AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Pure Crete

Holidays to Western Crete Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Holidays to Western Crete

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 17
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 18
Reviews Accepted: 18
Reviews Rejected: 0
18 reviews
Sort by:
Holidays to Western Crete by Oakwell, 5 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Generally very good but let down by easily soluble minor shortcomings.

An end of season break on Crete.

An end of season break on Crete.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient, helpful and personable, Excellent quality of customer service. Very happy to use them again and recommend to others.

Pure Crete responded to this review on 05 Dec 2018:

Thank you for leaving us feedback on the return of your recent holiday with us. We are glad that you had a lovely holiday and we have forwarded the minor niggles to the house owner for his perusal

Pure Crete responded to this review on 05 Dec 2018:

Thank you so much for the kind comments, and we hope you will travel with us again in the future

Holidays to Western Crete by Roger, 10 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

A relaxing week's holiday in a traditional village in Western Crete

There were 3 of us on this trip - myself, my wife, and our grown-up daughter. We booked a large villa with pool in a small village near the coast, about 30 mins from Chania airport. We had a week's stay, and spent our time visiting old haunts from previous holidays - aAgia reservoir and Lake Kournas for wildlife, shopping in Chania, the Botanic Gardens, walking in the White Mts, and relaxing at the villa. Evenings at local tavernas were an ...

There were 3 of us on this trip - myself, my wife, and our grown-up daughter. We booked a large villa with pool in a small village near the coast, about 30 mins from Chania airport. We had a week's stay, and spent our time visiting old haunts from previous holidays - aAgia reservoir and Lake Kournas for wildlife, shopping in Chania, the Botanic Gardens, walking in the White Mts, and relaxing at the villa. Evenings at local tavernas were an especially delight.

Rating for tour operator:

Pure Crete specialise in arranging holidays in restored traditional village houses in some of the most picturesque parts of Western Crete. We have travelled with them many times and have never been disappointed with their arrangements. They can book flights and car hire as part of the package, so a lot of the admin hassle is taken care of. All their staff are efficient and enthusiastic about Crete, and it helps to have a local office with English-speaking staff available in one of their main villages.

Pure Crete responded to this review on 11 Oct 2018:

Sounds a fantastic week!

Pure Crete responded to this review on 11 Oct 2018:

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to leave feedback on your recent holiday. We are all very pleased you enjoyed another holiday with us and we look forward to welcoming back very soon. With many thanks from Louise and all the pure Crete team

Holidays to Western Crete by StevieG, 5 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

All that we could have wished for

We thought we had died and gone to heaven- Elenni was on hand but not intrusive. The accommodation was typically Greek and the little touches she gave it made for a perfect stay. The beaches are mostly sandy, we did have rough surf one day but mostly a calm sea. One has to have a car to get out and about, always over the mountain. No local buses to speak of. People very friendly except for one grumpy taxi driver. Outgoing flight with Ryanair ...

We thought we had died and gone to heaven- Elenni was on hand but not intrusive. The accommodation was typically Greek and the little touches she gave it made for a perfect stay. The beaches are mostly sandy, we did have rough surf one day but mostly a calm sea. One has to have a car to get out and about, always over the mountain. No local buses to speak of. People very friendly except for one grumpy taxi driver. Outgoing flight with Ryanair ok but return awful as the air conditioning was far too cold and all they could say was that it 'was it is an old aircraft'. Not what we wanted to hear and no alteration was made to the temperature at all. The tannoy system from the first officer couldn't be understood even by the flight attendants. Unfortunately we don't have a choice if we fly out of Bristol into Chania.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and gave us all the information we required.

Pure Crete responded to this review on 06 Jun 2018:

Lovely to read your comments, so glad you enjoyed lovely Villa Nostos and the South Coast of Crete. Eleni is indeed a delightful host.

We hope you may return with us in the future and perhaps next time there will be a slightly better service on your flight home.

Holidays to Western Crete by Mr E W 18, 24 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Good walking and fun

We dis a mixture of walking and sightseeing

We dis a mixture of walking and sightseeing

Rating for tour operator:

very helpful from start to finish

Pure Crete responded to this review on 24 May 2018:

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us and look forward to hearing from you in the future

Holidays to Western Crete by Penny, 16 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking holiday in Crete

In a group of 14, a week of walking in Western Crete, with super after walk meze style meals - in glorious countryside with very knowledgeable local guides. We've holidayed with Pure Crete before and everything was as expected - comfortable property, lovely big shared swimming pool, totally relaxing holiday.

In a group of 14, a week of walking in Western Crete, with super after walk meze style meals - in glorious countryside with very knowledgeable local guides. We've holidayed with Pure Crete before and everything was as expected - comfortable property, lovely big shared swimming pool, totally relaxing holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

see above

Holidays to Western Crete by Maggie, 11 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful week , a walking holiday

A good variety of walks , good accommodation and excellent food

A good variety of walks , good accommodation and excellent food

Rating for tour operator:

Fantastic, they think of everything

Holidays to Western Crete by NUMPTY, 14 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

SUPER BREAK WITH PURE CRETE

We took Pure Crete advice on a suitable villa and were not disappointed.We take this pre-winter break to have a good rest and break from routine, and a change in temperatures, culture and food. This is exactly what we succeeded in enjoying with this holiday. The hire car enabled us to make all the visits we desired and we met up with old friends which was a bonus . A lovely holiday once again.

We took Pure Crete advice on a suitable villa and were not disappointed.We take this pre-winter break to have a good rest and break from routine, and a change in temperatures, culture and food. This is exactly what we succeeded in enjoying with this holiday. The hire car enabled us to make all the visits we desired and we met up with old friends which was a bonus . A lovely holiday once again.

Rating for tour operator:

See above comments. They are always so helpful in setting up just what we need.

Pure Crete responded to this review on 16 Oct 2017:

Thank you for taking the trouble to provide feedback on your holiday. Lovely comments. Very pleased you enjoyed the holiday so much and hope we hear from you again in the future

Holidays to Western Crete by Duncan, 21 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Pure Crete - It's what it says on the label

In a cottage, sympathetically maintained in its original style within a green space, you awake each day to stunning views; back towards the White Mountains or you gaze down from the heights of the village across the blue Souda Bay and over to Episkopi. Aptera is a traditional village, with lively evening activity centered on a choice of Tavernas and with its local shop (open all hours) you are blessed with all you need within walking distance...

In a cottage, sympathetically maintained in its original style within a green space, you awake each day to stunning views; back towards the White Mountains or you gaze down from the heights of the village across the blue Souda Bay and over to Episkopi. Aptera is a traditional village, with lively evening activity centered on a choice of Tavernas and with its local shop (open all hours) you are blessed with all you need within walking distance. With a beautiful private pool, peace and quiet this is the ideal center for walking and day excursions in the West of the island. On hand but unintrusive are the Pure Crete Team. A car hire is the best way to maximise the potential of the area.

Rating for tour operator:

There if you need them and if you do they will go the extra mile. As residents of many years they all full of local knowledge and only too willing to share.

Pure Crete responded to this review on 16 Oct 2017:

Thank you for the lovely feedback and description of your holiday. So glad you had a wonderful time and hope you'l be returning again soon.

Holidays to Western Crete by Bigears, 20 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Villa, location, pool, reps all excellent.

Fifth time we've holidayd with Pure Crete. Always excellent.

Fifth time we've holidayd with Pure Crete. Always excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

The Uk reps and particularly the Crete based reps are very informative and helpful. They really know the area.

Pure Crete responded to this review on 21 Sep 2017:

Thank you so much for the lovely comments, we do hope to hear from you again soon

Pure Crete responded to this review on 21 Sep 2017:

Pleased to read that our team could be of help to you, thank you again.

Holidays to Western Crete by David B from London, 15 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Pure Crete made everything so easy

The location of the villas is stunning: rural without being isolated. The closest beach, with excellent swimming and snorkelling, is one minute's walk. It's a sandy beach. There are about five tavernas within 15 minutes walk. The nearest of these, Babis & Popi, is great. Very friendly, and serving local seafood and other Crete dishes (such as snails and hyacinth bulbs) as well as mainstream fare. There are several mini-markets selling everything ...

The location of the villas is stunning: rural without being isolated. The closest beach, with excellent swimming and snorkelling, is one minute's walk. It's a sandy beach. There are about five tavernas within 15 minutes walk. The nearest of these, Babis & Popi, is great. Very friendly, and serving local seafood and other Crete dishes (such as snails and hyacinth bulbs) as well as mainstream fare. There are several mini-markets selling everything you could need, also within easy walking distance, and a cashpoint. Even better, these shops sell local produce including honey, olive oil, cheese and home-made wines and the grape spirit raki - all made within the immediate area. The villas themselves are set in a wonderful garden of pomegranates, figs, olives, vines, hibiscus, lemon trees, carob trees, quinces and more. It's beautiful and fragrant at night. The villas are comfortable and spacious and set apart from one another. We weren't aware of other people. Our villa (they all look pretty similar) had several outside seating/eating areas and a big upstairs terrace The air conditioning in the bedrooms was quiet and effective (it was 40 degrees when we went in early July). The kitchen's well-equipped, including a percolator. Previous visitors have left an assortment of reading in English and German and playing cards etc.... If you like Lee Child, you've got a choice of language! One thing to be aware of: there's no wifi and the mobile voice signal we found to be weak. The mobile data signal, though, seemed to be generally fine. We thought it an absolutely brilliant place to stay. You can have a really active holiday there, if that's what you want, of walking and swimming and climbing in the nearby gorges - or you could laze on beaches and eat fantastic local food and do nothing else... We'll definitely be going again.

Rating for tour operator:

I've never used a tour operator before, not realising how easy it makes the whole business of arranging a holiday. Pure Crete arranged everything perfectly - accommodation, car hire and our flights (making sure that we had flights at decent hours, not getting in at 3 am).