Okavango Tours & Safaris

Reviews of Okavango Tours & Safaris

Overall company rating
5 100%
Reviews submitted: 39
Reviews accepted: 39
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
39
Good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Jam pack with fun.

By Mr D J 14 on 17 Aug 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

There was a wide diversity of wildlife and two weeks was great, but too little.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

She gave us a wide variety of experiences - all of which we love.

A Full Wildlife Experience

By DAB on 5 Aug 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

5 Nights Kafunta River Lodge and 5 Nights Bush Camp

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Professional, informative and very helpful.

Superb wildlife and excellent accommodation

By JohnBoy on 24 Jul 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The holiday details were all arranged by email and this was managed really well - our ideass were taken on board and modified after we received very good advice and prompt responses. On the part of our holiday organised by Okavango Tours and Safaris we visited 3 countries (Zambia, Botswanna, S. Africa) and stayed in 6 different locations (Pom Pom and Shinde in the Okavango delta, Saille on the edge of the delta, The Islands of Siankaba at the Victoria falls area, Mwamba bush camp in Zambia and Chitwa Chitwa on Sabi Sands reserve in Kruger area) In all areas Okavango Tours and Safaris proved themselves outstanding operators (organisation, transport, accommodation, locations for wildlife variety).

Rating for tour operator Excellent

See comments above.

Superb trip well organised as always

By jac on 9 Jul 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Visit to Kenya and Rwanda, with the highlight gorilla trekking in Rwanda. Funzi Keys for a beach break can't be beaten

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Simply the best

Travel around Madagascar to see wildlife

By PC on 27 Jun 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Although a complicated trip with road and air travel, everything worked fine even when Air Madagascar changed a flight to 6.00 in the morning so I needed a car to the airport at 3.30am.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I have had a number of trips with Okavango Tours and Safaris. All have been most carefully and successfully planed by this company.

Game watching in Botswana

By Tony on 10 Jun 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We stayed in 4 lodges/camps.
2 nights atWaterberry Lodge on the Zambesi north of Livingstone so that we could visit Victoria Falls. We enjoyed a magical boat ride on the Zambesi - with no other prsons in sight - on our first evening, seeing hippos, a herd of 9 elephants coming down to the Zambesi to drink, and a tribe of playful baboons. The next daty we went to Victoria Falls. On this occasion it was probably better to see them from the zambian side: the force was such tha the main falls could not really be seen because of the spray; and we could climb down to see the Boiling Pot. The lodge as very comfortable, with excellent food and welcoming staff.
Then 3 nights at Kubu Lodge, a few miles east of Chobe National Park and again on the river. We had 3 game drives and two river trips, seeing an abundance of elephants, buffaloes and hipposas well as impala, kudu etc. Surprises weere a crocodile swallowing a large python, and lionesses with cubs eating a dead baby elephant.A very knowledgeable guide (Elliott), especially good at spotting and identifying the brilliant birds of the region. The camp was slightly less well maintained than the others, with an uninviting swimming pool. But it had charm, with warthogs and bushbucks regularly grazing the lawns.
Then 3 nights at Machaba camp overlooking the Khwai river. Luxurious tents and a wonderful feel of really belonging to the animals, with elephants regularly derinking from the river and, excitingly, coming through the camp at night. Another excellent guide (Leopard) who knew the land owned by the concession very well, producing 2 close sightings of leopards, three of packs of wild dogs (once on a kill of impala), hyenas with cubs and lioneses with cubs.
Finally, 3 nights at Gunn's Camp in the heart of the DOhkavang Delta. At first this eemed a little tame after the excitenment of Machaba, but the beautiful landscape and light of the delta grew on us. And there was excitement enough when we went out in makoros (dug-out canoes) which, fortunately our polers kept well clear of the many hippos, and in our game walks n Chief's Island - with no rifle in the party - getting very close to giraffes and zebras, but thankfully nothing very dangerous. We trusted our excellent guide (Pax).
Every body we met was very friendly and welcoming.
We even enjoyed the small plane rides between lodges/camps, gaining a very good impression of the vastness and emptiness of Botswana.
Okavango Tours had put together a very good package for us, providing 4 different experiences, but all involving a lot of individual personal attention.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Obviously very experienced at gauging what we wanted to do, and putting together - within the specified budget constraint - the variety of experience that made our first holiday in Africa truly memorable. Always friendly, flexible and efficient.

A trip of a lifetime

By Read family on 9 Jun 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We travelled independently to South Africa to celebrate my husband's birthday with the itinerary designed by Okavango Tours and Safaris. All the hotels chosen for us were top quality and the transfers and pick ups all worked extremely well. We began in the Kruger for an amazing safari with our family, then my husband and I travelled to Cape Town for 3 nights, up to Franschhoek in the wine region for 2 nights, Swellendam for 1 night, along the Garden route to finish at Plettenburg for the final 2 nights. It was a wonderful holiday and our grateful thanks to Jane at Okavango for taking such care with all the arrangements.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Okavango Tours and Safaris are a small company but their knowledge of the area is excellent. They regularly travel to the area to check the hotels that their customers are staying at to ensure the standards continue to be as they expect and also to update their own knowledge of the area. Jane was extremely patient when waiting for information from my family and when changes needed to be made. All Jane's suggestions with regard to hotels and routes were superb in every way. She listened to my ideas and put them all into a plan to suit me. I would recommend this company as you will get independent advice and a first rate tailor made service.

Waiting for wild dogs & cheetah to hunt in Botswana

By CW on 31 May 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We were very lucky to find wild dogs & cheetah on this safari to 4 different camps in Botswana & spent lots of time watching their behaviour. The guides & trackers were excellent at Kwando Lagoon & Little Kwara. The guides & hospitality at Savuti & Chitabe Ledibe were legendary!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very experienced & knowledgeable team offering great personal service with excellent attention to detail. Everything went very smoothly.

A wonderful return to Kenya

By Grandma on 7 Feb 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Everything was perfect - excellent organisation. Pick-ups on time and all the camps weere wonderful. We always rely on Okavango Tours & Safaris and this holiday was, as usual, well organised and the itinerary was just what we wanted

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have used them for several years and they always have proved excellent and we wouldn't use anyone else.

Most enjoyable holiday for 2 family generations

By PQ on 7 Jan 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Staying at Kleinfontein vineyard was magnificent. Food out of this world. More birds than a sanctuary . Splendid scenery.Charming host and hostess and not forgetting three dogs which took us for walks.
Exploring the Cape area by car wonderful.Even the sharks performed well for the young men
Cape Town especially the V and A area full of life for the young adults of the party
Lalibella Lentaba Game Park extremely friendly staff. wonderful food and the game drives got so close to the animals.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Small company that makes a point of finding out what the clients would really enjoy