AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 20
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 20
Reviews Accepted: 20
Reviews Rejected: 0
20 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Steve R., 3 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Great trip to the Lake Maggiore region

We spent five days in the region, including four days of self-guided walking. It was wonderful.

We spent five days in the region, including four days of self-guided walking. It was wonderful.

Rating for tour operator:

The entire team at On Foot is fantastic. They are extraordinarily responsive and creative, and a true pleasure to work with. When booking our holiday, there were a few complications and the On Foot team showed tremendous determination and creativity to make the whole thing work for us. We have taken three holidays with them and will do more in the future.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Charles & Claire, 14 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Maggiore to Orta

Self guided Walking holiday staying at top end hotels.

Self guided Walking holiday staying at top end hotels.

Rating for tour operator:

Found on the internet and happened upon a top end operator.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Sally Maria, 4 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Lake Maggorie to Orta walk

We're a party of 4. We went on a walking holiday from lake maggorie to lake orta in Italy. It was amazing. We stayed on a delightful island on Lake Maggorie for 3 nights; then walked over a mountain to lake Orta over the next few days, finishing in the medieval little town of Orta for a couple of nights. Great walking and instructions - a combination of using the written instructions and the App meant we didn't go wrong! Everything went ...

We're a party of 4. We went on a walking holiday from lake maggorie to lake orta in Italy. It was amazing. We stayed on a delightful island on Lake Maggorie for 3 nights; then walked over a mountain to lake Orta over the next few days, finishing in the medieval little town of Orta for a couple of nights. Great walking and instructions - a combination of using the written instructions and the App meant we didn't go wrong! Everything went very smoothly except one very rainy day which even On Foot can't control! Brilliant!

Rating for tour operator:

Another excellent On Foot holiday for us. They always seem to get it just right. The advance information, ongoing help and support during planning, and support whilst on the holiday is second to none. They are very quick to respond to queries.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Tim, 26 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Excellent walking in Lake Maggiore

We had a walking trip from Lake Maggiore to Lake Orta. We enjoyed the walking which was pitched at the right level for us. The weather and the views were superb. We also enjoyed the variety of hotels in which we stayed.

We had a walking trip from Lake Maggiore to Lake Orta. We enjoyed the walking which was pitched at the right level for us. The weather and the views were superb. We also enjoyed the variety of hotels in which we stayed.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot provided detailed briefing notes and comprehensive notes for our self guided walk. We liked the hotel selections and our baggage was moved from hotel to hotel without mishap. A tremendous holiday!

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by . JennyB, 16 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

The magic solitude of the ‘quieter’ Italian Lakes: From Lake Maggiore to Lake Orta, and the beauty along the way…

Over the last few decades, we have traveled with a variety of tour groups. Once we discovered On Foot Holidays, we knew we had discovered the perfect organization for us! This recent adventure took us from the solitude of Fisherman’s Island on Lake Maggiore to the summit of the Piedmont Alps and finally to the sublime setting of Orta San Giulio. Our accommodations were unique; from a warm and welcoming agriturismo, to a villa with a Michelin star...

Over the last few decades, we have traveled with a variety of tour groups. Once we discovered On Foot Holidays, we knew we had discovered the perfect organization for us! This recent adventure took us from the solitude of Fisherman’s Island on Lake Maggiore to the summit of the Piedmont Alps and finally to the sublime setting of Orta San Giulio. Our accommodations were unique; from a warm and welcoming agriturismo, to a villa with a Michelin star. We were met at each property with a warm smile and genuine interest in our satisfaction. Their relationships with the property owners and local contacts clearly ensure that we are in the best of hands along our journey. We are hooked.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays is a responsive, professional organization with customer satisfaction their priority. We highly recommend them to anyone interested in this type of independent, but lovingly supported travel!

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Wayne, 16 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Lovely walking vacation in the Italian lakes

We spent 8 nights on a walking vacation beginning at Lake Maggiore and ending at Lake Orta. Lodging was arranged by On Foot Holidays. They also booked dinners for us most nights at our request. A local tour contact helped us with logistics to adapt to two rainy days. We had 3 beautiful days of weather and enjoyed all but one of the hikes designed by On Foot. The walking guide and GPS worked perfectly

We spent 8 nights on a walking vacation beginning at Lake Maggiore and ending at Lake Orta. Lodging was arranged by On Foot Holidays. They also booked dinners for us most nights at our request. A local tour contact helped us with logistics to adapt to two rainy days. We had 3 beautiful days of weather and enjoyed all but one of the hikes designed by On Foot. The walking guide and GPS worked perfectly

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provides a fantastic service, helping with all aspects including travel to and from, covid testing, and other logistics. The local guide was available at all times by What's app

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Jennifer, 18 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

fantastic trip walking around Lake Maggiore

My husband and I spent six days hiking in the Lake Maggiore and Lake Orta region of northern Italy through On Foot Holidays. It was a terrific experience. The hikes were well-planned with beautiful views and a range of terrain and environments. The places we stayed ranged from a working farm (a wonderful experience with warm hosts and great food) to more traditional hotels which were wonderfully gracious and with their own personalities...

My husband and I spent six days hiking in the Lake Maggiore and Lake Orta region of northern Italy through On Foot Holidays. It was a terrific experience. The hikes were well-planned with beautiful views and a range of terrain and environments. The places we stayed ranged from a working farm (a wonderful experience with warm hosts and great food) to more traditional hotels which were wonderfully gracious and with their own personalities. One arranged for off-season kayaking on Lake Orta which was a highlight; another, on the top of Mottarone, had a nine table restaurant that is sought out by people both throughout the region including cities like Milan and Turin.

Rating for tour operator:

I cannot endorse On Foot highly enough. In the planning process, they were wonderfully responsive, knowledgeable and flexible. The travel package itself provides incredibly detailed directions, wonderful choices for lodging, comprehensive information for all logistics, and anticipates every potential question. On Foot even gave us the train schedule to Milan for use after our trip was over (even though outside the scope of their trip). And what is particularly cool about On Foot is even when you are going to an area known for tourism, they find a way to keep you somewhat off the beaten track so you feel more genuinely and directly connected to your surroundings.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Tibbby, 27 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Menopausal matrons annual trip

We have now taken two on foot holidays. As two shall we say older ladies who are keen walkers but never seem to get round to doing all the walking we need to we relish our chance once a year to go away and just walk, oh and chat eat and drink. This year we chose walking lake maggiore and it was an exhilarating adventure of peaceful beech forest walks, island stays, and climbs to the top of the world. On foot organised it all for us and from ...

We have now taken two on foot holidays. As two shall we say older ladies who are keen walkers but never seem to get round to doing all the walking we need to we relish our chance once a year to go away and just walk, oh and chat eat and drink. This year we chose walking lake maggiore and it was an exhilarating adventure of peaceful beech forest walks, island stays, and climbs to the top of the world. On foot organised it all for us and from previous experience we knew we would be challenged stretched and have to work our minds as well as our legs. They make a holiday for walkers of modest ability’s feel they have achieved something. Their walks don’t just take the path well travelled and we really enjoy this aspect on some walks we don’t see another person all day. At the end of the day a welcome home from home in accommodation local to the area all different adding to the adventure but all welcoming and of a good standard. We have never encountered any problems with any aspect of our holiday and on foot are extremely responsive to any email we have sent. We hope to use them again for another menopausal wandering.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot are an excellent company they are responsive to all of the questions and queries I bombard them with I would have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone who would like to try a walking holiday they understand that not everyone is an experienced walker but would still like to try a walking holiday

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by LentilSoup, 23 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great communications and preparatory materials, excellent hotels and lovely pathways made for a superb walking experience.

After a preliminary day exploring the islands in Lake Maggiore from our friendly and very comfortable hotel on Isola Superiore, we started up into the hills for our first, and most challenging, day of walking. The second day of uphill was perhaps my favorite, as the uphill portions were beautifully balanced out with long level sections through lush Beech forests,. The day ended at Mottarone, the highest point in our walk, featuring stunning ...

After a preliminary day exploring the islands in Lake Maggiore from our friendly and very comfortable hotel on Isola Superiore, we started up into the hills for our first, and most challenging, day of walking. The second day of uphill was perhaps my favorite, as the uphill portions were beautifully balanced out with long level sections through lush Beech forests,. The day ended at Mottarone, the highest point in our walk, featuring stunning views of surrounding lakes and mountains. After a superb dinner and very comfortable evening at Villa Pizzini in Mottarone, we enjoyed two days of gentle downhill pathways, again through Beech forests and the occasional meadow, to our final destination, Orta San Giulio, a beautiful historic town on the shore of Lake Orta. On the next day, while the rest of my group took off for the optional walk around a portion of Lake Orta, I opted to stay back and have a quiet day exploring the town and the surrounding area. The pedestrian walkway around the Orta San Giulio peninsula was especially lovely. Unexpected epicurean highlights of the entire trip included superb local fish (which I chose to indulge in almost every night, it was so delicious), often simply grilled or baked, and the excellent Piedmont red wines.

Rating for tour operator:

OnFoot were great communicators and provided excellent, clear materials for both preparatory and enroute experiences. I appreciated the way they stayed in touch and, with only one exception, the excellent accommodations and recommendations. I would definitely use them again - slightly more expensive than the operator we have used in the past, but well worth the extra cost given the materials, the communication, and the accommodations.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Citysnapper, 5 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Lake Maggiore Walk

A six day walk from Lake Maggiore to Lake Orta. The route and hotels were chosen by On Foot.

A six day walk from Lake Maggiore to Lake Orta. The route and hotels were chosen by On Foot.

Rating for tour operator:

We were recommended On Foot Holidays for walking in Italy by friends and were impressed by the pre-walk administration provided as well as the hotels chosen by them. The walking route details were first class so that it was almost impossible to take a wrong turn. Our baggage was transferred from hotel to hotel on a daily basis and this was done flawlessly.