AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Tuscany

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 21
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 21
Reviews Accepted: 21
Reviews Rejected: 0
21 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Tynedalebear, 11 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

A perfect delight

We walked through the hill; towns of Tuscany with On Foot. We had a well balanced mix of terrain and towns, and a delightful range of accommodation.

We walked through the hill; towns of Tuscany with On Foot. We had a well balanced mix of terrain and towns, and a delightful range of accommodation.

Rating for tour operator:

The support and openness of the tour company was outstanding. The helped us not only "within" the holiday but also in getting to and from it

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by MrWalker, 2 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Tuscany hilltop towns

Challenging but rewarding walk from Buonconvento to Montepulciano via trails and cross country..

Challenging but rewarding walk from Buonconvento to Montepulciano via trails and cross country..

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays is outstanding in every aspect....firstclass customer service with extremely prompt replies to any and every question. Very good walking notes and maps and interesting supplementary material outlining the history and dining opportunities in the area. 10/10.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Beg , 11 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Tuscany, Renaissance hilltop towns and wine

We walked this route recently, with a few suggested modifications. It was our first such trip. The service before and during our trip was excellent. We had a few errors in our plans caught by staff and got useful information about connecting before and after the purchased trip. The route is beautiful and a little challenging in some places but we were prepared by On Foot for the challenges encountered.

We walked this route recently, with a few suggested modifications. It was our first such trip. The service before and during our trip was excellent. We had a few errors in our plans caught by staff and got useful information about connecting before and after the purchased trip. The route is beautiful and a little challenging in some places but we were prepared by On Foot for the challenges encountered.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot did everything they said they would, and more. They made some excellent suggestions during our planning phase, and their printed materials had good suggestions enroute. We’re thinking about where we want to go next. When we had phone problems in Italy, they adapted to our needs and helped us move without glitches.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by EdzWalkz, 25 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

A Walk in Sun and Rain in Lovely Tuscany

A Walking holiday in southern Tuscany, including typical lovely hill top towns and villages. Weather indifferent to start with but improved later on. Fantastic countryside, centre of viniculture, stayed in some wonderful hotels and agritourismos.

A Walking holiday in southern Tuscany, including typical lovely hill top towns and villages. Weather indifferent to start with but improved later on. Fantastic countryside, centre of viniculture, stayed in some wonderful hotels and agritourismos.

Rating for tour operator:

Great attention to detail, very accurate route notes, all worked smoothly for us, good value for money. A personal service.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Roy, 27 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Southern Tuscany Walk

We walked from Sienna to Motepulciano on foot with our luggage being transported each day. The arrangement is for self guided walking and the maps and route guidance was excellent and we had the bonus of glorious sunny weather in late October. We stayed in hotels and B&Bs booked in advance and usually in delightful medieval towns and small settlements and ate out using suggestions from the On foot guide. The accommodation was in small family ...

We walked from Sienna to Motepulciano on foot with our luggage being transported each day. The arrangement is for self guided walking and the maps and route guidance was excellent and we had the bonus of glorious sunny weather in late October. We stayed in hotels and B&Bs booked in advance and usually in delightful medieval towns and small settlements and ate out using suggestions from the On foot guide. The accommodation was in small family run hotels with breakfast provided and we thoroughly enjoyed this aspect of our trip and the warm welcome we got at our various residences. The bonus of this walk was the historical dimension to the trip and we explored ancient towns and churches and experienced a taste of Catholic Italy which is so different from our own secular society. The landscape was delightful rolling countryside with woods and arable farming and the very picturesque fortified hill towns we visited/stayed in. It was easy walking with the huge advantage of late autumn sunshine in abundance to prepare us for the return to grey England.

Rating for tour operator:

The planning and guidance notes for the trip were excellent and hence it was easy to find our way to our destination each day. We really enjoyed the choice of hotels the company identified and felt very comfortable and well looked after throughout our holiday. The transport of our luggage was executed faultlessly and the additional guidance offered with respect to our transport and to eating out was equally informative and helpful. Further, the background briefing notes with regard to historical and geographical aspects of the places visited was very helpful. i should add, the personal contact with the office staff has always been prompt and very helpful and much appreciated.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Nick, 20 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Tuscany walking

Self guided walking holiday using maps and directions from On Foot Holidays. They planned the route, booked the hotels, arranged baggage transfer between hotels, provided transport information to and from the airport. The routes and hotels were great and very individual. The holiday felt like an adventure instead of a package holiday.

Self guided walking holiday using maps and directions from On Foot Holidays. They planned the route, booked the hotels, arranged baggage transfer between hotels, provided transport information to and from the airport. The routes and hotels were great and very individual. The holiday felt like an adventure instead of a package holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Go Walking were very efficient replying to email very quickly (even over a bank holiday weekend). All the staff new the holiday details well (and have probably done the walks themselves. The local rep was very helpful and it was good to know that there was local assistance available if we needed it.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Ms E G 17, 11 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Self-guided walking in beautiful Tuscany

Spent 5 days walking in Tuscany inn to inn - self-guided walk. Most days too hot to do all the walking we'd planned, and route was very exposed, but we made the best of it with thermal baths and lots of gelato. :-)

Spent 5 days walking in Tuscany inn to inn - self-guided walk. Most days too hot to do all the walking we'd planned, and route was very exposed, but we made the best of it with thermal baths and lots of gelato. :-)

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot was prompt and thorough both before and during the trip - couldn't be better - first-rate!!

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by A &H, 11 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Selfguided Tuscan Walking Holiday

6 beautiful walks in Tuscany -excellent notes from On Foot Holidays, well-chosen hotels each with own character. This was our third trip with On Foot and would recommend highly.

6 beautiful walks in Tuscany -excellent notes from On Foot Holidays, well-chosen hotels each with own character. This was our third trip with On Foot and would recommend highly.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays - very courteous and friendly - sorted out an individual tour for us that we only requested at the last minute. They know the terrain they cover very well. The hoteliers we met clearly like working with the company. We've done three tours - 2 in Italy and one in Czech Republic - all excellent.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Max, 16 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Mr

The area was lovely and the choice of routes and Tuscan towns made this a perfect introduction to Tuscany. We were stunned by the beauty of the countryside and the warmed by the friendliness of the local people. The meals we ate were all of a high standard and always a great variety of local produce and of course delicious local wines. The flexibility built into the holiday aslo added to the enjoyment

The area was lovely and the choice of routes and Tuscan towns made this a perfect introduction to Tuscany. We were stunned by the beauty of the countryside and the warmed by the friendliness of the local people. The meals we ate were all of a high standard and always a great variety of local produce and of course delicious local wines. The flexibility built into the holiday aslo added to the enjoyment

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot did an excellent job, - walking instructions and gps track files were spot on - accomodation was excellent as was the baggage handling - background information on area, restaurants etc was great

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Happy Rambler, 30 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Walking in Tuscany!

What a fantastic experience from beginning to end! The holiday was well organised, with wonderful accommodation, varied paths, historic hillside towns and beautiful scenery. We were even lucky with the weather as the sun shone on us for the entire week. As there were maps and walk descriptions provided this gave us the confidence to walk independently rather than walk to the pace of an organised group, with the added bonus of our accommodation ...

What a fantastic experience from beginning to end! The holiday was well organised, with wonderful accommodation, varied paths, historic hillside towns and beautiful scenery. We were even lucky with the weather as the sun shone on us for the entire week. As there were maps and walk descriptions provided this gave us the confidence to walk independently rather than walk to the pace of an organised group, with the added bonus of our accommodation being booked and bags transferred.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot holidays are great! This was my fourth hoiday booked with them and each time i'm treated as an individual rather than just another customer. They really know their stuff and are happy to answer in depth questions about any aspect of the trip including getting there and back. It was also helpful to have a point of contact in the region you are staying as it gave an added sense of security in case there were any problems - not that there has been.