AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Tuscany

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 26
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 26
Reviews Accepted: 26
Reviews Rejected: 0
26 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Susan T, 10 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking, fabulous food and wine, pretty villages, outstanding customer service

My cousin and I enjoyed the 5-day independent walking holiday in Tuscany in May. We were late booking as other travel plans had unexpectedly fallen through at the last minute. The team at On Foot were simply fabulous in helping us organize this trip in just a few days, emails flying madly around the world through all time zones (I live in New Zealand, my cousin lives in Canada, On Foot is in the UK, and the hotels are in Italy). Once there at ...

My cousin and I enjoyed the 5-day independent walking holiday in Tuscany in May. We were late booking as other travel plans had unexpectedly fallen through at the last minute. The team at On Foot were simply fabulous in helping us organize this trip in just a few days, emails flying madly around the world through all time zones (I live in New Zealand, my cousin lives in Canada, On Foot is in the UK, and the hotels are in Italy). Once there at last, we relaxed into the joy of Tuscany. The walks were lovely with detailed instructions plus ample historical and site notes. Of course the scenery was stunning scenery (May flowers, oh my!). The accommodation was lovely. The towns are charming. Food and wine, well, you're in Tuscany aren't you? Transport of our suitcases was effortless, and we could shorten walks by getting a lift with our bags. We were contacted by Daniel (on the ground contact in Italy) on our first night, and we knew he was there if we needed anything (we didn't). In short, a superb experience. I had not done an independent walking tour before, but I wouldn't hesitate to do so again, especially with On Foot. If you like the idea of having electronic backup, I recommend Viewranger, a great free app where you can plot your route on a topo map (use a tablet--a phone would be too small) or On Foot can forward the links to you of the routes and you can just download them. I had Viewranger, but the written instructions On Foot provided are so detailed I never used it except a couple of times to just confirm we were on the right track. Nice mix of open country, woodland, and farmland, with most of the walking paths and back roads through rolling hills--except for that climb at the end of the day up to a hill town!

Rating for tour operator:

See general comments above. If I could give 6 stars out of 5 I would.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by GaryHop, 7 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

A walk through Tuscany

We spent 7 days hiking through the hills and ancient hilltop cities of Tuscany (Siena, Bagno Vignoni, Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano), followed by a couple of days sight-seeing in Rome. And, of course, enjoying fabulous Italian cuisine and wine the entire time.

We spent 7 days hiking through the hills and ancient hilltop cities of Tuscany (Siena, Bagno Vignoni, Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano), followed by a couple of days sight-seeing in Rome. And, of course, enjoying fabulous Italian cuisine and wine the entire time.

Rating for tour operator:

From the very beginning, they were very communicative and responsive. Once we were on holiday, everything was better than we hoped, and they continued to check in with us to make sure everything was going according to plan. Wonderful service, and an amazing trip!

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Ddeyling, 12 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Tuscany Walking Holiday

Absolutely great! The countryside was beautiful and peaceful...weather a balmy 70 F. Food and wine was fantastic. Of course, the architecture of everything is always amazing to a person who lives in a 250 year old country. We walked about 50 miles of the Tuscany countryside for hilltop town to hilltop town, stayed in beautiful and comfortable B & B's, and were just delighted in the whole experience.

Absolutely great! The countryside was beautiful and peaceful...weather a balmy 70 F. Food and wine was fantastic. Of course, the architecture of everything is always amazing to a person who lives in a 250 year old country. We walked about 50 miles of the Tuscany countryside for hilltop town to hilltop town, stayed in beautiful and comfortable B & B's, and were just delighted in the whole experience.

Rating for tour operator:

On-Foot showed itself to be a professional and very well prepared tour operator in every way. The "Walking Package" that was sent to us was full of very valuable information from history of the area to explicit walking directions to basic travel transfer needs. It proved itself to be completely accurate in all details. On-Foot was very communicative from the first contact we had with them and even on the tour itself. I was delighted with the company!

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Ski, 27 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Tuscany - picture perfect

Although initially hindered by unseasonal consistent rain (somethings you just can’t plan), we certainly made up for it walking across postcard perfect countryside on the way to the hill top towns. Places we had never thought of going provided us with beautiful places to stay and take in the atmosphere before launching into the countryside again.

Although initially hindered by unseasonal consistent rain (somethings you just can’t plan), we certainly made up for it walking across postcard perfect countryside on the way to the hill top towns. Places we had never thought of going provided us with beautiful places to stay and take in the atmosphere before launching into the countryside again.

Rating for tour operator:

Our operator, responded quickly, worked with us to modify our trip providing advice but never taking over. They did exactly what they said they would. Organisation of accomodation, walking notes and maps, and logistic management of luggage was also done to efficiently and to plan. Engagement with our operator was friendly and easy, I think this flowed on to the various parties along the way who provided services.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Westcoastcanada, 20 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Thank you On Foot Holidays. Truly one of our best vacations ever!

Our seven day self-guided hike through Southern Tuscany was amazing. The route was extremely well planned and easy to follow. While the provided maps and GPS data were great, we Just used the detailed and often entertaining daily walking notes for trouble-free navigation. Generally easy walking with a few more challenging sections. Some alternate shortened options offered for those that might not be avid hikers.

Our seven day self-guided hike through Southern Tuscany was amazing. The route was extremely well planned and easy to follow. While the provided maps and GPS data were great, we Just used the detailed and often entertaining daily walking notes for trouble-free navigation. Generally easy walking with a few more challenging sections. Some alternate shortened options offered for those that might not be avid hikers.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided an exceptional, hassle-free experience from start to finish. Great communication and execution. We never had cause to contact the local representative; however it was reassuring to know someone local was available to help out if required.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Tynedalebear, 11 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

A perfect delight

We walked through the hill; towns of Tuscany with On Foot. We had a well balanced mix of terrain and towns, and a delightful range of accommodation.

We walked through the hill; towns of Tuscany with On Foot. We had a well balanced mix of terrain and towns, and a delightful range of accommodation.

Rating for tour operator:

The support and openness of the tour company was outstanding. The helped us not only "within" the holiday but also in getting to and from it

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by MrWalker, 2 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Tuscany hilltop towns

Challenging but rewarding walk from Buonconvento to Montepulciano via trails and cross country..

Challenging but rewarding walk from Buonconvento to Montepulciano via trails and cross country..

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays is outstanding in every aspect....firstclass customer service with extremely prompt replies to any and every question. Very good walking notes and maps and interesting supplementary material outlining the history and dining opportunities in the area. 10/10.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Beg , 11 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Tuscany, Renaissance hilltop towns and wine

We walked this route recently, with a few suggested modifications. It was our first such trip. The service before and during our trip was excellent. We had a few errors in our plans caught by staff and got useful information about connecting before and after the purchased trip. The route is beautiful and a little challenging in some places but we were prepared by On Foot for the challenges encountered.

We walked this route recently, with a few suggested modifications. It was our first such trip. The service before and during our trip was excellent. We had a few errors in our plans caught by staff and got useful information about connecting before and after the purchased trip. The route is beautiful and a little challenging in some places but we were prepared by On Foot for the challenges encountered.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot did everything they said they would, and more. They made some excellent suggestions during our planning phase, and their printed materials had good suggestions enroute. We’re thinking about where we want to go next. When we had phone problems in Italy, they adapted to our needs and helped us move without glitches.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by EdzWalkz, 25 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

A Walk in Sun and Rain in Lovely Tuscany

A Walking holiday in southern Tuscany, including typical lovely hill top towns and villages. Weather indifferent to start with but improved later on. Fantastic countryside, centre of viniculture, stayed in some wonderful hotels and agritourismos.

A Walking holiday in southern Tuscany, including typical lovely hill top towns and villages. Weather indifferent to start with but improved later on. Fantastic countryside, centre of viniculture, stayed in some wonderful hotels and agritourismos.

Rating for tour operator:

Great attention to detail, very accurate route notes, all worked smoothly for us, good value for money. A personal service.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Roy, 27 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Southern Tuscany Walk

We walked from Sienna to Motepulciano on foot with our luggage being transported each day. The arrangement is for self guided walking and the maps and route guidance was excellent and we had the bonus of glorious sunny weather in late October. We stayed in hotels and B&Bs booked in advance and usually in delightful medieval towns and small settlements and ate out using suggestions from the On foot guide. The accommodation was in small family ...

We walked from Sienna to Motepulciano on foot with our luggage being transported each day. The arrangement is for self guided walking and the maps and route guidance was excellent and we had the bonus of glorious sunny weather in late October. We stayed in hotels and B&Bs booked in advance and usually in delightful medieval towns and small settlements and ate out using suggestions from the On foot guide. The accommodation was in small family run hotels with breakfast provided and we thoroughly enjoyed this aspect of our trip and the warm welcome we got at our various residences. The bonus of this walk was the historical dimension to the trip and we explored ancient towns and churches and experienced a taste of Catholic Italy which is so different from our own secular society. The landscape was delightful rolling countryside with woods and arable farming and the very picturesque fortified hill towns we visited/stayed in. It was easy walking with the huge advantage of late autumn sunshine in abundance to prepare us for the return to grey England.

Rating for tour operator:

The planning and guidance notes for the trip were excellent and hence it was easy to find our way to our destination each day. We really enjoyed the choice of hotels the company identified and felt very comfortable and well looked after throughout our holiday. The transport of our luggage was executed faultlessly and the additional guidance offered with respect to our transport and to eating out was equally informative and helpful. Further, the background briefing notes with regard to historical and geographical aspects of the places visited was very helpful. i should add, the personal contact with the office staff has always been prompt and very helpful and much appreciated.