AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Journey Latin America

Journey Latin America Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Journey Latin America

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 231
Good 17
Average 3
Poor 3
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 255
Reviews Accepted: 255
Reviews Rejected: 0
255 reviews
Sort by:
Peru in Depth by Los Chinitos, 13 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

An incredible Peruvian family holiday

We have just had the most tremendous holiday in Peru. Thank you to Journey Latin America for your extraordinary efficiency, attention to detail and continued care both during the booking process and when we were travelling. We loved Peru. Highly recommend the Inca Trail - arriving in Machu Picchu having walked and camped was awesome. We loved the challenge. Arequippa is stunning, Cusco a must, Colca lodge and Condors extraordinary. Best ...

We have just had the most tremendous holiday in Peru. Thank you to Journey Latin America for your extraordinary efficiency, attention to detail and continued care both during the booking process and when we were travelling. We loved Peru. Highly recommend the Inca Trail - arriving in Machu Picchu having walked and camped was awesome. We loved the challenge. Arequippa is stunning, Cusco a must, Colca lodge and Condors extraordinary. Best hotel for us was El Tambo del Inka. Peruvian people are lovely, their food simply delicious and their history fascinating. Peru just kept impressing and delighting us. We cannot recommend this holiday more highly. It worked for us and we can't wait to return.

Rating for tour operator:

They were Stella. Simply splendid. JLA and Natalie in particular made our summer holiday perfect. We received brilliant service from the first phone call we made to JLA. Their attention to detail was superb. Excellent in every way. Thank you Natalie and JLA

Peru and Galapagos by Marleyfarley, 26 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Peru & the Galápagos Islands

A well organised & planned trip to Machu Picchu & other inca sites followed by 4 days in the Galápagos Islands.

A well organised & planned trip to Machu Picchu & other inca sites followed by 4 days in the Galápagos Islands.

Rating for tour operator:

JLA are clearly very experienced in organising tours to Peru & the Galápagos. They use excellent well informed tour leaders & guides throughout & ensured we visited many major sights. The standard of accommodation and transport throughout was generally excellent.

Ocean to Ocean by Coulsey, 4 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

A South American dream come true

Visiting South America was a long held dream of mine, fuelled in no small measure by the fact that my sons had both been there and spoken about the continent in raptures. My tour did not disappoint. From the hot, wet and humid Amazon jungle to the views over Rio, from the mighty power of Iguazu Falls to the European like boulevards of Buenos Aires, from the colonial charms of Sucre to the bustle of La Paz, from the friendly bars and restaurants ...

Visiting South America was a long held dream of mine, fuelled in no small measure by the fact that my sons had both been there and spoken about the continent in raptures. My tour did not disappoint. From the hot, wet and humid Amazon jungle to the views over Rio, from the mighty power of Iguazu Falls to the European like boulevards of Buenos Aires, from the colonial charms of Sucre to the bustle of La Paz, from the friendly bars and restaurants of Cusco to the wonder of the world that is Machu Picchu. Happy, happy memories.

Rating for tour operator:

The service I received from Journey Latin America was outstanding from my first tentative enquiry to saying farewell to our tour guide after a truly memorable tour.

The Andes Laid Bare by Trekker, 30 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

South American adventure

Choro trek in Bolivia is amazing, trekking from 5000 m to rainforest. Crossing rivers and waterfalls without bridges Only saw local people, animals, amazing flowers. Macchu Picchu stunning architecture but too many tourists!

Choro trek in Bolivia is amazing, trekking from 5000 m to rainforest. Crossing rivers and waterfalls without bridges Only saw local people, animals, amazing flowers. Macchu Picchu stunning architecture but too many tourists!

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America

The Andes: Peru, Bolivia & Chile by BrianJ, 8 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

We've used Journey Latin America twice and had a thoroughly excellent experience both times

We traveled to Peru and Bolivia. JLA organised everything superbly - every transfer, every tour, every guide was excellent.

We traveled to Peru and Bolivia. JLA organised everything superbly - every transfer, every tour, every guide was excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

From organizing our itinerary to covering every detail, JLA were immaculate.

Journey Latin America by Pablo, 18 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Multi-country South America

Chile, Argentina and Brazil. Some good highlights. Lots of miles travelled ; Jungle to the sub-antartic.

Chile, Argentina and Brazil. Some good highlights. Lots of miles travelled ; Jungle to the sub-antartic.

Rating for tour operator:

JLA

Signature Chile & Argentina by Traveltrek, 15 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent service in tailoring itinerary

Tour of Argentina, Chile And Brazil, visiting highlights of Fitzroy range, Perito Moreno glacier, Torres del Paine and Iguazu Falls, with time for independent trekking in National Parks.

Tour of Argentina, Chile And Brazil, visiting highlights of Fitzroy range, Perito Moreno glacier, Torres del Paine and Iguazu Falls, with time for independent trekking in National Parks.

Rating for tour operator:

Very knowledgeable with good advice on viable options. Flexible in allowing us to build own independent section into itinerary. Their selection of reliable local agents certainly took the strain out of airport transfers. We omitted most of the typical excursions as we prefer to do it ourselves and not feel rushed and JLA were happy to accommodate our preferences.

Peaks and Plains of Patagonia by Gilly Mack, 2 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Patagonia - a long awaited trip

We travelled to Patagonia on the Nandu tour with Journey Latin America in March 2018. After much research JLA's itinerary ticked all the boxes for where we wished to visit and 3 weeks was a perfect amount of time to visit.The trip was spot on with the amount amount of trekking involved with inclusive options. The optional choices on offer gave everyone a good choice depending on their level of fitness and wishes - rafting, climbing volcanoes, ...

We travelled to Patagonia on the Nandu tour with Journey Latin America in March 2018. After much research JLA's itinerary ticked all the boxes for where we wished to visit and 3 weeks was a perfect amount of time to visit.The trip was spot on with the amount amount of trekking involved with inclusive options. The optional choices on offer gave everyone a good choice depending on their level of fitness and wishes - rafting, climbing volcanoes, glacier walking.The level of knowledge of the local guides was excellent and their passion shown through. The standard of hotels was good - all had comfy beds and good showers! We spent most of our money on food and wine - Patagonia has the best lamb, beef, seafood and fish. All washed down with Pisco Sours and wine.

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America were easy and helpful to work with when planning our holiday. Sadly, we had to cancel our original booking but when we were ready to re book we gave them only 5 weeks notice. They worked very quickly and efficiently to ensure we could get on the last trip of the season - we couldn't have asked for more.

Extremes of Chile by Helen, 23 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

The most wonderful well organised holiday in a beautiful country

After a warm friendly welcome from Carla Ottone, we had a tour of Santiago and the next day the tour of Valparaiso and winery, a gentle start to the holiday. The Atacama Desert and all we did in those few days was just wonderful. The boat trip on Lake Todos and the visit to the Petrohue Falls was quite stunning. I enjoyed the day on Chiloe ,well worth doing, the boat trip and seeing the penguins and the curanto meal was a really special ...

After a warm friendly welcome from Carla Ottone, we had a tour of Santiago and the next day the tour of Valparaiso and winery, a gentle start to the holiday. The Atacama Desert and all we did in those few days was just wonderful. The boat trip on Lake Todos and the visit to the Petrohue Falls was quite stunning. I enjoyed the day on Chiloe ,well worth doing, the boat trip and seeing the penguins and the curanto meal was a really special experience. The Parque National Torres Del Paine was amazing , we were lucky with the weather, the boat trip on Glacier was enhanced by the rainbows and the amazing blue of the glaciers and small icebergs. On our free day some of us did a 5 mile walk with Carla. It was sad saying goodbye to our new friends but we had the cruise on Skorpios 111 to look forward to and that didn’t disappoint. The size of the cabin was reasonable, the Crewe friendly and seaman like. The excursions to walk on the glaciers or to see waterfalls or wildlife meant that there was plenty to see and do. A great experience.

Rating for tour operator:

All the arrangements for our 3 week holiday went smoothly. All the internal flights , all the taxi pick ups worked like clockwork. We had a particularly good local guide in Santiago and the Atacama, Juan. Our general guide was Carla Ottone who was absolutely superb, the best guide I have ever encountered. She was so friendly, conscientious, efficient, nothing was too much trouble. She often went far beyond the call of duty to make sure everyone was happy and that the arrangements were all in place at each stage of the trip. She even made sure that on the internal flights that we were on the side of the plane that would give us a view of the impressive snow capped Andes.

Signature Chile & Argentina by Mrs R R 18, 21 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Journey Latin America review

Journey Latin America provided an excellent itinerary which fitted with our requirements. Pre holiday support was excellent. All the hotels, drivers and trips were of a high standard.

Journey Latin America provided an excellent itinerary which fitted with our requirements. Pre holiday support was excellent. All the hotels, drivers and trips were of a high standard.