AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Liguria Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Liguria

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 49
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 50
Reviews Accepted: 50
Reviews Rejected: 0
50 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Rachel and Jeremy, 10 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely first-class from start to finish

We've been on self-guided walking holidays with several operators over the last decade but the experience of On Foot Holiday's trips is streets ahead of the others we've gone with. There was a supremely well-judged range and level of support before and during the trip. The walking routes itself well-designed and structured - taking place in a part of Italy (the Oltrepo Pavese into the Ligurian Hills) that is considered off-the beaten track, ...

We've been on self-guided walking holidays with several operators over the last decade but the experience of On Foot Holiday's trips is streets ahead of the others we've gone with. There was a supremely well-judged range and level of support before and during the trip. The walking routes itself well-designed and structured - taking place in a part of Italy (the Oltrepo Pavese into the Ligurian Hills) that is considered off-the beaten track, the notes you receive and the guidance ensure that you can't stray off the track they have chosen. Best of all is the accomodation. Some of it was more simple than others, thoroughly understandable given the relative remoteness of some of the stops, but it was unified by great local food and hosts who all had a clear and demonstrable passion for the area they live in. By the end of the route, it was a passion that we shared.

Rating for tour operator:

Second self-guided walking holiday with On Foot. Usually, we select an area we want to discover and then try to find a company that offers a walk there. On Foot are so good that we will now see where they offers walks and then choose from those - they are that good. Superb range of information and support to ensure that you choose the right walk, are informed about where you are going and what you will need. A clear of loving which shines through and personal experience of the walks. First class.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Belle, 22 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

'One of our best walking holidays EVER

I had spotted The Ligurian Old Salt Route trip with On Foot Holidays in a copy of the Week and immediately contacted friends to organise a trip. From the moment our adventure began we enjoyed every second. The views and ridge walking were the highlight, but only by a whisker. The accommodation was completely varied but without exception the warmth of welcome and the standard of hospitality and food were incredible. We were a group well into ...

I had spotted The Ligurian Old Salt Route trip with On Foot Holidays in a copy of the Week and immediately contacted friends to organise a trip. From the moment our adventure began we enjoyed every second. The views and ridge walking were the highlight, but only by a whisker. The accommodation was completely varied but without exception the warmth of welcome and the standard of hospitality and food were incredible. We were a group well into our 60's and two over 70 and we are regular mountaineers and walkers ... One of the party leads in Europe and worldwide for a walking company and the instructions and maps were faultless. We were really sad to reach the end as we had enjoyed our (sometimes challenging and strenuous) walks each day with the anticipation of the reward at the end of the day with a new and exciting Albergo, Private home, mountain hotel etc. The memories and photos are a constant reminder of our wonderful holiday and the talk is now of which of On Foot Walking's to book next year! Brilliant and efficient company.

Rating for tour operator:

From the initial enquiry we found everything about On Foot Holidays efficient and helpful. The pack of maps and guidance notes were great and they even included a map holder which was most useful. The website covers all the details, one might need to know and all aspects were well documented. They have a great knack of selecting accommodation of the highest standard even if only two star and in villages away from the tourist hotspots so that we could glimpse the real Italy with its culture and cuisine.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Aussiecc, 7 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Great organisation, great walks and support, great food - perfect!

Walking tour in Liguria. 6 days walking and accommodation. Excellent supporting material, maps etc. Comfortable accommodation and great food.

Walking tour in Liguria. 6 days walking and accommodation. Excellent supporting material, maps etc. Comfortable accommodation and great food.

Rating for tour operator:

Organised at short notice the On Holiday team were efficient, helpful and supportive.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by johmarg, 21 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Liguria

we had a well designed independent walking holiday with good information and arrangements which all worked extremely well. the service was also reasonably priced our feedback to the organisation was interactive - so we can see that they use continuous improvement for their operation

we had a well designed independent walking holiday with good information and arrangements which all worked extremely well. the service was also reasonably priced our feedback to the organisation was interactive - so we can see that they use continuous improvement for their operation

Rating for tour operator:

see above

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Kate, 3 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wish I could back there right now!

A self guided walking holiday - the middle aged way!!

A self guided walking holiday - the middle aged way!!

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful and supportive right from the enquiry stage. Made useful suggestions about travel using local knowledge. Provided plentiful info about the route itself, written info, maps and GPS provision for my smart phone. Kept in touch all the way through and ensured that if there were difficulties we knew where we could get support both locally and in the UK. Couldn't have been bettered, will definitely be using them again

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by MarieAnne, 30 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Perfect walking adventure

Great off the beaten track walking route+Lovely hotels

Great off the beaten track walking route+Lovely hotels

Rating for tour operator:

Very precise organisation

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Taylor, 12 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Ligurian Hills

It was great to get off the beaten tourist routes with this holiday and my husband and I enjoyed exploring some wonderful trails with amazing views in the Ligurian Hills. The walks were stunning and the accommodation and food were fantastic. We loved the mix of places we visited and the welcome from the various hoteliers and albergo owners was very warm. A wonderful experience.

It was great to get off the beaten tourist routes with this holiday and my husband and I enjoyed exploring some wonderful trails with amazing views in the Ligurian Hills. The walks were stunning and the accommodation and food were fantastic. We loved the mix of places we visited and the welcome from the various hoteliers and albergo owners was very warm. A wonderful experience.

Rating for tour operator:

We love travelling with On Foot Holidays - they always find the most stunning walks to follow and you stay in a fantastic mix of accommodation along the way. Their service is warm, personal and very efficient and the information they supply is thorough, informative and really adds to the holiday experience. A fabulous company with whom to go exploring.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by ValC, 18 Dec 2013
Holiday Rating:

Ligurian Adventure

Wonderful trip that was perfectly organized.

Wonderful trip that was perfectly organized.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays was very quick to respond to any question I had and the entire experience with them was professional and friendly.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by DavidS, 16 Dec 2013
Holiday Rating:

A blissful walk

This was a really well planned holiday, with excellent and varied walking, interspersed with nights in lovely hotels or b&bs. Remote locations but with excellent food, all the facilities you want and interesting, friendly hosts.

This was a really well planned holiday, with excellent and varied walking, interspersed with nights in lovely hotels or b&bs. Remote locations but with excellent food, all the facilities you want and interesting, friendly hosts.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot take a personal and professional interest in getting everything right. They test out all their routes and all their accommodation with care, and you are always sure that everything will work. Their attention to detail is second to none. Holidays are precious, and we were delighted to know in advance that we were going to enjoy something special

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Mr C K 13, 22 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Old Salt Route in Italy from the Po Valley to the Ligurian coast

My son and I took a week's stroll through a part of Italy that we had traversed by train almost 30 years ago. Despite some adverse weather that is to be expected in the mountains during November, we had a great walk with good lodging and excellent food. This is a relatively new walking initiative in an area of Italy removed from the tourist crowds of the Cinque Terre, the Dolomites, or Tuscany, so trail development, making and maintenance is ...

My son and I took a week's stroll through a part of Italy that we had traversed by train almost 30 years ago. Despite some adverse weather that is to be expected in the mountains during November, we had a great walk with good lodging and excellent food. This is a relatively new walking initiative in an area of Italy removed from the tourist crowds of the Cinque Terre, the Dolomites, or Tuscany, so trail development, making and maintenance is still a work in progress.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot is super responsive, I had done their Slovenia hike a couple of years ago, and was looking for a shorter hike that would accommodate my son, who lives and works in Italy. On Foot tailored the walk to meet our requirements and provided plenty of backup so that we could be picked up when caught up on the top of a mountain in a violent thunderstorm. First class.