AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
In The Saddle

In The Saddle Traveller Reviews

Reviews of In The Saddle

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 372
Good 21
Average 6
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 399
Reviews Accepted: 399
Reviews Rejected: 0
399 reviews
Sort by:
Los Alamos by Conrhalixa, 15 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fab riding lovely food, great group of people

The riding was excellent, the food was great and the whole experience was amazing cant wait to go back.

The riding was excellent, the food was great and the whole experience was amazing cant wait to go back.

Rating for tour operator:

In the Saddle have been very helpful and make you feel someone is looking after you whilst you travel alone.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 16 Sep 2018:

Thank you - I am glad that you enjoyed your holiday at Los Alamos and we look forward to arranging many more holidays for you. Olwen, In The Saddle.

In The Saddle by Liz, 13 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Great riding in serene bush

Riding in Namibia

Riding in Namibia

Rating for tour operator:

Always professional, courteous and very pleasant. Been on several holidays with them.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 14 Sep 2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We look forward to arranging many more holidays for you. Olwen, In The Saddle.

Green Island Trail by Happy Hacker, 13 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Simply Magical

Riding in the Azores

Riding in the Azores

Rating for tour operator:

Sarah Dale at In the saddle has become our go to person for all our riding holidays. She knows us inside out and recommends all of our holidays. She has not disappointed in the last 6 years

In The Saddle responded to this review on 14 Sep 2018:

We are really pleased you enjoyed the wonderful riding in the Azores. We look forward to arranging many more holidays for you in the future. Olwen, In The Saddle.

In The Saddle by Dalby’s gang , 13 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Western riding fun

A group of friends spent a weekend on El Bronco ranch in Hungary. We had loads of fun and learnt a great deal about western riding. The ranch is brilliant and the staff are amazing

A group of friends spent a weekend on El Bronco ranch in Hungary. We had loads of fun and learnt a great deal about western riding. The ranch is brilliant and the staff are amazing

Rating for tour operator:

Very clear on plans and concise with all information and explanations

In The Saddle responded to this review on 14 Sep 2018:

Thank you. Olwen, In The Saddle

In The Saddle by Stephen M, 11 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing riding in a family feel Ranch

From start to finish this riding holiday was amazing! I have no reservation in recommending Laura and Shane's Horizon Lodge - even if you have never ridden before you will have a great time! We arrived in Jo'burg and were picked up by the Ranch transport then taken the 3 hours north to the Ranch. After being taken to our rooms which have all you need (with the exception of a travel adaptor) we were taken to lunch. Lunch every day was outside ...

From start to finish this riding holiday was amazing! I have no reservation in recommending Laura and Shane's Horizon Lodge - even if you have never ridden before you will have a great time! We arrived in Jo'burg and were picked up by the Ranch transport then taken the 3 hours north to the Ranch. After being taken to our rooms which have all you need (with the exception of a travel adaptor) we were taken to lunch. Lunch every day was outside and a BBQ style with beers and soft drinks. We had some free time to get acquainted with the lodge and then had afternoon tea with cakes (that also happened at 1500 every day)! Shortly after afternoon tea, we were on our first ride. The school had picked us horses based on the information we had provided over email and we had a great 2 hours ride around the ranch where we saw Zebra, Warthog, Kudu (Antelope) and Ostrich. We arrived back at the ranch around 1730 and then had some free time to get changed before dinner at 1930. There is no menu choice but dinners were varied and delicious three course meals every night (wine and amarula were also in plentiful supply). Each night one of the Ranch staff host and can also answer questions about anything to do with the rides, extra activities or the ranch itself. Rides were varied and horses are picked for guests based on experience and ability. I had 4 horses over the week as the ranch also has a policy of restricting how many rides each horse has to keep them well rested. There were 89 horses on the ranch at the time so lots of choice for all levels of experience. Morning rides typically lasted about 3 hours with afternoon rides around 2 hours. It was typical to ride one horse in the morning and another in the afternoon. In addition to seeing plenty of wildlife including a family of giraffe, the trails offer lots of opportunity for cantering and galloping (but not much trotting - which I was quite nice). There are also opportunities to swim with the horses, herd cattle, go jumping and play polocrosse. For the more advanced rider, there is also a challenging cross country course too. In addition to the ranch activities there are other things you can do nearby (with a small additional cost) such as Big 5 Safaris, Elephant rides, helicopter rides and even an astronomy tour/lecture. The ranch also has a small camp offshoot which you can stay at too for a little added variety and a braai and beers round a camp fire! What makes the holiday special is the volunteers and staff who work so hard. As a guest, you are immediately treated like one of the family (but without any of the hard stuff the volunteers and staff do to make your stay so comfortable). The management team at the lodge are also working hard behind the scenes to make sure everything goes smoothly from pick up at the airport until your final ride before you are dropped off after your last ride on the final day. Thank you Laura and Shane - I will be coming back soon!

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator "In the Saddle" were great. We were able to book and pay for everything via the website and whenever we had a question or query,, responses were extremely quick. We had a personalised itinerary with all the information we could need about the trip which meant in reality we didn't really have that many additional questions. I would definitely recommend In the Saddle to anyone who wants to book a riding holiday,

In The Saddle responded to this review on 11 Sep 2018:

What a wonderful summary of everything which makes a holiday at Horizon in South Africa so special.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 11 Sep 2018:

Thank you - I am so glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to arranging another for you at some time in the future.
Olwen, In The Saddle

In The Saddle by Justaryder, 10 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Good fun

A riding adventure in Iceland traversing mountains and beach

A riding adventure in Iceland traversing mountains and beach

Rating for tour operator:

In the Saddle are a specialised tour operator for riding holidays covering world wide destinations. I have been on four holidays with them and each time they have acted with great professionalism. When speaking to their consultants they have first hand knowledge of the tours and are able to guide and assist through any questions and concerns.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 10 Sep 2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased to have the opportunity to arrange your holidays.
Olwen, In The Saddle

In The Saddle by Kesse, 29 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Nice adventure

Things were different from we expected, based on the website, but we were very happy that we went, and had a lot of fun! Great adventure - especially for people with some riding experience (but not essentially), and in the good shape. People running the Ranch were amazing!

Things were different from we expected, based on the website, but we were very happy that we went, and had a lot of fun! Great adventure - especially for people with some riding experience (but not essentially), and in the good shape. People running the Ranch were amazing!

Rating for tour operator:

In The Saddle made the experience seamless, and we were grateful.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 10 Sep 2018:

Thank you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed this great riding holiday in Hungary. Olwen, In The Saddle

Los Alamos by Andrea, 28 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

A short break riding in Spain

Booked for July as we wanted warm weather which we got. We were provided with individual rooms and bathrooms and also a communal space where we were given tasty 3 course meals in the evenings. Varied diets well catered for (Vegan/ vegetarian). Riding from early in the morning when still cool and pace was good with some fast riding along beautiful beaches. The breakfast and lunch was generally in cafe's, restuarants/ bars and the Spanish food ...

Booked for July as we wanted warm weather which we got. We were provided with individual rooms and bathrooms and also a communal space where we were given tasty 3 course meals in the evenings. Varied diets well catered for (Vegan/ vegetarian). Riding from early in the morning when still cool and pace was good with some fast riding along beautiful beaches. The breakfast and lunch was generally in cafe's, restuarants/ bars and the Spanish food was tasty. The horses were well cared for, super fit - and we were able to change our steed if we wanted. We all fell in love with our own horses and would have loved to have taken them home. All the staff - were fantastic - helpful. The afternoons we went to the beach - so we felt we had the best of everything. Can't wait to return.

Rating for tour operator:

In The Saddle - could not be more helpful. Personalized booklet gave a good summary of what to expect and we were not disappointed.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 10 Sep 2018:

So pleased that you enjoyed this great riding holiday.

Reviewer's images:
In The Saddle responded to this review on 10 Sep 2018:

Thank you. We look forward to arranging another riding holiday for you.
Olwen, In The Saddle

Macatoo Horseback Safari by Al and Mike, 23 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Way beyond expectations

Five days horseback safari in Macatoo followed by three days at Victoria Falls at Tongabezi

Five days horseback safari in Macatoo followed by three days at Victoria Falls at Tongabezi

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was organised so brilliantly we didn't need to think for ourselves, every last detail was thought of I couldn't recommend In The Saddle highly enough, faultless!

In The Saddle responded to this review on 23 Aug 2018:

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed this wonderful safari. Olwen (In The Saddle).

In The Saddle by Len, 21 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exilarating experience

Riding in Iceland - Kjolur North to South with "In the Saddle"

Riding in Iceland - Kjolur North to South with "In the Saddle"

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was organised, everything was as promised, they provide a very personalised service and they really do go the extra mile to give you the experience you want and hope for. In my case, having had to cancel after an injury, they fitted me in on a later holiday at no extra cost, when they could easily have charged me the full amount and forced me to re-book and pay again.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 21 Aug 2018:

Thank you Len. We are so glad that you enjoyed your long awaited holiday in Iceland. Thank you for taking the time to give your comments.
Olwen (In The Saddle)