AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Tuscany

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 37
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 37
Reviews Accepted: 37
Reviews Rejected: 0
37 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Donna & Tom, 30 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Terrific Tuscany!

Wow! Terrific Tuscany! This holiday has it all…breathtaking panoramas; vineyards and olive groves; majestic places of worship; thermal baths; challenging yet peaceful hikes; quaint towns; excellent and distinctive accommodations; PLUS phenomenal food and wine. We are in our mid-late 60’s and tackled this trip in early September, 2022. There’s not much shade along the way, it’s HILLY, and the temps were in the low 90’s (F.) so it was unusually hot...

Wow! Terrific Tuscany! This holiday has it all…breathtaking panoramas; vineyards and olive groves; majestic places of worship; thermal baths; challenging yet peaceful hikes; quaint towns; excellent and distinctive accommodations; PLUS phenomenal food and wine. We are in our mid-late 60’s and tackled this trip in early September, 2022. There’s not much shade along the way, it’s HILLY, and the temps were in the low 90’s (F.) so it was unusually hot. While the hikes weren’t easy for us, everything that we experienced along the way yielded a huge sense of accomplishment at day’s end. Directions were excellent and sometimes made us chuckle. We took 10 days to do the 7 night journey and wish we had planned two nights in every town to have a recovery day between hikes and more fully experience all that each town had to offer. We couldn’t recommend On Foot Holidays more highly. From start to finish, all of our inquiries were answered promptly and the information provided addressed every detail of our journey. This vacation was all that we anticipated and so much more! We have memories for a lifetime! Thank you, On Foot Holidays!

Rating for tour operator:

On-Foot Holidays are an A+ organization!

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by JS, 7 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walks in the Tuscan sun along open tranquil countryside to hillside towns and villages

Solo self guided walk in Southern Tuscany. The guides were very detailed and the pre-advice excellent. The accommodation was varied, each with its own personality. The local contact ensured I had arrived safely at each day’s destination. From my first contact with On Foot Holidays to the conclusion of my holiday, the guidance and advice has been excellent. Thank you for a truly memorable holiday.

Solo self guided walk in Southern Tuscany. The guides were very detailed and the pre-advice excellent. The accommodation was varied, each with its own personality. The local contact ensured I had arrived safely at each day’s destination. From my first contact with On Foot Holidays to the conclusion of my holiday, the guidance and advice has been excellent. Thank you for a truly memorable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Frankie, 23 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Perfect walking holiday in Tuscany

We walked for six days through beautiful Tuscan countryside staying at hilltop towns and villages. May was an excellent time to go as the weather was warm but not too hot and the flower meadows were sensational. The accommodation was outstanding, mostly in old Tuscan buildings. The self-guided walks were very clear and gave an accurate idea of what each day entailed. Where On Foot had booked restaurants for us, they were always excellent.

We walked for six days through beautiful Tuscan countryside staying at hilltop towns and villages. May was an excellent time to go as the weather was warm but not too hot and the flower meadows were sensational. The accommodation was outstanding, mostly in old Tuscan buildings. The self-guided walks were very clear and gave an accurate idea of what each day entailed. Where On Foot had booked restaurants for us, they were always excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

We originally booked this holiday before Covid and the company postponed our booking without any problem. We decided to drive to Italy and On Foot arranged where we could leave our car. What is also helpful and reassuring is that there is a local contact who is on hand to give up to date advice and help if any problems were to arise. Whenever I ring the company I am rewarded with exceptional service. Everyone is so helpful and friendly. They genuinely care that we have an excellent holiday.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Xan, 9 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Tuscany

Our 4 day hike was the first one I have done with On Foot Holidays but not the last! From start to finish we had a fantastic experience. . The hotels were wonderful and bags magically waiting for us after our beautiful long days of hiking. Great hilltop towns , suggested stops and historical notes along the way, Also recommended restaurants … good local contact if needed .We had the most wonderful experience!

Our 4 day hike was the first one I have done with On Foot Holidays but not the last! From start to finish we had a fantastic experience. . The hotels were wonderful and bags magically waiting for us after our beautiful long days of hiking. Great hilltop towns , suggested stops and historical notes along the way, Also recommended restaurants … good local contact if needed .We had the most wonderful experience!

Rating for tour operator:

The communications and response with On Foot was excellent ! So well organized-

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Jeremy, 21 Apr 2022
Holiday Rating:

Unguided walking through the hilltop towns of Southern Tuscany

My holiday was a five night, four day unguided walking tour in Tuscany. Each day involved walking 14 to 18 km, on a prescribed route, mainly or rural gravel tracks and paths, with elevation gains of 600 to 800 m. The hotels were organized by the tour operator and my suitcase transferred each day. The countryside was a mix of lush green fields and both deciduous and evergreen forest. It was very beautiful, although a bit early in the year for ...

My holiday was a five night, four day unguided walking tour in Tuscany. Each day involved walking 14 to 18 km, on a prescribed route, mainly or rural gravel tracks and paths, with elevation gains of 600 to 800 m. The hotels were organized by the tour operator and my suitcase transferred each day. The countryside was a mix of lush green fields and both deciduous and evergreen forest. It was very beautiful, although a bit early in the year for leaves on the deciduous trees.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised with a comprehensive tour package sent in advance, containing all contact details, Covid protocols, route maps and guidance notes. I was in daily contact with my local guide confirming departure and successful arrival.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Montana hiker, 13 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Southern Tuscany with On Foot Holidays

Town-to-town hiking in Tuscany

Town-to-town hiking in Tuscany

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent from booking until holiday's end. Detailed walking directions, outstanding local contact, terrific accommodations. Thorough and accurate

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Amy, 18 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Southern Tuscany with On Foot

We had a really delightful trip with On Foot. This is our second tour with them and it certainly won’t be our last. They do an outstanding job with the planning and logistics and we’re always know that we’re going to have the best trip possible when we book with them. I also have to say that their flexibility and responsiveness during COVID was above and beyond. We felt very comfortable booking with them during such uncertain times and were ...

We had a really delightful trip with On Foot. This is our second tour with them and it certainly won’t be our last. They do an outstanding job with the planning and logistics and we’re always know that we’re going to have the best trip possible when we book with them. I also have to say that their flexibility and responsiveness during COVID was above and beyond. We felt very comfortable booking with them during such uncertain times and were not at all disappointed.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot coding the routes and hotels plus manages baggage transfers while you hike

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Holly and Tom Traub, 8 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Walk in Tuscany

Hiking through southern Tuscany with On Foot Holidays was a wonderful way to see and experience Italy. The beautiful scenery and delicious food combination was perfect. We loved the small towns and walking through vineyards, fields and woods. Walking from village to village provides time to truly experience the landscape and culture of Tuscany.

Hiking through southern Tuscany with On Foot Holidays was a wonderful way to see and experience Italy. The beautiful scenery and delicious food combination was perfect. We loved the small towns and walking through vineyards, fields and woods. Walking from village to village provides time to truly experience the landscape and culture of Tuscany.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays did a fantastic job from start to finish. From the first email through booking everything was effortless. The details of the trip, travel logistics, maps and navigation were all very clear. The route itself was the highlight. We loved the trails, towns and vistas. The hotel bookings and luggage transport all happened seamlessly. We loved the idea of a self-guided tour and On Foot made it so easy. This was a wonderful way to travel! We plan to book another trip through On Foot Holidays next year.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Wendy, 17 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

On Foot Southern Tuscany's wine and hilltop towns

We picnicked in olive groves, sampled grapes from ripe vines, watched the sunset in the Campo at Siena and from the terrace at Pieve a Salti, gazing over classical Tuscan skyline, ate wild boar and truffles, drank Brunello di Montalcino and Montepulciano Nobile, stayed in historic buildings, appreciated wonderful Italian art, relished the warm welcome of our hosts, got blisters on a long walk due to slippy pebbles underfoot and felt elated to ...

We picnicked in olive groves, sampled grapes from ripe vines, watched the sunset in the Campo at Siena and from the terrace at Pieve a Salti, gazing over classical Tuscan skyline, ate wild boar and truffles, drank Brunello di Montalcino and Montepulciano Nobile, stayed in historic buildings, appreciated wonderful Italian art, relished the warm welcome of our hosts, got blisters on a long walk due to slippy pebbles underfoot and felt elated to reach the beautiful medieval towns at the end of our walks.

Rating for tour operator:

From the first phone enquiry, all the On Foot staff were enthusiastic, friendly, had a sense of humour and listened to small queries to reassure us completely. Those of our group who used GPS were talked through it. The information packs were excellent with historical information and very useful recommendations. The walking notes were perfect and plainly compiled by someone who knew the route intimately and who had a sense of fun!

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Heather & Tod, 16 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful hike through Tuscany.

Our holiday was fantastic from start to finish. We had lovely weather, stayed in friendly hotels with wonderful views, and ate great food. Our hikes were gorgeous and peaceful - a nice counterpoint to the bustling hilltop towns.

Our holiday was fantastic from start to finish. We had lovely weather, stayed in friendly hotels with wonderful views, and ate great food. Our hikes were gorgeous and peaceful - a nice counterpoint to the bustling hilltop towns.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provides true concierge level service. Their website is fantastic and the information they provide helps you choose the hike that is right for you. But beyond that, their personal customer service surpassed our expectations. Not only were they helpful with the booking, they provided us with the all the info and maps and directions we needed to have a successful holiday. Their hotel partners were as friendly as they were. We can't wait for our next On Foot Holiday!

Reviewer's images: