AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Pure Crete

Holidays to Western Crete Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Holidays to Western Crete

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 20
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 21
Reviews Accepted: 21
Reviews Rejected: 0
21 reviews
Sort by:
Holidays to Western Crete by Roger, Yorkshire, 27 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

As we expected, a wonderful holiday.

Two weeks in Crete in a lovely cottage just a short walk from a village with restaurants and shops and a short drive to the beach in one direction and the mountains in the other. The only bad weather we had was on the final day when a storm delayed our flight home by several hours. A delightful, relaxing holiday all round.

Two weeks in Crete in a lovely cottage just a short walk from a village with restaurants and shops and a short drive to the beach in one direction and the mountains in the other. The only bad weather we had was on the final day when a storm delayed our flight home by several hours. A delightful, relaxing holiday all round.

Rating for tour operator:

Pure Crete is a friendly company and everything worked well right from the moment we booked the holiday. Although one piece of baggage took 36 hours to catch up with us, the local Pure Crete representative was extremely helpful.

Holidays to Western Crete by Betty Hortiboop, 26 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Blissful R&R

We have always wanted to visit the south coast of Crete and we stayed at Frangokastello. a beautiful area, a simple strip of olive groves between the magnificent mountains and the sea. lovely beaches, amazing food, lovely people.

We have always wanted to visit the south coast of Crete and we stayed at Frangokastello. a beautiful area, a simple strip of olive groves between the magnificent mountains and the sea. lovely beaches, amazing food, lovely people.

Rating for tour operator:

Pure Crete are a totally professional outfit, they are efficient and enormously helpful, nothing is too much trouble. We have travelled with them twice and recommend them to all our friends.

Holidays to Western Crete by Tomi Gunn, 24 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

A holiday in the Garden of Eden

We have stayed in the accommodation many times, and always look forward to staying in its peaceful setting, with its colourful gardens, birds, insects, all with a stunning view across Souda Bay. The local owners and the Pure Crete representatives are friendly, courteous, informed and sensitive to our needs. All this plus the beauty of the island makes for a relaxing and interesting holiday, where very year it is different.

We have stayed in the accommodation many times, and always look forward to staying in its peaceful setting, with its colourful gardens, birds, insects, all with a stunning view across Souda Bay. The local owners and the Pure Crete representatives are friendly, courteous, informed and sensitive to our needs. All this plus the beauty of the island makes for a relaxing and interesting holiday, where very year it is different.

Rating for tour operator:

Pure Crete make it as easy as possible to travel to our holiday destination and to enjoy it when we are there. Courteous, friendly people, with deep personal knowledge of the island, and what to look out for - good and bad!

Holidays to Western Crete by Oakwell, 5 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Generally very good but let down by easily soluble minor shortcomings.

An end of season break on Crete.

An end of season break on Crete.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient, helpful and personable, Excellent quality of customer service. Very happy to use them again and recommend to others.

Pure Crete responded to this review on 05 Dec 2018:

Thank you for leaving us feedback on the return of your recent holiday with us. We are glad that you had a lovely holiday and we have forwarded the minor niggles to the house owner for his perusal

Pure Crete responded to this review on 05 Dec 2018:

Thank you so much for the kind comments, and we hope you will travel with us again in the future

Holidays to Western Crete by Roger, 10 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

A relaxing week's holiday in a traditional village in Western Crete

There were 3 of us on this trip - myself, my wife, and our grown-up daughter. We booked a large villa with pool in a small village near the coast, about 30 mins from Chania airport. We had a week's stay, and spent our time visiting old haunts from previous holidays - aAgia reservoir and Lake Kournas for wildlife, shopping in Chania, the Botanic Gardens, walking in the White Mts, and relaxing at the villa. Evenings at local tavernas were an ...

There were 3 of us on this trip - myself, my wife, and our grown-up daughter. We booked a large villa with pool in a small village near the coast, about 30 mins from Chania airport. We had a week's stay, and spent our time visiting old haunts from previous holidays - aAgia reservoir and Lake Kournas for wildlife, shopping in Chania, the Botanic Gardens, walking in the White Mts, and relaxing at the villa. Evenings at local tavernas were an especially delight.

Rating for tour operator:

Pure Crete specialise in arranging holidays in restored traditional village houses in some of the most picturesque parts of Western Crete. We have travelled with them many times and have never been disappointed with their arrangements. They can book flights and car hire as part of the package, so a lot of the admin hassle is taken care of. All their staff are efficient and enthusiastic about Crete, and it helps to have a local office with English-speaking staff available in one of their main villages.

Pure Crete responded to this review on 11 Oct 2018:

Sounds a fantastic week!

Pure Crete responded to this review on 11 Oct 2018:

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to leave feedback on your recent holiday. We are all very pleased you enjoyed another holiday with us and we look forward to welcoming back very soon. With many thanks from Louise and all the pure Crete team

Holidays to Western Crete by StevieG, 5 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

All that we could have wished for

We thought we had died and gone to heaven- Elenni was on hand but not intrusive. The accommodation was typically Greek and the little touches she gave it made for a perfect stay. The beaches are mostly sandy, we did have rough surf one day but mostly a calm sea. One has to have a car to get out and about, always over the mountain. No local buses to speak of. People very friendly except for one grumpy taxi driver. Outgoing flight with Ryanair ...

We thought we had died and gone to heaven- Elenni was on hand but not intrusive. The accommodation was typically Greek and the little touches she gave it made for a perfect stay. The beaches are mostly sandy, we did have rough surf one day but mostly a calm sea. One has to have a car to get out and about, always over the mountain. No local buses to speak of. People very friendly except for one grumpy taxi driver. Outgoing flight with Ryanair ok but return awful as the air conditioning was far too cold and all they could say was that it 'was it is an old aircraft'. Not what we wanted to hear and no alteration was made to the temperature at all. The tannoy system from the first officer couldn't be understood even by the flight attendants. Unfortunately we don't have a choice if we fly out of Bristol into Chania.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and gave us all the information we required.

Pure Crete responded to this review on 06 Jun 2018:

Lovely to read your comments, so glad you enjoyed lovely Villa Nostos and the South Coast of Crete. Eleni is indeed a delightful host.

We hope you may return with us in the future and perhaps next time there will be a slightly better service on your flight home.

Holidays to Western Crete by Mr E W 18, 24 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Good walking and fun

We dis a mixture of walking and sightseeing

We dis a mixture of walking and sightseeing

Rating for tour operator:

very helpful from start to finish

Pure Crete responded to this review on 24 May 2018:

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us and look forward to hearing from you in the future

Holidays to Western Crete by Penny, 16 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking holiday in Crete

In a group of 14, a week of walking in Western Crete, with super after walk meze style meals - in glorious countryside with very knowledgeable local guides. We've holidayed with Pure Crete before and everything was as expected - comfortable property, lovely big shared swimming pool, totally relaxing holiday.

In a group of 14, a week of walking in Western Crete, with super after walk meze style meals - in glorious countryside with very knowledgeable local guides. We've holidayed with Pure Crete before and everything was as expected - comfortable property, lovely big shared swimming pool, totally relaxing holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

see above

Holidays to Western Crete by Maggie, 11 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful week , a walking holiday

A good variety of walks , good accommodation and excellent food

A good variety of walks , good accommodation and excellent food

Rating for tour operator:

Fantastic, they think of everything

Holidays to Western Crete by NUMPTY, 14 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

SUPER BREAK WITH PURE CRETE

We took Pure Crete advice on a suitable villa and were not disappointed.We take this pre-winter break to have a good rest and break from routine, and a change in temperatures, culture and food. This is exactly what we succeeded in enjoying with this holiday. The hire car enabled us to make all the visits we desired and we met up with old friends which was a bonus . A lovely holiday once again.

We took Pure Crete advice on a suitable villa and were not disappointed.We take this pre-winter break to have a good rest and break from routine, and a change in temperatures, culture and food. This is exactly what we succeeded in enjoying with this holiday. The hire car enabled us to make all the visits we desired and we met up with old friends which was a bonus . A lovely holiday once again.

Rating for tour operator:

See above comments. They are always so helpful in setting up just what we need.

Pure Crete responded to this review on 16 Oct 2017:

Thank you for taking the trouble to provide feedback on your holiday. Lovely comments. Very pleased you enjoyed the holiday so much and hope we hear from you again in the future