AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
InsideAsia Tours

InsideAsia Tours Traveller Reviews

Reviews of InsideAsia Tours

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 340
Good 11
Average 2
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 353
Reviews Accepted: 353
Reviews Rejected: 0
353 reviews
Sort by:
Japan Unmasked by Debbie and David, 19 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Japan Unmasked - a chance to experience the wonder that is Japan

We visited cities and mountains and the sea and cycled through paddy fields. We slept in a temple lodging, a Ryokan, a family guesthouse. We ate every imaginable sort of Japanese food. We bathed in natural hot springs and watched monkeys doing the same. We spotted geisha in Kyoto and marvelled at the sumo wrestlers in Tokyo. We visited gardens and temples and shrines and karaoke bars. We have fallen in love with this country.

We visited cities and mountains and the sea and cycled through paddy fields. We slept in a temple lodging, a Ryokan, a family guesthouse. We ate every imaginable sort of Japanese food. We bathed in natural hot springs and watched monkeys doing the same. We spotted geisha in Kyoto and marvelled at the sumo wrestlers in Tokyo. We visited gardens and temples and shrines and karaoke bars. We have fallen in love with this country.

Rating for tour operator:

From the first enquiry Inside Japan were helpful and responsive. The particular tour we chose was well put together to highlight many different aspects of Japan in a short time. They were happy to bespoke it for us to meet our particular interests. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, efficient, approachable and he took great care of all the group.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Phinaeus, 18 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Must be the best "expedition" we have had in many a long year

Tailor made independent touring in Japan lasting 3-4 weeks. They designed a programme around our requirements, the style of travel we prefer and accommodation we asked for- largely Ryokan and business class hotels with appropriate travel passes. Information prior to the trip with detailed booklets on the destinations and trips we were interested in from these were first class as were illustrative travel timings including the type and class of ...

Tailor made independent touring in Japan lasting 3-4 weeks. They designed a programme around our requirements, the style of travel we prefer and accommodation we asked for- largely Ryokan and business class hotels with appropriate travel passes. Information prior to the trip with detailed booklets on the destinations and trips we were interested in from these were first class as were illustrative travel timings including the type and class of JR network trains we should use, where to change etc. Everything went like clockwork albeit we varied the timings to suit ourselves

Rating for tour operator:

Inside Japan Tours, based in Bristol. I first approached them (having been impressed by a presentation at a travel fair some years before) about 15 months prior to travel. Our requirements did not fir their standard packages but their agent bent over backwards sorting an itinerary and accommodation etc based on what we wanted - which was overseen for us by Japaneses friends in the horticultural trade ........... a major element of the trip, as well as cultural, hiking and sightseeing activities

HYPERJAPAN's J-Pop & Go! by JamesH, 14 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Best Holiday Ever!

I did the Hyper Japan J-Pop-and-Go tour with InsideJapan. The tour was a fantastic trip around Japan seeing both the modern and traditional aspects of Japan from the Otaku culture of Akihabara, to seeing temples and Geiko in Kyoto with everything in between. Our tour guide was amazing for his knowledge and passion for Japan really adding to my experience. He was always happy to help us out with questions about language, culture, where to ...

I did the Hyper Japan J-Pop-and-Go tour with InsideJapan. The tour was a fantastic trip around Japan seeing both the modern and traditional aspects of Japan from the Otaku culture of Akihabara, to seeing temples and Geiko in Kyoto with everything in between. Our tour guide was amazing for his knowledge and passion for Japan really adding to my experience. He was always happy to help us out with questions about language, culture, where to find souvenirs, how to get somewhere, and anything else we could think to throw at him.

Rating for tour operator:

The whole thing was made really easy with a dedicated travel consultant to answer all my questions, removing a lot of my fears about travelling solo to a new country. They also provided lots of information about my specific tour and Japan in general well in advance, enabling me to read up and be all the more confident on the ground. This enabled me to really relax and enjoy my holiday.

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by HSR, 14 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Kansai Adventure

I had been to Japan previously and organised an independent two weeks in Japan with a cousin from overseas who had never visited Asia.

I had been to Japan previously and organised an independent two weeks in Japan with a cousin from overseas who had never visited Asia.

Rating for tour operator:

Inside Japan Tours, with whom I had gone on a group tour previously. Their tours are really value for money and exciting with so many unique experiences. I don't speak much Japanese and they organised everything.

Hands On Japan by Denise, 14 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

hands on japan........ experience of a lifetime.

It was a total pleasure. Well organised, great variety of activities and sights, right mix of city and country. The food was amazing and a great representation of a range of japanese dishes. The guide, Mark was fabulous, nothing was too much bother. He was knowledgable, organised, flexible, friendly, funny with great people skills. My 13 yr old daughter had a blast, she has a mild intellectual disability and this was her first overseas trip...

It was a total pleasure. Well organised, great variety of activities and sights, right mix of city and country. The food was amazing and a great representation of a range of japanese dishes. The guide, Mark was fabulous, nothing was too much bother. He was knowledgable, organised, flexible, friendly, funny with great people skills. My 13 yr old daughter had a blast, she has a mild intellectual disability and this was her first overseas trip. Wow! How lucky was she to have not only a great tour to experience, but an inclusive guide and fun, friendly group participants. It made my experience so much better as a result. A huge and sincere thankyou from me!

Rating for tour operator:

Awesome. Fluent japanese speaker, well organised, inclusive, good fun, unflappable, great people skills. Mark made sure everyones needs were meet with great skill, warmth and minimum fuss.

InsideAsia Tours by GTurnbull, 13 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Honeymoon to Japan

We chose Japan to spend our honeymoon, we travelled to Tokyo, Hakone, Kyoto, Mount Koya and Osaka using the itinerary on the InsideJapan website. Laura, our travel guide, was extremely knowledgeable and took time to help tailor our trip to make it extra special.

We chose Japan to spend our honeymoon, we travelled to Tokyo, Hakone, Kyoto, Mount Koya and Osaka using the itinerary on the InsideJapan website. Laura, our travel guide, was extremely knowledgeable and took time to help tailor our trip to make it extra special.

Rating for tour operator:

Laura was always on hand to answer our questions, she went above and beyond to make our trip so memorable. I liked how she checked up on us half way through our trip to ensure everthing was going well.

HYPERJAPAN's J-Pop & Go! by Armesguy, 13 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

A magical trip through the various identities of Japan

My wife and i chose to tour Japan as our honeymoon. As enthusiasts of Japanese animation and food we were introduced to so many new aspects of the country through each region we visited. The phrase only in Japan comes to mind with great positive force. We loved every minute.

My wife and i chose to tour Japan as our honeymoon. As enthusiasts of Japanese animation and food we were introduced to so many new aspects of the country through each region we visited. The phrase only in Japan comes to mind with great positive force. We loved every minute.

Rating for tour operator:

Inside Japan took special care to include us in all details and really understand us as a couple. The whole american branch was extremely relatable and helpfu to a pair of first time travelers. We practically view them as family now!

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Fen, 9 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent holiday, incredible sites, beautiful accomodation. I would highly reccommend.

We visited beautiful Kyoto, Tokyo, traditional Takayama and the hot springs of Hakone. We then flew down to Ishigaki before returning to Tokyo for mind blowing sumo!

We visited beautiful Kyoto, Tokyo, traditional Takayama and the hot springs of Hakone. We then flew down to Ishigaki before returning to Tokyo for mind blowing sumo!

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly, experienced and professional

Japan Enchantment by TerriHB, 7 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Enchanting Japan

I took a 15 day tour with Inside Japan Tours where we visited 7 cities. The country is beautiful, the history is fascinating and the people are charming and welcoming, and the food - WOW!

I took a 15 day tour with Inside Japan Tours where we visited 7 cities. The country is beautiful, the history is fascinating and the people are charming and welcoming, and the food - WOW!

Rating for tour operator:

Inside Japan not only created a wonderful itinerary with varied activities, they provided seamless logistics and thought of everything like what direction the hotel rooms faced so we had the best views, to which side of the train we sat at in order to again have the best views. They thought of everything! Our guide was a true insider, being a Brit who has lived in Japan for over a decade and is married to a Japanese woman. His insight and willingness to share details about his life gave us an opportunity to dig deeper into life in Japan. I highly recommend this operator, top rate!

Tailor-made Holidays in Japan by Natasha, 5 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Nature, Japanese Tradition, and Convenience/Peace of Mind

I am so happy that I booked a self-guided Kumano Kodo tour with Inside Japan Tours. My tour was a 5-day advanced hiking module from Takijiri-oji to Kii-Katsuura, with accommodations beforehand in Osaka, and afterwards in Tokyo. My total price also included most meals, and an airport shuttle to the airport on my last day in Tokyo. No other transportation was included since I had a JR pass. I was apprehensive about the price at the beginning but ...

I am so happy that I booked a self-guided Kumano Kodo tour with Inside Japan Tours. My tour was a 5-day advanced hiking module from Takijiri-oji to Kii-Katsuura, with accommodations beforehand in Osaka, and afterwards in Tokyo. My total price also included most meals, and an airport shuttle to the airport on my last day in Tokyo. No other transportation was included since I had a JR pass. I was apprehensive about the price at the beginning but it was well worth it for the convenience and peace of mind. I know that I would have been too stressed out to book accommodations on my own, even despite how English-friendly the Tanabe tourist centre is. The service that I received from my consultant was exceptional. She kept me informed every step of the way and she was super friendly. The experience of walking along the Kumano Kodo, being in nature, and spending the evenings in traditional Japanese guesthouses (with delectable traditional meals) was the experience of a lifetime.

Rating for tour operator:

Inside Japan Tours - I was very satisfied with the tour operator. They provided me with a ton of information beforehand, and personalized maps and bus route information once I arrived at Tanabe for the first day of my hike. I had complete peace of mind and didn't feel any uncertainty about my hike, despite the fact that I was on my own.

Reviewer's images: