AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Tuscany

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 36
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 36
Reviews Accepted: 36
Reviews Rejected: 0
36 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Simon B, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Walking holiday in Tuscany

Two nights in Sienna were followed by a fabulous walking trip through the glorious rolling Tuscan countryside. Along the way we stayed at a number of hilltop towns, such as Montalcino, Pienza and Montepluciano. The weather was perfect for walking, the food and wine were excellent and all the locals we met were friendly and welcoming.

Two nights in Sienna were followed by a fabulous walking trip through the glorious rolling Tuscan countryside. Along the way we stayed at a number of hilltop towns, such as Montalcino, Pienza and Montepluciano. The weather was perfect for walking, the food and wine were excellent and all the locals we met were friendly and welcoming.

Rating for tour operator:

Whenever you call, you get straight through to one of the staff - no dreaded phone menus or hold music! As soon as you give your name, they have your details in front of you and make you feel as though their business was set up just to cater for your individual needs. This was the second trip through On Foot, and all the bookings and supporting information were organized flawlessly on both occasions. Excellent walking routes and great choice of hotels/B&Bs. A truly personal, friendly and efficient service.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by I&C.2, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Our best-ever Walking Holiday

We would like to say how very much we enjoyed our walk with On Foot Holidays in Italy from Siena to Montepulciano in September 2011. Everything about the trip has left happy memories, whether it was the route, the excellent (and much improved!) narrative instructions which meant there was no chance of losing the way, the varied accommodation and hospitable, helpful hosts, the food and particularly the way in which the journey hung together ...

We would like to say how very much we enjoyed our walk with On Foot Holidays in Italy from Siena to Montepulciano in September 2011. Everything about the trip has left happy memories, whether it was the route, the excellent (and much improved!) narrative instructions which meant there was no chance of losing the way, the varied accommodation and hospitable, helpful hosts, the food and particularly the way in which the journey hung together and its pace and contrasts. We loved the fact that we could trace our route from Monte Oliveti to Montalcino from the top of the fort in the evening light. There were so many photo opportunities every day which contributed to maybe a slower pace for us this year but no day was over long and we always arrived in good time at the hotel to make the most of the town. We particularly enjoyed the day from Bagno Vignoni to Pienza, a day full of surprises indeed, and loved San Quirico and would happily have stayed longer. We will even forgive the uphill climb with which each day concluded, as it was always worth the effort.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with On Foot Holidays on five separate occasions since 2005 visiting Spain, Portugal and Italy. We have seen how their expertise and skill has developed over this time. In our opinion they lead the way in offering diverse, original and well researched routes and accommodation which affords highly committed and personal hospitality. We have also travelled in this period with several other walking holiday providers. On Foot Holidays provide outstanding personal service from the initial enquiry to acting upon customer feedback on return, which gives their travellers a high degree of confidence. Their attention to detail including advice regarding choice of route, accommodation (where an alternative is available), restaurant and local travel options enables an independent walking holiday to be enjoyed without hassle. The proprietor and the long serving and enthusiastic staff walk the routes themselves which helps to ensure the quality of the customers’ experience and to actively develop improvements to each itinerary.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Canuck, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Exhilarating

We hiked daily between 6 towns in Tuscany with our luggage picked up daily & transported to our next hotel. The route was well chosen, avoiding traffic & generally following tracks through the beautiful Tuscan landscape, Often, we could imagine we were medieval wayfarers approaching the hillside town. Accommodation was good & of course the food was exceptional.

We hiked daily between 6 towns in Tuscany with our luggage picked up daily & transported to our next hotel. The route was well chosen, avoiding traffic & generally following tracks through the beautiful Tuscan landscape, Often, we could imagine we were medieval wayfarers approaching the hillside town. Accommodation was good & of course the food was exceptional.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot holidays were very accommodating. I have no complaints. In discussing another walking tour with me they have pointed out potential problems.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by PeterB, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Marvellous walking in beautiful countryside

This was a superbly-organised introduction for us to the delights of the Tuscany landscape - like walking through a painting or a postcard. The overnight stays we had were varied and all of a high standard. Everywhere was exceptionally welcoming and the standard of food and drink was brilliant - and surprisingly reasonably priced.

This was a superbly-organised introduction for us to the delights of the Tuscany landscape - like walking through a painting or a postcard. The overnight stays we had were varied and all of a high standard. Everywhere was exceptionally welcoming and the standard of food and drink was brilliant - and surprisingly reasonably priced.

Rating for tour operator:

It says it all that from leaving Sienna to returning home we had no need to contact them at all. There were no problems with accommodation and all the transfers went seamlessly. We were very impressed with the walking route directions - we never went wrong once in six days - and all the other information including the detailed bus and train timetables we needed.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by willow, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Interesting, well planned, lovely walks, varied hotels

We travelled in June to Tuscany and had six days walking around Montalcino. It is a wonderful and beautiful area and the walks were exactly as described. The hotels were varied, which was lovely, and interesting; we decided to have one day not walking which was fine, and everything went really smoothly. I would love to holiday with them again.

We travelled in June to Tuscany and had six days walking around Montalcino. It is a wonderful and beautiful area and the walks were exactly as described. The hotels were varied, which was lovely, and interesting; we decided to have one day not walking which was fine, and everything went really smoothly. I would love to holiday with them again.

Rating for tour operator:

We did not have an operatoer in Italy as we were self guided but had a contact who was helpful when we had a query

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by capy, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

on foot holidays tuscany.

well organized, wonderful country trails, nice lodging with friendly staff. level of difficulty accurate. planning to do another trip summer 2014 with on foot.

well organized, wonderful country trails, nice lodging with friendly staff. level of difficulty accurate. planning to do another trip summer 2014 with on foot.

Rating for tour operator:

friendly, helpful, well organized, great detailed hiking instructions