AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Inntravel

Along Via Spluga to Lake Como Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Along Via Spluga to Lake Como

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 6
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 6
Reviews Accepted: 6
Reviews Rejected: 0
6 reviews
Sort by:
Along Via Spluga to Lake Como by Marcy, 3 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

A Walk Over the Swiss Alps into Italy

We are not the type of travelers who will ever "follow a guide with a pink umbrella" so we relished in the independence of this challenging hiking trip from Thusis, Switzerland over the Spluga Pass to Chiavenna, Italy, just north of Lake Como. We are active outdoor hikers from a small town in the Cascade mountains of Oregon so we felt we were up to the challenge. We made it just fine but there were days that we were exhausted at the end of the trail...

We are not the type of travelers who will ever "follow a guide with a pink umbrella" so we relished in the independence of this challenging hiking trip from Thusis, Switzerland over the Spluga Pass to Chiavenna, Italy, just north of Lake Como. We are active outdoor hikers from a small town in the Cascade mountains of Oregon so we felt we were up to the challenge. We made it just fine but there were days that we were exhausted at the end of the trail. Fortunately, a well-selected hotel with a good meal (and our bags) awaited us each night. Also, there were two days when a local circular hike around the town was possible during a two-night stay. These two occasions allowed us to modify the day hike as needed. We saw many spectacular vistas and we felt a part of the Apen lifestyle as we walked along nearly vertical fields that were being hayed by hand and met a woman and her child looking for their lost goats in one of the canyons. The trail selected by InnTravel keeps you out of the tourist traffic completely. There were several occasions when time stood still and one could imagine the Romans trekking on the same trail with their laden mules.

Rating for tour operator:

We walked independently on a trip obtained through InnTravel.

Along Via Spluga to Lake Como by Hughsie, 14 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Walking along the Spluga Pass

A challenging walk from Switzerland to Italy . Fantastic views. Great accommodation. High standard of service from Inntravel as always

A challenging walk from Switzerland to Italy . Fantastic views. Great accommodation. High standard of service from Inntravel as always

Rating for tour operator:

Always helpful and knowledgable. Great standard of accommodation and accurate walking notes.

Along Via Spluga to Lake Como by sillysoc, 4 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

A Long Walk to Paradise

Ms D Connelly Reference:P2797 Holiday:Hotel Adler, Zürich Along the Via Spluga to Lake Como - An Independent Walk We walked 120 miles along the Via Spluga form Thusis in Switzerland to Lake Como in Italy. Hard work, but glorious.

Ms D Connelly Reference:P2797 Holiday:Hotel Adler, Zürich Along the Via Spluga to Lake Como - An Independent Walk We walked 120 miles along the Via Spluga form Thusis in Switzerland to Lake Como in Italy. Hard work, but glorious.

Rating for tour operator:

Inntravel takes care of every detail for us. It is such a pleasure to work with them, and they give us personal, individualized attention.

Inntravel responded to this review on 06 Oct 2014:

As you say, there are some demanding walks, but the sense of satisfaction at the end is well worth the effort!

Along Via Spluga to Lake Como by Dr JGW Godalming, 19 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Via Spluga from the Alps to Lake Como

Following cobbled mule tracks but with nothing heavier than your lunch. The route by way of the Viamala gorge and climbing over the Splugen Pass, and down into Italy. Mountains, valleys and waterfalls together with a insight to the history of travellers since roman times. Staying in comfortable hotels and enjoying good food each night. A sense of achievement as we relaxed afterwards by the sparkling waters of Lake Como. A great way to relax!

Following cobbled mule tracks but with nothing heavier than your lunch. The route by way of the Viamala gorge and climbing over the Splugen Pass, and down into Italy. Mountains, valleys and waterfalls together with a insight to the history of travellers since roman times. Staying in comfortable hotels and enjoying good food each night. A sense of achievement as we relaxed afterwards by the sparkling waters of Lake Como. A great way to relax!

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Inntravel for more than 10 years in similar walking holidays throughout Europe. First class in every respect; service, accommodation, friendliness, and some great walking experiences. All well researched and some exceptional places to visit and stay. Well recommended.

Inntravel responded to this review on 22 Jul 2014:

As you say, the Via Spluga is an ancient trading route, dating back centuries. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed exploring the gorges and passes along the route.

Along Via Spluga to Lake Como by Mrs G A 14, 13 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Amazing

A true adventure!

A true adventure!

Rating for tour operator:

Very knowledgeable and helpful with friendly telephone manner

Inntravel responded to this review on 14 Jul 2014:

This holiday is new for 2014, so we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed it.

Along Via Spluga to Lake Como by Jenny, 5 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Walking holiday

An independent hotel to hotel holiday. The Via Spluga trail from Thusis, Switzerland to Chiavenna, Italy then transfer to Lenno, Lake Como. A superb walk through varied landscapes made challenging by late snow on the high pass.

An independent hotel to hotel holiday. The Via Spluga trail from Thusis, Switzerland to Chiavenna, Italy then transfer to Lenno, Lake Como. A superb walk through varied landscapes made challenging by late snow on the high pass.

Rating for tour operator:

Inntravel once again provided excellent service both when booking our holiday and providing the necessary transportation links and luggage transportation in partnership with the Chiavenna tourist organisation. The pack of walking notes, maps and vouchers were received in plenty of time to enable us to familiarise ourselves with the itinerary ahead.

Inntravel responded to this review on 09 Jul 2014:

We’re sorry you encountered snow up on the high pass. We always consult with the hoteliers, tourist office and local guides when deciding when to offer a holiday, but, of course, the weather is an unpredictable thing. We’re glad that you enjoyed the holiday overall, though.