AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Liguria Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Liguria

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 44
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 45
Reviews Accepted: 45
Reviews Rejected: 0
45 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Mark, 2 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Ligurian Hills Walk - Quiet Strolling Along the Salt Road

Hiking along the Via del Sale (Salt Road), I (61 years old male) traveled self-guided for 6 days from "Little Tuscany" to Camogli on the coast through vineyards, woods, and high ridges. My luggage was transported each day to the next inn and most food was provided, allowing me to focus on covering the miles and enjoying the sights. I only saw 2 people on the trail over the first 5 days. The experience at each inn was unique and I enjoyed them all...

Hiking along the Via del Sale (Salt Road), I (61 years old male) traveled self-guided for 6 days from "Little Tuscany" to Camogli on the coast through vineyards, woods, and high ridges. My luggage was transported each day to the next inn and most food was provided, allowing me to focus on covering the miles and enjoying the sights. I only saw 2 people on the trail over the first 5 days. The experience at each inn was unique and I enjoyed them all. Each day I was greeted by welcoming hosts and fed delicious food and regional wines. Two days in an upgraded room at Camogli on the coast was the perfect way to end the trip and allow it to soak in.

Rating for tour operator:

All communication regarding this holiday was made via email. On Foot Holidays staff promptly answered my questions and were very helpful and informative. Amazingly, each email was answered by a different person than the last one; however, they worked so well together that if you didn't look at the sender's names you'd think you were dealing with a single person. I was impressed. The printed materials and GPS tracks they provided got me to my destinations without incident. The materials also included interesting information about history, geology, and food of the region. A local support person was made available and it was nice knowing I had someone to call for help, if needed.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Fred, 25 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Ligurian Hills - walk

A walk that had historical relevance , visual beauty, the experience of the ruggedness & remoteness of the region, exposure to the land use & native flora & fauna All complemented by a well organized walking route that ensured good accommodation & meals of high standard regional cuisine

A walk that had historical relevance , visual beauty, the experience of the ruggedness & remoteness of the region, exposure to the land use & native flora & fauna All complemented by a well organized walking route that ensured good accommodation & meals of high standard regional cuisine

Rating for tour operator:

Professional Very responsive Very informative

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Walking Martin, 26 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fine walking, good mix of overnight stays and relaxing finish

Six days self-guided walking in Liguria, crossing the Appennines and following ancient tracks. Variety of small hotels. Nice finish at picturesque traditional seaside town/port.

Six days self-guided walking in Liguria, crossing the Appennines and following ancient tracks. Variety of small hotels. Nice finish at picturesque traditional seaside town/port.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot holidays. Provide the route information, book the hotels and transport baggage.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by G James, 17 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

On top of the world

We loved the space and walking high mountains and enjoying spectacular views. We were often alone and able to appreciate the open vistas that surrounded us. Iconic villages sheltered us at night and of course we ate the local food and loved the variety of flavours and the the delicious wines.

We loved the space and walking high mountains and enjoying spectacular views. We were often alone and able to appreciate the open vistas that surrounded us. Iconic villages sheltered us at night and of course we ate the local food and loved the variety of flavours and the the delicious wines.

Rating for tour operator:

i like the direct contact we have with On Foot and knowing that there is always back up for us. i feel that they have the finger on the pulse of our walk and how we are managing.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by DA, 16 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking in the Ligurian Hills

Our week of walking in the Ligurian Hills was fabulous and at times challenging. We walked at the end of the season which was perfect for us. We saw few other people on the extensive trail systems with the exception of mushroom hunters. Long walking days were rewarded with delicious food and wine.

Our week of walking in the Ligurian Hills was fabulous and at times challenging. We walked at the end of the season which was perfect for us. We saw few other people on the extensive trail systems with the exception of mushroom hunters. Long walking days were rewarded with delicious food and wine.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot did an excellent job of organizing the walk as well as providing detailed trail notes and maps.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Renee Lambert, 15 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Incredible walking (and dining!) experience through the Ligurian Hills region of Italy

I did a 6 day solo self-guided walk through the Ligurian Hills region of Italy. It was mid-September, and the weather was perfect. The days were long and luxurious (and sometimes a bit strenuous), and I often had the forests and mountains completely to myself - just me, and the cows and the incredible views. And every evening I was greeted by lovely hosts, offering delicious foods and regional wines. A truly unforgettable trip!

I did a 6 day solo self-guided walk through the Ligurian Hills region of Italy. It was mid-September, and the weather was perfect. The days were long and luxurious (and sometimes a bit strenuous), and I often had the forests and mountains completely to myself - just me, and the cows and the incredible views. And every evening I was greeted by lovely hosts, offering delicious foods and regional wines. A truly unforgettable trip!

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays answered all my questions promptly and professionally while I was planning the holiday. They communicated in a timely manner, and were very personable in their communications - I felt they were focused on ensuring I would have a fantastic experience. They also have done an excellent job curating the Ligurian Hills walk - each accommodation has its own particular charm and the walk itself is breathtaking. The provided GPS maps and printed instructions that were accurate and easy to follow. And they checked on me a couple times during the walk, to ensure all was going ok.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Jezzer, 4 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Stunning self guided walking holiday in the Ligurian hills

Fantastic scenery, wild life, organisation, food and wine. Definitely a get away from it all holiday but tough in places so a good level of fitness required although some good shorter options available. Camogli on the Mediterranean at the end was wonderful, not too touristy but very friendly with a good choice of eateries and things to do

Fantastic scenery, wild life, organisation, food and wine. Definitely a get away from it all holiday but tough in places so a good level of fitness required although some good shorter options available. Camogli on the Mediterranean at the end was wonderful, not too touristy but very friendly with a good choice of eateries and things to do

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organisation, support and rapid response to queries. The walking notes, maps and GPS very clear. All accommodation was either good or excellent, bag transfer very smooth.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Venus, 3 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

An old Salt Route across the Appennines to the sea.

From the Po valley to the sea at Camogli this holiday was amazing. The walks varied between 10 to 12 miles a day across varied terrain from chestnut woods to the mountainous area of the Ligurian Apennines. The final descent to the sea at Camogli was a wonderful close to the trip. Every night we were intrigued to find out what On Foot had chosen as our destination. Each place was interesting and offered food typical of the region to be washed ...

From the Po valley to the sea at Camogli this holiday was amazing. The walks varied between 10 to 12 miles a day across varied terrain from chestnut woods to the mountainous area of the Ligurian Apennines. The final descent to the sea at Camogli was a wonderful close to the trip. Every night we were intrigued to find out what On Foot had chosen as our destination. Each place was interesting and offered food typical of the region to be washed down with local wines - all delicious.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot take pride in offering holidays which are off the beaten track. We hardly saw anyone on our trip. They had chosen an excellent route with comprehensive instructions on paper and for GPS. Their booklets about the regions are informative and very helpful with regard to history, geology and food. There is always a back up in case things don't go to plan as well as alternative shorter day options. They make the trip personal and phone to wish you a good holiday beforehand. They also answer the feedback form individually showing that they have taken the trouble to read it.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by greenstreak, 26 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

best holiday ever!

Every bit as beautiful as promised. Fantastic views, good walking, delicious food, places to stay that we would have chosen ourselves, and a warm welcome everywhere we went. Camogli (and the 792 steps down into it) was a delightful end to the walk. One highlight was lying beside the ridge track and having swifts scything over us for 15 minutes. We have already recommended this holiday to several friends

Every bit as beautiful as promised. Fantastic views, good walking, delicious food, places to stay that we would have chosen ourselves, and a warm welcome everywhere we went. Camogli (and the 792 steps down into it) was a delightful end to the walk. One highlight was lying beside the ridge track and having swifts scything over us for 15 minutes. We have already recommended this holiday to several friends

Rating for tour operator:

Couldn't have been better. Prompt answers to all preliminary enquiries and very good provision of information. Maps and directions all good, and we know from friends who did this route previously that comments are incorporated into later versions of information provided. The background history and info all good, clear and interesting. I rang the local contact for advisability of walking in Italy in August and was told there was enough shade on the route to protect us: this was right. Plus when one of our company decided to miss half a day's walking and take a taxi the same contact rang us to enquire wheether all was well.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by clast49, 30 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

An exciting walk to the sea

It was my 70th birthday treat to walk from Varzi to Camogli along the Ligurian Apennines. We were a party of 4 with ages ranging from 2 in their 30s to my wife and I in our 60s. It was a perfect way for me to celebrate my birthday and to spend time with my family. The walk was self guided and offered sufficient challenge for people considering themselves to be reasonably fit. We moved on each day so that we had 5 different hotels

It was my 70th birthday treat to walk from Varzi to Camogli along the Ligurian Apennines. We were a party of 4 with ages ranging from 2 in their 30s to my wife and I in our 60s. It was a perfect way for me to celebrate my birthday and to spend time with my family. The walk was self guided and offered sufficient challenge for people considering themselves to be reasonably fit. We moved on each day so that we had 5 different hotels

Rating for tour operator:

We went with OnFoot Holidays who made all the arrangements, booking our hotels and arranging transfer of luggage from hotel to hotel. That meant that we only needed to carry a day pack with water and a picnic. OnFoot gave guidance on the suitability of the walk and also, as this was a self guided walk, a GPS route and maps as well as physical maps and extensive written instructions. They dealt with all our queries promptly. When we arrived at the last hotel on my actual birthday, there was a bottle of Prosecco which was greatly appreciated.