AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Liguria Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Liguria

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 48
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 49
Reviews Accepted: 49
Reviews Rejected: 0
49 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Liguria by JohnnyEd, 22 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

A Really Good Holiday

Well organised, well represented by the information and good varied accommodation. We love combining walking in interesting areas with taking a little longer and visiting a nearby city.

Well organised, well represented by the information and good varied accommodation. We love combining walking in interesting areas with taking a little longer and visiting a nearby city.

Rating for tour operator:

A small independent company that make a real effort to get the details right. They also put on interesting walking options along with the more standard destinations.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Audrey&Bill, 18 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful self guided walk among the Ligurian Hills and then down to the coast

Our holiday was the 7 night, 6 day walking option which we really enjoyed. Part of the route follows the “Via del Sale” (Salt Road). We walked through some stunning scenery and the feeling of walking down to the coast on the last day was quite special. The holiday took us off the beaten track, staying with very friendly hosts. This gave us the opportunity to visit places and meet people we would never find by ourselves. Our bespoke walkers ...

Our holiday was the 7 night, 6 day walking option which we really enjoyed. Part of the route follows the “Via del Sale” (Salt Road). We walked through some stunning scenery and the feeling of walking down to the coast on the last day was quite special. The holiday took us off the beaten track, staying with very friendly hosts. This gave us the opportunity to visit places and meet people we would never find by ourselves. Our bespoke walkers pack was prepared and sent in advance by On Foot and contained excellent useful local information along with extremely accurate route notes for each day's walk. Our luggage was transferred along the way and we stayed at super friendly, family run, excellent farms and hotels. For this walk on most days dinner, breakfast and packed lunches were supplied by our hosts using local ingredients cooked in local ways which is just how we like it.

Rating for tour operator:

This was the 5th walking holiday we have done with On Foot Holidays. As usual the communication, advise and organisation from On Foot was excellent. The On Foot office staff, the local contact and the individual hosts were very friendly and helpful. It was a slightly harder grade than we have done previously. The advise given by On Foot prior to us deciding to book this particular holiday was spot on.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Nickgr20, 13 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking across the Appenines to the sea

We walked for six days with our bags being carried from place to place. Everything worked exactly as planned, with a very personal service both in each location and from On Foot Holidays

We walked for six days with our bags being carried from place to place. Everything worked exactly as planned, with a very personal service both in each location and from On Foot Holidays

Rating for tour operator:

We had to postponed this trip twice due to Covid. They could not have been more accommodating and helpful.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Gasman, 27 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Liguria Hills

Excellent walking holiday

Excellent walking holiday

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organisation and communication

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Mark, 2 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Ligurian Hills Walk - Quiet Strolling Along the Salt Road

Hiking along the Via del Sale (Salt Road), I (61 years old male) traveled self-guided for 6 days from "Little Tuscany" to Camogli on the coast through vineyards, woods, and high ridges. My luggage was transported each day to the next inn and most food was provided, allowing me to focus on covering the miles and enjoying the sights. I only saw 2 people on the trail over the first 5 days. The experience at each inn was unique and I enjoyed them all...

Hiking along the Via del Sale (Salt Road), I (61 years old male) traveled self-guided for 6 days from "Little Tuscany" to Camogli on the coast through vineyards, woods, and high ridges. My luggage was transported each day to the next inn and most food was provided, allowing me to focus on covering the miles and enjoying the sights. I only saw 2 people on the trail over the first 5 days. The experience at each inn was unique and I enjoyed them all. Each day I was greeted by welcoming hosts and fed delicious food and regional wines. Two days in an upgraded room at Camogli on the coast was the perfect way to end the trip and allow it to soak in.

Rating for tour operator:

All communication regarding this holiday was made via email. On Foot Holidays staff promptly answered my questions and were very helpful and informative. Amazingly, each email was answered by a different person than the last one; however, they worked so well together that if you didn't look at the sender's names you'd think you were dealing with a single person. I was impressed. The printed materials and GPS tracks they provided got me to my destinations without incident. The materials also included interesting information about history, geology, and food of the region. A local support person was made available and it was nice knowing I had someone to call for help, if needed.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Fred, 25 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Ligurian Hills - walk

A walk that had historical relevance , visual beauty, the experience of the ruggedness & remoteness of the region, exposure to the land use & native flora & fauna All complemented by a well organized walking route that ensured good accommodation & meals of high standard regional cuisine

A walk that had historical relevance , visual beauty, the experience of the ruggedness & remoteness of the region, exposure to the land use & native flora & fauna All complemented by a well organized walking route that ensured good accommodation & meals of high standard regional cuisine

Rating for tour operator:

Professional Very responsive Very informative

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Walking Martin, 26 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fine walking, good mix of overnight stays and relaxing finish

Six days self-guided walking in Liguria, crossing the Appennines and following ancient tracks. Variety of small hotels. Nice finish at picturesque traditional seaside town/port.

Six days self-guided walking in Liguria, crossing the Appennines and following ancient tracks. Variety of small hotels. Nice finish at picturesque traditional seaside town/port.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot holidays. Provide the route information, book the hotels and transport baggage.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by G James, 17 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

On top of the world

We loved the space and walking high mountains and enjoying spectacular views. We were often alone and able to appreciate the open vistas that surrounded us. Iconic villages sheltered us at night and of course we ate the local food and loved the variety of flavours and the the delicious wines.

We loved the space and walking high mountains and enjoying spectacular views. We were often alone and able to appreciate the open vistas that surrounded us. Iconic villages sheltered us at night and of course we ate the local food and loved the variety of flavours and the the delicious wines.

Rating for tour operator:

i like the direct contact we have with On Foot and knowing that there is always back up for us. i feel that they have the finger on the pulse of our walk and how we are managing.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by DA, 16 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking in the Ligurian Hills

Our week of walking in the Ligurian Hills was fabulous and at times challenging. We walked at the end of the season which was perfect for us. We saw few other people on the extensive trail systems with the exception of mushroom hunters. Long walking days were rewarded with delicious food and wine.

Our week of walking in the Ligurian Hills was fabulous and at times challenging. We walked at the end of the season which was perfect for us. We saw few other people on the extensive trail systems with the exception of mushroom hunters. Long walking days were rewarded with delicious food and wine.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot did an excellent job of organizing the walk as well as providing detailed trail notes and maps.

On Foot Holidays - Liguria by Renee Lambert, 15 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Incredible walking (and dining!) experience through the Ligurian Hills region of Italy

I did a 6 day solo self-guided walk through the Ligurian Hills region of Italy. It was mid-September, and the weather was perfect. The days were long and luxurious (and sometimes a bit strenuous), and I often had the forests and mountains completely to myself - just me, and the cows and the incredible views. And every evening I was greeted by lovely hosts, offering delicious foods and regional wines. A truly unforgettable trip!

I did a 6 day solo self-guided walk through the Ligurian Hills region of Italy. It was mid-September, and the weather was perfect. The days were long and luxurious (and sometimes a bit strenuous), and I often had the forests and mountains completely to myself - just me, and the cows and the incredible views. And every evening I was greeted by lovely hosts, offering delicious foods and regional wines. A truly unforgettable trip!

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays answered all my questions promptly and professionally while I was planning the holiday. They communicated in a timely manner, and were very personable in their communications - I felt they were focused on ensuring I would have a fantastic experience. They also have done an excellent job curating the Ligurian Hills walk - each accommodation has its own particular charm and the walk itself is breathtaking. The provided GPS maps and printed instructions that were accurate and easy to follow. And they checked on me a couple times during the walk, to ensure all was going ok.