AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Slovenia

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 35
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 35
Reviews Accepted: 35
Reviews Rejected: 0
35 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Michael and Kate, 14 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A memorable walk in Slovenia

We had a perfect week's holiday, flying to Ljubljana and walking for 5 days before ending with a couple of days in Trieste. We were lucky with the weather. The walk took us through hills and valleys, meadows and vineyards, woods and unspoilt small villages. Our luggage was carried for us each day from place to place and we stayed the nights in charming b&bs or tourist farms. We ate and drank well and had a final interesting and enjoyable two ...

We had a perfect week's holiday, flying to Ljubljana and walking for 5 days before ending with a couple of days in Trieste. We were lucky with the weather. The walk took us through hills and valleys, meadows and vineyards, woods and unspoilt small villages. Our luggage was carried for us each day from place to place and we stayed the nights in charming b&bs or tourist farms. We ate and drank well and had a final interesting and enjoyable two days in Trieste.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the seventh walking holiday we have done with OnFoot. They are the best operators with whom I have ever dealt. Their staff are uniformly helpful, friendly, efficient and well-informed about their walks. Nothing is too much trouble. The information with which they provide you is excellent, and all the arrangements on the holiday work smoothly. The places you stay are comfortable and attractive and the people very pleasant.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by The Coombies, 8 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

In the footsteps of pilgrims

We are a family of six who enjoy hiking and relished the opportunity to walk through a national border and down to the Med. We had several days of exploring, chatting and laughing without the distractions of mobile phones and the evening accommodation and food was comfortable and delicious. We discovered we walked part of the Camino - only 2,840 Kms to Santiago!

We are a family of six who enjoy hiking and relished the opportunity to walk through a national border and down to the Med. We had several days of exploring, chatting and laughing without the distractions of mobile phones and the evening accommodation and food was comfortable and delicious. We discovered we walked part of the Camino - only 2,840 Kms to Santiago!

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot couldn't have done a better job from the pre-trip package of information, the excellent on-line map, the precision description of the walks and the quality of the accommodation. Everyone we dealt with were friendly, efficient and a pleasure to deal with.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Mother and Daughter holiday trip, 7 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great way to see the countryside

We enjoyed seeing the Karst landscape and all its variations on foot. The scenery changes from rolling hills, vineyards, small villages, meadows, limestone flats and mountain tops made the walk each day visually wonderful together with just the right amount of physical challenge for both a 30 year old and 60 year old walking together. The accommodation choices and their hosts and food were also a highlight of the trip. The tour also allowed ...

We enjoyed seeing the Karst landscape and all its variations on foot. The scenery changes from rolling hills, vineyards, small villages, meadows, limestone flats and mountain tops made the walk each day visually wonderful together with just the right amount of physical challenge for both a 30 year old and 60 year old walking together. The accommodation choices and their hosts and food were also a highlight of the trip. The tour also allowed for visits to castles, churches, caves and Lippizaner horses if you wanted so allowed for variety and covered both my daughter's interests (wildlife, hiking) and mine (castles, churches).

Rating for tour operator:

The staff could not have been more helpful. They were quick in their responses to any questions and even whilst on the tour dealt with a query I had very efficiently. The walker's pack was incredibly useful and the information provided relevant. We also thought the tour was very good value for money and the ability to extend the holiday either end of the tour with their help was much appreciated.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Canadian Walkers, 28 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia

Our group of four hikers (age 65 - 16) enjoyed our 6 day hike through Slovenia, ending in Trieste, Italy. The track led us through open pastures, forested areas, along hillsides, past vineyards and through small villages. Accommodation arranged was different each night and well chosen. The special meal in Goce was memorable along with the tour of the 750 year old wine cellar. The tracks and instructions provided kept us from getting lost. Fantastic ...

Our group of four hikers (age 65 - 16) enjoyed our 6 day hike through Slovenia, ending in Trieste, Italy. The track led us through open pastures, forested areas, along hillsides, past vineyards and through small villages. Accommodation arranged was different each night and well chosen. The special meal in Goce was memorable along with the tour of the 750 year old wine cellar. The tracks and instructions provided kept us from getting lost. Fantastic scenery. Being towards the end of July, the weather did get quite hot 26 - 30+ C, but we averaged 5 hours each day with breaks. Slovenia is a very clean country.

Rating for tour operator:

The organization of the trip was superb, with all questions answered and accommodations made for the sole vegan member of our group. We all enjoyed the trek so much, we are thinking towards doing another with On Foot next year.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Aussie walker, 26 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous walking holiday in Slovenia

We spent a week walking in beautiful Slovenia. The route organised by On Foot Holidays offers something different each day with walks through forests and vineyards. Walking through small villages and talking to those we met was a highlight. Much of the walk was shaded which was a welcome relief in the hot weather in June. The organisation of the walk was spot on and the accommodation and food were superb. We enjoyed a great meal at Goce- highly ...

We spent a week walking in beautiful Slovenia. The route organised by On Foot Holidays offers something different each day with walks through forests and vineyards. Walking through small villages and talking to those we met was a highlight. Much of the walk was shaded which was a welcome relief in the hot weather in June. The organisation of the walk was spot on and the accommodation and food were superb. We enjoyed a great meal at Goce- highly recommend this. Most days we walked for about 5 hours and started as early as was possible. The experience was very memorable and I highly recommend On Foot Holidays.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays were wonderful. Prior to our holiday they answered all queries promptly and were always willing to make changes that we requested. The organisation of our holiday was superb. Walking instructions/ directions were accurate and the accommodation they chose was comfortable, clean and varied. I have no hesitation in recommending On Foot Holidays.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by pianogal, 6 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Slovenia - The Karst - Culture and Landscape

We did 7 days of walking for Ljubljana, Slovenia to Trieste, Italy. We had the opportunity to visit many tourist sites in Ljubljana before beginning our walk crosscountry to Trieste. The country is absolutely beautiful, and we loved our interactions with hosts and people in the small villages.

We did 7 days of walking for Ljubljana, Slovenia to Trieste, Italy. We had the opportunity to visit many tourist sites in Ljubljana before beginning our walk crosscountry to Trieste. The country is absolutely beautiful, and we loved our interactions with hosts and people in the small villages.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided day by day itineraries including directions and topographical maps. They organized all of our accommodations as well as providing for the movement of our luggage. We felt we had very good logistical support in the event of any unseen circumstances (which we did not have). This was one of our very best vacations.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Almberger, 11 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walk in Slovenian Karst region

Me and my wife, both 70+, have enjoyed the OnFootHolidays walks for quite a few years already. This year's walk in Slovenia was not one of the more challenging, but gave us much to remember - beatiful countryside, wonderful people, excellent food and wine.

Me and my wife, both 70+, have enjoyed the OnFootHolidays walks for quite a few years already. This year's walk in Slovenia was not one of the more challenging, but gave us much to remember - beatiful countryside, wonderful people, excellent food and wine.

Rating for tour operator:

We think that the concept that OnFoot offers, walking with daypacks only etc, is superior and suites us very fine. They have plenty of alternatives for walks in many countries in Europe. The support they include for our walks is superior, so logistics have been flawless. Also they have always been so helpful and friendly. In short it is both fun and practical to use OnFoot. They have never disappointed us!

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Matt G, 27 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Organised bliss

A three day walk from Ljubljana, Slovenia, across a limestone plateau to the city of Trieste. Two nights excellent accommodation en route. This was my first experience of a walking holiday provided by an operator and I was travelling alone, so it was important to me to feel well prepared and supported at all stages. On Foot delivered in spades. The itinerary was manageable but sufficiently challenging and navigation was straightforward using ...

A three day walk from Ljubljana, Slovenia, across a limestone plateau to the city of Trieste. Two nights excellent accommodation en route. This was my first experience of a walking holiday provided by an operator and I was travelling alone, so it was important to me to feel well prepared and supported at all stages. On Foot delivered in spades. The itinerary was manageable but sufficiently challenging and navigation was straightforward using the provided notes and GPS tracks.

Rating for tour operator:

Communication was excellent at all times. The advertised description was accurate and a good match for my needs, except that I wanted some flexibility around accommodation in the start and destination cities. On Foot were very supportive in helping me meet this objective, even though I was not using their partner hotels. I would not hesitate to recommend On Foot Holidays and was particularly impressed by the positive way that the local contacts spoke of their long-term relationship with the company.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Slinglow, 11 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

This was the fourth walking holiday my wife Judith and I have taken with On Foot and thay have all been marvellous.

We walked from near Ljubljana, Slovenia's capital, to Trieste in Italy over a period of 5 days, through changing scenery and wildflower meadows, taking in Predjama Castle, a gourmet dinner one evening, wine tasting one day en-route and one day visiting the Skocjan caves (all pre-arranged by On Foot). On Foot arrange a mix of hotels, B&Bs and farms to stay at, some providing dinners with their own home produced food and wine. We carry daypacks ...

We walked from near Ljubljana, Slovenia's capital, to Trieste in Italy over a period of 5 days, through changing scenery and wildflower meadows, taking in Predjama Castle, a gourmet dinner one evening, wine tasting one day en-route and one day visiting the Skocjan caves (all pre-arranged by On Foot). On Foot arrange a mix of hotels, B&Bs and farms to stay at, some providing dinners with their own home produced food and wine. We carry daypacks during the walks and On Foot arrange for our main luggage to be taken to the next place. We have never been disappointed (except for some iffy weather, which not even On Foot can control!) We are now thinking which of all the tempting routes available we should select for our fifth holiday with them.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot meticulously research each of their European holiday destinations; the walk itself, the local reps and the places you stay at. Really professional firm and nice people too. New routes are being added to their list of choices.

On Foot Holidays - Slovenia by Kiwis in Europe, 10 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Slovenia - Karast country

wonderful walking, eating, experiencing Slovenia and Trieste. All connections were made, and accommodation was excellent.

wonderful walking, eating, experiencing Slovenia and Trieste. All connections were made, and accommodation was excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

great responsiveness to our needs