AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Journey Latin America

Journey Latin America Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Journey Latin America

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 309
Good 20
Average 5
Poor 5
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 341
Reviews Accepted: 341
Reviews Rejected: 0
341 reviews
Sort by:
Best of Guatemala and Belize by Clyde, 21 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

An amazing and spectacular cultural experience.

A mixture of old & new in Panama plus a fascinating history and Myan culture in Guatemala with spectacular temples in the jungle and beautiful volcanic landscapes in the highlands, followed by swimming and wading through the ATM caves in Belize to view ancient Myan ritual sites and ending, in a more relaxed way, on the island of Caye Caulker before returning to the UK from Belize City.

A mixture of old & new in Panama plus a fascinating history and Myan culture in Guatemala with spectacular temples in the jungle and beautiful volcanic landscapes in the highlands, followed by swimming and wading through the ATM caves in Belize to view ancient Myan ritual sites and ending, in a more relaxed way, on the island of Caye Caulker before returning to the UK from Belize City.

Rating for tour operator:

Paul Winrow-Griffin of Journey Latin America was exceptionally helpful in planning our itinerary taking into account our overall objectives, the countries we wished to visit, our hotel preferences, the degree of activity required, the degree of travel that we were prepared to accept and our preference to have our own guides. Everything went according to plan: the hotels were expecting us; the drivers were on time; the guides were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. All-in-all, a superb holiday!

Signature Uruguay by Monty, 14 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Relaxing holiday somewhat off the beaten track

It was a return to a country where I spent part of my childhood. We travelled to Montevideo, east to two estancias, and then back west to a wine lodge and the touristy old town of Colonia del Sacramento. The estancias and the wilder scenic east coast were the highlights of the trip. The people were invariably friendly and welcoming and the food and wine was good. It was a pleasure to drive on open roads untroubled by much traffic. I hope to ...

It was a return to a country where I spent part of my childhood. We travelled to Montevideo, east to two estancias, and then back west to a wine lodge and the touristy old town of Colonia del Sacramento. The estancias and the wilder scenic east coast were the highlights of the trip. The people were invariably friendly and welcoming and the food and wine was good. It was a pleasure to drive on open roads untroubled by much traffic. I hope to return to discover the interior and to enjoy those east coast beaches and country again

Rating for tour operator:

We were looked after by Mary Ann Nelson who was efficient, attentive, experienced and full of good ideas as to what we might do. We will definitely use Journey Latin America again

Hightlights of Colombia by BD, 19 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Colombia a very varied country

A holiday seeing different aspects of the country from the capital to the coast with walks among wax palms, underground salt cathedrals, coffee country. Amazing Medellin with beautiful Christmas lights and a feeling of safety. Friendly people throughout and so many unexpected sights including a fossil museum and so much more with a wonderful tour leader who made sure all the group had their individual needs met.

A holiday seeing different aspects of the country from the capital to the coast with walks among wax palms, underground salt cathedrals, coffee country. Amazing Medellin with beautiful Christmas lights and a feeling of safety. Friendly people throughout and so many unexpected sights including a fossil museum and so much more with a wonderful tour leader who made sure all the group had their individual needs met.

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America will try to guide customers to only book holidays suitable for their needs. The itineraries are carefully selected to include a variety of sights with enough time to fully enjoy them. Any individual requests are greed if at all possible and their knowledge of the destinations is superb

Value Central America by JB, 8 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding introduction to Central America

We had great advice from JLA in devising an ambitious month-long tour in Central America, visiting places where we had current or historical connections. We enjoyed a mix of walking, visiting and eating in Barbados, Guyana, Panama, Cuba , Mexico and New Orleans, with occasiional beach-time to recover. History was overwhelming, heritage was everywhere, Culture, food and music ran through our holiday and the sun kept us warm. Our host communities ...

We had great advice from JLA in devising an ambitious month-long tour in Central America, visiting places where we had current or historical connections. We enjoyed a mix of walking, visiting and eating in Barbados, Guyana, Panama, Cuba , Mexico and New Orleans, with occasiional beach-time to recover. History was overwhelming, heritage was everywhere, Culture, food and music ran through our holiday and the sun kept us warm. Our host communities were consistently welcoming and helpful, and we didnt want to come home.

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful from the outset, supporting us with a bundle of information and an accessible mobile app. They dealt effectively with issues as they arose from time to time and we would certainly use them again (we have before).

Signature Argentina: Pampas by JMCA, 30 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Argentina Introduction

Limited to two weeks we were recommended to go to Buenos Aires, Bariloche and El Calafate which proved to be a great experience. We opted for additional free days in Buenos Aires as trying to cover the city in 2-3 days would have just scraped the surface. It was a great experience and we will be returning to explore the North of Argentina and Atacama in Chile as soon as time and funds permit!

Limited to two weeks we were recommended to go to Buenos Aires, Bariloche and El Calafate which proved to be a great experience. We opted for additional free days in Buenos Aires as trying to cover the city in 2-3 days would have just scraped the surface. It was a great experience and we will be returning to explore the North of Argentina and Atacama in Chile as soon as time and funds permit!

Rating for tour operator:

Fantastic through all stages of the process from initial fact finding to planning and completion. It was great to be able to talk to a consultant that had actually been to where we wanted to go and could make personal recommendations.

Hightlights of Colombia by Marina, 26 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Honeymoon of a lifetime

We had an amazing holiday in Colombia, which surpassed our expectations. We had the perfect mix of sight seeing, hiking, eating and relaxing. What was great, is that all our requirements were listened to and the holiday we had, matched those. We had planned activities and also time to do our own thing in each place.

We had an amazing holiday in Colombia, which surpassed our expectations. We had the perfect mix of sight seeing, hiking, eating and relaxing. What was great, is that all our requirements were listened to and the holiday we had, matched those. We had planned activities and also time to do our own thing in each place.

Rating for tour operator:

We booked the holiday via Kuoni, with the holiday itself, provided by Journey Latin America. they provided us with the holiday we asked for, at a price which was extremely competitive. It was almost the same price to have a tailor-made holiday, as a group tour to Colombia, which would've meant us compromising on our holiday and what we would have done

Vintage Argentina by Ruth L, 21 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Argentina - exceeded all expectations

5 days Buenos Aires, 3 days Esteros de Iberra and 4 days at Puerto Iguazu. With day trips to Uruguay and Brazil.

5 days Buenos Aires, 3 days Esteros de Iberra and 4 days at Puerto Iguazu. With day trips to Uruguay and Brazil.

Rating for tour operator:

We have Used Journey Latin America 10 years previously and the service was good but this time we were very impressed. Our agent knew Argentina well and her passion for the country translated into good advice for what we wanted to do.

Luxury Peru: Andes to Amazon by James and Susan, 21 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

outstanding

Journey latin America organised a long anticipated trip to Buenos Aires, Iguazu falls, sacred valley. lake titicaca etc. The whole trip went exceptionally smoothly with at each venue we were met punctually and were given top class guides to escort us and explain things. This was a wonderful trip which more than exceeded our expectations

Journey latin America organised a long anticipated trip to Buenos Aires, Iguazu falls, sacred valley. lake titicaca etc. The whole trip went exceptionally smoothly with at each venue we were met punctually and were given top class guides to escort us and explain things. This was a wonderful trip which more than exceeded our expectations

Rating for tour operator:

we had a long list of things we wanted to do. Journey Latin America were expert in tailoring this to a manageable and affordable tour applying expert local knowledge to ensure we arrived on market days etc. Due to problems in Bolivia our original trip had to be reshuffled but this was done smoothly and expertly and the alternative locations proved to be excellent and memorable

Signature Brazil by ORPNEWBURY, 9 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Truly a once in a lifetime experience

Journey Latin America organised our trip to Brazil as we wanted to do something special for our 50th Wedding Anniversary.The hotels, excursions and transfer arrangements went perfectly..The hotels of top Quality and good value

Journey Latin America organised our trip to Brazil as we wanted to do something special for our 50th Wedding Anniversary.The hotels, excursions and transfer arrangements went perfectly..The hotels of top Quality and good value

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America .Efficient ,Well organised ,knowledgeable and could not do enough to ensure we had a once in a lifetime experiance

Cuba beyond the beach by CAB, 8 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A Cuban Experience

We hadn't expected to visit Cuba but took the opportunity when a conference came up in Havana. The whole trip was an eye-opener - getting to understand something about the history and present of Cuba was fascinating.

We hadn't expected to visit Cuba but took the opportunity when a conference came up in Havana. The whole trip was an eye-opener - getting to understand something about the history and present of Cuba was fascinating.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and arranged everything we asked for as well as making helpful suggestions.