AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Liguria Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Liguria

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 49
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 50
Reviews Accepted: 50
Reviews Rejected: 0
50 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Liguria by HelenGW, 18 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exhilarating walking holiday on top of the world in the Ligurian hills in Italy

A self guided walking holiday into unspoilt Northern Italy. This really is rural with few towns and villages along the route and each day spent blissfully walking along high ridges with spectacular views. It ends at the sea in a delightful seaside town - carefully chosen as an unspoilt gem of a place where you can relax and swim. Wonderful food and drink all along the way.

A self guided walking holiday into unspoilt Northern Italy. This really is rural with few towns and villages along the route and each day spent blissfully walking along high ridges with spectacular views. It ends at the sea in a delightful seaside town - carefully chosen as an unspoilt gem of a place where you can relax and swim. Wonderful food and drink all along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays have proved themselves over and over again and I can always trust that the holiday they offer is up to their very high standards of preparation and attention to detail. They manage to take you right into the heart of local hospitality without sacrificing quality of accommodation, off the beaten track without getting lost, fabulous food without putting on a pound and away from it all without any worries. I can't wait to do the next one.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Ally, 7 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful walking holiday in a quiet corner of Italy

On Foot delivered yet another fabulous, immaculately planned holiday, this time in the Ligurian hills. The walking, the route guidance, the accomodation and the food were all fantastic.

On Foot delivered yet another fabulous, immaculately planned holiday, this time in the Ligurian hills. The walking, the route guidance, the accomodation and the food were all fantastic.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely friendly, very well-organised and highly knowledgeable. Our third trip with them; they manage to maintain consistently high standards in all regards.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by ELA, 13 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Walking holiday in the Ligurian Hills in Italy

We walked an old salt route down the Ligurian Hills to the sea at Camogli. We walked approx 20 km a day - our luggage was taken ahead and we stayed in quite simple hotels en route. Almost the entire walk was off the road and through stunning scenery.

We walked an old salt route down the Ligurian Hills to the sea at Camogli. We walked approx 20 km a day - our luggage was taken ahead and we stayed in quite simple hotels en route. Almost the entire walk was off the road and through stunning scenery.

Rating for tour operator:

They gave us lots of information and good advise, both before the holiday and via information sheets that we took with us.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by John Guy, 19 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Amazing views, autumn colours and attention to detail

We walked the historic Via del Sale from south of Milan to the coast at Camogli. Each day was well planned, the hotels and food hit the spot and we arrived feeling fit, happy and relaxed. The trip structure means you end in a nice place with a chance to relax, or in our case, do a day trip and big lunch day in Portofino. What's not to like?

We walked the historic Via del Sale from south of Milan to the coast at Camogli. Each day was well planned, the hotels and food hit the spot and we arrived feeling fit, happy and relaxed. The trip structure means you end in a nice place with a chance to relax, or in our case, do a day trip and big lunch day in Portofino. What's not to like?

Rating for tour operator:

OnFoot Holidays gives a very personal service and is well liked and respected by the hotels and people it has on the ground in Italy. The walk notes were great and the attention to detail made for a relaxing trip with everything working like clockwork.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Margaret , 1 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Exhilarating walking in remote and beautiful countryside in North Italy

We had 6 days of unguided walking following maps and instructions provided by On Foot Holidays. The scenery was beautiful with copious wild flowers, butterfly's and herbs and the terrain varied through villages along ridge tops and finally to the sea. We saw deer and a wild boar and very few people along the way. We had chosen a more difficult category of walking but the distances and conditions were as described on the website and the route ...

We had 6 days of unguided walking following maps and instructions provided by On Foot Holidays. The scenery was beautiful with copious wild flowers, butterfly's and herbs and the terrain varied through villages along ridge tops and finally to the sea. We saw deer and a wild boar and very few people along the way. We had chosen a more difficult category of walking but the distances and conditions were as described on the website and the route was easy to follow and a lovely mix of up and down hill, track and pathways. On Foot Holidays had booked the accommodation and arranged for our bags to be transported each day to the next stop. The accommodation was varied and characterful and comfortable and we had an amazing variety of local foods and delicious meals. We were also provided with a pack lunch each day to take on our walk. We enjoyed everything about this holiday and would highly recommend it.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our third trip with On Foot Holidays and we have really enjoyed each one of them. The tour operator is easy to work with, friendly, communicative and it feels like a very personal service. The holidays have been as advertised and the routes have been well thought out.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Russell, 23 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Well organised walking holiday in wonderful Italian scenery

My son and I enjoyed a self-guided walking holiday in the Apennine mountains. The walking routes were expertly planned by the tour operator, who also booked excellent accommodation in B&Bs or small hotels along the route and arranged daily baggage transfers. The walking was quite strenuous in parts, but was well rewarded by magnificent mountain views.

My son and I enjoyed a self-guided walking holiday in the Apennine mountains. The walking routes were expertly planned by the tour operator, who also booked excellent accommodation in B&Bs or small hotels along the route and arranged daily baggage transfers. The walking was quite strenuous in parts, but was well rewarded by magnificent mountain views.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays is a specialist walking holiday company. The staff are knowledgeable and very helpful, while their local contacts provide a useful and reassuring service.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Rita, 21 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Just a fantastic experience

We went hiking in the Ligurian Hills. It was everything we wanted; excellent walking, delicious food, superb hosts.

We went hiking in the Ligurian Hills. It was everything we wanted; excellent walking, delicious food, superb hosts.

Rating for tour operator:

Again, On Foot Holidays did everything right! The information prior to the holiday was excellent and timely, the hike itself was very well organized and the instructions very clear. The hotels/guesthouses are very well chosen, and On Foot Holiday clearly picks their hosts with great care. We could not have been happier with On Foot and would not hesitate to use them again, and we constantly recommend them to friends.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by amack, 9 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

self guided walking holiday in italian hills

Fantastic 6 days walking in the beautiful wooded hills of Liguria, ending up on the coast at Camogli near Portofino.

Fantastic 6 days walking in the beautiful wooded hills of Liguria, ending up on the coast at Camogli near Portofino.

Rating for tour operator:

Always friendly, helpful and efficient. Onfoot organised the hotels, taxi transfers of luggage from hotel to hotel, and provided detailed walking route notes. They provided a booklet of background information (geology, flora, fauna, history and points of interest), and nothing seemed too much trouble, even phoning us a few days before departure to ensure we had everything we need. This was our fifth walking holiday with Onfoot, and would recommend Onfoot to anyone.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by tomnl, 13 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful 6 day self-guided walk across the Appenines to the Ligurian coast, south of Genoa.

Superb onfootholidays website detailing the route / accommodation etc. Very helpful advice re options for extending our holiday. Excellent holiday pack with very clear route descriptions /maps /and GPS linked folder to download onto my i-phone. Great walk / welcoming hosts / great food/ well organised baggage transfers. A wonderful holiday!

Superb onfootholidays website detailing the route / accommodation etc. Very helpful advice re options for extending our holiday. Excellent holiday pack with very clear route descriptions /maps /and GPS linked folder to download onto my i-phone. Great walk / welcoming hosts / great food/ well organised baggage transfers. A wonderful holiday!

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays have been superb at every stage of the holiday - planning / pre-travel pack (including instructions re app to download to i-phone for GPS linked route map) / support available in italy if needed during holiday (did not need to use this) / keen to hear and respond to feedback. All staff knowledgeable and engaged and keen to do their very best for us. Mille grazie!!!

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by markg, 18 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Walk across the Appenines from Mornico Losana to Camogli

Stunning part of Italy for walking. walk is 80 miles with a lot of climbing but worth every step! Accommodation is small hotels and bead and breakfast villa's but you eat with you hosts. Food and wine are first class as is the service. From the small town of Varzi the climbing really starts and you reach a height of almast 1600M. Views are stunning! The views as you approach the coast after 6 days are breathtaking! This part of Italy is off ...

Stunning part of Italy for walking. walk is 80 miles with a lot of climbing but worth every step! Accommodation is small hotels and bead and breakfast villa's but you eat with you hosts. Food and wine are first class as is the service. From the small town of Varzi the climbing really starts and you reach a height of almast 1600M. Views are stunning! The views as you approach the coast after 6 days are breathtaking! This part of Italy is off the main tourist route so you get a real feel for the area and its people. In summary, the walk of a lifetime!

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot holidays based in Salisbury. They do self guided walks all over Europe. All maps, guide notes and in most cases GPX files are provided. Baggage is carried for you from hotel to hotel so all you need is a day pack. This is the 3rd holiday I have been on with On foot and all have been excellent.