AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Slovenia

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 27
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 27
Reviews Accepted: 27
Reviews Rejected: 0
27 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Slinglow, 11 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

This was the fourth walking holiday my wife Judith and I have taken with On Foot and thay have all been marvellous.

We walked from near Ljubljana, Slovenia's capital, to Trieste in Italy over a period of 5 days, through changing scenery and wildflower meadows, taking in Predjama Castle, a gourmet dinner one evening, wine tasting one day en-route and one day visiting the Skocjan caves (all pre-arranged by On Foot). On Foot arrange a mix of hotels, B&Bs and farms to stay at, some providing dinners with their own home produced food and wine. We carry daypacks ...

We walked from near Ljubljana, Slovenia's capital, to Trieste in Italy over a period of 5 days, through changing scenery and wildflower meadows, taking in Predjama Castle, a gourmet dinner one evening, wine tasting one day en-route and one day visiting the Skocjan caves (all pre-arranged by On Foot). On Foot arrange a mix of hotels, B&Bs and farms to stay at, some providing dinners with their own home produced food and wine. We carry daypacks during the walks and On Foot arrange for our main luggage to be taken to the next place. We have never been disappointed (except for some iffy weather, which not even On Foot can control!) We are now thinking which of all the tempting routes available we should select for our fifth holiday with them.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot meticulously research each of their European holiday destinations; the walk itself, the local reps and the places you stay at. Really professional firm and nice people too. New routes are being added to their list of choices.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Kiwis in Europe, 10 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Slovenia - Karast country

wonderful walking, eating, experiencing Slovenia and Trieste. All connections were made, and accommodation was excellent.

wonderful walking, eating, experiencing Slovenia and Trieste. All connections were made, and accommodation was excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

great responsiveness to our needs

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Laika, 18 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

On foot holidays in slovenia

We had a wonderful time, we can't stop talking about it, one of the best holidays we have ever had,, we would class ourselves as dog walkers not hikers, so this was perfect for us, but just pushed us out our comfort zone. The route was like stepping back in time, vineyards,churches on gently rolling hills, and no hedges , just open wooded landscapes with no tourists. Our party of four expanded to six after meeting an Australian couple who ...

We had a wonderful time, we can't stop talking about it, one of the best holidays we have ever had,, we would class ourselves as dog walkers not hikers, so this was perfect for us, but just pushed us out our comfort zone. The route was like stepping back in time, vineyards,churches on gently rolling hills, and no hedges , just open wooded landscapes with no tourists. Our party of four expanded to six after meeting an Australian couple who had got lost,they weren't with on foot holidays! We generally arrived at 3,00 at our accommodation,and after a reviving glass or two of wine, rested before dinner, served early in the evening. Dinner was a highlight with good food good wine and good company, these were days to remember for rest of your life.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent in every possible way, they aren't tour operators, they are personal holiday organisers, nothing is too much trouble. The first morning we couldn't walk because of torrential rain, so were taken to some caves where we spent thee wonderous hours, ,the driver waited until we had finished and then took us back to the start of our walk, all part of the service.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Ms J C 17, 18 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Really enjoyable realxing walk

Very enjoyable well organised walk. not too strenuous and not too easy, staying in excellent local accommodation. route faultlessly described. our second walk with On Foot - totally recommend

Very enjoyable well organised walk. not too strenuous and not too easy, staying in excellent local accommodation. route faultlessly described. our second walk with On Foot - totally recommend

Rating for tour operator:

please see above

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Hap, 30 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Very well organised, with attention to our wishes and prefrences

We walked from Slovenia to near Trieste through beautiful villages and incredible views, while enjoying local food and wine.

We walked from Slovenia to near Trieste through beautiful villages and incredible views, while enjoying local food and wine.

Rating for tour operator:

The holiday was extremely well planned and carried out. The people on the ground were very helpful and interesting. We knew that all we had to do was walk and enjoy ourselves, because every single detail was taken care of.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Geordie, 20 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Walk from Ljublijana to Trieste

A fabulous 6 days walking from Ljublijana in Slovenia to Trieste in Italy. Everything well organised by On Foot Holidays. Accommodation was of a good standard and the food was excellent. We found the Slovenian people very welcoming and helpful. Altogether a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

A fabulous 6 days walking from Ljublijana in Slovenia to Trieste in Italy. Everything well organised by On Foot Holidays. Accommodation was of a good standard and the food was excellent. We found the Slovenian people very welcoming and helpful. Altogether a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Rating for tour operator:

A very personal service. Always kept us informed throughout the booking process accommodating changes in personnel with no fuss. The holiday was very well organised with local reps very helpful. An excellent holiday.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Two happy Aussies, 23 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

The peace and beauty of Slovenia at a perfect pace

From our initial booking through to the stress of having to cancel our walk for health reasons then re-booking we received nothing but outstanding, friendly & efficient service from all at On Foot Holidays. The route was well chosen and the notes precise and easy to follow as were the instructions on downloading the GPS software and using it. Our accommodation along the was exactly what we needed and our various hosts comments made it clear ...

From our initial booking through to the stress of having to cancel our walk for health reasons then re-booking we received nothing but outstanding, friendly & efficient service from all at On Foot Holidays. The route was well chosen and the notes precise and easy to follow as were the instructions on downloading the GPS software and using it. Our accommodation along the was exactly what we needed and our various hosts comments made it clear that On Foot staff were very familiar with both them and the route. We really appreciated the information supplied with regard to the route, countryside, hosts, local restaurants and sights. We've walked various long distance routes in a number of countries with different companies and On Foot Holidays tops the list. Thank you!

Rating for tour operator:

We can't recommend On Foot Holidays enough: they are very knowledgeable with regards to the actual route, the accommodation hosts and their services and also with the various places of interest along the way. They pass on recommendations from their past clients for restaurants, etc. which proved helpful too. Their notes, maps & luggage transfer service are excellent - the best we've had on all walks we've done and, above all, everything was handled efficiently and in a caring, friendly manner. We can find no fault with their service and thoroughly recommend them.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Isobel , 17 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Delightful walks through vineyards,woods and wildflower meadows with mountain views

Walking tour in The Karst area of Slovenia

Walking tour in The Karst area of Slovenia

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holodays are friendly helpful and supportive. The luggage transfers went without a hitch and the accommodation was clean in pleasant surroundings

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Mr A O 15, 8 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

A pleasant stroll through Slovenia

This was a lovely 6 day jaunt through Slovenia: with meadows , hills, vineyards and traditional hospitality. The flora and fauna were wonderful. Very enjoyable

This was a lovely 6 day jaunt through Slovenia: with meadows , hills, vineyards and traditional hospitality. The flora and fauna were wonderful. Very enjoyable

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot were wonderful: very efficient and caring. We always felt we were being watched over and looked after.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by VCF, 25 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Sublime Slovenia

This was an immaculately researched walking holiday in an area of agricultural time-warp where the fields and woods were ablaze with beautiful wildflowers and buzzing with life. The farms we stayed at were welcoming and comfortable and largely self-sufficient in delicious food and wines.

This was an immaculately researched walking holiday in an area of agricultural time-warp where the fields and woods were ablaze with beautiful wildflowers and buzzing with life. The farms we stayed at were welcoming and comfortable and largely self-sufficient in delicious food and wines.

Rating for tour operator:

I can't praise On Foot Holidays highly enough for their friendly and exceptionally knowledgeable service, the back up of their walk notes and phone app meant they were with us every step of the way!