AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Journey Latin America

Journey Latin America Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Journey Latin America

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 251
Good 19
Average 3
Poor 4
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 278
Reviews Accepted: 278
Reviews Rejected: 0
278 reviews
Sort by:
VIneyards of Chile & Argentina by Mark&Robert, 10 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Argentina & Chile - one month of delights!

Journey Latin America revealed to us Argentina and Chile in a truly magical way and they made the whole month of our tour a seamless delight.

Journey Latin America revealed to us Argentina and Chile in a truly magical way and they made the whole month of our tour a seamless delight.

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America are superb and impressed us with their knowledge and professionalism. They delivered exactly what we wanted with confidence, easy good charm and expertise.

Reviewer's images:
Journey Latin America by Rosa Durham, 2 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

All you need to know about Ecuador and Colombia in four weeks leaving much more for the future

Ecuador and Colombia contain so much - cities, ancient sites, museums, craftwork, birds, animals and plants and we packed in as much as we could thanks to the excellent organisation of Journey Latin America.

Ecuador and Colombia contain so much - cities, ancient sites, museums, craftwork, birds, animals and plants and we packed in as much as we could thanks to the excellent organisation of Journey Latin America.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour operator gave us advice on where to go, how long to stay and how w e should travel.

Journey Latin America by Aruba Dave, 29 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

A taste of Panama, spoilt by an unpalatable visit to Bocas Del Toro

Four locations over ten days with personal meet and greet / transfers at all times - to give us a taste of Panama - city, canal and wildlife

Four locations over ten days with personal meet and greet / transfers at all times - to give us a taste of Panama - city, canal and wildlife

Rating for tour operator:

JLA in London put together the basic package in conjunction with their local representative- Ancon. We made one change to the basic package - changing to a different hotel than that recommended at one of the four locations. In most respects we got the quality we were looking for, but one of the default hotels proved to be disappointing - which from experience suggests that JLA’s promo literature might be slightly misleading for this particular location.

Journey Latin America responded to this review on 07 Dec 2018:

We’re really sorry to hear you did not enjoy your accommodation in Bocas del Toro. It is a popular spot and good value for money option on the archipelago though we always try to be very clear and honest about what to expect in our literature. We will revise this in light of your comments and be in touch directly with you.

Central America discovery by VikingErik, 25 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Our third outstanding trip with Journey Latin America

We travelled overland from Panama, through Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras and Guatemala - an exceptional insight into each of the countries (unfortunately we had to fly over Nicaragua as the security situation there meant a change to our original schedule). We spent three weeks meeting the locals, staying in excellent local hotels and enjoying excursions to experieince the wildlife, scenery, culture and history of each of the places we visited...

We travelled overland from Panama, through Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras and Guatemala - an exceptional insight into each of the countries (unfortunately we had to fly over Nicaragua as the security situation there meant a change to our original schedule). We spent three weeks meeting the locals, staying in excellent local hotels and enjoying excursions to experieince the wildlife, scenery, culture and history of each of the places we visited.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the third time we've travelled with Journey Latin America and I have no hesitation in highly recomending them. They really know the countries we've visited, have excellent local contacts and know how to get the best for their customers. I should also mention our tour leaders who have been exceptional On this trip Cesar became a friend - there really wasn't more he could have done for us.

Central America discovery by swebbews, 19 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

3 great weeks in Central America

There were too many highlights to list here, but from the beautiful waters of the Caribbean at Bocas del Toro (Panama) to the Mayan ruins at Copan (Honduras), the whole holiday exceeded our expectations.

There were too many highlights to list here, but from the beautiful waters of the Caribbean at Bocas del Toro (Panama) to the Mayan ruins at Copan (Honduras), the whole holiday exceeded our expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

We have done several holidays with JLA, and once again they provided a memorable experience. The tour leader Cesar Pineda was superb, always managing to anticipate the group's needs.

Vintage Argentina by Andie C, 18 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

A smooth trip (thanks to tour leader Daniele) where we saw and did a lot and had great fun doing so. I'll be back (like Arnie....)

Gaucho tour AR804 + add-ons to Bariloche, Estancia Bandada and Rio. We covered a lot of ground, with stops of 2-3 days in most places while we toured locally. Awesome sights such as Iguazu Falls and Cafayate Gorge, pretty vistas like the lakes at Bariloche, and townscapes particularly Valparaiso. Lots of wine-tasting whetted the appetite for some new labels. Huge quantities of crispy grilled beef and tasty empanadas - not to mention Pisco sours ...

Gaucho tour AR804 + add-ons to Bariloche, Estancia Bandada and Rio. We covered a lot of ground, with stops of 2-3 days in most places while we toured locally. Awesome sights such as Iguazu Falls and Cafayate Gorge, pretty vistas like the lakes at Bariloche, and townscapes particularly Valparaiso. Lots of wine-tasting whetted the appetite for some new labels. Huge quantities of crispy grilled beef and tasty empanadas - not to mention Pisco sours and caipirinhas.

Rating for tour operator:

JLA arranged the Gaucho tour section, while Kanoo Travel booked the add-ons. JLA's tour leader offered excellent suggestions for the add-on sections, over and above his responsibilities for our Gaucho tour.

Treasures of Central America by L & A - Australia, 11 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Treasures of Central America: An outstanding Holiday

A tailored 20 day tour that took in 16 major Aztec and Mayan sites on our list. It also included a taste of the Spanish Colonial influence and the art of Frida Kahlo, Diego Rivera and other post colonial artists. With expert guides and staying in accommodation with local atmosphere, we travelled from Mexico City to Puebla, Oaxaca, Merida, Palenque, Bonampak. Then across to Tikal, Copan then on to Antigua. Then home to Australia with lots of photos...

A tailored 20 day tour that took in 16 major Aztec and Mayan sites on our list. It also included a taste of the Spanish Colonial influence and the art of Frida Kahlo, Diego Rivera and other post colonial artists. With expert guides and staying in accommodation with local atmosphere, we travelled from Mexico City to Puebla, Oaxaca, Merida, Palenque, Bonampak. Then across to Tikal, Copan then on to Antigua. Then home to Australia with lots of photos.

Rating for tour operator:

We found "Journey Latin America" on the web and liked their itinerary "Treasures of Central America". They were happy to add extra days etc. to meet our requirements. Via email our friendly consultant was quick to respond to queries and the whole process of planning and booking the holiday ran smoothly. They have also chosen very good partners in Central America. Overall a very pleasant experience dealing with "Journey Latin America".

Signature Mexico by stephen, 8 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Sightseeing Mexico, big train ride over several days along Copper Canyon and sea kayaking in Baja California

Excellent with highlights at Copper Canyon and Espiritu Santo island.

Excellent with highlights at Copper Canyon and Espiritu Santo island.

Rating for tour operator:

JLA set very high standards for linking 8 flights, private transfers, hotel booking and local guides . would thoroughly recommend

Signature Patagonia: Glaciers by MR A E 18, 6 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Honeymoon to Argentina, Patagonia and Uruguay

10 days in total including buenos aires; and a half day city tour, El Calafate; including days glacier trekking and another full days trekking; and Punta Del Este in Uruguay. All flights and transfers were included.

10 days in total including buenos aires; and a half day city tour, El Calafate; including days glacier trekking and another full days trekking; and Punta Del Este in Uruguay. All flights and transfers were included.

Rating for tour operator:

Journey Latin America took the time to personalise itinerary to ourselves rather than a standard itinerary. They also were extremely knowledgable in providing additional information of things to see and places to eat. The local agents and guides were all friendly, welcoming and took delight in explaining each place and showing us things and places that could be of personal interest to ourselves.

Signature Argentina: Pampas by Frankie, 1 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Experience of a lifetime

We travelled with Journey Latin America to Argentina over three weeks. It was non stop activity (with the odd day off!) over a range of parts of Argentina. Due to the extensive and careful plannng of the the holiday, it happened seamlessly, leaving us to enjoy our time there. We usually organise our own holidays ourselves, so in this instance we felt very spoilt. Good for taking out any possible stresses that may occur in unfamiliar surroun...

We travelled with Journey Latin America to Argentina over three weeks. It was non stop activity (with the odd day off!) over a range of parts of Argentina. Due to the extensive and careful plannng of the the holiday, it happened seamlessly, leaving us to enjoy our time there. We usually organise our own holidays ourselves, so in this instance we felt very spoilt. Good for taking out any possible stresses that may occur in unfamiliar surroundings.

Rating for tour operator:

From beginning planning stages to the very end of our holiday in Argentina, the customer service was personal and of a very high quality. If there was ever a question on our itinerary, it was dealt with automatically and never did we feel uncertain at any time. Our accommodation throughout our trip was excellent, and the care we received. Communication was excellent so never did we feel lost!