AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 27
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 27
Reviews Accepted: 27
Reviews Rejected: 0
27 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Cloughie, 18 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Lake Maggiore

This was a walking holiday in the Italian lakes

This was a walking holiday in the Italian lakes

Rating for tour operator:

We have used On Foot in the past and found them consistently excellent Paying great attention to small details and providing lots of relevant info regarding the walking routes and points of historical intrest

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by London walker, 8 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Glorious walk in the Italian lakes

A truly beautiful walk from Lago Maggiore to Lago d'Orta, just the right amount of moderately strenuous walking each day through stunning scenery, great accommodation and luggage transfer all smoothly arranged by One Foot Holidays.

A truly beautiful walk from Lago Maggiore to Lago d'Orta, just the right amount of moderately strenuous walking each day through stunning scenery, great accommodation and luggage transfer all smoothly arranged by One Foot Holidays.

Rating for tour operator:

We first read about this particular walk in a Guardian travel piece but first used On Foot for another fabulous walk in northern Spain (the billing of 'monasteries and vineyards' sold us on that one!). This was equally wonderful, very well arranged with great pre-walk information, excellent maps and instructions, and local contacts to help with any questions arising.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Jackie, 30 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

#17408 Lake Maggiore and #17409 Tuscany

Lake Maggiore beginning October 4th, 2022 - Very good experience beginning at Hotel Belvedere for 2 nights. Use of the ferry system went very well with beautiful scenery and well planned routes. We enjoyed all of the hiking with use of written instructions and the downloaded GPS. Our trip was well planned and accommodations were very nice as well as dining suggestions.

Lake Maggiore beginning October 4th, 2022 - Very good experience beginning at Hotel Belvedere for 2 nights. Use of the ferry system went very well with beautiful scenery and well planned routes. We enjoyed all of the hiking with use of written instructions and the downloaded GPS. Our trip was well planned and accommodations were very nice as well as dining suggestions.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays prepared us well for the hikes and the drivers were reliable and professional. Contact person Beatrice Bariletta was available and helpful making sure we were aware of route changes. She also had dining suggestions. The ease of making our initial payments went smoothly with On Foot Holidays. We had used the company in the past for numerous hikes and these two hikes were just as well planned out and enjoyable. Our Tuscany hike beginning October 11th, 2022 was just as enjoyable with On Foot Holidays.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Helen mac, 28 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Lake Maggiore

We loved the scenery, walking from beautiful Lake Maggiore to the top of Mottorone, with its spectacular views of snow topped mountains. Then down again amidst beech and chestnut woods, along paths carpeted in falling autumn leaves, 'chatting' to friendly donkeys and cows along the way. The Stations of the Cross was wonderful to experience (we counted at least 15), and finally enjoyed a relaxing walk along the pristine waters of Lake Orta ...

We loved the scenery, walking from beautiful Lake Maggiore to the top of Mottorone, with its spectacular views of snow topped mountains. Then down again amidst beech and chestnut woods, along paths carpeted in falling autumn leaves, 'chatting' to friendly donkeys and cows along the way. The Stations of the Cross was wonderful to experience (we counted at least 15), and finally enjoyed a relaxing walk along the pristine waters of Lake Orta before arriving at our lakeside hotel.

Rating for tour operator:

We were cautious about returning to Europe from Australia after Covid-19, but arrangements were handled with speed and expertise. We booked very late (just 3 weeks prior to departure), yet the On Foot team managed to secure bookings at all our chosen hotels. This was our second holiday with On Foot, we will definitely be back!

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by David G, 27 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

An enjoyable week walking in the Italian foothills of the Alps - splendid views, great food, quality accommodation.

OFH's Italian Lakes: Maggiore and Orta hotel to hotel walking holiday. We were keen to get back to Europe after the enforced isolation of the last two years. What better way than with an OFH walking holiday? We've always enjoyed our previous trips with them. This route was no exception. The walking was possibly not as demanding as some of our previous jaunts -but we were aware we were a bit out of practice! That said, it was an enjoyable week, ...

OFH's Italian Lakes: Maggiore and Orta hotel to hotel walking holiday. We were keen to get back to Europe after the enforced isolation of the last two years. What better way than with an OFH walking holiday? We've always enjoyed our previous trips with them. This route was no exception. The walking was possibly not as demanding as some of our previous jaunts -but we were aware we were a bit out of practice! That said, it was an enjoyable week, with a real sense of accomplishment. We stayed in comfortable, welcoming hotels; had some splendid meals - the Villa Pizzini experience will endure in our memories for a long time; and enjoyed some lovely walks through mature woodlands, with regular views of both lakes and mountains. Day to day worries disappeared, and the main challenge each day was related to menu and wine-list decisions.

Rating for tour operator:

As usual, OFH were firmly in control of making sure everything ran smoothly - from the initial enquiry, prior to and during the trip, and following up on our return to UK. Additional requests and minor tweaks were taken in their stride. The route notes were very good, and additional information (ferry timetables, local train details, etc) all supplied. Everything worked as it should without any fuss or bother.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Tanya, 21 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Amazing hiking in Italy

Another fabulous hiking experience booked through On Foot holidays. This time we did 4 nights around Lake Maggiore. Everything from the actual hiking to the accommodation to the food exceeded our expectations. In particular the dinner at Villa Pizzini was outstanding as were the views along the walks.

Another fabulous hiking experience booked through On Foot holidays. This time we did 4 nights around Lake Maggiore. Everything from the actual hiking to the accommodation to the food exceeded our expectations. In particular the dinner at Villa Pizzini was outstanding as were the views along the walks.

Rating for tour operator:

We've been using On Foot for years and absolutely think the world of them. One of the most professional companies I've worked with and they always go above and beyond to make sure our trips are exceptional.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Jilly J, 13 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

Effciency defined

We walked from Lake Maggiore to Lake Orta with OFH. Hotels we excellent and the self guided directions were absolutely first class, especially with the provided maps for the GPS App which meant we always knew exactly where we were! The chosen route included interesting sites and villages so we got a real sense of the area rather than just tourist locations. Collection from the airport and back was super efficient.

We walked from Lake Maggiore to Lake Orta with OFH. Hotels we excellent and the self guided directions were absolutely first class, especially with the provided maps for the GPS App which meant we always knew exactly where we were! The chosen route included interesting sites and villages so we got a real sense of the area rather than just tourist locations. Collection from the airport and back was super efficient.

Rating for tour operator:

Totally 'on it' and really helpful with arranging things as as well advice as to the holiday itself. The way they arrange the holidays make them flexible so as we were able to add rest days as appropriate and extend the trip accordingly.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Steve R., 3 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Great trip to the Lake Maggiore region

We spent five days in the region, including four days of self-guided walking. It was wonderful.

We spent five days in the region, including four days of self-guided walking. It was wonderful.

Rating for tour operator:

The entire team at On Foot is fantastic. They are extraordinarily responsive and creative, and a true pleasure to work with. When booking our holiday, there were a few complications and the On Foot team showed tremendous determination and creativity to make the whole thing work for us. We have taken three holidays with them and will do more in the future.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Charles & Claire, 14 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Maggiore to Orta

Self guided Walking holiday staying at top end hotels.

Self guided Walking holiday staying at top end hotels.

Rating for tour operator:

Found on the internet and happened upon a top end operator.

On Foot Holidays - Lake Maggiore by Sally Maria, 4 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Lake Maggorie to Orta walk

We're a party of 4. We went on a walking holiday from lake maggorie to lake orta in Italy. It was amazing. We stayed on a delightful island on Lake Maggorie for 3 nights; then walked over a mountain to lake Orta over the next few days, finishing in the medieval little town of Orta for a couple of nights. Great walking and instructions - a combination of using the written instructions and the App meant we didn't go wrong! Everything went ...

We're a party of 4. We went on a walking holiday from lake maggorie to lake orta in Italy. It was amazing. We stayed on a delightful island on Lake Maggorie for 3 nights; then walked over a mountain to lake Orta over the next few days, finishing in the medieval little town of Orta for a couple of nights. Great walking and instructions - a combination of using the written instructions and the App meant we didn't go wrong! Everything went very smoothly except one very rainy day which even On Foot can't control! Brilliant!

Rating for tour operator:

Another excellent On Foot holiday for us. They always seem to get it just right. The advance information, ongoing help and support during planning, and support whilst on the holiday is second to none. They are very quick to respond to queries.