AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
In The Saddle

In The Saddle Traveller Reviews

Reviews of In The Saddle

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 429
Good 22
Average 6
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 458
Reviews Accepted: 458
Reviews Rejected: 0
458 reviews
Sort by:
In The Saddle by Patrick, 3 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

A magical african experience.

This was a horse safari along and around the beaches and islands of Vilanculos. It was beautifully hosted by Mandy and Pat Retzlaff. They are warm, hospitable hosts with a wealth of tales about their experiences in the rougher days of Mugabe's regime in Zimbabwe. Their rescue of 104 horses and the many difficulties and tragedies involved are breathtaking. many of the horses are used on the Safari. The whole trip steeps you in the atmosphere ...

This was a horse safari along and around the beaches and islands of Vilanculos. It was beautifully hosted by Mandy and Pat Retzlaff. They are warm, hospitable hosts with a wealth of tales about their experiences in the rougher days of Mugabe's regime in Zimbabwe. Their rescue of 104 horses and the many difficulties and tragedies involved are breathtaking. many of the horses are used on the Safari. The whole trip steeps you in the atmosphere of this part of Africa.

Rating for tour operator:

I have used In the Saddle about half a dozen times and always found them to be courteous and highly efficient. Their holidays are beautifully and accurately described.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 04 Apr 2019:

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the riding in Mozambique. We look forward to arranging many more holidays for you.
kind regards
Olwen

Olwen Law
Director

IN THE SADDLE
Direct Tel: +44 (0) 1299 272 231
Tel: +44 (0) 1299 272 997
Email: olwen@inthesaddle.com
Reaside, Neen Savage, Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire, DY14 8ES, UK
www.inthesaddle.com

In The Saddle by Oli, 30 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Endless expanses

You are riding in these endless grasslands without seeing any other tourists. From time to time a Maasai appears. It was just the horses and us and the herds of wildebeest, Thomsons, zebras.... If you want to discover the triumphant nature and get away from it all, that's definitely the holiday you should choose!

You are riding in these endless grasslands without seeing any other tourists. From time to time a Maasai appears. It was just the horses and us and the herds of wildebeest, Thomsons, zebras.... If you want to discover the triumphant nature and get away from it all, that's definitely the holiday you should choose!

Rating for tour operator:

In the saddle is my favorite tour operator! I am German but still choose in the saddle

In The Saddle responded to this review on 01 Apr 2019:

Thank you Sabine - it is a pleasure to arrange your riding holidays and we look forward to many more. I am glad that you enjoyed this great safari in Tanzania.
Kind regards
Olwen

Olwen Law
Director

IN THE SADDLE
Direct Tel: +44 (0) 1299 272 231
Tel: +44 (0) 1299 272 997
Email: olwen@inthesaddle.com
Reaside, Neen Savage, Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire, DY14 8ES, UK
www.inthesaddle.com
Emergency 24hr contact: +44 (0) 7932 644 993

Ant's Lodges by Rach, 24 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Horse Riding Safari

A wonderful place, everything was perfect, accommodation, horses, food, people

A wonderful place, everything was perfect, accommodation, horses, food, people

Rating for tour operator:

In the Saddle give me the confidence to undertake these trips, professional, friendly and most importantly I trust them

In The Saddle responded to this review on 01 Apr 2019:

Thank you for your lovely comments.
kind regards
Olwen

Olwen Law
Director

IN THE SADDLE
Direct Tel: +44 (0) 1299 272 231
Tel: +44 (0) 1299 272 997
Email: olwen@inthesaddle.com
Reaside, Neen Savage, Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire, DY14 8ES, UK
www.inthesaddle.com

In The Saddle by Grizzle, 11 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

The most physically challenging but rewarding riding holiday you are ever likely to encounter

An 8 day riding trail in the Southern Drakenburgs straddling Lesotho (most of the time) and South Africa. The most stunningly wild, rugged and beautiful landscapes I have seen anywhere in the world. Lesotho is not named the mountain kingdom for nothing. All of the country is above 2000m - the views from on high were awesome. And full of admiration for our Boer/Arab ponies- so incredibly surefooted, hardy and strong

An 8 day riding trail in the Southern Drakenburgs straddling Lesotho (most of the time) and South Africa. The most stunningly wild, rugged and beautiful landscapes I have seen anywhere in the world. Lesotho is not named the mountain kingdom for nothing. All of the country is above 2000m - the views from on high were awesome. And full of admiration for our Boer/Arab ponies- so incredibly surefooted, hardy and strong

Rating for tour operator:

I have been using In The Saddle for my riding holidays now for several years. I would not use anybody else. They have very high standards and are very professional and I have the utmost trust in their judgment

In The Saddle responded to this review on 11 Mar 2019:

Thank you - We are so glad that you enjoyed this amazing expedition to Lesotho.
Olwen (In The Saddle).

In The Saddle by RebeccaD, 8 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

unique and personalised experience

It was a horse riding safari. The staff, welcome, lodge and riding all exceeded my expectations.

It was a horse riding safari. The staff, welcome, lodge and riding all exceeded my expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

In the Saddle pay fantastic attention to detail, both in giving you all the pre departure information you need but also passing on your wish list to the riding holiday so that the tricky task of "matching" an individual to a horse is done perfectly. I have also found them helpful on other occasions - helping me to select the holiday that suits my needs.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 08 Mar 2019:

We are so pleased that you had a great holiday at Horizon and thank you for taking the time to write.
Olwen Law
In The Saddle

In The Saddle by Growbag, 8 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Paradise on Earth

It more than fulfilled our wildest dreams and expectations. Superb experience in every way, from the actual Horizon complex, its buildings and staff, to the 90 horses, all of whom were in excellent condition, and had been trained to stand whilst we took photos of the glorious animals we had come to see. They were not deadened like riding school horses can so often be, but were light mouthed and a joy to ride. The food was Fine Dining, which ...

It more than fulfilled our wildest dreams and expectations. Superb experience in every way, from the actual Horizon complex, its buildings and staff, to the 90 horses, all of whom were in excellent condition, and had been trained to stand whilst we took photos of the glorious animals we had come to see. They were not deadened like riding school horses can so often be, but were light mouthed and a joy to ride. The food was Fine Dining, which was an unexpected delight, the facilities were of the highest quality, we had every comfort. The bush guides added enormously to our appreciation, telling us about the animal tracks, the medicinal qualities of the bushes and trees, and so forth. We saw a very animal we had ever imagined we might see in Africa, save leopard. And a whole host of others.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolutely excellent, very professional, covered every imaginable detail, quick to respond to emails. Gave us lots of extra and valuable information. A pleasure to deal with and very helpful.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 08 Mar 2019:

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday at Horizon in South Africa which has been one of our favourite riding holidays for many years.
Olwen Law
In The Saddle

In The Saddle by BeebleFink, 16 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

The perfect holiday for a dressage lover who enjoys luxury and great food!

Dressage training in the most splendid setting in the Portuguese hills, about an hour and a half from Lisbon. A super place to stay, very high quality accomodation and very good food and wine.

Dressage training in the most splendid setting in the Portuguese hills, about an hour and a half from Lisbon. A super place to stay, very high quality accomodation and very good food and wine.

Rating for tour operator:

In the Saddle are excellent - easy to book with, very knowledgeable and helpful - and the information they provide is just right.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 16 Feb 2019:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed your holiday at Monte Velho in Portugal.
Olwen (In The Saddle).

In The Saddle by Vanessa, 14 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Thrilling honeymoon

Fantastic beach riding on deserted beaches on South Africa’s Wild Coast

Fantastic beach riding on deserted beaches on South Africa’s Wild Coast

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organisation. Everything went smoothly.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 14 Feb 2019:

Thank you for leaving your comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon on the wonderful Wild Coast in South Africa.
Olwen
In The Saddle

Ant's Lodges by Traveling Trekker , 12 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent in every way

Smoothly planned holiday made for a most enjoyable holiday

Smoothly planned holiday made for a most enjoyable holiday

Rating for tour operator:

I can always trust In The Saddle to deliver a holiday where the welfare of the horses is excellent. Also the accommodation is perfectly matched to your requirements

Reviewer's images:
In The Saddle responded to this review on 12 Feb 2019:

Thank you for your lovely comments and for sharing this great photo.

In The Saddle by B. Bormann, 6 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding trip to South Africa's Wild Coast

I have never been on a riding holiday before, but the trail riding on South Africa's Wild Coast was perfect! Every day, there were between 4-6 hours of riding, usually split between morning and afternoon, on amazing horses with great guides. The scenery was stunning, and we got to see glimpses of the local rural life in a part of South Africa that's rarely frequented by visitors. The accommodation was rustic, but fitting for this type of holiday, ...

I have never been on a riding holiday before, but the trail riding on South Africa's Wild Coast was perfect! Every day, there were between 4-6 hours of riding, usually split between morning and afternoon, on amazing horses with great guides. The scenery was stunning, and we got to see glimpses of the local rural life in a part of South Africa that's rarely frequented by visitors. The accommodation was rustic, but fitting for this type of holiday, and the home-cooked food was hearty and filling.

Rating for tour operator:

I stumbled across In The Saddle (and decided on them) mostly because of their professional website, whereas most of the other riding holiday operators had less easy to handle presences on the web. And from the first phone call with Sarah from In The Saddle onwards, everything went smoothly. After describing my rough ideas of what I was looking for, Sarah put together a range of options for me to choose from, and once I had settled on something, In The Saddle provided me with all the information I needed. I could book my flights individually (which I needed to do for personal reasons), and weren't bothered by the fact I hadn't completely sorted my return travel yet. They responded to each and every email quickly, usually within an hour or two, and phone calls with them were actually lovely and made me giddy with excitement.

In The Saddle responded to this review on 06 Feb 2019:

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed the riding on the stunning Wild Coast of South Africa.
Olwen (In The Saddle).