AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Liguria Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Liguria

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 48
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 49
Reviews Accepted: 49
Reviews Rejected: 0
49 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Jezzer, 4 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Stunning self guided walking holiday in the Ligurian hills

Fantastic scenery, wild life, organisation, food and wine. Definitely a get away from it all holiday but tough in places so a good level of fitness required although some good shorter options available. Camogli on the Mediterranean at the end was wonderful, not too touristy but very friendly with a good choice of eateries and things to do

Fantastic scenery, wild life, organisation, food and wine. Definitely a get away from it all holiday but tough in places so a good level of fitness required although some good shorter options available. Camogli on the Mediterranean at the end was wonderful, not too touristy but very friendly with a good choice of eateries and things to do

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organisation, support and rapid response to queries. The walking notes, maps and GPS very clear. All accommodation was either good or excellent, bag transfer very smooth.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Venus, 3 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

An old Salt Route across the Appennines to the sea.

From the Po valley to the sea at Camogli this holiday was amazing. The walks varied between 10 to 12 miles a day across varied terrain from chestnut woods to the mountainous area of the Ligurian Apennines. The final descent to the sea at Camogli was a wonderful close to the trip. Every night we were intrigued to find out what On Foot had chosen as our destination. Each place was interesting and offered food typical of the region to be washed ...

From the Po valley to the sea at Camogli this holiday was amazing. The walks varied between 10 to 12 miles a day across varied terrain from chestnut woods to the mountainous area of the Ligurian Apennines. The final descent to the sea at Camogli was a wonderful close to the trip. Every night we were intrigued to find out what On Foot had chosen as our destination. Each place was interesting and offered food typical of the region to be washed down with local wines - all delicious.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot take pride in offering holidays which are off the beaten track. We hardly saw anyone on our trip. They had chosen an excellent route with comprehensive instructions on paper and for GPS. Their booklets about the regions are informative and very helpful with regard to history, geology and food. There is always a back up in case things don't go to plan as well as alternative shorter day options. They make the trip personal and phone to wish you a good holiday beforehand. They also answer the feedback form individually showing that they have taken the trouble to read it.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by greenstreak, 26 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

best holiday ever!

Every bit as beautiful as promised. Fantastic views, good walking, delicious food, places to stay that we would have chosen ourselves, and a warm welcome everywhere we went. Camogli (and the 792 steps down into it) was a delightful end to the walk. One highlight was lying beside the ridge track and having swifts scything over us for 15 minutes. We have already recommended this holiday to several friends

Every bit as beautiful as promised. Fantastic views, good walking, delicious food, places to stay that we would have chosen ourselves, and a warm welcome everywhere we went. Camogli (and the 792 steps down into it) was a delightful end to the walk. One highlight was lying beside the ridge track and having swifts scything over us for 15 minutes. We have already recommended this holiday to several friends

Rating for tour operator:

Couldn't have been better. Prompt answers to all preliminary enquiries and very good provision of information. Maps and directions all good, and we know from friends who did this route previously that comments are incorporated into later versions of information provided. The background history and info all good, clear and interesting. I rang the local contact for advisability of walking in Italy in August and was told there was enough shade on the route to protect us: this was right. Plus when one of our company decided to miss half a day's walking and take a taxi the same contact rang us to enquire wheether all was well.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by clast49, 30 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

An exciting walk to the sea

It was my 70th birthday treat to walk from Varzi to Camogli along the Ligurian Apennines. We were a party of 4 with ages ranging from 2 in their 30s to my wife and I in our 60s. It was a perfect way for me to celebrate my birthday and to spend time with my family. The walk was self guided and offered sufficient challenge for people considering themselves to be reasonably fit. We moved on each day so that we had 5 different hotels

It was my 70th birthday treat to walk from Varzi to Camogli along the Ligurian Apennines. We were a party of 4 with ages ranging from 2 in their 30s to my wife and I in our 60s. It was a perfect way for me to celebrate my birthday and to spend time with my family. The walk was self guided and offered sufficient challenge for people considering themselves to be reasonably fit. We moved on each day so that we had 5 different hotels

Rating for tour operator:

We went with OnFoot Holidays who made all the arrangements, booking our hotels and arranging transfer of luggage from hotel to hotel. That meant that we only needed to carry a day pack with water and a picnic. OnFoot gave guidance on the suitability of the walk and also, as this was a self guided walk, a GPS route and maps as well as physical maps and extensive written instructions. They dealt with all our queries promptly. When we arrived at the last hotel on my actual birthday, there was a bottle of Prosecco which was greatly appreciated.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Mitch , 17 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Heaven in a little corner of Italy!

Walking holiday in the Apennines. Incredibly well oraised by On Foot Holidays. Every day was a new adventure and we had so many wonderful experiences, never to be forgotten.

Walking holiday in the Apennines. Incredibly well oraised by On Foot Holidays. Every day was a new adventure and we had so many wonderful experiences, never to be forgotten.

Rating for tour operator:

Professional. Charming. Polite. Very experienced. Well versed in our holiday. Knowledgeable. Really excellent.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Empty MT, 14 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent organisation, beautiful trip!

This was a fantastic holiday - the trails were beautiful and the walking was wonderful. With not many other people around, it felt like we had it all to ourselves. At times, we reached the ridge after a steep climb with a great sense of achievement and delight, and relished walking under the shade of the glorious trees or in the open with stunning, far-reaching views. What a pleasure to eat our packed lunches in such magnificent scenery and ...

This was a fantastic holiday - the trails were beautiful and the walking was wonderful. With not many other people around, it felt like we had it all to ourselves. At times, we reached the ridge after a steep climb with a great sense of achievement and delight, and relished walking under the shade of the glorious trees or in the open with stunning, far-reaching views. What a pleasure to eat our packed lunches in such magnificent scenery and then to walk on to the next hotel, which we knew would be good - and greeted with a much welcomed cold drink after a hot day's walking. Perfect!

Rating for tour operator:

I was very impressed with On Foot Holidays and greatly enjoyed my trip with them. From the beginning they proved themselves to be knowledgeable and helpful with an eye for detail. Their Walker's Pack was crammed full of incredibly useful information, both practical and of local interest. And the instructions must have been good because we didn't get lost once! I appreciated the travel instructions and how carefully they chose our hotels - all very comfortable with delicious food for dinner and packed lunches, and delightful hosts that greatly enhanced and enriched our time in Italy. It was unexpectedly extremely hot when we went, and to have the option to shorten the walks at certain points was a godsend in the soaring temperatures! Not all companies offer this kind of service. I have no hesitation in recommending their value for money, excellent walking trails and instructions, and all fronted by very courteous and obliging staff. They took great care in getting every aspect of our holiday as perfect as possible and it was a pleasure to correspond with them.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Zelman in Edinburgh, 3 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking a Glorious Apennine route

Walking for 6 days with an extra rest day in the middle at the highest point and one at the end, on the Ligurian coast. The walking was on good paths, with varied scenery, all very beautiful and quiet- met virtually no on else! We were very lucky to have excellent weather. The accommodation was all very good and very individual. The food was excellent and the hosts all charming. Everything worked to plan. The views and the flowers were fabulous...

Walking for 6 days with an extra rest day in the middle at the highest point and one at the end, on the Ligurian coast. The walking was on good paths, with varied scenery, all very beautiful and quiet- met virtually no on else! We were very lucky to have excellent weather. The accommodation was all very good and very individual. The food was excellent and the hosts all charming. Everything worked to plan. The views and the flowers were fabulous!

Rating for tour operator:

This is our 3rd holiday with On Foot . We have always felt confident that they know what we like and get it right. This applies to the walking- the initial descriptions are correct, then the notes and maps provided are very good. The routes are well thought out and mostly very well marked and the distances have always been comfortable for us.They seem to approach the route planning with intelligence, and respond to everything quickly and appropriately if there are questions or updates or corrections. This intelligent approach also applies to the low key but very good accommodation- they choose the right hosts, in the right places. In planning the holiday, they answer questions about accommodation and possible extensions etc with what seems like an understanding of who we are what we like to do. The people on the ground are good too. We have confidence they can sort out any issues that might arise, small or large. Everyone seems to be on the same page as to the style. You get what you pay for; there are no hidden costs. And there are nice touches, like the provision of relevant timetables, and a phone call the day before the holiday begins to check in with you that all is well and to wish you a nice time! They have many walks I would love to do! I hope we can do another with them soon. (I cannot get the survey to register 10 on the last question about recommending On Foot, but I would like to give it 10)

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Sprouty, 1 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Varied walk with Fantastic views. Great sense of achievement when we got to the coast at the end.

Two days walking through vineyards, followed by four days crossing the Apennines with a spectacular descent to the Ligurian coast on the last day. Excellent food in small local hotels each night. Luxurious spa hotel at the end to recover in.

Two days walking through vineyards, followed by four days crossing the Apennines with a spectacular descent to the Ligurian coast on the last day. Excellent food in small local hotels each night. Luxurious spa hotel at the end to recover in.

Rating for tour operator:

Self guided walk with on foot holidays. Excellent walk notes and GPS tracks. Local contact in case of any problems. Helpful options to shorten some of the longer days by taking a taxi. Fantastic and varied food along the way.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Colin, 15 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Remote and ancient paths accompanied by birdsong and butterflies.

We walked the Salt Route through the Ligurian Hills. We hardly saw a soul for a whole week on the route which followed old mule tracks, some very attractive ridges and through old forests. Some of the paths were the most attractive we've ever walked. The range of places we stayed varied considerably and gave a very interesting variety from high standard hotels to simple albergos.

We walked the Salt Route through the Ligurian Hills. We hardly saw a soul for a whole week on the route which followed old mule tracks, some very attractive ridges and through old forests. Some of the paths were the most attractive we've ever walked. The range of places we stayed varied considerably and gave a very interesting variety from high standard hotels to simple albergos.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot were a very friendly and responsive company to deal with. The route notes and maps were thorough and accurate and the support on the walk, although not needed in our case, was easily available.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by HelenGW, 18 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exhilarating walking holiday on top of the world in the Ligurian hills in Italy

A self guided walking holiday into unspoilt Northern Italy. This really is rural with few towns and villages along the route and each day spent blissfully walking along high ridges with spectacular views. It ends at the sea in a delightful seaside town - carefully chosen as an unspoilt gem of a place where you can relax and swim. Wonderful food and drink all along the way.

A self guided walking holiday into unspoilt Northern Italy. This really is rural with few towns and villages along the route and each day spent blissfully walking along high ridges with spectacular views. It ends at the sea in a delightful seaside town - carefully chosen as an unspoilt gem of a place where you can relax and swim. Wonderful food and drink all along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays have proved themselves over and over again and I can always trust that the holiday they offer is up to their very high standards of preparation and attention to detail. They manage to take you right into the heart of local hospitality without sacrificing quality of accommodation, off the beaten track without getting lost, fabulous food without putting on a pound and away from it all without any worries. I can't wait to do the next one.