Okavango Tours & Safaris

Reviews of Okavango Tours & Safaris

Overall company rating
5 100%
Reviews submitted: 39
Reviews accepted: 39
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
39
Good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

A magnificent experience

By Mike.Bristol on 27 Jun 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The arrangements were complex involving 4 destinations and 7 flights. Everything worked out perfectly.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Patient and courteous. We were well prepared and had a great time.

Safari in Tanzania - 1 week

By Rod on 27 Mar 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We spent a week on safari in Tanzania. Beginning with 2 days at Lake Manyara National Park, we then moved on for 1 day to the Ngorongoro Crater, and finally 3 days in the southern Serengeti at Chaka Camp. Accommodation at all 3 locations was very good, with the Sopa Lodge at the Ngorongoro Crater just like a 5-star hotel.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Okavango Tours and Safaris hit a home run for our tour. They lined us up with a driver/guide who was beyond exceptional. He was a very safe, courteous and conscientious driver. We never felt in any danger no matter where we were driving — on the highways or across the Serengeti plains. More importantly, he was extremely adept at spotting wildlife. On several occasions, he would spot animals that none of the nearby vehicles were aware of. He knew the names and habits of EVERYTHING, even the Latin names! Every day was another thrill in seeing all the animals in their natural habitat. On our final day, in addition to the thousands of zebra, gazelle and wildebeest on the central Serengeti plains, and the dozens of elephants, giraffes, hippos, etc., we saw 9 cheetah including 5 cubs, 2 leopards, and 22 lions including a pair of cubs 1-2 weeks old. For our first trip to Africa, it was truly a jaw-dropper...something we'll never forget.

Africa beckoned once more

By Safari Grandma on 9 Mar 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We had a wonderful experience once again. It was brilliantly arranged from start to finish by this company. Accommodation , game and complexc travel itinerary went very smoothly.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This is the ninth safari arranged by Okavango Tours and Safaris and they have never let us down - we would not use any other operator for this kind of holiday

Africa beckons once more

By Jack on 7 Mar 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We stayed in two safari camps--
--Rekero camp in Kenya's Masai Mara. Beautiful location on river/ very comfortable/ good food etc/ very attentive staff/ great animal and bird viewing with very knowledgeable guide..

--Olakira camp in Tanzania's Serengeti. A " mobile" camp, very will situated on the open grasslands. Once again, great food and drink, attentive staff, excellent game viewing with first class guide.

Whole trip---international travel, local air transfers, initial two days' stay in Nairobi etc--was organised by Okavango Tours and everything worked perfectly.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Okavango Tours have now organised safari trips to five different countries for us and, as with the most recent (see above) they have all worked perfectly--thanks to the personal attention from Jane Durham and Margueritte.

By Helen on 12 Jan 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Lovely, varied trip. Excellent accommodation and food better than expected.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

They provided excellent attention to all the details in helping us to plan our holiday and in ensuring that everything went smoothly while we were away. The company had detailed knowledge of the area and the accommodation so that they could match this to our needs. We were extremely pleased with the service that they provided.

Safari in Botswana

By Ms E B 14 on 24 Nov 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Superb camps, all very well run, with friendly staff, excellent guides, good attention to detail, smooth transfers.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Good information, advice. Understood our wishes well and translated them into locations and services that fully met our expectations.

A Safari to Zimbabwe

By safarismiths on 30 Oct 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This was a return visit for us. Our last safari in Zimbabwe was in 1991 also arranged by Okavango Tours and Safaris. An excellent tour staying in 4 camps all small and in beautiful settings Amalinda in Matopos , Somalisa in Hwange, Rhino Safari Camp on Kariba and Elelphant Camp at Victoria Falls.
Lots of opportunities for walking as well as game drives. Great sun downer boat trips on Kariba.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have been using Okavango Tours and Safaris since 1991 and have always been impressed by their knowledge of the countries. Jane and Marguerite are always ready to answer questions and provide advice. Great company who know what their clients want.

Perfectly planned and perfectly organised

By alisonfrombrighton on 7 Oct 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Okavango Tours and Safaris delivered the perfect tailor-made holiday according to our brief. Everything went very smoothly and all the staff (both at Okavango and on our holiday in Malawi) were knowledgeable and helpful.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Okavango responded perfectly to our brief and also made helpful suggestions. They were efficient and friendly. It felt like a very personal service.

By Bellsizedave on 7 Oct 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We had a wonderful 10 days at three camps - Ngoma, Motswiri and Shinde. The camps were well managed and without exception, the guides were outstanding. While I thought that the food at Nghoma and Shinde was OK, the food at Motswiri was outstanding at every level. Great game drives at all three camps and super walking safaris at Motswiri.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Camps well chosen along the lines for which we asked and all transfers and internal flights worked like clock work. We would undoubtedly us this operator again and recommend it to friends,

A wonderful Safari holiday designed just for us by Jane the expert

By J&M on 20 Aug 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We travelled to Namibia and Botswana to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary on a holiday designed specially to meet our requirements by Jane of Okavango Tours. We found the safari wonderful - we experienced a wide variety of amazing landscapes and wildlife across Namibia: from walking with in the Namib with San bushmen through examining Cape Seals on the Skeleton Coast and tracking the desert elephant in Damaraland, to watching herds of zebra, impala, kudu - and a solitary male lion - drinking at a spring in Etosha. In Botswana we watched spellbound as leopards hunted in the Okavango delta and matriarch elephant marshalled their herds in the Linyanti marshes. We saw the big five - and so much more besides. Throughout, the guiding, hospitality and travel connections were excellent - and delivered by cheerful, knowledgeable and enthusiastic people. Overall, a truly memorable experience.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Using her extensive and direct experience of the places and people involved, Jane carefully designed a safari tour to meet our requirements. She worked diligently and patiently as we requested amendments and delivered to us a superb result. All the arrangements worked extremely smoothly, the information made available was comprehensive and the personal support throughout was first class. This was the third time we have used Jane and Okavango Tours, we are already thinking about the next!