AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Tuscany

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 30
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 30
Reviews Accepted: 30
Reviews Rejected: 0
30 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Holly and Tom Traub, 8 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Walk in Tuscany

Hiking through southern Tuscany with On Foot Holidays was a wonderful way to see and experience Italy. The beautiful scenery and delicious food combination was perfect. We loved the small towns and walking through vineyards, fields and woods. Walking from village to village provides time to truly experience the landscape and culture of Tuscany.

Hiking through southern Tuscany with On Foot Holidays was a wonderful way to see and experience Italy. The beautiful scenery and delicious food combination was perfect. We loved the small towns and walking through vineyards, fields and woods. Walking from village to village provides time to truly experience the landscape and culture of Tuscany.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays did a fantastic job from start to finish. From the first email through booking everything was effortless. The details of the trip, travel logistics, maps and navigation were all very clear. The route itself was the highlight. We loved the trails, towns and vistas. The hotel bookings and luggage transport all happened seamlessly. We loved the idea of a self-guided tour and On Foot made it so easy. This was a wonderful way to travel! We plan to book another trip through On Foot Holidays next year.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Wendy, 17 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

On Foot Southern Tuscany's wine and hilltop towns

We picnicked in olive groves, sampled grapes from ripe vines, watched the sunset in the Campo at Siena and from the terrace at Pieve a Salti, gazing over classical Tuscan skyline, ate wild boar and truffles, drank Brunello di Montalcino and Montepulciano Nobile, stayed in historic buildings, appreciated wonderful Italian art, relished the warm welcome of our hosts, got blisters on a long walk due to slippy pebbles underfoot and felt elated to ...

We picnicked in olive groves, sampled grapes from ripe vines, watched the sunset in the Campo at Siena and from the terrace at Pieve a Salti, gazing over classical Tuscan skyline, ate wild boar and truffles, drank Brunello di Montalcino and Montepulciano Nobile, stayed in historic buildings, appreciated wonderful Italian art, relished the warm welcome of our hosts, got blisters on a long walk due to slippy pebbles underfoot and felt elated to reach the beautiful medieval towns at the end of our walks.

Rating for tour operator:

From the first phone enquiry, all the On Foot staff were enthusiastic, friendly, had a sense of humour and listened to small queries to reassure us completely. Those of our group who used GPS were talked through it. The information packs were excellent with historical information and very useful recommendations. The walking notes were perfect and plainly compiled by someone who knew the route intimately and who had a sense of fun!

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Heather & Tod, 16 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful hike through Tuscany.

Our holiday was fantastic from start to finish. We had lovely weather, stayed in friendly hotels with wonderful views, and ate great food. Our hikes were gorgeous and peaceful - a nice counterpoint to the bustling hilltop towns.

Our holiday was fantastic from start to finish. We had lovely weather, stayed in friendly hotels with wonderful views, and ate great food. Our hikes were gorgeous and peaceful - a nice counterpoint to the bustling hilltop towns.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provides true concierge level service. Their website is fantastic and the information they provide helps you choose the hike that is right for you. But beyond that, their personal customer service surpassed our expectations. Not only were they helpful with the booking, they provided us with the all the info and maps and directions we needed to have a successful holiday. Their hotel partners were as friendly as they were. We can't wait for our next On Foot Holiday!

Reviewer's images:
On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by AnneR, 16 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking Tour of Tuscany

This was a four day walking holiday - the first we had done. It was the most relaxed and stress-free holiday we have had in a long time. On Foot provided us all the materials well in advance, gave excellent advice in real time and this allowed us to enjoy our time exploring Tuscany and the fabulous wine and cheeses.

This was a four day walking holiday - the first we had done. It was the most relaxed and stress-free holiday we have had in a long time. On Foot provided us all the materials well in advance, gave excellent advice in real time and this allowed us to enjoy our time exploring Tuscany and the fabulous wine and cheeses.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays was very responsive from our first inquiry and provided us a customized itinerary that allowed us to incorporate this walking trip into another trip to visit family. They delivered the materials to us quickly and provided a local contact to make sure all went well. Though not needed - it was reassuring to know that if we ran into difficulties we had someone to call. I would happily book another trip with them again!

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Susan T, 10 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking, fabulous food and wine, pretty villages, outstanding customer service

My cousin and I enjoyed the 5-day independent walking holiday in Tuscany in May. We were late booking as other travel plans had unexpectedly fallen through at the last minute. The team at On Foot were simply fabulous in helping us organize this trip in just a few days, emails flying madly around the world through all time zones (I live in New Zealand, my cousin lives in Canada, On Foot is in the UK, and the hotels are in Italy). Once there at ...

My cousin and I enjoyed the 5-day independent walking holiday in Tuscany in May. We were late booking as other travel plans had unexpectedly fallen through at the last minute. The team at On Foot were simply fabulous in helping us organize this trip in just a few days, emails flying madly around the world through all time zones (I live in New Zealand, my cousin lives in Canada, On Foot is in the UK, and the hotels are in Italy). Once there at last, we relaxed into the joy of Tuscany. The walks were lovely with detailed instructions plus ample historical and site notes. Of course the scenery was stunning scenery (May flowers, oh my!). The accommodation was lovely. The towns are charming. Food and wine, well, you're in Tuscany aren't you? Transport of our suitcases was effortless, and we could shorten walks by getting a lift with our bags. We were contacted by Daniel (on the ground contact in Italy) on our first night, and we knew he was there if we needed anything (we didn't). In short, a superb experience. I had not done an independent walking tour before, but I wouldn't hesitate to do so again, especially with On Foot. If you like the idea of having electronic backup, I recommend Viewranger, a great free app where you can plot your route on a topo map (use a tablet--a phone would be too small) or On Foot can forward the links to you of the routes and you can just download them. I had Viewranger, but the written instructions On Foot provided are so detailed I never used it except a couple of times to just confirm we were on the right track. Nice mix of open country, woodland, and farmland, with most of the walking paths and back roads through rolling hills--except for that climb at the end of the day up to a hill town!

Rating for tour operator:

See general comments above. If I could give 6 stars out of 5 I would.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by GaryHop, 7 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

A walk through Tuscany

We spent 7 days hiking through the hills and ancient hilltop cities of Tuscany (Siena, Bagno Vignoni, Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano), followed by a couple of days sight-seeing in Rome. And, of course, enjoying fabulous Italian cuisine and wine the entire time.

We spent 7 days hiking through the hills and ancient hilltop cities of Tuscany (Siena, Bagno Vignoni, Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano), followed by a couple of days sight-seeing in Rome. And, of course, enjoying fabulous Italian cuisine and wine the entire time.

Rating for tour operator:

From the very beginning, they were very communicative and responsive. Once we were on holiday, everything was better than we hoped, and they continued to check in with us to make sure everything was going according to plan. Wonderful service, and an amazing trip!

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Ddeyling, 12 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Tuscany Walking Holiday

Absolutely great! The countryside was beautiful and peaceful...weather a balmy 70 F. Food and wine was fantastic. Of course, the architecture of everything is always amazing to a person who lives in a 250 year old country. We walked about 50 miles of the Tuscany countryside for hilltop town to hilltop town, stayed in beautiful and comfortable B & B's, and were just delighted in the whole experience.

Absolutely great! The countryside was beautiful and peaceful...weather a balmy 70 F. Food and wine was fantastic. Of course, the architecture of everything is always amazing to a person who lives in a 250 year old country. We walked about 50 miles of the Tuscany countryside for hilltop town to hilltop town, stayed in beautiful and comfortable B & B's, and were just delighted in the whole experience.

Rating for tour operator:

On-Foot showed itself to be a professional and very well prepared tour operator in every way. The "Walking Package" that was sent to us was full of very valuable information from history of the area to explicit walking directions to basic travel transfer needs. It proved itself to be completely accurate in all details. On-Foot was very communicative from the first contact we had with them and even on the tour itself. I was delighted with the company!

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Ski, 27 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Tuscany - picture perfect

Although initially hindered by unseasonal consistent rain (somethings you just can’t plan), we certainly made up for it walking across postcard perfect countryside on the way to the hill top towns. Places we had never thought of going provided us with beautiful places to stay and take in the atmosphere before launching into the countryside again.

Although initially hindered by unseasonal consistent rain (somethings you just can’t plan), we certainly made up for it walking across postcard perfect countryside on the way to the hill top towns. Places we had never thought of going provided us with beautiful places to stay and take in the atmosphere before launching into the countryside again.

Rating for tour operator:

Our operator, responded quickly, worked with us to modify our trip providing advice but never taking over. They did exactly what they said they would. Organisation of accomodation, walking notes and maps, and logistic management of luggage was also done to efficiently and to plan. Engagement with our operator was friendly and easy, I think this flowed on to the various parties along the way who provided services.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Westcoastcanada, 20 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Thank you On Foot Holidays. Truly one of our best vacations ever!

Our seven day self-guided hike through Southern Tuscany was amazing. The route was extremely well planned and easy to follow. While the provided maps and GPS data were great, we Just used the detailed and often entertaining daily walking notes for trouble-free navigation. Generally easy walking with a few more challenging sections. Some alternate shortened options offered for those that might not be avid hikers.

Our seven day self-guided hike through Southern Tuscany was amazing. The route was extremely well planned and easy to follow. While the provided maps and GPS data were great, we Just used the detailed and often entertaining daily walking notes for trouble-free navigation. Generally easy walking with a few more challenging sections. Some alternate shortened options offered for those that might not be avid hikers.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided an exceptional, hassle-free experience from start to finish. Great communication and execution. We never had cause to contact the local representative; however it was reassuring to know someone local was available to help out if required.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Tynedalebear, 11 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

A perfect delight

We walked through the hill; towns of Tuscany with On Foot. We had a well balanced mix of terrain and towns, and a delightful range of accommodation.

We walked through the hill; towns of Tuscany with On Foot. We had a well balanced mix of terrain and towns, and a delightful range of accommodation.

Rating for tour operator:

The support and openness of the tour company was outstanding. The helped us not only "within" the holiday but also in getting to and from it