AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Journey Latin America

Journey Latin America Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Journey Latin America

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 296
Good 19
Average 5
Poor 5
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 327
Reviews Accepted: 327
Reviews Rejected: 0
327 reviews
Sort by:
Active Mexico by Claire L, 14 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Family self-drive in Yucatan

We drove between six different places in Mexico, staying in varied and interesting hotels and experiencing the Mayan sites and Yucatan landscape.

We drove between six different places in Mexico, staying in varied and interesting hotels and experiencing the Mayan sites and Yucatan landscape.

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America were fantastic - I will use them again if we travel in central or south American. The trip was tailormade to suit us and exceeded our expectations..

Peru in Depth by Travelling family, 12 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great organisation from start to finish - a wonderful, stress-free holiday seeing many fantastic sights

We toured Peru - Lima, Amazon, Macchu Picchu, Lake Titicaca. JLA put together a wonderful tour for us, co-ordination was impeccable. At every stage we were guided to get the best experience possible. We saw many wonderful sights and could not, I'm sure, have had such a great time without the guidance we received.

We toured Peru - Lima, Amazon, Macchu Picchu, Lake Titicaca. JLA put together a wonderful tour for us, co-ordination was impeccable. At every stage we were guided to get the best experience possible. We saw many wonderful sights and could not, I'm sure, have had such a great time without the guidance we received.

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin American looked after us throughout. They ensured that flights were scheduled and checked in for, trains were co-ordinated and the whole experience was enjoyable and stress-free for us. They catered for a gluten allergy with the minimum of fuss and this was appreciated too.

Explore&Relax Guatemala & Belize by Newman Family, 5 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Family trip to Guatemala and Belize

Fantastic two week holiday travelling around Guatemala and Belize. Our brief was culture, history, outdoor activities and relaxation - and that's exactly what we got! From Mayan ruins and villages in Guatemala to jungle lodge oasis retreats in Belize. Perfect holiday for our family of 4 - two adults, two sons aged 13 and 11.

Fantastic two week holiday travelling around Guatemala and Belize. Our brief was culture, history, outdoor activities and relaxation - and that's exactly what we got! From Mayan ruins and villages in Guatemala to jungle lodge oasis retreats in Belize. Perfect holiday for our family of 4 - two adults, two sons aged 13 and 11.

Rating for tour operator:

Incredible service from start to finish. Gave a top line brief of what we wanted - got it and more! Perfect selection of activities and hotels, it felt like the Journey Latin America team really knew the locations so could advise credibly on what would work for us. Impeccable service, will use them again.

Central America discovery by PeterE, 29 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

A trip across Central America taking in El Salvador, Honduras. Guatemala and Belize

Travelling by minibus and one plane between the four countries seeing Mayan ruins at for sites and finishing with a three day stay on a beach at Belize

Travelling by minibus and one plane between the four countries seeing Mayan ruins at for sites and finishing with a three day stay on a beach at Belize

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America gave us what we asked for and more. Holiday went without a hitch and surpassed our widest reams

Self Drive East Cuba by MartinC, 23 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great 'homestay' tour in Cuba

Rented a car and toured six locations. The 'homestay' option was excellent and we met some great hosts who were very helpful and welcoming. Cuba is a great destination with great diversity.

Rented a car and toured six locations. The 'homestay' option was excellent and we met some great hosts who were very helpful and welcoming. Cuba is a great destination with great diversity.

Rating for tour operator:

Greta local knowledge and local support. Very helpful in finalizing an itinerary and advising on car rental, which proved a great option.

Spirit of Colombia by belmonty, 9 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Colombia, heart stopping country

Three weeks in Colombia and Costa Rica, wide ranging experiences from eco lodges to rustic farm on nature reserve. Tremendous road travel over the Andes and seamless air travel where needed. Wonderful people, beautiful scenery, gorgeous small towns and experienced and friendly guides. A holiday that perfectly matched the brief we originally discussed with the tour operator

Three weeks in Colombia and Costa Rica, wide ranging experiences from eco lodges to rustic farm on nature reserve. Tremendous road travel over the Andes and seamless air travel where needed. Wonderful people, beautiful scenery, gorgeous small towns and experienced and friendly guides. A holiday that perfectly matched the brief we originally discussed with the tour operator

Rating for tour operator:

JLA were really careful about sorting out whether their suggestions matched our needs. We had numerous discussions on the phone and by email before the final plan was finalised. The arrangements worked seamlessly. The trip was fascinating. Their pre departure information was tremendous and their app which included the itinerary, tickets, maps and weather forecasts was really helpful.

Peru in Depth by Chesterfield Traveller, 2 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing and varied holiday in Peru and Bolivia

Visited the Peruvian cities/towns of Lima, Arequipa, Chivay, Puno, Cusco, Ollantaytambo and Aguas Calientes and the Bolivian cities/towns of La Paz and Copacabana. We also spent 2 nights in the Amazon Rainforest. The holiday included a number of included and optional excursions: city walking tours, condor spotting, floating islands, Inca ruins (including Machu Picchu), rainforest excursions, museum, convent, cathedral, hot springs, geological ...

Visited the Peruvian cities/towns of Lima, Arequipa, Chivay, Puno, Cusco, Ollantaytambo and Aguas Calientes and the Bolivian cities/towns of La Paz and Copacabana. We also spent 2 nights in the Amazon Rainforest. The holiday included a number of included and optional excursions: city walking tours, condor spotting, floating islands, Inca ruins (including Machu Picchu), rainforest excursions, museum, convent, cathedral, hot springs, geological sites, riding Telerificos in La Paz

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely efficient, providing comprehensive pre-tour information. Very flexible when it seemed a change of itinerary might have been required. Very knowledgeable and informative guides throughout. The Tour Leader was superb, his passion for the areas visited and their history infectious. he had a great command of English with the result that everything was easily understandable to us

Active Peru & Bolivia by Martinor, 20 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Chile and Bolivia Private Tour

We wanted to return to Chile to see the Atacama after suffering from being flooded there in February. The opportunity presented itself so we returned on a private tour to include Atacama and going into Bolivia. Bolivia was stunning especially Uyuni Salt Flats, which should be on anyone's bucket list.

We wanted to return to Chile to see the Atacama after suffering from being flooded there in February. The opportunity presented itself so we returned on a private tour to include Atacama and going into Bolivia. Bolivia was stunning especially Uyuni Salt Flats, which should be on anyone's bucket list.

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America organised the tour to suit our requirements. They had a suggested itinerary, which was adjusted to reflect our concerns about starting in La Paz first, as it was at high altitude. Overall an excellent well organised holiday.

Value Peru by Max, 19 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Peru - The holiday experience of a lifetime - thanks to JLA!

Father's Day has reminded me of an unforgettable JLA organised tailor-made holiday in Peru offered by our children. Expert, ultra professional local guides brought to life the magic of Peru - it's sights, heritage, history, cultures, music, cuisine and the warmth and friendliness of its people.

Father's Day has reminded me of an unforgettable JLA organised tailor-made holiday in Peru offered by our children. Expert, ultra professional local guides brought to life the magic of Peru - it's sights, heritage, history, cultures, music, cuisine and the warmth and friendliness of its people.

Rating for tour operator:

With their help, advice and intimate knowledge of Peru, JLA's Tailor Made Trips professionals crafted an action packed itinerary maximising our time and enjoyment.

Argentina: Walking in Patagonia by Steve & Jane, 18 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Tailor made adventure in Argentina

What a holiday! We travelled from Buenos Aires to Patagonia and then to an Estancia near Córdoba and finally to the Iguazu Falls in the North. We combined sightseeing in Buenos Aires, including a half day City tour and a visit to a very authentic and traditional market, with trekking in Patagonia, including a stay in El Chalten with its wonderful hikes around Mount Fitzroy, followed by glacier trekking on Perito Moreno. Then it was off to Córdoba ...

What a holiday! We travelled from Buenos Aires to Patagonia and then to an Estancia near Córdoba and finally to the Iguazu Falls in the North. We combined sightseeing in Buenos Aires, including a half day City tour and a visit to a very authentic and traditional market, with trekking in Patagonia, including a stay in El Chalten with its wonderful hikes around Mount Fitzroy, followed by glacier trekking on Perito Moreno. Then it was off to Córdoba and a 4 night stay at Estancia Los Potreros, which was certainly the highlight of our holiday. Then on to the magnificent Iguazu Falls for a 3 night stay before heading home.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the 3rd time we have travelled to South America with Journey Latin America, and it will not be our last. We have travelled to Peru, Ecuador and Galapagos before our trip to Argentina. We cannot fault the knowledge and professionalism of JLA and its Consultants. We had provided an idea of what we wanted to do in Argentina and the Consultant tailored the holiday exactly to our requirements, adding recommendations and ideas, clearly based on an intimate knowledge of the country. In fact we accepted the proposed itinerary in its entirety, and could not fault either the planning by JLA, it’s Consultants, the local tour operators and the local guides. Everything ran smoothly, which was most commendable bearing in mind it was a bespoke itinerary created specifically for us.