AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Slovenia

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 38
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 38
Reviews Accepted: 38
Reviews Rejected: 0
38 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by ShannonF, 18 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Solo Walking Holiday through Slovenia to Italy!

I found walking in Slovenia in the springtime to be gorgeous, the colors in nature are, ironically, almost UN-natural, nearly day-glow green, a feast for the eyes! And the multitude of wildflowers are the stunning sprinkle of color on top. I traversed through various forests, meadows, hillsides and villages, and it was all delightful! The choices On Foot Holidays made with regard to route and accommodations were all superb; I simply loved knowing ...

I found walking in Slovenia in the springtime to be gorgeous, the colors in nature are, ironically, almost UN-natural, nearly day-glow green, a feast for the eyes! And the multitude of wildflowers are the stunning sprinkle of color on top. I traversed through various forests, meadows, hillsides and villages, and it was all delightful! The choices On Foot Holidays made with regard to route and accommodations were all superb; I simply loved knowing that every day my only task was to walk, there were no other decisions to make, everything else had been beautifully arranged and executed. I also appreciated that there was some flexibility in the schedule and the amount of walking; I did wear myself out one day(!), but it was easy to make a compensatory adjustment to the following day. This was my first solo walking trip and it was the beautiful and peaceful respite I was seeking. I am 54, female, and on the fluffy-but-active side of life...and I am happy to report that I always felt safe in every way.! My days were filled with sunshine and beautiful vistas,; a sense of accomplishment and adventure; yummy picnic lunches and delicious homemade Slovenian dinners; conversations with interesting people; spectacular castles and caves; and the happy knowledge that there was something new to see, to hear, to taste and to think about, around each corner. It was a most excellent holiday, indeed, and perfectly capped off with a couple of nights in the charming city of Trieste, Italy.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays was so impressive, from beginning to end! First of all, I don't think they ever sleep...they answered my email questions almost immediately every time! In each instance their communications were informative, helpful, gracious and polite, friendly and encouraging, and special requests for extra days or a change in the order of the route were met with ease and professionalism. I especially loved that I could communicate with someone (or tow!) on staff who had recently traveled the route I wanted to take. Additionally, the packet of information they send out prior to the trip is extraordinary and made my trip run so smoothly, especially combined with the GPS tracks they send out that can be used offline. I can't speak highly enough about how well I was prepared by them for my trip and what a pleasure it was to work with them.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Prince Consort, 20 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Trip, Brilliantly Organized

A group of six long-time friends and hiking companions took a 6 day self-guided hiking/walking trip in Slovenia ( Slovenia - The Karst) organized by On Foot Holidays. This was a trip that we had planned to take in 2020, but was delayed due to Covid.

A group of six long-time friends and hiking companions took a 6 day self-guided hiking/walking trip in Slovenia ( Slovenia - The Karst) organized by On Foot Holidays. This was a trip that we had planned to take in 2020, but was delayed due to Covid.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot is simply brilliant. Four of us had been on an On Foot holiday before. Our experience the last time was marvelous and this time it was no different. During the 2 year delay caused by Covid, On Foot stayed in touch. In the lead up to our trip they were extremely responsive, and attended immediately to every question or request. Everyone we communicated with was pleasant and efficient, and it didn't matter who at On Foot we were communicating with - they all seemed to know everything about our trip and had answers to all ur questions. On Foot arranged every detail of the trip, provided maps. - both paper and GPS - for every day's hike, written turn-by-turn instructions for every day's hike, etc. They arranged transportation where it was required - and when a taxi was supposed to turn up, it did! On time! The hotels /pensions/B&B's were fairly simple but completely adequate, and the accommodations were exactly as requested. The food was good. It is hard to think of anything they could have done better. We are already thinking about our next trip with On Foot.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Susan, 11 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Slovenia - The Karst

Loved walking the Karst in Slovenia. Everyone in every place was so friendly. Luggage transfer happened magically without a hitch. The walking was beautiful and easy. We went in October and the leaves were gorgeous. In Slovenia, the walking was very diverse going up and down mountains with incredible views, through meadows, quaint villages, vineyards and through woods. It was all fantastic. Touring Predjama Castle and Skocjan Caves added special ...

Loved walking the Karst in Slovenia. Everyone in every place was so friendly. Luggage transfer happened magically without a hitch. The walking was beautiful and easy. We went in October and the leaves were gorgeous. In Slovenia, the walking was very diverse going up and down mountains with incredible views, through meadows, quaint villages, vineyards and through woods. It was all fantastic. Touring Predjama Castle and Skocjan Caves added special interest to the walk although there were other interesting sites along the way too.

Rating for tour operator:

Offered a local English speaking contact who took us to the start point telling us interesting history on the way there. The luggage was transferred easily and accurately. Information sent ahead of time was very detailed with many maps of the walking route, notes for the routes and information about sites seen along the way. Recommended restaurants were sent. Conversation starters were also sent such as the accordion maker and player at one accommodation. The GPS information was invaluable for us and always let us know if we were going correctly. Accommodations were all unique and well-located. All were very nice and the staff at each place was very friendly.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Michael and Kate, 14 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A memorable walk in Slovenia

We had a perfect week's holiday, flying to Ljubljana and walking for 5 days before ending with a couple of days in Trieste. We were lucky with the weather. The walk took us through hills and valleys, meadows and vineyards, woods and unspoilt small villages. Our luggage was carried for us each day from place to place and we stayed the nights in charming b&bs or tourist farms. We ate and drank well and had a final interesting and enjoyable two ...

We had a perfect week's holiday, flying to Ljubljana and walking for 5 days before ending with a couple of days in Trieste. We were lucky with the weather. The walk took us through hills and valleys, meadows and vineyards, woods and unspoilt small villages. Our luggage was carried for us each day from place to place and we stayed the nights in charming b&bs or tourist farms. We ate and drank well and had a final interesting and enjoyable two days in Trieste.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the seventh walking holiday we have done with OnFoot. They are the best operators with whom I have ever dealt. Their staff are uniformly helpful, friendly, efficient and well-informed about their walks. Nothing is too much trouble. The information with which they provide you is excellent, and all the arrangements on the holiday work smoothly. The places you stay are comfortable and attractive and the people very pleasant.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by The Coombies, 8 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

In the footsteps of pilgrims

We are a family of six who enjoy hiking and relished the opportunity to walk through a national border and down to the Med. We had several days of exploring, chatting and laughing without the distractions of mobile phones and the evening accommodation and food was comfortable and delicious. We discovered we walked part of the Camino - only 2,840 Kms to Santiago!

We are a family of six who enjoy hiking and relished the opportunity to walk through a national border and down to the Med. We had several days of exploring, chatting and laughing without the distractions of mobile phones and the evening accommodation and food was comfortable and delicious. We discovered we walked part of the Camino - only 2,840 Kms to Santiago!

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot couldn't have done a better job from the pre-trip package of information, the excellent on-line map, the precision description of the walks and the quality of the accommodation. Everyone we dealt with were friendly, efficient and a pleasure to deal with.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Mother and Daughter holiday trip, 7 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great way to see the countryside

We enjoyed seeing the Karst landscape and all its variations on foot. The scenery changes from rolling hills, vineyards, small villages, meadows, limestone flats and mountain tops made the walk each day visually wonderful together with just the right amount of physical challenge for both a 30 year old and 60 year old walking together. The accommodation choices and their hosts and food were also a highlight of the trip. The tour also allowed ...

We enjoyed seeing the Karst landscape and all its variations on foot. The scenery changes from rolling hills, vineyards, small villages, meadows, limestone flats and mountain tops made the walk each day visually wonderful together with just the right amount of physical challenge for both a 30 year old and 60 year old walking together. The accommodation choices and their hosts and food were also a highlight of the trip. The tour also allowed for visits to castles, churches, caves and Lippizaner horses if you wanted so allowed for variety and covered both my daughter's interests (wildlife, hiking) and mine (castles, churches).

Rating for tour operator:

The staff could not have been more helpful. They were quick in their responses to any questions and even whilst on the tour dealt with a query I had very efficiently. The walker's pack was incredibly useful and the information provided relevant. We also thought the tour was very good value for money and the ability to extend the holiday either end of the tour with their help was much appreciated.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Canadian Walkers, 28 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia

Our group of four hikers (age 65 - 16) enjoyed our 6 day hike through Slovenia, ending in Trieste, Italy. The track led us through open pastures, forested areas, along hillsides, past vineyards and through small villages. Accommodation arranged was different each night and well chosen. The special meal in Goce was memorable along with the tour of the 750 year old wine cellar. The tracks and instructions provided kept us from getting lost. Fantastic ...

Our group of four hikers (age 65 - 16) enjoyed our 6 day hike through Slovenia, ending in Trieste, Italy. The track led us through open pastures, forested areas, along hillsides, past vineyards and through small villages. Accommodation arranged was different each night and well chosen. The special meal in Goce was memorable along with the tour of the 750 year old wine cellar. The tracks and instructions provided kept us from getting lost. Fantastic scenery. Being towards the end of July, the weather did get quite hot 26 - 30+ C, but we averaged 5 hours each day with breaks. Slovenia is a very clean country.

Rating for tour operator:

The organization of the trip was superb, with all questions answered and accommodations made for the sole vegan member of our group. We all enjoyed the trek so much, we are thinking towards doing another with On Foot next year.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Aussie walker, 26 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous walking holiday in Slovenia

We spent a week walking in beautiful Slovenia. The route organised by On Foot Holidays offers something different each day with walks through forests and vineyards. Walking through small villages and talking to those we met was a highlight. Much of the walk was shaded which was a welcome relief in the hot weather in June. The organisation of the walk was spot on and the accommodation and food were superb. We enjoyed a great meal at Goce- highly ...

We spent a week walking in beautiful Slovenia. The route organised by On Foot Holidays offers something different each day with walks through forests and vineyards. Walking through small villages and talking to those we met was a highlight. Much of the walk was shaded which was a welcome relief in the hot weather in June. The organisation of the walk was spot on and the accommodation and food were superb. We enjoyed a great meal at Goce- highly recommend this. Most days we walked for about 5 hours and started as early as was possible. The experience was very memorable and I highly recommend On Foot Holidays.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays were wonderful. Prior to our holiday they answered all queries promptly and were always willing to make changes that we requested. The organisation of our holiday was superb. Walking instructions/ directions were accurate and the accommodation they chose was comfortable, clean and varied. I have no hesitation in recommending On Foot Holidays.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by pianogal, 6 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Slovenia - The Karst - Culture and Landscape

We did 7 days of walking for Ljubljana, Slovenia to Trieste, Italy. We had the opportunity to visit many tourist sites in Ljubljana before beginning our walk crosscountry to Trieste. The country is absolutely beautiful, and we loved our interactions with hosts and people in the small villages.

We did 7 days of walking for Ljubljana, Slovenia to Trieste, Italy. We had the opportunity to visit many tourist sites in Ljubljana before beginning our walk crosscountry to Trieste. The country is absolutely beautiful, and we loved our interactions with hosts and people in the small villages.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided day by day itineraries including directions and topographical maps. They organized all of our accommodations as well as providing for the movement of our luggage. We felt we had very good logistical support in the event of any unseen circumstances (which we did not have). This was one of our very best vacations.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Almberger, 11 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walk in Slovenian Karst region

Me and my wife, both 70+, have enjoyed the OnFootHolidays walks for quite a few years already. This year's walk in Slovenia was not one of the more challenging, but gave us much to remember - beatiful countryside, wonderful people, excellent food and wine.

Me and my wife, both 70+, have enjoyed the OnFootHolidays walks for quite a few years already. This year's walk in Slovenia was not one of the more challenging, but gave us much to remember - beatiful countryside, wonderful people, excellent food and wine.

Rating for tour operator:

We think that the concept that OnFoot offers, walking with daypacks only etc, is superior and suites us very fine. They have plenty of alternatives for walks in many countries in Europe. The support they include for our walks is superior, so logistics have been flawless. Also they have always been so helpful and friendly. In short it is both fun and practical to use OnFoot. They have never disappointed us!