AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Liguria Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Liguria

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 45
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 46
Reviews Accepted: 46
Reviews Rejected: 0
46 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Margaret , 1 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Exhilarating walking in remote and beautiful countryside in North Italy

We had 6 days of unguided walking following maps and instructions provided by On Foot Holidays. The scenery was beautiful with copious wild flowers, butterfly's and herbs and the terrain varied through villages along ridge tops and finally to the sea. We saw deer and a wild boar and very few people along the way. We had chosen a more difficult category of walking but the distances and conditions were as described on the website and the route ...

We had 6 days of unguided walking following maps and instructions provided by On Foot Holidays. The scenery was beautiful with copious wild flowers, butterfly's and herbs and the terrain varied through villages along ridge tops and finally to the sea. We saw deer and a wild boar and very few people along the way. We had chosen a more difficult category of walking but the distances and conditions were as described on the website and the route was easy to follow and a lovely mix of up and down hill, track and pathways. On Foot Holidays had booked the accommodation and arranged for our bags to be transported each day to the next stop. The accommodation was varied and characterful and comfortable and we had an amazing variety of local foods and delicious meals. We were also provided with a pack lunch each day to take on our walk. We enjoyed everything about this holiday and would highly recommend it.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our third trip with On Foot Holidays and we have really enjoyed each one of them. The tour operator is easy to work with, friendly, communicative and it feels like a very personal service. The holidays have been as advertised and the routes have been well thought out.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Russell, 23 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Well organised walking holiday in wonderful Italian scenery

My son and I enjoyed a self-guided walking holiday in the Apennine mountains. The walking routes were expertly planned by the tour operator, who also booked excellent accommodation in B&Bs or small hotels along the route and arranged daily baggage transfers. The walking was quite strenuous in parts, but was well rewarded by magnificent mountain views.

My son and I enjoyed a self-guided walking holiday in the Apennine mountains. The walking routes were expertly planned by the tour operator, who also booked excellent accommodation in B&Bs or small hotels along the route and arranged daily baggage transfers. The walking was quite strenuous in parts, but was well rewarded by magnificent mountain views.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays is a specialist walking holiday company. The staff are knowledgeable and very helpful, while their local contacts provide a useful and reassuring service.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Rita, 21 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Just a fantastic experience

We went hiking in the Ligurian Hills. It was everything we wanted; excellent walking, delicious food, superb hosts.

We went hiking in the Ligurian Hills. It was everything we wanted; excellent walking, delicious food, superb hosts.

Rating for tour operator:

Again, On Foot Holidays did everything right! The information prior to the holiday was excellent and timely, the hike itself was very well organized and the instructions very clear. The hotels/guesthouses are very well chosen, and On Foot Holiday clearly picks their hosts with great care. We could not have been happier with On Foot and would not hesitate to use them again, and we constantly recommend them to friends.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by amack, 9 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

self guided walking holiday in italian hills

Fantastic 6 days walking in the beautiful wooded hills of Liguria, ending up on the coast at Camogli near Portofino.

Fantastic 6 days walking in the beautiful wooded hills of Liguria, ending up on the coast at Camogli near Portofino.

Rating for tour operator:

Always friendly, helpful and efficient. Onfoot organised the hotels, taxi transfers of luggage from hotel to hotel, and provided detailed walking route notes. They provided a booklet of background information (geology, flora, fauna, history and points of interest), and nothing seemed too much trouble, even phoning us a few days before departure to ensure we had everything we need. This was our fifth walking holiday with Onfoot, and would recommend Onfoot to anyone.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by tomnl, 13 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful 6 day self-guided walk across the Appenines to the Ligurian coast, south of Genoa.

Superb onfootholidays website detailing the route / accommodation etc. Very helpful advice re options for extending our holiday. Excellent holiday pack with very clear route descriptions /maps /and GPS linked folder to download onto my i-phone. Great walk / welcoming hosts / great food/ well organised baggage transfers. A wonderful holiday!

Superb onfootholidays website detailing the route / accommodation etc. Very helpful advice re options for extending our holiday. Excellent holiday pack with very clear route descriptions /maps /and GPS linked folder to download onto my i-phone. Great walk / welcoming hosts / great food/ well organised baggage transfers. A wonderful holiday!

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays have been superb at every stage of the holiday - planning / pre-travel pack (including instructions re app to download to i-phone for GPS linked route map) / support available in italy if needed during holiday (did not need to use this) / keen to hear and respond to feedback. All staff knowledgeable and engaged and keen to do their very best for us. Mille grazie!!!

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by markg, 18 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Walk across the Appenines from Mornico Losana to Camogli

Stunning part of Italy for walking. walk is 80 miles with a lot of climbing but worth every step! Accommodation is small hotels and bead and breakfast villa's but you eat with you hosts. Food and wine are first class as is the service. From the small town of Varzi the climbing really starts and you reach a height of almast 1600M. Views are stunning! The views as you approach the coast after 6 days are breathtaking! This part of Italy is off ...

Stunning part of Italy for walking. walk is 80 miles with a lot of climbing but worth every step! Accommodation is small hotels and bead and breakfast villa's but you eat with you hosts. Food and wine are first class as is the service. From the small town of Varzi the climbing really starts and you reach a height of almast 1600M. Views are stunning! The views as you approach the coast after 6 days are breathtaking! This part of Italy is off the main tourist route so you get a real feel for the area and its people. In summary, the walk of a lifetime!

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot holidays based in Salisbury. They do self guided walks all over Europe. All maps, guide notes and in most cases GPX files are provided. Baggage is carried for you from hotel to hotel so all you need is a day pack. This is the 3rd holiday I have been on with On foot and all have been excellent.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Rachel and Jeremy, 10 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely first-class from start to finish

We've been on self-guided walking holidays with several operators over the last decade but the experience of On Foot Holiday's trips is streets ahead of the others we've gone with. There was a supremely well-judged range and level of support before and during the trip. The walking routes itself well-designed and structured - taking place in a part of Italy (the Oltrepo Pavese into the Ligurian Hills) that is considered off-the beaten track, ...

We've been on self-guided walking holidays with several operators over the last decade but the experience of On Foot Holiday's trips is streets ahead of the others we've gone with. There was a supremely well-judged range and level of support before and during the trip. The walking routes itself well-designed and structured - taking place in a part of Italy (the Oltrepo Pavese into the Ligurian Hills) that is considered off-the beaten track, the notes you receive and the guidance ensure that you can't stray off the track they have chosen. Best of all is the accomodation. Some of it was more simple than others, thoroughly understandable given the relative remoteness of some of the stops, but it was unified by great local food and hosts who all had a clear and demonstrable passion for the area they live in. By the end of the route, it was a passion that we shared.

Rating for tour operator:

Second self-guided walking holiday with On Foot. Usually, we select an area we want to discover and then try to find a company that offers a walk there. On Foot are so good that we will now see where they offers walks and then choose from those - they are that good. Superb range of information and support to ensure that you choose the right walk, are informed about where you are going and what you will need. A clear of loving which shines through and personal experience of the walks. First class.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Belle, 22 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

'One of our best walking holidays EVER

I had spotted The Ligurian Old Salt Route trip with On Foot Holidays in a copy of the Week and immediately contacted friends to organise a trip. From the moment our adventure began we enjoyed every second. The views and ridge walking were the highlight, but only by a whisker. The accommodation was completely varied but without exception the warmth of welcome and the standard of hospitality and food were incredible. We were a group well into ...

I had spotted The Ligurian Old Salt Route trip with On Foot Holidays in a copy of the Week and immediately contacted friends to organise a trip. From the moment our adventure began we enjoyed every second. The views and ridge walking were the highlight, but only by a whisker. The accommodation was completely varied but without exception the warmth of welcome and the standard of hospitality and food were incredible. We were a group well into our 60's and two over 70 and we are regular mountaineers and walkers ... One of the party leads in Europe and worldwide for a walking company and the instructions and maps were faultless. We were really sad to reach the end as we had enjoyed our (sometimes challenging and strenuous) walks each day with the anticipation of the reward at the end of the day with a new and exciting Albergo, Private home, mountain hotel etc. The memories and photos are a constant reminder of our wonderful holiday and the talk is now of which of On Foot Walking's to book next year! Brilliant and efficient company.

Rating for tour operator:

From the initial enquiry we found everything about On Foot Holidays efficient and helpful. The pack of maps and guidance notes were great and they even included a map holder which was most useful. The website covers all the details, one might need to know and all aspects were well documented. They have a great knack of selecting accommodation of the highest standard even if only two star and in villages away from the tourist hotspots so that we could glimpse the real Italy with its culture and cuisine.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Aussiecc, 7 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Great organisation, great walks and support, great food - perfect!

Walking tour in Liguria. 6 days walking and accommodation. Excellent supporting material, maps etc. Comfortable accommodation and great food.

Walking tour in Liguria. 6 days walking and accommodation. Excellent supporting material, maps etc. Comfortable accommodation and great food.

Rating for tour operator:

Organised at short notice the On Holiday team were efficient, helpful and supportive.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by johmarg, 21 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Liguria

we had a well designed independent walking holiday with good information and arrangements which all worked extremely well. the service was also reasonably priced our feedback to the organisation was interactive - so we can see that they use continuous improvement for their operation

we had a well designed independent walking holiday with good information and arrangements which all worked extremely well. the service was also reasonably priced our feedback to the organisation was interactive - so we can see that they use continuous improvement for their operation

Rating for tour operator:

see above