AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Inntravel

Inntravel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Inntravel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 430
Good 14
Average 3
Poor 3
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 450
Reviews Accepted: 450
Reviews Rejected: 0
450 reviews
Sort by:
Lapland Activity Week by Older and wiser , 5 Feb 2014
Holiday Rating:

sublime, subzero, Finland

We booked this activity week in Finland as a treat for my 50th and had the most fantastic experience ever, despite being minus 38 when we got off the plane; now that was an experience! Husky sledging, cross country skiing, snowshoe walking, snowmobile safari and seeing the ice village. It was all just incredible. The hotel was really brilliant, most particularly, the staff were fantastic. Despite warnings about the Finn's reserve we found them ...

We booked this activity week in Finland as a treat for my 50th and had the most fantastic experience ever, despite being minus 38 when we got off the plane; now that was an experience! Husky sledging, cross country skiing, snowshoe walking, snowmobile safari and seeing the ice village. It was all just incredible. The hotel was really brilliant, most particularly, the staff were fantastic. Despite warnings about the Finn's reserve we found them friendly and helpful and they really added to the holiday. On the way back from the ice village on the snowmobiles our lovely guide took us to see the most fantastic sunset on top of a fell which was the highlight of our week. I would highly recommend the activity week as getting a taste of everything was brilliant, we had plenty of spare time to practice either the skiing or snowshoe walking and these came free for the week in the low-season price. Sadly we didn't get to see the Northern Lights, the impetuous for the trip, but it didn't spoil an amazing week.

Rating for tour operator:

Inntravel: they do what they say on the tin. Always reliable - you get what what they say your going to get.

Inntravel responded to this review on 06 Feb 2014:

What a great choice of holiday for your birthday! It's a shame that the Northern Lights didn't make an appearance for you, but we're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time anyway.

El Hierro – the Last Outpost by PeterGL, 30 Dec 2013
Holiday Rating:

Great holiday experience with Inntravel

Our first organised walking holiday was over the Christmas period on the island of El Hierro in the Canary Islands. We booked through Inntravel. We enjoyed some great walks and it was lovely to get away from the 'madding crowd'. A remote island with very little traffic and some beautiful landscapes.

Our first organised walking holiday was over the Christmas period on the island of El Hierro in the Canary Islands. We booked through Inntravel. We enjoyed some great walks and it was lovely to get away from the 'madding crowd'. A remote island with very little traffic and some beautiful landscapes.

Rating for tour operator:

Inntravel exceeded our expectations and made everything very easy for us including dealing with a delayed flight and the knock-on effects. We would thoroughly recommend them and we are in the process of choosing our next walking break with them. Can't praise them highly enough.

Inntravel responded to this review on 02 Jan 2014:

This holiday is new for this autumn/winter, so we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed it. We've had plenty of practice getting customers to and from their holidays in spite of delayed flights over the years and were happy to help!

Hidden Gem of the Canaries Walk by Magicmoonbeams, 8 Dec 2013
Holiday Rating:

Great walking on the hidden gem of the Canaries

We greatly enjoyed a one week walking holiday on La Gomera. Inntravel arranged for our luggage to be transferred between 3 hotels on the island and all we had to do was follow detailed route descriptions and enjoy the walking and beautiful scenery.

We greatly enjoyed a one week walking holiday on La Gomera. Inntravel arranged for our luggage to be transferred between 3 hotels on the island and all we had to do was follow detailed route descriptions and enjoy the walking and beautiful scenery.

Rating for tour operator:

Inntravel arranged everything for the trip from booking regional flights to the Canaries, to arranging pick up from the airport to the ferry terminal, ferry tickets and several taxi transfers for us and our luggage. All hotel bookings were included and when we were in a remote hotel that did not serve dinner, they even included the taxi to take us out for dinner and return us afterwards. It all went like clockwork and we would not hesitate to recommend them.

Inntravel responded to this review on 09 Dec 2013:

The Canary Islands are a great choice for an autumn or winter walking holiday. We're delighted that you enjoyed exploring La Gomera on foot - it's one of the lesser-known islands, but we love it.

Golden Dunes of the Costa Verde by Chris, 4 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Superb organisation in all respects means a hassle free experience. Totally relaxing

Inntravel are a wonderful company for the independent walker. Their routes, choice of accommodation and attention to detail in their walking notes and logistic arrangements have never fallen short. Our latest holiday with them was in Sardinia and was a most enjoyable experience. Beautiful beaches and interesting industrial archaeology. Wonderful mountain scenery and limestone landscapes.

Inntravel are a wonderful company for the independent walker. Their routes, choice of accommodation and attention to detail in their walking notes and logistic arrangements have never fallen short. Our latest holiday with them was in Sardinia and was a most enjoyable experience. Beautiful beaches and interesting industrial archaeology. Wonderful mountain scenery and limestone landscapes.

Rating for tour operator:

See comments above.

Inntravel responded to this review on 05 Nov 2013:

Taking care of the little details (luggage and taxi transfers, route notes etc) is something we place a lot of importance on - and we're always looking at ways we can do it even better! We're glad to hear that everything ran smoothly for you and that you enjoyed your time exploring the mountains and coast of south-west Sardinia.

Paths to Rocamadour Walk by Linda, Basel, 1 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Paths to Rocamadour - a walking holiday in the Dordogne

Our trip involved self guided walking between 4 hotels over a period of 7 days/nights with walks around the area on non transfer days. The scenery in the Quercy region at the end of October was spectacularly autumnal with temperatures consistently above 20 degrees. The walks were beginner/easy level with a few challenging moments nonetheless! The accommodation was good overall and the food was excellent with lots of regional dishes such as ...

Our trip involved self guided walking between 4 hotels over a period of 7 days/nights with walks around the area on non transfer days. The scenery in the Quercy region at the end of October was spectacularly autumnal with temperatures consistently above 20 degrees. The walks were beginner/easy level with a few challenging moments nonetheless! The accommodation was good overall and the food was excellent with lots of regional dishes such as duck (in many variations) and cassoulet figuring strongly on the menus. Another regional speciality at this time of year are walnuts which we saw strewing the ground on almost all of our walks. Walking into Rocamadour for the first time is such a contrast to the rural peacefulness encountered on the previous days but one quickly acclimatises to its charm and the beauty of the surroundings. There were many outstanding photo opportunities throughout the holiday. One particular highlight, after a challenging climb, was standing on the Belvedere above the Dordogne valley with the river flowing through and exceptional views over to the Pyrenees in the far distance. This is one holiday which we'll be talking about for a long time to come.

Rating for tour operator:

Inntravel arranged our last minute holiday with only a week to get everything in place. The organisation of train, taxis, hotels, walk notes and maps etc. was completed in the short time scale and it all went smoothly from start to finish.

Inntravel responded to this review on 04 Nov 2013:

It sounds like you had great conditions for walking: warm weather and beautiful autumn colours too!

Palaces & Pathways of Sintra by Oz13, 29 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Palaces and Pathways of Sintra

Our first self guided walking holiday. The detail in the notes and maps provided ( well before our departure to allow detailed study and reflection) was extremely reassuring and made walk very enjoyable.

Our first self guided walking holiday. The detail in the notes and maps provided ( well before our departure to allow detailed study and reflection) was extremely reassuring and made walk very enjoyable.

Rating for tour operator:

InnTravel clearly experienced operators and all detail was sorted.accommodation provided was of generally high standard and accompanying notes about local restaurants when meals not provided was spot- on. Given the area we walked all natural highlights were included which was fantastic. I would preferentially go to InnTravel to book another walking holiday.

Inntravel responded to this review on 30 Oct 2013:

We're delighted that you enjoyed your first self-guided walking holiday!

Through Himalayan Foothills by Grown Up Walkers, 28 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Village Ways - Walking in the Himalayan Foothills

We couldn't recommend this holiday enough. The views were breath-taking - cumulating in watching the sun rise over the snow peaks Himalayas from the comfort of bed! The warmth and friendliness of the villagers has to be experienced to be appreciated. They welcomed us into their homes and into their hearts and delighted themselves by trying out their English. The food was simple but would match any Indian restaurant in the UK for the subtleties ...

We couldn't recommend this holiday enough. The views were breath-taking - cumulating in watching the sun rise over the snow peaks Himalayas from the comfort of bed! The warmth and friendliness of the villagers has to be experienced to be appreciated. They welcomed us into their homes and into their hearts and delighted themselves by trying out their English. The food was simple but would match any Indian restaurant in the UK for the subtleties of taste and choice.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Inntravel several times for walking holidays and have never been less than delighted with the hotels/accommodation/walking notes and hosts. They think of everything that could make your holiday perfect and the service they off is second to none. Many of the larger companies could learn much from their customer care.

Inntravel responded to this review on 28 Oct 2013:

You're absolutely right - the hospitality and warmth of welcome you encounter on this holiday is hard to comprehend until you've experienced it for yourself.

A Journey through Puglia by Happy traveller, 28 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Excellent choice of accommodation.

We loved the area of Puglia, and would definitely return. The Masserias we stayed in were both excellent, and served delicious meals. The walks were optional, and we did three of the ones suggested. The countryside with the amazing old olive trees, and the beautiful hill-top towns such as Alberobello are just stunning.

We loved the area of Puglia, and would definitely return. The Masserias we stayed in were both excellent, and served delicious meals. The walks were optional, and we did three of the ones suggested. The countryside with the amazing old olive trees, and the beautiful hill-top towns such as Alberobello are just stunning.

Rating for tour operator:

We used Inntravel, and think the holiday was good value for money.

Inntravel responded to this review on 28 Oct 2013:

We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your exploration of Italy's 'heel'. Although there is plenty to discover here, one of the highlights of this holiday is, as you say, the agriturismo accommodation.

Traditions & History of Crete by Bill, 28 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Very slick arrangements, wonderful venue, excellent information.

One centre walking holiday in Crete for a week. The venue, staff and information supplied by Innntravel were by far more than expected by a travel company. Everything was thought of and it became a fabulously relaxing holiday, even though we were virgin holiday walkers. We cannot speak highly enough about our experience.

One centre walking holiday in Crete for a week. The venue, staff and information supplied by Innntravel were by far more than expected by a travel company. Everything was thought of and it became a fabulously relaxing holiday, even though we were virgin holiday walkers. We cannot speak highly enough about our experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Slick, informative and supportive. Everything had been thought of. There was nothing left to chance.

Inntravel responded to this review on 28 Oct 2013:

It's great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your first walking holiday. We hope we can help you choose another, equally relaxing holiday in the future.

Canary Island Experience by Canarybyrd, 23 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Totally revitalising

Excellent organisation, brilliant locations, hotels with a little (often a lot) extra all made for a memorable and refreshing experience.

Excellent organisation, brilliant locations, hotels with a little (often a lot) extra all made for a memorable and refreshing experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent knowledge, meticulous planning and superb customer care

Inntravel responded to this review on 23 Oct 2013:

You are one of the very first to experience this island-hopping holiday (it is new for autumn 2013), so we're delighted that you enjoyed it!