AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Tuscany

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 32
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 32
Reviews Accepted: 32
Reviews Rejected: 0
32 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Happy Rambler, 30 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Walking in Tuscany!

What a fantastic experience from beginning to end! The holiday was well organised, with wonderful accommodation, varied paths, historic hillside towns and beautiful scenery. We were even lucky with the weather as the sun shone on us for the entire week. As there were maps and walk descriptions provided this gave us the confidence to walk independently rather than walk to the pace of an organised group, with the added bonus of our accommodation ...

What a fantastic experience from beginning to end! The holiday was well organised, with wonderful accommodation, varied paths, historic hillside towns and beautiful scenery. We were even lucky with the weather as the sun shone on us for the entire week. As there were maps and walk descriptions provided this gave us the confidence to walk independently rather than walk to the pace of an organised group, with the added bonus of our accommodation being booked and bags transferred.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot holidays are great! This was my fourth hoiday booked with them and each time i'm treated as an individual rather than just another customer. They really know their stuff and are happy to answer in depth questions about any aspect of the trip including getting there and back. It was also helpful to have a point of contact in the region you are staying as it gave an added sense of security in case there were any problems - not that there has been.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Almberger, 8 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Southern Tuscany by foot and in sunshine

We enjoyed very much this holiday which gave us ample opportunities for daily long walks in a spectacular landscape, in the same time as we could enjoy cultural sights and the small Tuscan towns on the way, good food and wine. The organizer OnFottHolidays has as usual given us a head start by good vwalking instructions, nice pre-booked hotels and transporting the luggage from one hotel to the next. We have done this several times before but ...

We enjoyed very much this holiday which gave us ample opportunities for daily long walks in a spectacular landscape, in the same time as we could enjoy cultural sights and the small Tuscan towns on the way, good food and wine. The organizer OnFottHolidays has as usual given us a head start by good vwalking instructions, nice pre-booked hotels and transporting the luggage from one hotel to the next. We have done this several times before but this time was the best due to a combination of the attractive environments, well prepared paths and beautiful late summer weather.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the third time we have have used OnFootHolidays in the last three years and we will continue to use them for annual walks in the European countryside as long as we can make it. Why? They have a very good selection of routes with different difficulties, there organization of our trips has been excellent and moreover the staff have always been very nice. They obviously have a good reputation among the different hotels that we stay in, which make us always feel welcome on the way.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Mrs I N 14, 21 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful holiday in Southern Tuscany

We had a great time walking between the hill top towns amid stunning scenery, following the detailed instructions provided. We enjoyed the variety of accommodation booked for us and had fun exploring the old towns and sampling the tasty food and drink.

We had a great time walking between the hill top towns amid stunning scenery, following the detailed instructions provided. We enjoyed the variety of accommodation booked for us and had fun exploring the old towns and sampling the tasty food and drink.

Rating for tour operator:

As always the service provided by On Foot was efficient, friendly and tailored to our needs.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Pasta lover, 7 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

A great holiday to enjoy some hidden Tuscan sights

We loved the Tuscan walks and the beautiful and varied scenery. We enjoyed the fun of finding a new village and a different hotel in places we might otherwise have not visited. It was a great holiday and one we will repeat.

We loved the Tuscan walks and the beautiful and varied scenery. We enjoyed the fun of finding a new village and a different hotel in places we might otherwise have not visited. It was a great holiday and one we will repeat.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot were extremely helpful. Very personal service, definitely beyond what you would normally expect. We are happy to a recommend them.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by FrauFeige, 19 May 2014
Holiday Rating:

Perfectly organised, relaxed and beautiful.

Hike between the hill-top cities in Tuscany. Beautiful scenery, beautiful hotels, nice food and lovely wine.

Hike between the hill-top cities in Tuscany. Beautiful scenery, beautiful hotels, nice food and lovely wine.

Rating for tour operator:

They went above and beyond of what I had expected. Apart from the fact that it was organized perfectly and the locations and hotels were stunning, they stayed in touch to make sure that everything was perfect. I felt very well cared for and will surely go with onfootholidays again.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Happy holiday, 9 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Stunning Tuscany hilltps

A beautiful walk - with exceptional guide notes - as always. Excellent accommodation particularly in Montepulcino. Very untourisy - except in Sienna. Accommodation hosta - as well as being good hosts were very helpful with any suggestions as to what to do or where to go in town we were staying in.

A beautiful walk - with exceptional guide notes - as always. Excellent accommodation particularly in Montepulcino. Very untourisy - except in Sienna. Accommodation hosta - as well as being good hosts were very helpful with any suggestions as to what to do or where to go in town we were staying in.

Rating for tour operator:

We always feel totally confident with this company, that what we have provided will work, and totally confident that if something went wrong -and it never has- they would sort it!

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Simon B, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Walking holiday in Tuscany

Two nights in Sienna were followed by a fabulous walking trip through the glorious rolling Tuscan countryside. Along the way we stayed at a number of hilltop towns, such as Montalcino, Pienza and Montepluciano. The weather was perfect for walking, the food and wine were excellent and all the locals we met were friendly and welcoming.

Two nights in Sienna were followed by a fabulous walking trip through the glorious rolling Tuscan countryside. Along the way we stayed at a number of hilltop towns, such as Montalcino, Pienza and Montepluciano. The weather was perfect for walking, the food and wine were excellent and all the locals we met were friendly and welcoming.

Rating for tour operator:

Whenever you call, you get straight through to one of the staff - no dreaded phone menus or hold music! As soon as you give your name, they have your details in front of you and make you feel as though their business was set up just to cater for your individual needs. This was the second trip through On Foot, and all the bookings and supporting information were organized flawlessly on both occasions. Excellent walking routes and great choice of hotels/B&Bs. A truly personal, friendly and efficient service.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by I&C.2, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Our best-ever Walking Holiday

We would like to say how very much we enjoyed our walk with On Foot Holidays in Italy from Siena to Montepulciano in September 2011. Everything about the trip has left happy memories, whether it was the route, the excellent (and much improved!) narrative instructions which meant there was no chance of losing the way, the varied accommodation and hospitable, helpful hosts, the food and particularly the way in which the journey hung together ...

We would like to say how very much we enjoyed our walk with On Foot Holidays in Italy from Siena to Montepulciano in September 2011. Everything about the trip has left happy memories, whether it was the route, the excellent (and much improved!) narrative instructions which meant there was no chance of losing the way, the varied accommodation and hospitable, helpful hosts, the food and particularly the way in which the journey hung together and its pace and contrasts. We loved the fact that we could trace our route from Monte Oliveti to Montalcino from the top of the fort in the evening light. There were so many photo opportunities every day which contributed to maybe a slower pace for us this year but no day was over long and we always arrived in good time at the hotel to make the most of the town. We particularly enjoyed the day from Bagno Vignoni to Pienza, a day full of surprises indeed, and loved San Quirico and would happily have stayed longer. We will even forgive the uphill climb with which each day concluded, as it was always worth the effort.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with On Foot Holidays on five separate occasions since 2005 visiting Spain, Portugal and Italy. We have seen how their expertise and skill has developed over this time. In our opinion they lead the way in offering diverse, original and well researched routes and accommodation which affords highly committed and personal hospitality. We have also travelled in this period with several other walking holiday providers. On Foot Holidays provide outstanding personal service from the initial enquiry to acting upon customer feedback on return, which gives their travellers a high degree of confidence. Their attention to detail including advice regarding choice of route, accommodation (where an alternative is available), restaurant and local travel options enables an independent walking holiday to be enjoyed without hassle. The proprietor and the long serving and enthusiastic staff walk the routes themselves which helps to ensure the quality of the customers’ experience and to actively develop improvements to each itinerary.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Canuck, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Exhilarating

We hiked daily between 6 towns in Tuscany with our luggage picked up daily & transported to our next hotel. The route was well chosen, avoiding traffic & generally following tracks through the beautiful Tuscan landscape, Often, we could imagine we were medieval wayfarers approaching the hillside town. Accommodation was good & of course the food was exceptional.

We hiked daily between 6 towns in Tuscany with our luggage picked up daily & transported to our next hotel. The route was well chosen, avoiding traffic & generally following tracks through the beautiful Tuscan landscape, Often, we could imagine we were medieval wayfarers approaching the hillside town. Accommodation was good & of course the food was exceptional.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot holidays were very accommodating. I have no complaints. In discussing another walking tour with me they have pointed out potential problems.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by PeterB, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Marvellous walking in beautiful countryside

This was a superbly-organised introduction for us to the delights of the Tuscany landscape - like walking through a painting or a postcard. The overnight stays we had were varied and all of a high standard. Everywhere was exceptionally welcoming and the standard of food and drink was brilliant - and surprisingly reasonably priced.

This was a superbly-organised introduction for us to the delights of the Tuscany landscape - like walking through a painting or a postcard. The overnight stays we had were varied and all of a high standard. Everywhere was exceptionally welcoming and the standard of food and drink was brilliant - and surprisingly reasonably priced.

Rating for tour operator:

It says it all that from leaving Sienna to returning home we had no need to contact them at all. There were no problems with accommodation and all the transfers went seamlessly. We were very impressed with the walking route directions - we never went wrong once in six days - and all the other information including the detailed bus and train timetables we needed.