotels en route, mixture of food, top star hotels on ideal location - modern but still keeping to traditionl style - lots more - no hesitation to return to see north of OMAN

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful, friendly and local operator efficient, reliable

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 12 Jan 2015:

Thank you for your comments. We think Oman is a very special country and we are delighted that you enjoyed it.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 12 Jan 2015:

Thank you, we will pass your comments on to the team in Oman.

Oman - Desert to the coast by Jan, 23 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic experience

We travelled to Oman. We spent 6 days touring with a private guide and then 5 days in a 5/ star hotel. It was an amazing experience and somewhere we would never have thought of going without the advice of Undiscovered Destinations. We were able to experience real Omani culture, see turtles, spend a night in the dessert and just enjoy this beautiful country.

We travelled to Oman. We spent 6 days touring with a private guide and then 5 days in a 5/ star hotel. It was an amazing experience and somewhere we would never have thought of going without the advice of Undiscovered Destinations. We were able to experience real Omani culture, see turtles, spend a night in the dessert and just enjoy this beautiful country.

Rating for tour operator:

Undiscovered destination were extremely knowledgable about the holiday we took and were very professional in all their dealings with us.

Oman - Desert to the coast by Sheila, 21 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Oman

We had a 7 day tour which included watching gree turtles come up on the beach at night to lay their eggs, a stay in the desert, and visits to the historical places in the mountainous centre of Oman. Very varied.

We had a 7 day tour which included watching gree turtles come up on the beach at night to lay their eggs, a stay in the desert, and visits to the historical places in the mountainous centre of Oman. Very varied.

Rating for tour operator:

Professional, welcoming, knowledgeable

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 22 Oct 2014:

Thank you for your feedback.

Oman - Desert to the coast by Emma's Travels, 25 Apr 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Oman

Myself and two friends travelled with Undiscovered Destinations on the 'Oman - From the Desert to the coast' group tour in March. It was a great experience even when our itinerary had to be modified due to flooding of some of the Wadis, but this only added to the excitement of the tour as we had to cross quite deep water on several occasions. Our guide was excellent, very friendly and took time to explain his culture and religion and helped ...

Myself and two friends travelled with Undiscovered Destinations on the 'Oman - From the Desert to the coast' group tour in March. It was a great experience even when our itinerary had to be modified due to flooding of some of the Wadis, but this only added to the excitement of the tour as we had to cross quite deep water on several occasions. Our guide was excellent, very friendly and took time to explain his culture and religion and helped us with our Arabic.

Rating for tour operator:

Thanks for a fantastic trip and superb organisation.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 25 Apr 2014:

Hi Emma, Thanks for the feedback. We will pass on your feedback to Abhi and the team.

Oman - Desert to the coast by Janice, 8 Apr 2014
Holiday Rating:

A magical Oman desert holiday

We went on Undiscovered Destinations 'Desert to the coast' tour to Oman in March. It was a wonderful experience and a beautiful country. The local guide was very friendly and spoke good English. Our hotels were clean and comfortable but it was the scenery and people that really made the holiday. The country has something for everyone. Our favourite area was Jebel Shams, an amazing location and an adventure to reach.

We went on Undiscovered Destinations 'Desert to the coast' tour to Oman in March. It was a wonderful experience and a beautiful country. The local guide was very friendly and spoke good English. Our hotels were clean and comfortable but it was the scenery and people that really made the holiday. The country has something for everyone. Our favourite area was Jebel Shams, an amazing location and an adventure to reach.

Rating for tour operator:

Knowledgeable and efficient when we booked. Good price compared to other operators and friendly staff. Will use them again.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 08 Apr 2014:

Thank you for the feedback, Oman really is a special destination. We shall pass your comments on to our local team in Muscat and thank you for travelling with us.