AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
In The Saddle

In The Saddle Traveller Reviews

Reviews of In The Saddle

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 423
Good 22
Average 6
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 452
Reviews Accepted: 452
Reviews Rejected: 0
452 reviews
Sort by:
In The Saddle by BeebleFink, 16 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

The perfect holiday for a dressage lover who enjoys luxury and great food!

Dressage training in the most splendid setting in the Portuguese hills, about an hour and a half from Lisbon. A super place to stay, very high quality accomodation and very good food and wine.

Dressage training in the most splendid setting in the Portuguese hills, about an hour and a half from Lisbon. A super place to stay, very high quality accomodation and very good food and wine.

Rating for tour operator:

In the Saddle are excellent - easy to book with, very knowledgeable and helpful - and the information they provide is just right.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 16 Feb 2019:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed your holiday at Monte Velho in Portugal.
Olwen (In The Saddle).

In The Saddle by Vanessa, 14 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Thrilling honeymoon

Fantastic beach riding on deserted beaches on South Africa’s Wild Coast

Fantastic beach riding on deserted beaches on South Africa’s Wild Coast

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organisation. Everything went smoothly.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 14 Feb 2019:

Thank you for leaving your comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon on the wonderful Wild Coast in South Africa.
Olwen
In The Saddle

Ant's Lodges by Traveling Trekker , 12 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent in every way

Smoothly planned holiday made for a most enjoyable holiday

Smoothly planned holiday made for a most enjoyable holiday

Rating for tour operator:

I can always trust In The Saddle to deliver a holiday where the welfare of the horses is excellent. Also the accommodation is perfectly matched to your requirements

Reviewer's images:
In The Saddle responded to this review on 12 Feb 2019:

Thank you for your lovely comments and for sharing this great photo.

In The Saddle by B. Bormann, 6 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding trip to South Africa's Wild Coast

I have never been on a riding holiday before, but the trail riding on South Africa's Wild Coast was perfect! Every day, there were between 4-6 hours of riding, usually split between morning and afternoon, on amazing horses with great guides. The scenery was stunning, and we got to see glimpses of the local rural life in a part of South Africa that's rarely frequented by visitors. The accommodation was rustic, but fitting for this type of holiday, ...

I have never been on a riding holiday before, but the trail riding on South Africa's Wild Coast was perfect! Every day, there were between 4-6 hours of riding, usually split between morning and afternoon, on amazing horses with great guides. The scenery was stunning, and we got to see glimpses of the local rural life in a part of South Africa that's rarely frequented by visitors. The accommodation was rustic, but fitting for this type of holiday, and the home-cooked food was hearty and filling.

Rating for tour operator:

I stumbled across In The Saddle (and decided on them) mostly because of their professional website, whereas most of the other riding holiday operators had less easy to handle presences on the web. And from the first phone call with Sarah from In The Saddle onwards, everything went smoothly. After describing my rough ideas of what I was looking for, Sarah put together a range of options for me to choose from, and once I had settled on something, In The Saddle provided me with all the information I needed. I could book my flights individually (which I needed to do for personal reasons), and weren't bothered by the fact I hadn't completely sorted my return travel yet. They responded to each and every email quickly, usually within an hour or two, and phone calls with them were actually lovely and made me giddy with excitement.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 06 Feb 2019:

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed the riding on the stunning Wild Coast of South Africa.
Olwen (In The Saddle).

In The Saddle by Savannah, 6 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Greatest holiday so far

Went on a winter riding holiday to Romania, booked through In The Saddle. I was always excited to go on this holiday, but it really exceeded all my expectations.

Went on a winter riding holiday to Romania, booked through In The Saddle. I was always excited to go on this holiday, but it really exceeded all my expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

From start to end of the booking, everything was arranged greatly. All questions were professionally and quickly answered. All information provided was sufficient and clear.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 06 Feb 2019:

Thank you.
Olwen Law
Director
In The Saddle

In The Saddle by Crazy Lady, 5 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

A Real Achievement

It was such a good experience and it was so well organised . There was nothing I would have wanted to change. To me it was a challenge and one I shall never forget.

It was such a good experience and it was so well organised . There was nothing I would have wanted to change. To me it was a challenge and one I shall never forget.

Rating for tour operator:

All the planning and organisation was taken from me and you did not have to worry about anything . You were always well informed if flights had been altered and nothing was to much trouble . An excellent company to trust with your holiday.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 06 Feb 2019:

We are so glad that you enjoyed this great challenge to ride Across The Andes.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
Olwen Law
Director
In The Saddle

Estancia Los Potreros by Older rider, 5 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

A place like no other

A riding holiday on a working cattle ranch in Argentina. Wild riding over 6,000 acres with experienced guides. Home-made lemonade and excellent food and wine to come back to! Something completely different.

A riding holiday on a working cattle ranch in Argentina. Wild riding over 6,000 acres with experienced guides. Home-made lemonade and excellent food and wine to come back to! Something completely different.

Rating for tour operator:

In the Saddle were accessible and knowledgeable. They knew the location and provided excellent briefing and advice before the trip.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 06 Feb 2019:

Thank you.
Olwen (In The Saddle)

In The Saddle by Di S, 3 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful as usual

I rode across the Andes from Argentina to Chile from the Estancia Huechahue. I t was a wonderful trip with good horse and lovely companions

I rode across the Andes from Argentina to Chile from the Estancia Huechahue. I t was a wonderful trip with good horse and lovely companions

Rating for tour operator:

I have used In the Saddle countless times both as an individual and as the agent for charity trips for World Horse Welfare - they have always organised my hiolidays so that I had nothing to worry about and everything runs smoothly.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 04 Feb 2019:

Thank you. I am glad that you enjoyed your return visit to this exciting adventure to ride Across The Andes.
Olwen (In The Saddle)

In The Saddle by Steve, 23 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Horse Riding Experience

A week spent on the White Stallion Ranch, booked through In The Saddle. Excellent riding programme for all abilities, from complete beginner to experienced rider. I was especially impressed with the standard of care that they give to their horses. Accommodation, food and other activities were all excellent, and they foster a very friendly atmosphere on the ranch. I have already booked my next trip there.

A week spent on the White Stallion Ranch, booked through In The Saddle. Excellent riding programme for all abilities, from complete beginner to experienced rider. I was especially impressed with the standard of care that they give to their horses. Accommodation, food and other activities were all excellent, and they foster a very friendly atmosphere on the ranch. I have already booked my next trip there.

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly and Professional throughout. The package was very well priced, and the personal touches (like the personalised itinerary booklet) were much appreciated.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 23 Jan 2019:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your holiday to White Stallion.
Olwen (In The Saddle).

In The Saddle by Mandy, 21 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

I love Africa, but finally took the chance to explore east!

Undoubtedly the opportunity to do Gorilla tracking was the main driver for this trip, but I had vastly underestimated how beautiful Uganda was. I was on a horse riding trip, Nile Explorer with Nile Horseback Safaris and loved every minute of this adventure. Fun packed from the beginning to the end with great hosts, filled with horse riding, white water rafting, and of course the infamous gorillas. Uganda really is a beautiful gem, not too touristy ...

Undoubtedly the opportunity to do Gorilla tracking was the main driver for this trip, but I had vastly underestimated how beautiful Uganda was. I was on a horse riding trip, Nile Explorer with Nile Horseback Safaris and loved every minute of this adventure. Fun packed from the beginning to the end with great hosts, filled with horse riding, white water rafting, and of course the infamous gorillas. Uganda really is a beautiful gem, not too touristy yet, but with friendly people and lots of opportunities to explore & have adventures.....don't leave it as long as me to go East!

Rating for tour operator:

I have travelled with In the Saddle since around 2002, and have never been disappointed. Always efficient & professional.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 23 Jan 2019:

Thank you. The riding in Uganda is really special and I'm so glad that you enjoyed it - as well as the super exciting opportunity to see the gorilla.