AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
InsideAsia Tours

InsideAsia Tours Traveller Reviews

Reviews of InsideAsia Tours

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 362
Good 11
Average 2
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 375
Reviews Accepted: 375
Reviews Rejected: 0
375 reviews
Sort by:
Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by activepensioner, 6 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Holiday in Japan

A three week holiday in Japan isn't long enough to see everything, but we did see some highlights and some wonderful places.

A three week holiday in Japan isn't long enough to see everything, but we did see some highlights and some wonderful places.

Rating for tour operator:

We travelled to Japan using InsideJapan as our tour operator. We normally travel completely independently but decide that Japan was a challenge to far for us. InsideJapan provide the tailor made tour for us so that we could be independent by with back up from their Japanese team. This was so successful we are now considering choosing them to organise our Vietnamese holiday.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Sara, 4 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Self-guided Japan tour - Traditional Japan

This was a 2 week trip on Japan's main island beginning with Tokyo and ending with Kyoto, but was a great balance between cities and smaller towns and villages, with a highlight being 3 days walking on the Nakasendo trail. There was an interesting balance between city hotels and traditional Ryokans too.

This was a 2 week trip on Japan's main island beginning with Tokyo and ending with Kyoto, but was a great balance between cities and smaller towns and villages, with a highlight being 3 days walking on the Nakasendo trail. There was an interesting balance between city hotels and traditional Ryokans too.

Rating for tour operator:

Inside Japan are very knowledgable and helped us get the itinerary right for us in the planning stages. The attention to detail, service level and the background information provided to guide us through our trip was excellent and everything ran very smoothly.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by PleinJeu, 4 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

An alternative approach to 'Japan in Today's World'

This was our second visit to Japan, before the start of term for Hazel at Kyushu University, on her language year abroad. I thought I was accompanying her on her wish to visit the major sacred shrines of Japan, so the gods would look with favour on her studies. I found that the shrines represented another world within modern Japan. They are green places, with ancient trees reaching towards the sky. Places with running water to wash the hands ...

This was our second visit to Japan, before the start of term for Hazel at Kyushu University, on her language year abroad. I thought I was accompanying her on her wish to visit the major sacred shrines of Japan, so the gods would look with favour on her studies. I found that the shrines represented another world within modern Japan. They are green places, with ancient trees reaching towards the sky. Places with running water to wash the hands and mouth. They are the places my memory is drawn to on my return. We did visit the busy places too. I collected photos of scaffolding, as I had in Rome and Florence. We travelled by many trains as we zigzagged from Tokyo to Matsumoto, to Ise, Nara and Kyoto. Then onward to Matsue on the north coast, where the half-irish, half-greek author Lafcadio Hearn settled for a while before travelling south to Kumamoto where the winters were more mild. And so did we. Travel to Kumamoto, where the Lafcadio Hearn residence was currently closed. Not a problem, we were heading for the mountains, first to take the scenic railway from Hitoyoshi, climbing through a switchback of loop lines and reverse climbs to give us stunning views in all directions. Finally we drove towards the active volcano of Mt Aso, arriving at the onsen town of Kurokawa. The good weather broke and we were pelted with rain before being served an amazing dinner and the chance to pool hop through 8-10 steaming hot onsen. And then home. I was driving through the white-out of rain cloud, above the tree line, following just an orange line to keep me on the road. We drop slowly down to the real world again. Now I understand why every town needs its local shrine. They are a reminder of the deep green places enfolded in the high ground. The official title of Hazel's course of study is 'Japan in Today's World'. We fashioned our own encounter with the help of mark at InsideJapan

Rating for tour operator:

This is one to one service, where I talk about where we might like to visit and what we might like to do. It's a bit difficult when parent and child are travelling together, but with a bit of inventiveness and patience from Mark, we have a hugely interesting itinerary. Its execution was superb too. The accommodation was varied, some quirky, some with a business traveller gloss, but all gave us a good welcome and helped us find our way round. This was a real bespoke tour.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Sadkins, 18 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Living the dream in Tokyo

My trip to Tokyo, Japan trip was for me, both life-changing and life affirming. I've wanted to visit since I was a child and had received an opportunity to do so after college graduation. Due to increasingly severe health problems, I was forced to fore-go my dreams of travel and spend a decade in and out of hospitals and doctor's offices. When I was finally healthy enough and financially secure enough to make this dream come true, I needed ...

My trip to Tokyo, Japan trip was for me, both life-changing and life affirming. I've wanted to visit since I was a child and had received an opportunity to do so after college graduation. Due to increasingly severe health problems, I was forced to fore-go my dreams of travel and spend a decade in and out of hospitals and doctor's offices. When I was finally healthy enough and financially secure enough to make this dream come true, I needed someone who could have my back. I was not only visiting Japan for the first time, but this was to be my first time travelling outside the US. There was also the issue of the Japanese language, in which I'm not proficient. With help from InsideJapan, I spent a week in Tokyo doing a mostly self-guided experience. (But I never felt alone or like I didn't have back-up; should something arise.) I spent a day wondering Harajuku and Shibuya with a guide, and then using the tools provided, made my own way to the Ghibli Museum in Mitaka, the art museums of Roppongi Hills, Tokyo DisneySea in Urayasu, had a kimono dressing with my hair done and a professional photography at a cultural center in Yanaka, wondered Ueno Park and the Tokyo National Museum, and was wowed by the digital artwork at teamLab: Borderless in Odaiba. If I was obsessed with Japan the dream before, I'm enamored with Japan the reality. I hope to return in the next few years, explore outside of Tokyo and I will of course, seek out InsideJapan.

Rating for tour operator:

Shakira was the perfect consultant, helping me to restructure the abandoned plans from a decade ago and turn them into something that gave me all the experiences that I wished for while still coming in under budget. She answered my many questions, helped to customize my experience in ways that I wouldn't be able to on my own, and assured me of on the ground support once in Tokyo, should I need it. She also addressed a big concern, which is my shellfish allergy and made sure that my hotel was aware and that I was prepared when going out to eat so that I wouldn't have an episode. Brian was my first day Insider, who took me around Shibuya and Harajuku, showed me how to purify myself at Meiji-Jingu, took some wonderful photos, navigated our way to the many shops and art experiences that I had listed, and gave me a train map and taught me to use it!I'm eternally thankful to him because the things he showed me that first day allowed me enough independence to go the rest of the week on my own. I'm extremely pleased and thankful to InsideJapan! I was even bragging about them to other English speaking tourists who had gone entirely on their own and found more chaos and hurdles than I had because they didn't have someone on the ground, who knew the lay of the land.

Reviewer's images:
Tokaido Trail by dooneybaby, 18 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Most Exciting Tokaido Trail 2018

This was my first vacation alone and i was in a foreign country. My whole experience was great. Make sure you read the booklet they provide and mapping your subway ride to the accommodation on the day of arrival was a big help for me! My tour was mainly public transportation. One day we used taxis. I think its the best way to get around new countries. Its much better to me than riding a bus or private car around. We had one meal included in the tour...

This was my first vacation alone and i was in a foreign country. My whole experience was great. Make sure you read the booklet they provide and mapping your subway ride to the accommodation on the day of arrival was a big help for me! My tour was mainly public transportation. One day we used taxis. I think its the best way to get around new countries. Its much better to me than riding a bus or private car around. We had one meal included in the tour. It was decent but i think i like the random places we stopped to eat at better. I realized raveling in Japan alone is much easier than i originally believed as a English speaker. I think i would mostly need help with making reservation at hotels and restaurants. So if i travel again I might do an independent tour.

Rating for tour operator:

Thomas was reliable and knowledgeable. The tour i choose had many stops to temples and shrines. Thomas was able to provide me with much information about every shrine we went to. Our transitions from one city to the next went seamlessly. Thomas always knew the times of the next trains and how long it would take us to get there. Many times we were lucky to catch transportation as soon as we arrived.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by genacm, 17 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Family in Japan

We found Japan an interesting but difficult trip. Finding restaurants to suit everyone's needs was difficult and stressful every single day; the crowds and the weather were brutal; and we were tense trying follow all the rules, especially since people tended to scold and correct us when we broke them (like when I put on mens' slippers instead of womens'). Japan is more "foreign" than any place I have visited in Europe or South America and ...

We found Japan an interesting but difficult trip. Finding restaurants to suit everyone's needs was difficult and stressful every single day; the crowds and the weather were brutal; and we were tense trying follow all the rules, especially since people tended to scold and correct us when we broke them (like when I put on mens' slippers instead of womens'). Japan is more "foreign" than any place I have visited in Europe or South America and I appreciated stretching my appreciation of the world, but it was not the most relaxing or the most fun. We visited: Tokyo, Hakone, Osaka, Kyoto, Kanazawa, Takayama, Matsumoto.

Rating for tour operator:

I was very pleased with Inside Japan's planning and execution of our Japan trip. Their pretrip InfoPack very comprehensive and there were no errors at all in the services Inside Jpaan booked and and the tickets they provided. So thankful that everything was in order at every stop: taxis waiting, guides arriving, hotels in order, train and bus tickets correct.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Lauren, 11 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Family adventure in Japan: self-guided tour

We are a group of 3 adults and 3 kids (ages 8, 11, 14) from the USA. Although we are fairly seasoned European travelers, we felt that we needed some help arranging an adventure in Japan. Inside Asia tours really helped us make the most of our 11 days. We loved having a half or full day guide in each city - it made our experience much richer as well as more efficient. We really got to pack a lot in with our guides! The accommodations were varied ...

We are a group of 3 adults and 3 kids (ages 8, 11, 14) from the USA. Although we are fairly seasoned European travelers, we felt that we needed some help arranging an adventure in Japan. Inside Asia tours really helped us make the most of our 11 days. We loved having a half or full day guide in each city - it made our experience much richer as well as more efficient. We really got to pack a lot in with our guides! The accommodations were varied - western hotel, private traditional townhouse, country villa - and all very comfortable. Our consultant took all of our wishes into consideration and then came up with a great plan. The major logistics were all taking care of so we could enjoy the cultural experience.

Rating for tour operator:

We had various full and half day guides in each city. One was a native Japanese woman while the rest were expats. We liked to hear their varied perspectives.

Hidden Japan by Hammy, 7 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Outstaning tour to Japan

A three week visit to Japan incorporating bespoke elements and a small group tour (Hidden Japan). First part covered Tokyo (with a private guide) and Hakone area, then the 10 day group tour which included areas which normally you would not gain access to as a normal tourist. Finally the Shimanami Kaido cycle ride which topped off the trip. Each day a new experience.

A three week visit to Japan incorporating bespoke elements and a small group tour (Hidden Japan). First part covered Tokyo (with a private guide) and Hakone area, then the 10 day group tour which included areas which normally you would not gain access to as a normal tourist. Finally the Shimanami Kaido cycle ride which topped off the trip. Each day a new experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Very professional and knowledgeable. Dealt with an outbound flight delay re-arranging our pre-booked guide and ensured interested parties were kept informed. Managed the typhoon which hit part way through faultlessly and ensured that alternative arrangements were in place to deal with the impact on the local transport with minimal impact

InsideAsia Tours by fulgolf, 29 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Three weeks in Cambodia and Laos passing through Bangkok

Excellent organization. We already visited all the other countries in the area (Myanmar, Thailand, Vietnam, China, Malaysia, Indonesia and Ski Lanka) and this last experience was definitely worth the time and price of the tour. Angor is unbelievable beautiful and all the experiences we had in addition (Cambodian Circus, cooking lesson, magnificent dinners in Phnom Penh and Siem Reap, silk factory and so on) made this vacation a thing to remember ...

Excellent organization. We already visited all the other countries in the area (Myanmar, Thailand, Vietnam, China, Malaysia, Indonesia and Ski Lanka) and this last experience was definitely worth the time and price of the tour. Angor is unbelievable beautiful and all the experiences we had in addition (Cambodian Circus, cooking lesson, magnificent dinners in Phnom Penh and Siem Reap, silk factory and so on) made this vacation a thing to remember with great pleasure.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was perfectly organized and the Asian partner of InsideAsia Tours supplied four excellent guides, speaking a good English, and four capable drivers. One of our best vacations.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by mjw2856, 28 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

Small group tour of the Kyushu area of Japan, food, accommodation and activities all excellent.

Small group tour of the Kyushu area of Japan, food, accommodation and activities all excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Second year of using IJT and yet again it was excellent service from beginning to end.