AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 105
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 105
Reviews Accepted: 105
Reviews Rejected: 0
105 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Janie64, 26 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

A miracle of patience and determination

We booked our holiday walking in Italy pre-COVID for October 2020. In the following months our flight out was cancelled and rebooked with another operator, 4 out of 5 hotels decided to close early and at the 11th hour we needed pre-arrival negative COVID tests (at our cost) or to self isolate after arrival pending test results from Naples airport tests. At 8.30pm on the night before we flew our tests came in (both negative) so we could fly the ...

We booked our holiday walking in Italy pre-COVID for October 2020. In the following months our flight out was cancelled and rebooked with another operator, 4 out of 5 hotels decided to close early and at the 11th hour we needed pre-arrival negative COVID tests (at our cost) or to self isolate after arrival pending test results from Naples airport tests. At 8.30pm on the night before we flew our tests came in (both negative) so we could fly the next morning. We had a fabulous 6 days self guided walking along the Amalfi coast, the walks were all beautiful, walking through and out of the towns up the hills above the coast line and descending to lovely picturesque towns each afternoon. Amalfi-Praiano-Positano-Sant' Agata-Sorrento. A breath of fresh air after working from home and COVID restrictions for 6 months. We were so please we we able to go and complete the walking in such a lovely part of the world. Sad to have to fly home a day early to avoid self isolating for two weeks due to Italy being removed from the UK travel corridor but I wouldn't have changed a thing- perfect.

Rating for tour operator:

Mary in the On Foot Holidays Office has been a force of patience and persistence - she never gave up booking and rebooking our hotels, keeping us informed of changes in travel policy to Italy and living the last minute COVID test journey with us. She checked we had arrived OK and shared our elation that EVENTUALLY we got to walk the Amalfi Coast. This is my second walk with On Foot holidays - the pack provided gives you total confidence on each days walks with maps, written instructions, any required public transport timetables and a very easy to use in phone gps. You have the confidence of a local contact and your bags are moved to the next destination ahead of arrival, no delays. The routes are well thought out to show variety and get off the beaten track. I'm very hooked on these type of holidays, the overnight accommodation is varied in standard but is always charming with very welcoming hosts. I would have no hesitation recommending the firm to any of my friends or even strangers!

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by The Nicks, 14 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful walks on the Amalfi coast

We spent 5 days walking around Amalfi and from Amalfi to Sorrento. We enjoyed spectacular scenery, friendly and comfortable hotels, made even better by the welcoming staff.

We spent 5 days walking around Amalfi and from Amalfi to Sorrento. We enjoyed spectacular scenery, friendly and comfortable hotels, made even better by the welcoming staff.

Rating for tour operator:

Very responsive and knowledgeable. Gave us excellent advice and put together a wonderful package. The walk guides were very thorough, detailed and well researched. The choice of hotels and recommendations for restaurants were all of the highest standard.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Hepstar, 6 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amalfi Coast Self Guided Walk

This walk was one of three adventures we planned in Europe over October - walking the Amalfi coastline, bike riding southwest Portugal and sea kayaking around Menorca Island. It was a good time to visit outside the main tourism season. The Amalfi walk was a great way to experience the local nature and culture at a slower pace.

This walk was one of three adventures we planned in Europe over October - walking the Amalfi coastline, bike riding southwest Portugal and sea kayaking around Menorca Island. It was a good time to visit outside the main tourism season. The Amalfi walk was a great way to experience the local nature and culture at a slower pace.

Rating for tour operator:

The professional advice and service of On Foot Holidays was exceptional - well planned and accurate information, good maps, helpful advice about trip planning, what to see and places to eat. They have carefully chosen good quality accommodation that is generally located away from the high tourist visited streets within the small coastal towns.

Reviewer's images:
On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Joe, 2 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

A perfect way to explore an area

The walks took us to the less travelled areas where history an geography made sense

The walks took us to the less travelled areas where history an geography made sense

Rating for tour operator:

Every aspect was perfectly planned and they got in touch late in our holiday when strike action may have caused problems to ensure we had up to the minute travel info

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Jim, 25 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amalfi Coast Walking Tour

We did this walking tour of the Amalfi Coast and it was spectacular! It was tough at times with all the steps, but the never ending views made it all worth while! We had perfect weather too!

We did this walking tour of the Amalfi Coast and it was spectacular! It was tough at times with all the steps, but the never ending views made it all worth while! We had perfect weather too!

Rating for tour operator:

They were very responsive with any questions, the tour was set up quickly, all of their information was laid out very well.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Helen, 23 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Self guided walking on the Amalfi coast

Wonderful walking and perfectly planned. All the stress taken out of the planning so we could enjoy strenuous days walking and relaxing in pretty hotels at the end of the day.

Wonderful walking and perfectly planned. All the stress taken out of the planning so we could enjoy strenuous days walking and relaxing in pretty hotels at the end of the day.

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing is too much trouble for them. Thoroughly professional but with the personal touch.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Ausfamily, 23 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous

Fabulous itinerary with a number of trails away from the main tourist routes. Fantastic trail notes and information about the towns where we were staying.

Fabulous itinerary with a number of trails away from the main tourist routes. Fantastic trail notes and information about the towns where we were staying.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot holidays are wonderful to deal with. Very informative and helpful at all times. Information provided is superior to any other tour operator.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Ausfamily, 23 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous

Fabulous itinerary with a number of trails away from the main tourist routes. Fantastic trail notes and information about the towns where we were staying.

Fabulous itinerary with a number of trails away from the main tourist routes. Fantastic trail notes and information about the towns where we were staying.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot holidays are wonderful to deal with. Very informative and helpful at all times. Information provided is superior to any other tour operator.

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Rutland girl, 18 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Magical week walking along beautiful Italian coast

Five days self-guided walking on mule tracks from Amalfi to Sorrento, staying in lovely B&B's and having the luxury of having our bags transported for us. There were a variety of walk options each day, ranging from steep-stepped climbs with breath-taking drops to gentler options or even rest days with bus transport to the next stop. We are proud to say we managed all the steep climbs and the rewards included a wonderful sense of achievement, ...

Five days self-guided walking on mule tracks from Amalfi to Sorrento, staying in lovely B&B's and having the luxury of having our bags transported for us. There were a variety of walk options each day, ranging from steep-stepped climbs with breath-taking drops to gentler options or even rest days with bus transport to the next stop. We are proud to say we managed all the steep climbs and the rewards included a wonderful sense of achievement, amazing views, picturesque villages, watching the olive harvest, swimming in clear blue sea, wonderful flowers and wildlife - and of course the delicious local food. We were very well supported by On Foot. They sent us clear walking instructions and maps, phone numbers for our accommodation and a local rep, timetables for local buses, and inside information on the area we were visiting. They even helped us arrange an extra day sightseeing at the end; we chose Vesuvius and Pompeii, but Herculaneum, Naples and Capri are all nearby. I would thoroughly recommend the Amalfi coast if you enjoy walking - especially in spring or autumn. And I would definitely recommend On Foot to make the holiday as enjoyable and stress free as possible.

Rating for tour operator:

Listened to our needs when we booked - flexible about dates and length of holiday. Knowledgeable about the area - paths, accommodation, food, local interest Each B&B booked was different but all of a high standard, in a good position, friendly and helpful Information given on paper and as a phone app in plenty of time - routes (including options for easier days if needed!), maps, bus timetables, essential phone numbers. Thoughtful extras in the info pack such as a waterproof map case and customer reviews of local restaurants. Local rep available for help Respond well when things go awry; we managed to make a significant route mistake one day but were able to rescue the situation easily by liaising with the local rep and an extra bus trip (an experience in itself!) Overall the staff come over as a friendly, reliable and helpful team with a good eye for detail

On Foot Holidays - Amalfi Coast by Wes, 12 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Unsurpassed Vistas and Wonderful Food

Our preference has always being for active outdoor vacations, and our hike from Amalfi to Sorrento did not disappoint. We know that we've had a great day when we have to retire in good time because we're physically tired, after a strenuous day on the trail and a fine meal a great restaurant. I don't think there is anything about this trip that I would want to have done differently

Our preference has always being for active outdoor vacations, and our hike from Amalfi to Sorrento did not disappoint. We know that we've had a great day when we have to retire in good time because we're physically tired, after a strenuous day on the trail and a fine meal a great restaurant. I don't think there is anything about this trip that I would want to have done differently

Rating for tour operator:

This trip was extremely well organized karma is benefited greatly from strong research and advance preparation by OnFoot vacations. During the trip itself, on foot vacations was completely inconspicuous as intended, that there was never any sense of abandonment or being left "high and dry", since each day unfolded as intended. We did not need any assistance, but we never felt that assistance would be unavailable if need it. We have already referred on foot vacations to others with whom we would like to keep strong relations!