AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Tuscany

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 35
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 35
Reviews Accepted: 35
Reviews Rejected: 0
35 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Frankie, 23 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Perfect walking holiday in Tuscany

We walked for six days through beautiful Tuscan countryside staying at hilltop towns and villages. May was an excellent time to go as the weather was warm but not too hot and the flower meadows were sensational. The accommodation was outstanding, mostly in old Tuscan buildings. The self-guided walks were very clear and gave an accurate idea of what each day entailed. Where On Foot had booked restaurants for us, they were always excellent.

We walked for six days through beautiful Tuscan countryside staying at hilltop towns and villages. May was an excellent time to go as the weather was warm but not too hot and the flower meadows were sensational. The accommodation was outstanding, mostly in old Tuscan buildings. The self-guided walks were very clear and gave an accurate idea of what each day entailed. Where On Foot had booked restaurants for us, they were always excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

We originally booked this holiday before Covid and the company postponed our booking without any problem. We decided to drive to Italy and On Foot arranged where we could leave our car. What is also helpful and reassuring is that there is a local contact who is on hand to give up to date advice and help if any problems were to arise. Whenever I ring the company I am rewarded with exceptional service. Everyone is so helpful and friendly. They genuinely care that we have an excellent holiday.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Xan, 9 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Tuscany

Our 4 day hike was the first one I have done with On Foot Holidays but not the last! From start to finish we had a fantastic experience. . The hotels were wonderful and bags magically waiting for us after our beautiful long days of hiking. Great hilltop towns , suggested stops and historical notes along the way, Also recommended restaurants … good local contact if needed .We had the most wonderful experience!

Our 4 day hike was the first one I have done with On Foot Holidays but not the last! From start to finish we had a fantastic experience. . The hotels were wonderful and bags magically waiting for us after our beautiful long days of hiking. Great hilltop towns , suggested stops and historical notes along the way, Also recommended restaurants … good local contact if needed .We had the most wonderful experience!

Rating for tour operator:

The communications and response with On Foot was excellent ! So well organized-

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Jeremy, 21 Apr 2022
Holiday Rating:

Unguided walking through the hilltop towns of Southern Tuscany

My holiday was a five night, four day unguided walking tour in Tuscany. Each day involved walking 14 to 18 km, on a prescribed route, mainly or rural gravel tracks and paths, with elevation gains of 600 to 800 m. The hotels were organized by the tour operator and my suitcase transferred each day. The countryside was a mix of lush green fields and both deciduous and evergreen forest. It was very beautiful, although a bit early in the year for ...

My holiday was a five night, four day unguided walking tour in Tuscany. Each day involved walking 14 to 18 km, on a prescribed route, mainly or rural gravel tracks and paths, with elevation gains of 600 to 800 m. The hotels were organized by the tour operator and my suitcase transferred each day. The countryside was a mix of lush green fields and both deciduous and evergreen forest. It was very beautiful, although a bit early in the year for leaves on the deciduous trees.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised with a comprehensive tour package sent in advance, containing all contact details, Covid protocols, route maps and guidance notes. I was in daily contact with my local guide confirming departure and successful arrival.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Montana hiker, 13 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Southern Tuscany with On Foot Holidays

Town-to-town hiking in Tuscany

Town-to-town hiking in Tuscany

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent from booking until holiday's end. Detailed walking directions, outstanding local contact, terrific accommodations. Thorough and accurate

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Amy, 18 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Southern Tuscany with On Foot

We had a really delightful trip with On Foot. This is our second tour with them and it certainly won’t be our last. They do an outstanding job with the planning and logistics and we’re always know that we’re going to have the best trip possible when we book with them. I also have to say that their flexibility and responsiveness during COVID was above and beyond. We felt very comfortable booking with them during such uncertain times and were ...

We had a really delightful trip with On Foot. This is our second tour with them and it certainly won’t be our last. They do an outstanding job with the planning and logistics and we’re always know that we’re going to have the best trip possible when we book with them. I also have to say that their flexibility and responsiveness during COVID was above and beyond. We felt very comfortable booking with them during such uncertain times and were not at all disappointed.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot coding the routes and hotels plus manages baggage transfers while you hike

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Holly and Tom Traub, 8 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Walk in Tuscany

Hiking through southern Tuscany with On Foot Holidays was a wonderful way to see and experience Italy. The beautiful scenery and delicious food combination was perfect. We loved the small towns and walking through vineyards, fields and woods. Walking from village to village provides time to truly experience the landscape and culture of Tuscany.

Hiking through southern Tuscany with On Foot Holidays was a wonderful way to see and experience Italy. The beautiful scenery and delicious food combination was perfect. We loved the small towns and walking through vineyards, fields and woods. Walking from village to village provides time to truly experience the landscape and culture of Tuscany.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays did a fantastic job from start to finish. From the first email through booking everything was effortless. The details of the trip, travel logistics, maps and navigation were all very clear. The route itself was the highlight. We loved the trails, towns and vistas. The hotel bookings and luggage transport all happened seamlessly. We loved the idea of a self-guided tour and On Foot made it so easy. This was a wonderful way to travel! We plan to book another trip through On Foot Holidays next year.

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Wendy, 17 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

On Foot Southern Tuscany's wine and hilltop towns

We picnicked in olive groves, sampled grapes from ripe vines, watched the sunset in the Campo at Siena and from the terrace at Pieve a Salti, gazing over classical Tuscan skyline, ate wild boar and truffles, drank Brunello di Montalcino and Montepulciano Nobile, stayed in historic buildings, appreciated wonderful Italian art, relished the warm welcome of our hosts, got blisters on a long walk due to slippy pebbles underfoot and felt elated to ...

We picnicked in olive groves, sampled grapes from ripe vines, watched the sunset in the Campo at Siena and from the terrace at Pieve a Salti, gazing over classical Tuscan skyline, ate wild boar and truffles, drank Brunello di Montalcino and Montepulciano Nobile, stayed in historic buildings, appreciated wonderful Italian art, relished the warm welcome of our hosts, got blisters on a long walk due to slippy pebbles underfoot and felt elated to reach the beautiful medieval towns at the end of our walks.

Rating for tour operator:

From the first phone enquiry, all the On Foot staff were enthusiastic, friendly, had a sense of humour and listened to small queries to reassure us completely. Those of our group who used GPS were talked through it. The information packs were excellent with historical information and very useful recommendations. The walking notes were perfect and plainly compiled by someone who knew the route intimately and who had a sense of fun!

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Heather & Tod, 16 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful hike through Tuscany.

Our holiday was fantastic from start to finish. We had lovely weather, stayed in friendly hotels with wonderful views, and ate great food. Our hikes were gorgeous and peaceful - a nice counterpoint to the bustling hilltop towns.

Our holiday was fantastic from start to finish. We had lovely weather, stayed in friendly hotels with wonderful views, and ate great food. Our hikes were gorgeous and peaceful - a nice counterpoint to the bustling hilltop towns.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provides true concierge level service. Their website is fantastic and the information they provide helps you choose the hike that is right for you. But beyond that, their personal customer service surpassed our expectations. Not only were they helpful with the booking, they provided us with the all the info and maps and directions we needed to have a successful holiday. Their hotel partners were as friendly as they were. We can't wait for our next On Foot Holiday!

Reviewer's images:
On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by AnneR, 16 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking Tour of Tuscany

This was a four day walking holiday - the first we had done. It was the most relaxed and stress-free holiday we have had in a long time. On Foot provided us all the materials well in advance, gave excellent advice in real time and this allowed us to enjoy our time exploring Tuscany and the fabulous wine and cheeses.

This was a four day walking holiday - the first we had done. It was the most relaxed and stress-free holiday we have had in a long time. On Foot provided us all the materials well in advance, gave excellent advice in real time and this allowed us to enjoy our time exploring Tuscany and the fabulous wine and cheeses.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays was very responsive from our first inquiry and provided us a customized itinerary that allowed us to incorporate this walking trip into another trip to visit family. They delivered the materials to us quickly and provided a local contact to make sure all went well. Though not needed - it was reassuring to know that if we ran into difficulties we had someone to call. I would happily book another trip with them again!

On Foot Holidays - Tuscany by Susan T, 10 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking, fabulous food and wine, pretty villages, outstanding customer service

My cousin and I enjoyed the 5-day independent walking holiday in Tuscany in May. We were late booking as other travel plans had unexpectedly fallen through at the last minute. The team at On Foot were simply fabulous in helping us organize this trip in just a few days, emails flying madly around the world through all time zones (I live in New Zealand, my cousin lives in Canada, On Foot is in the UK, and the hotels are in Italy). Once there at ...

My cousin and I enjoyed the 5-day independent walking holiday in Tuscany in May. We were late booking as other travel plans had unexpectedly fallen through at the last minute. The team at On Foot were simply fabulous in helping us organize this trip in just a few days, emails flying madly around the world through all time zones (I live in New Zealand, my cousin lives in Canada, On Foot is in the UK, and the hotels are in Italy). Once there at last, we relaxed into the joy of Tuscany. The walks were lovely with detailed instructions plus ample historical and site notes. Of course the scenery was stunning scenery (May flowers, oh my!). The accommodation was lovely. The towns are charming. Food and wine, well, you're in Tuscany aren't you? Transport of our suitcases was effortless, and we could shorten walks by getting a lift with our bags. We were contacted by Daniel (on the ground contact in Italy) on our first night, and we knew he was there if we needed anything (we didn't). In short, a superb experience. I had not done an independent walking tour before, but I wouldn't hesitate to do so again, especially with On Foot. If you like the idea of having electronic backup, I recommend Viewranger, a great free app where you can plot your route on a topo map (use a tablet--a phone would be too small) or On Foot can forward the links to you of the routes and you can just download them. I had Viewranger, but the written instructions On Foot provided are so detailed I never used it except a couple of times to just confirm we were on the right track. Nice mix of open country, woodland, and farmland, with most of the walking paths and back roads through rolling hills--except for that climb at the end of the day up to a hill town!

Rating for tour operator:

See general comments above. If I could give 6 stars out of 5 I would.