AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 11
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 11
Reviews Accepted: 11
Reviews Rejected: 0
11 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Citysnapper, 5 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Lake Maggiore Walk

A six day walk from Lake Maggiore to Lake Orta. The route and hotels were chosen by On Foot.

A six day walk from Lake Maggiore to Lake Orta. The route and hotels were chosen by On Foot.

Rating for tour operator:

We were recommended On Foot Holidays for walking in Italy by friends and were impressed by the pre-walk administration provided as well as the hotels chosen by them. The walking route details were first class so that it was almost impossible to take a wrong turn. Our baggage was transferred from hotel to hotel on a daily basis and this was done flawlessly.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Abs, 13 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Lake Maggiore walking holiday with On Foot Holidays.

Everything worked like clockwork, very detailed walking route notes, all accommodation excellent- warm, comfortable with fabulous food, outstanding. Provision of up to date ferry timetables was thoughtful and well used by us, ditto trains. The walking routes were varied and the mountain views were glorious- quite the best we have seen. ( and we are seasoned walkers). The On Foot guide in Italy phoned us the evening we arrived to introduce herself ...

Everything worked like clockwork, very detailed walking route notes, all accommodation excellent- warm, comfortable with fabulous food, outstanding. Provision of up to date ferry timetables was thoughtful and well used by us, ditto trains. The walking routes were varied and the mountain views were glorious- quite the best we have seen. ( and we are seasoned walkers). The On Foot guide in Italy phoned us the evening we arrived to introduce herself and also to ensure that we were aware of a diversion on one walk day due to a bridge down. It is so reassuring to know that we could contact her if there was any problem. We have travelled with On Foot a number of times because they are always friendly, helpful and efficient. It is also lovely to speak to the same familiar people whilst choosing and booking a holiday. As always, we loved it.

Rating for tour operator:

As above. Always give great advice pertaining to our walking ability, they know us through having booked with them about 8 times now. They are always helpful, friendly, knowledgeable about the area we are booking and always happy to discuss any queries. Totally efficient in every way. They are a brilliant company.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Kd, 6 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Self guided walking holiday in the Italian Lakes.

Walking from Lake Maggiore over the mountain to Lake Orta, by way of some excellent meals, hotels and views.

Walking from Lake Maggiore over the mountain to Lake Orta, by way of some excellent meals, hotels and views.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot have been consistently helpful and well informed throughout the entire holiday process - from booking through to the actual holiday. Interestingly all the hotels and taxi companies that they used for the holiday were also extremely complimentary about them as a holiday partner.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by BunduBasher, 10 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Enjoyable walks, well organised and supported.

Six days walking around Lake Maggiore and Lake Orta, staying in a variety of hotels with our baggage transferred from one hotel to the next.

Six days walking around Lake Maggiore and Lake Orta, staying in a variety of hotels with our baggage transferred from one hotel to the next.

Rating for tour operator:

We were provided with excellent information and support.

Reviewer's images:
On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by OJS LDN, 3 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Magic walking around the Italian Lakes

Short walking holiday a deux. Easy logistics, amazing hotel and food, stunning scenery. Robust but doable walking.

Short walking holiday a deux. Easy logistics, amazing hotel and food, stunning scenery. Robust but doable walking.

Rating for tour operator:

Flexible as our needs changed, great recommendations on food, directions and guides totally on point. All we had to do was walk, chat and decompress.

Reviewer's images:
On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Captain J, 23 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Lake District in Italy

We had an excellent trip in the Lake District in Italy. It is tough to say what was the best part of the trip, the hikes on wonderful trails, the people we met, the fine dining or just traveling with friends.

We had an excellent trip in the Lake District in Italy. It is tough to say what was the best part of the trip, the hikes on wonderful trails, the people we met, the fine dining or just traveling with friends.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second trip with On Foot Holidays, the first one was Amalfi Coast. Two very different hikes but we loved them both. I am a stickler on details, especially transportation, getting to and from the airport and the ferry schedule. On advise from On Foot we took a bus from San Sebastion, caught a plane from Bilbao to Milan, caught a bus to Lake Maggiore and a ferry to Isola de Pescatore with no hang ups! They are a well oiled machine, willing to help out in any way possible. I would highly recommend using On Foot Holidays.

Reviewer's images:
On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Susan and Pete from Portland, 9 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Northern Italian Lakes Walking Holiday

Walking holiday around and between two Northern Italian lakes from the old grand tour circuit. Beautiful scenery, comfortable hotels, and a great two-night stop on top of a hill with an incredible restaurant/guest house. The track feels well-worn (no sense of being remote or away from other tourists), but for good reason - it was a lovely walk, and the lakeside towns are long-time tourist areas.

Walking holiday around and between two Northern Italian lakes from the old grand tour circuit. Beautiful scenery, comfortable hotels, and a great two-night stop on top of a hill with an incredible restaurant/guest house. The track feels well-worn (no sense of being remote or away from other tourists), but for good reason - it was a lovely walk, and the lakeside towns are long-time tourist areas.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything went perfectly smoothly. All travel advice and route notes were excellent; everything as specified. We were treated well at all of our destinations, which speaks well of the tour organizer.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by JS, 12 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walk near Lake maggiore

We did the new On Foot walk from Lake Maggiore to Lake Orta in northern Italy. Walking 4 to 5 hours a day it was a combination of fairly easy climbs, largely in forest, with wonderful views and good accommodation. With a leisurely pace there was time to enjoy the surroundings and there are many other things to do in the area. While not as long or difficult as other On Foot walks we have done we really enjoyed the area and the environment.

We did the new On Foot walk from Lake Maggiore to Lake Orta in northern Italy. Walking 4 to 5 hours a day it was a combination of fairly easy climbs, largely in forest, with wonderful views and good accommodation. With a leisurely pace there was time to enjoy the surroundings and there are many other things to do in the area. While not as long or difficult as other On Foot walks we have done we really enjoyed the area and the environment.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot is an exceptionally well organised company with interesting itineraries, good accommodation and excellent walking notes. They offer a personalised service with good communication and support. We have done 6 of their walks and plan to do more

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Cannondale, 5 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Very enjoyable

Walking in the Italian lakes. Lovely route and very good organisation.

Walking in the Italian lakes. Lovely route and very good organisation.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by pippa, 11 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Lakes Maggiore and Orta, Italy

Excellent organisation for transport of luggage to allow all day freedom to walk. All accommodation of good standard and advice on interesting diversions on the walks much appreciated. Route maps invaluable for self-guided tour - we made no mistakes on the routes. We had good weather throughout which made this a delightful experience. Telephone contact from the Italian representative on our arrival at the first hotel was reassuring in case ...

Excellent organisation for transport of luggage to allow all day freedom to walk. All accommodation of good standard and advice on interesting diversions on the walks much appreciated. Route maps invaluable for self-guided tour - we made no mistakes on the routes. We had good weather throughout which made this a delightful experience. Telephone contact from the Italian representative on our arrival at the first hotel was reassuring in case of problems although none occurred.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent service both initially in the UK and in Italy.