InsideAsia Tours

Reviews of InsideAsia Tours

Overall company rating
4 99%
Reviews submitted: 285
Reviews accepted: 285
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
275
Good
8
Average
2
Poor
0
Terrible
0

A captivating fortnight excellently curated and led

By Tom on 13 Dec 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Japan Unmasked >

Joined a 14 day small group tour of Japan. What stood out was the clever orchestration. It provided an envelope of arrangements that encompassed travel and accommodation with the ability to be independent but supported by informed advice from our excellent leader. The tour has clearly been refined and honed to achieve a good balance between covering a fair amount of ground but also applying the 'less is more 'principal. The pricing represented excellent value and it was facilitated by using selected non Western style accommodation thus also adding considerably to the cultural underlay of the tour.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Inside Japan took as much time as was needed to discuss in detail our queries and flesh out some of the challenges we would meet on this style of tour. This was important for us, in our late 60's, given that we were to be faced with some non Western accommodation. It turned out exactly as promised. The information as regards our destinations was extremely comprehensive. And the provision of a travel card for the Tokyo metro in advance of arrival - together with clear instructions to get to our hotel - was a very clever feature. Our tour leader was excellent.

Detailed information to help me travel independently

By natin on 10 Dec 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A two week trip to Japan travelling by train and bus. Had a good overview of the country, visiting the main spots as ell as those off he beaten track, and the unusual.
Stayed in a range of accommodation- traditional ryokans s well as modern hotels

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Plenty of pre discussion to plan a trip to include places on our wish list. Plenty of information on transport times, how to get to the accommodation as well as lots of local information guides

Well organised and efficient

By LynneH on 5 Dec 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Japan is a fascinating country, but can be a little daunting for first timers. Our trip covered a range of places, both rural and urban, with some wonderful sights. The Snow Monkeys were a particular delight

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The trip with Inside Japan tours covered all the areas we wanted to see - and some we hadn't thought of. The arrangements were efficient and comprehensive. The material covered all the information we needed and anticipated questions we hadn't yet asked. We would highly recommend this tour operator

A second trip every bit as good as the first.

By BelfastRed on 4 Dec 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This was our second self guided trip with Inside Japan and it was just as good throughout the whole process as the first time round. Claire, our agent, was friendly, knowledgeable and very flexible with suggesting places to go and things to do based on a few guidelines we had given her. The trip was everything we asked for and more. Inside Japan go out of their way to make things as straightforward on the ground as possible, from having someone meet us off our flight to help us to get onto the shinkansen direct to Kyoto when we arrived, to arranging a food tour, Skytree tickets, a cooking class and having us picked up at our hotel to take us back to the airport. It makes a trip like this easier to enjoy as you know everything is in place but with a degree of flexibility to allow us to take things at our own pace as well. On this trip we covered Kyoto, Miyajima, Osaka and Tokyo, all of which we had been to before but hadn't had enough time in on our last trip. We loved every second.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very friendly and patient, super flexible and very knowledgeable. It is obvious that Claire has been to all the places she recommends and it is reassuring to know that what we are paying for is tried and tested and recommended. We booked a long time in advance so had the time to think about the suggestions and change our mind if we needed to. Nothing was too much trouble and if she thought what we wanted wasn't achievable she told us but allowed us to make the final call for ourselves. We are very grateful for the care which Inside Japan and Claire in particular takes when planning out every trip.

Great range of locations and experiences

By Mike on 3 Dec 2017

Rating for this holiday Good

We took a self guided adventure around Japan

Rating for tour operator Good

Inside Japan make all the transport and accomodation arrangements and supply very detailed information which makes it easier to be independent.

A fantastic holiday to Japan once again with Inside Japan

By Darshan on 3 Dec 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This was our third trip to Japan with Inside Japan - the first being a group tour and the other two being tailored. On each trip we have visited several new locations as well as some re-visited places (mainly Tokyo and Kyoto). Our recent holiday took us to KInosaki Onsen, Takayama, Shirakawago, Kanazawa, Magome and Tsumago where we stayed variously one, two and three nights. Accommodation was a real mix of Ryokan, Minshuku and western. Travel was by public transport using primarily the JR Pass. In each location we chose to organise ourselves rather than use pre-booked guides.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Inside Japan have an excellent knowledge of Japan which was really helped us to create together holidays that meet our preferences and which have been carefully thought through in terms off the logistics. Their organisation prior to our holidays is excellent which in each instance has resulted in a flawless execution on the ground. That is invaluable for us giving the confidence in our accommodation, transport and general basics of our holiday leaving us to enjoy to the full the wonderful country that Japan is. Communication is very good, friendly and helpful and they offer very good value for money. I have recommended Inside Japan to people I know, one of who has since used them twice since which says it all really. For any future trip to Japan they would be my go to operator.

Tokaido Trail is terrific

By JanS on 2 Dec 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Tokaido Trail >

The tour was excellent, a really lovely introduction to Japan. Hotel accommodation was good for 2 or 3 star and a couple of hotels would be 4 star. The included dinner was excellent. The experiences were varied and interesting. Gion district walking tour was also very good with the services of a local guide.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

InsideJapanTours based in Brisbane provided us with a comprehensive and interesting trip of Japan.

Our tour consultant was very thorough and always returned your calls to discuss any questions. He was very knowledgeable about Japan and the tours. Tour booklet given to customers could be updated and checked for changes to accommodation or tour. He also tried to accommodate any requests and gave helpful suggestions.

Our tour leader was knowledgeable, articulate and conscious of our needs and safety. He took the time to map out individual itineraries for our free day which was a huge task. He had many interesting stories to tell about Japan and his own experiences. He was able to relate to our age group as well as the younger group. He would supply us with a detailed itinerary the day before which was very helpful. He also avoided the crowds at one site by going early. His knowledge of restaurants and cafes was very helpful also and we often enjoyed ourselves when eating together.

Photography Monitor Tour - Japan

By Photographer 1 on 2 Dec 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Very well planned and organised tour with good background on cultural information.Good photography opportunities.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Inside Japan Tour provided good information and make efficient booking of transport and accommodation

Holiday of a life time

By MadAsh on 20 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

There was so much to do, see and also eat. Lots and lots of great food! I saw geiko (geisha in training), so many temples and shrines to visit! Japanese people are very friendly and polite. We went to the Studio Ghibli Museum which our IJT booked for us as you couldn't buy tickets at the museum as you need to book them in advance.

We stayed in traditional inns (Ryokan) and also modern hotels so we got a good feel for both the more traditional side of Japan and the modern side of Japan. We visited Tokyo, went to the Hakone region, Kyoto, Miyajima, Osaka and Takayama. Miyajima was my fave place we stayed at. So relaxing, ate their famous maple shaped cakes and so the famous floating shrine and famous floating torii gate for that shrine.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We used Inside Japan Tours to book our trip to Japan. We selected one of their tours and moulded this to make it more tailored to us. They made booking the trip so easy and stress-free for us and were very informative and helpful.

I would recommend Inside Japan Tours to anyone who wants to go to Japan. Inside Japan Tours were very helpful and gave lots of recommendations including directions to said locations.

ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!! They heard what we were looking for and gave us more than we expected!

By JeanieL on 15 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We were in Japan for 2 action packed weeks. We hiked the Kumano Kodo, bathed in many onsen both privately and publicly, enjoyed delicious food, had Taiko drum lessons, enjoyed a Samurai Kenbu show and lesson, traveled on a traditional boat cruise, saw many UNESCO World Heritage sites, museums, many other fun stops along the way, and made my fitbit so happy because I exceeded my daily goal every day by early afternoon.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Our tour agent at Inside Japan Tours, Grant Ekelund, asked questions and tailored our itinerary to everything we wanted and way more! This was the best experience for our first trip to Asia. We absolutely loved the way it was set up for us and tailored especially to our wants. This was the trip of a lifetime and we would ABSOLUTELY use this tour operator again and am so happy to share their contact information with everyone else. This was top-notch service for a reasonable price!!!