AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 106
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 106
Reviews Accepted: 106
Reviews Rejected: 0
106 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Cathy, 17 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing walks on the Amalfi Coast

We were a group of 8 friends who met in Amalfi to hike the coastal routes planned by On Foot Holidays. This was our fourth walk with On Foot, and it did not disappoint. The walking was a bit challenging due to the many ups and downs, but the scenery was spectacular every day (as was the weather), which distracted us from the many steps we took to reach our vistas. The accommodations were all spacious, clean and quiet, and fairly central ...

We were a group of 8 friends who met in Amalfi to hike the coastal routes planned by On Foot Holidays. This was our fourth walk with On Foot, and it did not disappoint. The walking was a bit challenging due to the many ups and downs, but the scenery was spectacular every day (as was the weather), which distracted us from the many steps we took to reach our vistas. The accommodations were all spacious, clean and quiet, and fairly central to our routes.

Rating for tour operator:

I am always in awe of how responsive On Foot Holidays is to our many concerns. No matter when I email them, they seem to answer within a few hours. The Walkers Packet which arrives several weeks before the journey begins has extensive route notes/maps, but additionally so much information on history, restaurants, accommodations. Included are always detailed train, bus, and ferry schedules for our transportation to, from, and during our walks. We have never had any issues on any of our walks, but I always feel that should an injury, accident or concern arise, On Foot would provide assistance in a timely manner. I feel that On Foot truly cares about the customer and his/her experience.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Artie, 8 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking along the Amalfi coast

A week's walking holiday where accommodation was found along the route, walks were prepared for us, and our luggage was transported to each overnight stay. The walks were superb with wonderful views, suitable and well set out, the accommodation was excellent, lively resorts and the weather was so good in October that we swam in the Med most days.

A week's walking holiday where accommodation was found along the route, walks were prepared for us, and our luggage was transported to each overnight stay. The walks were superb with wonderful views, suitable and well set out, the accommodation was excellent, lively resorts and the weather was so good in October that we swam in the Med most days.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used 'On Foot' for the last 6 or 7 years. They provide the type of holiday we enjoy. They give friendly and personal help and advice when we initially contact them about a particular holiday, at least one of the staff will have walked the routes and stayed in the accommodation they offer. They organise any extras we require, like taxis transport to and from the airport, and have local personnel in the area that we can contact if we have any problems when we are abroad. They provide a personal service and we always feel we are in safe hands!

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Ken, 6 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exhausting but exhilarating; makes you good to be alive

Walking the Amalfi coast with luggage sent on ahead . Fantastic views ; spectacular scenery and a great reward for all those climbs!

Walking the Amalfi coast with luggage sent on ahead . Fantastic views ; spectacular scenery and a great reward for all those climbs!

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays. Very professional and thorough. Nothing ever too much trouble. Would definitely book with them again.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Pud, 23 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Generally very good

Walking on the Amalfi Coast

Walking on the Amalfi Coast

Rating for tour operator:

Very good & quick to respond

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Andrew, 23 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Spring flower delights on the Amalfi Coast

Excellent holiday with challenging walking along a beautiful mountainous coastline. May was a great time to go with lots of spring flowers and butterflies to see. Interesting towns to stay in and excellent route notes for the walking.

Excellent holiday with challenging walking along a beautiful mountainous coastline. May was a great time to go with lots of spring flowers and butterflies to see. Interesting towns to stay in and excellent route notes for the walking.

Rating for tour operator:

Good knowledge of the holidays, quick and useful responses to queries. Comprehensive information pack.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by SueH, 15 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Awesome walk way about the tourist melee

We travelled to the Amalfi Coast at the end of October 2017. We had perfect walking temperatures and sunny days. The walking is challenging due to the medieval stepped paths that rise up and up behind the Amalfi villages and then spread into quite wild, steep and rocky terrain. At the end of each day, we descended into the coastal tourist villages for dinner and a good night's sleep. Overall, a demanding and exhilarating hike.

We travelled to the Amalfi Coast at the end of October 2017. We had perfect walking temperatures and sunny days. The walking is challenging due to the medieval stepped paths that rise up and up behind the Amalfi villages and then spread into quite wild, steep and rocky terrain. At the end of each day, we descended into the coastal tourist villages for dinner and a good night's sleep. Overall, a demanding and exhilarating hike.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with OnFoot holiday three times now and find their personalised service and interest excellent. If any issue arises they have local associates who are ready to fix things. They provide excellent notes and the logistics of moving luggage and hotel bookings is always efficient. They also choose interesting hotels/farms with welcoming hosts. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend their service.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by snbvt, 10 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Lovely walk from Amalfi to Sorrento and on to Capri

Our On Foot Holiday walking tour was superb. The walks were beautiful, breathtaking actually. The maps and directions were thorough and complete. I loved how each day's direction packet showed elevation climbs and walking times, points of interest, and suggestions on where to purchase a picnic lunch at the beginning of the day or restaurants to stop at for lunch. I appreciated the alternate route to avoid a section of the walk that would bother ...

Our On Foot Holiday walking tour was superb. The walks were beautiful, breathtaking actually. The maps and directions were thorough and complete. I loved how each day's direction packet showed elevation climbs and walking times, points of interest, and suggestions on where to purchase a picnic lunch at the beginning of the day or restaurants to stop at for lunch. I appreciated the alternate route to avoid a section of the walk that would bother someone with a fear of heights. The hotels were great. Several had pools which was a great way to relax after a long day of walking. The breakfasts were wonderful. I was always impressed that our luggage was always in our room at the next hotel. We added on a night in Capri and On Foot Holidays provided transportation information and maps and walking directions for several walks in Capri, which were delightful. We're looking forward to our next On Foot walking holiday in Europe. The hard part will be deciding which one to choose.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot did an excellent job providing maps and directions for walking. They were accessible by email prior to our trip, always replying promptly with a helpful response. There was never a problem with our hotel reservations and our luggage was always waiting in our next hotel. I will definitely book another trip with On Foot Holidays.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Sarah and Sue, 26 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Excellent - extremely well arranged holiday

We walked Amalfi to Sorrento with On Foot Holidays and had 6 great days of walking following the very accurate On Foot route guide and maps. The views were spectacular almost the whole way along the route, the terrain was varied with lots of steps, well trodden laid paths and some mountain walking on uneven ground however the climbs were very well rewarded as was the cold beer at the end of the walk after the down hill sections into the towns! We ...

We walked Amalfi to Sorrento with On Foot Holidays and had 6 great days of walking following the very accurate On Foot route guide and maps. The views were spectacular almost the whole way along the route, the terrain was varied with lots of steps, well trodden laid paths and some mountain walking on uneven ground however the climbs were very well rewarded as was the cold beer at the end of the walk after the down hill sections into the towns! We would highly recommend this walking to any keen walker, the Path of the Gods was fantastic and busy but other routes just as good and very quiet. Hotels were very good and clean,breakfast excellent. Good choice of restaurants for meals often recommended by On Foot in their 'Blue' book of recommendations.

Rating for tour operator:

We walked Amalfi to Sorrento with On Foot Holidays, this was our first holiday with them after a recommendation from a colleague, On Foot arranged all our hotels, daily routes and generally gave us all other information that we needed to enjoy our holiday. The daily route information and maps were spot on and we never got at all lost. The hotels could not be faulted, very clean and breakfast had an ample selection to suit almost anyone. The 'Blue' book of information provided was packed with information and although we did not need it it was great to know we had local contact if we needed any further help. We had a great holiday and were very impressed with On Foot from when we first enquired to booking then before the holiday they answered any questions very promptly and gave good accurate information. I would highly recommend booking with them.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Rambling Jan, 24 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Ancient paths and spectacular views

Walking from Atrani, through Amalfi and along the coast to Sorrento was an exhilarating if sometimes challenging experience. Villages are built into almost sheer cliffs and the engineers of old constructed steps - hundreds of them - to ease the way up and down what would have been impossible inclines. Our first couple of days was spent exploring the local villages before setting off westwards along the coast. Having by now built up some leg ...

Walking from Atrani, through Amalfi and along the coast to Sorrento was an exhilarating if sometimes challenging experience. Villages are built into almost sheer cliffs and the engineers of old constructed steps - hundreds of them - to ease the way up and down what would have been impossible inclines. Our first couple of days was spent exploring the local villages before setting off westwards along the coast. Having by now built up some leg muscle, what steps we had to climb were much less of a trial and we were able to fully appreciate the breath-takingly deep ravines, dramatic cliffs, olive groves, high places and delightful villages through which we passed. The distance walked in a day did not exceed 10 miles and on occasion we were able to reduce this, and avoid some climbs, by taking a bus part way. Our luggage was forwarded to our hotels so we needed to carry only day packs. A couple of days tacked on at the end of the holiday meant we could explore Sorrento itself, visit Herculaneum and Vesuvius, and take a ferry across to Capri. We went at the beginning of October so the temperature was a comfortable 23 degrees.

Rating for tour operator:

Staff at On Foot Holidays have walked the routes they offer, and our Walkers Packs contained all the maps, comprehensive directions and all the information needed to ensure we had a good experience. They also provided .gpx files which could be imported into a smartphone satnav app, which was a useful additional backup. The routes and accommodation seem to be very well researched. All emails and queries were dealt with promptly and efficiently, and new information passed on to us in good time. A very friendly company to deal with.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Ishbel, 20 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Spectacular ridge walks on Amalfi Coast

We walked from Amalfi to Sorrento over 8 days and it was exactly what we hoped for. While the climb up in the morning at the start of each walk was a challenge, we had been provided with bus information and we often took advantage of this. But the ridge walks were amazingly beautiful and we rarely met other walkers. Overall, a great experience and one that I would certainly recommend.

We walked from Amalfi to Sorrento over 8 days and it was exactly what we hoped for. While the climb up in the morning at the start of each walk was a challenge, we had been provided with bus information and we often took advantage of this. But the ridge walks were amazingly beautiful and we rarely met other walkers. Overall, a great experience and one that I would certainly recommend.

Rating for tour operator:

We were very pleased with the service that ONFOOT provided in terms of the hotels chosen, luggage transfers as well as the detailed route maps and guides. It was a great trip and we'd use this company again.