AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - The Rhine

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 18
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 19
Reviews Accepted: 19
Reviews Rejected: 0
19 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Toronto Traveller, 24 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Getting away from it all along the Middle Rhine

In September we started our adventure in Bingen and walked to Koblenz along the Middle Rhine. The scenery along this section is breathtaking and thankfully we were blessed with good weather. The walk was challenging at times with some steep climbs but the views from the top were well worth the effort. Our days were filled with charming villages, numerous castles, steep hillside vineyards, the Rhine snaking it's way though the gorge below and ...

In September we started our adventure in Bingen and walked to Koblenz along the Middle Rhine. The scenery along this section is breathtaking and thankfully we were blessed with good weather. The walk was challenging at times with some steep climbs but the views from the top were well worth the effort. Our days were filled with charming villages, numerous castles, steep hillside vineyards, the Rhine snaking it's way though the gorge below and the ever changing vistas. We are so fortunate to have seen this beautiful part of the world. Walking is the only way you can truly experience a place.

Rating for tour operator:

My husband and I had another holiday planned which was unexpectedly cancelled. So with only 2 months to revise our plans I found "On Foot Holidays" on the web, read their excellent reviews and called them. Debbie couldn't have been more helpful. She recommended the perfect walk for us and was able to confirm all the accommodations within days. Not only did she plan our walk but she had some wonderful ideas of where to go & what to see before and after. The Castles of the Rhine information package that was mailed to us was excellent and a vital part of our successful walk. The maps were accurate and the detailed daily planner kept us on the path. They also sent a booklet with the history and information about the area, the castles, the towns that we would see along the route. Thanks to On Foot for a memorable week on the Rhine! I would definitely book another walk with them in the future and would highly recommend this company.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Tiny, 17 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking the Rhine Valley

Walking from Bingen to Koblenz following the Rhine. Staying in hotels & two castles along the way. Luggage transfer, hotels & food all excellent, as was the wine! In spite of the wine our walking instructions were perfect & we managed not to get lost.

Walking from Bingen to Koblenz following the Rhine. Staying in hotels & two castles along the way. Luggage transfer, hotels & food all excellent, as was the wine! In spite of the wine our walking instructions were perfect & we managed not to get lost.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays. Professional, organised, efficient, well researched & charming. my third faultless holiday with them.

On Foot Holidays responded to this review on 18 Oct 2014:

Our response is only to blush!

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Mr B J 14, 28 Jun 2014
Holiday Rating:

'Rhine Gorge' - fantastic holiday

My girlfriend and I hiked for 6 days from Bingen to Koblenz along the Rhine in Germany. The team at OnFootHolidays planned an excellent route (Rhine Gorge), and provided us with incredibly detailed hiking instructions / advice. The accommodations were lovely, and luggage transfer service was both prompt and helpful. We enjoyed every aspect of the trip, and will be booking with OnFootHolidays again as soon as possible.

My girlfriend and I hiked for 6 days from Bingen to Koblenz along the Rhine in Germany. The team at OnFootHolidays planned an excellent route (Rhine Gorge), and provided us with incredibly detailed hiking instructions / advice. The accommodations were lovely, and luggage transfer service was both prompt and helpful. We enjoyed every aspect of the trip, and will be booking with OnFootHolidays again as soon as possible.

Rating for tour operator:

OnFootHolidays provided a fantastic service. All communication was prompt, accurate, and courteous. They provided us with a pack of information about the hiking route which was far more detailed and helpful than we anticipated. The route itself was incredibly well planned, with beautiful sights, interesting terrain, and lovely accommodations. To top everything off, the food recommendations were spot on.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Silver Birch, 2 May 2014
Holiday Rating:

Rhine Gorge Walking Holiday

Walked from Bingen to Koblenz along the Rhine Gorge, doing about 22km a day staying in the culturally rich and historic towns along the way. Fantastic views across the Rhine, pleasant, not too demanding walking, and excellent value dining. Flawless organisation. Fabulous scenery. Interesting culture.

Walked from Bingen to Koblenz along the Rhine Gorge, doing about 22km a day staying in the culturally rich and historic towns along the way. Fantastic views across the Rhine, pleasant, not too demanding walking, and excellent value dining. Flawless organisation. Fabulous scenery. Interesting culture.

Rating for tour operator:

Business like and pleasant to deal with, the On Foot Walking clearly take great care to ensure the all-important organisation is done to a very high standard. Every aspect of the organisation was flawless and the supporting documentation was accurate and interesting.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by muzza, 11 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

I would rate the overall holiday experience as VERY GOOD.

I decided to book a self-guided Rhine Gorge Walk for September 2013 as part of a European holiday and on my first visit to Germany. Initially I was a little apprehensive about how to travel to the commencement of the Walk following a long flight from Australia. However, my fears were soon dispelled as I had no difficulty in travelling from Frankfurt Airport to the village of Bingen, the commencement of the Walk, using the timetables and inform...

I decided to book a self-guided Rhine Gorge Walk for September 2013 as part of a European holiday and on my first visit to Germany. Initially I was a little apprehensive about how to travel to the commencement of the Walk following a long flight from Australia. However, my fears were soon dispelled as I had no difficulty in travelling from Frankfurt Airport to the village of Bingen, the commencement of the Walk, using the timetables and information provided in the information package. I found that the route taken along the Rhine was historically and geographically interesting, and I enjoyed the varied scenery. The villages along the route were beautiful and I was fortunate to experience a number of annual festivals along the way. Everything went smoothly with luggage transfer and, with one exception, the accommodation was very good in friendly small hotels ( On Foot had indicated in advance that difficulties had been experienced at the location where the accommodation did not meet my expectations).

Rating for tour operator:

This is the third self-guided walk that I have undertaken, and the first I have booked with On Foot Holidays. I found On Foot to be very professional and friendly in responding promptly to my initial and ongoing enquires. The walking notes, including the timetables and information on how to get to the commencement and return from the end of the Walk were accurate and easy to follow. I also found the information booklets which included historic information on the route traversed very useful. I enjoy the concept of self guided walks, and would not hesitate in booking future Walks with On Foot if they operate one in the location I choose for my next European holiday.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by sjb, 7 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

A week walking the Rhine Valley

Walking along the Rhine Valley from Bingen to Koblenz covered lots of history, castles, forests and the huge and busy river, as well as local food and wine. Some of the days were strenuous, but there are lots of alternatives (boat, train, chairlift) to help get you to the hotel for the night if you don't feel like doing the whole, or any, of the day's walking.

Walking along the Rhine Valley from Bingen to Koblenz covered lots of history, castles, forests and the huge and busy river, as well as local food and wine. Some of the days were strenuous, but there are lots of alternatives (boat, train, chairlift) to help get you to the hotel for the night if you don't feel like doing the whole, or any, of the day's walking.

Rating for tour operator:

They provided lots of information - where to eat, what wines to look out for, history along the route, and very detailed walking notes and maps - and were receptive to feedback about things which didn't work well or which might have changed since they prepared their tour notes.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Fee, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

A dream holiday!

The holiday was absolutely brilliant and I enjoyed every minute. The company was very well organised form the first email to the completion of the walk. I was very impressed that they took my feedback seriously. The maps and the directions were all fantastic. All the tips on restaurants etc were very good as well.

The holiday was absolutely brilliant and I enjoyed every minute. The company was very well organised form the first email to the completion of the walk. I was very impressed that they took my feedback seriously. The maps and the directions were all fantastic. All the tips on restaurants etc were very good as well.

Rating for tour operator:

All my dealings with on foot holidays were very good they always emailed back straight away and couldn't have been more helpful.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by happy walker, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Great walking along the middle Rhine

Beautiful walking along the banks of the middle Rhine staying in castles and hopping from one side to the other.

Beautiful walking along the banks of the middle Rhine staying in castles and hopping from one side to the other.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot provide all the walking notes and maps, and we have found them to be the most accurate and easy to read amongst their competition. The arrange all the hotels and for you luggage to be trnasported to the next hotel each day. We have used them 3 times and the pre and post holiday service is first class. They provide a genuine individual service and listen to your needs and feedback and respond.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by glenbrook2, 6 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

self guided walk along the rhine

we had an amazing time walking from bingen to Koblenz. Probably one of our best holidays ever.On foot holidays were excellent to deal with and had arranged excellent accommodation on route. Our baggage was taken from hotel to hotel. Germany surpassed our expectations. Beautiful scenery almost magical and the germans could not have been more friendlier and kinder. The routes given to us was spot on. We found it challenging at some points but ...

we had an amazing time walking from bingen to Koblenz. Probably one of our best holidays ever.On foot holidays were excellent to deal with and had arranged excellent accommodation on route. Our baggage was taken from hotel to hotel. Germany surpassed our expectations. Beautiful scenery almost magical and the germans could not have been more friendlier and kinder. The routes given to us was spot on. We found it challenging at some points but that only made it more rewarding. The extra information was also helpful and interesting. Have recommended this holiday to all my friends.

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful from beginning to end. Would definitely book with on foot holidays again.