AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - The Rhine

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 18
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 19
Reviews Accepted: 19
Reviews Rejected: 0
19 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by ACL, 14 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Perfectly organised self-directed walking trip in the Rhine Valley

We had a fantastic 6 days walking in the Rhine Valley, footloose and fancy free to enjoy the beautiful scenery and the well-chosen hotels, thanks to the expert organisation of our tour operator.

We had a fantastic 6 days walking in the Rhine Valley, footloose and fancy free to enjoy the beautiful scenery and the well-chosen hotels, thanks to the expert organisation of our tour operator.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely knowledgeable about the destination, well-organised, responsive, offering personalised advice and recommendations, willing to take into account special needs or requests, and always available to answer a question or react to an unforeseen situation. Excellent materials provided for the walking holiday, very clear instructions and informative tourist literature. Everything one could want from a tour operator!

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Susan, 28 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic hike along the Rhine

This was a terrific trip along the Rhine River in Germany, through forests, fields, vineyards and charming villages. The river was nearly always in view and it was fascinating to learn about shipping on the Rhine, as well as the architecture and history of the towns through which we walked. The accommodations were varied but comfortable. It was fun to eat traditional German foods, and try out the local beers and wines.

This was a terrific trip along the Rhine River in Germany, through forests, fields, vineyards and charming villages. The river was nearly always in view and it was fascinating to learn about shipping on the Rhine, as well as the architecture and history of the towns through which we walked. The accommodations were varied but comfortable. It was fun to eat traditional German foods, and try out the local beers and wines.

Rating for tour operator:

The route notes for this self-guided waking trip were excellent. The hotels gave us a warm welcome as "On Foot" guests and our luggage was always there. On Foot provided good recommendations for lunches and dinners as well as suggestions for visiting various sites along the way. On Foot provided us with many helpful tools, such as train and ferry schedules for the route as well as for getting to and from the airport. I had a few questions prior to the trip which were answered promptly and completely. I like that On Foot provides a local contact who can help if there is a problem or just a simple question like where to eat. This was our third trip with On Foot and we will definitely plan a fourth.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Happy walkers, 27 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Marvelous walking through the Rhine Gorge.

We're sitting in the Hotel Brenner in Koblenz, after our splendid 7-day walk. We are VERY happy customers. Thank you for your attention to every detail in designing our hike. Quite pleased with your choice of lodgings, many tips and recommendations and superb customer service. Most of all, though, your very specific word choices--when specific words mean the difference between getting lost and staying on track--were just great. We never ...

We're sitting in the Hotel Brenner in Koblenz, after our splendid 7-day walk. We are VERY happy customers. Thank you for your attention to every detail in designing our hike. Quite pleased with your choice of lodgings, many tips and recommendations and superb customer service. Most of all, though, your very specific word choices--when specific words mean the difference between getting lost and staying on track--were just great. We never got lost! We are seniors (70 and 62), maybe a little more fit than average, and found the routes just challenging enough (while taking shortcuts sometimes to explore castles or towns).

Rating for tour operator:

Couldn’t be better.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by mr P N 18, 11 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

A challenging walk

I enjoyed my walk not too hot I got lost a bit but usually found my way in the end. I liked the very individual and cozy German hotels.

I enjoyed my walk not too hot I got lost a bit but usually found my way in the end. I liked the very individual and cozy German hotels.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot were very organised and responsive to emails. Their walkers pack seemed to think of everything and all arrangements with hotels worked fine

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Tony, 27 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Great walk

We did the castles on the Rhine walk using Onfoot Holidays. We had a wonderful time, it is an amazing walk with beautiful views. The accommodations were excellent and the arrangements and instructions were excellent

We did the castles on the Rhine walk using Onfoot Holidays. We had a wonderful time, it is an amazing walk with beautiful views. The accommodations were excellent and the arrangements and instructions were excellent

Rating for tour operator:

This is the second time we have used OnFoot and would definitely recommend them. We are already planning our next walking holiday

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Weston-belle, 20 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Great walking holiday

We took our 2nd holiday with On Foot and I thought it couldn't be better than the first but it was. We did the Castles of the Rheine and everything about it exceeded our expectations. The walk was lovely, varied and accurately described. The accommodation was really good and where we had an evening meal it was great. Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty and the villages we went through were interesting and beautiful. Our luggage was moved ...

We took our 2nd holiday with On Foot and I thought it couldn't be better than the first but it was. We did the Castles of the Rheine and everything about it exceeded our expectations. The walk was lovely, varied and accurately described. The accommodation was really good and where we had an evening meal it was great. Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty and the villages we went through were interesting and beautiful. Our luggage was moved without fuss every day and we highly recommend this holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot are up there as tour operators go. They are responsive, friendly, helpful and accommodating. I would recommend them to friends and fully expect to book through them again.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by greeneggsandpam, 2 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Great Walking - Castles of the Rhine

Following 2 previous walking holidays booked through On Foot, it wasn't a hard decision to book their Castles of the Rhine walk to include in our next trip to Europe. We had beautiful weather as we followed their route, up hill from the little villages next to the river, through woods and vineyards and over farmland always with a view down to the river not far away. Each night we ended up in an interesting hotel in a little village with lovely ...

Following 2 previous walking holidays booked through On Foot, it wasn't a hard decision to book their Castles of the Rhine walk to include in our next trip to Europe. We had beautiful weather as we followed their route, up hill from the little villages next to the river, through woods and vineyards and over farmland always with a view down to the river not far away. Each night we ended up in an interesting hotel in a little village with lovely old buildings, interesting food choices and friendly people.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot were once again very thorough in their organisation of our walking holiday. They always replied quickly by email to any queries, provided all the details we needed to make the trip run smoothly and booked us into some interesting, quirky, local accommodation options. We have been really impressed with their trip notes, suggestions for local activities and help with all matters, such as eating out, shopping, buying provisions, local contacts etc.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Gracey, 29 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Superb walking in Rhine Gorge

A brilliant holiday spent in Rhine Gorge. Scenery, accomodation, activity, sight-seeing, food and wine to die for. Such an interesting and beautiful place to spend a holiday. Lots to see and do irrespective of how active you want to be. Walking the many beautiful paths or simply watching trains, cargo barges, cruise ships or taking a train or ferry up or down the river. The towns and villages are charming and the many delightful cafes and ...

A brilliant holiday spent in Rhine Gorge. Scenery, accomodation, activity, sight-seeing, food and wine to die for. Such an interesting and beautiful place to spend a holiday. Lots to see and do irrespective of how active you want to be. Walking the many beautiful paths or simply watching trains, cargo barges, cruise ships or taking a train or ferry up or down the river. The towns and villages are charming and the many delightful cafes and restaurants serve beautiful food and wine. The people are so friendly and area so clean that is definitely on our list for a return visit.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the second holiday we have booked with Onfoot holidays and will definitely not be our last. From the initial inquiry right through to the holiday review the service is first class. The accommodation is carefully selected and the route notes second to none. Any minor queries have been dealt with very professionally. All the staff provide sn excellent service.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Betsy W, 27 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Still savoring our experience hiking the "Castles on the Rhine"

We spent a week hiking the "Castles on the Rhine", a walking tour designed by On Foot Holidays in early June. We enjoyed lovely weather, great trails and staying at a series of local hotels. The itinerary provided was clear, detailed and organized. We found this to be the ultimate walking holiday - setting out each morning after a good breakfast, incredible views, local food, well-marked trails, and baggage transfers that went off without a hitch...

We spent a week hiking the "Castles on the Rhine", a walking tour designed by On Foot Holidays in early June. We enjoyed lovely weather, great trails and staying at a series of local hotels. The itinerary provided was clear, detailed and organized. We found this to be the ultimate walking holiday - setting out each morning after a good breakfast, incredible views, local food, well-marked trails, and baggage transfers that went off without a hitch. The castles were amazing, and approaching from the trail seemed so much scenic than riding a tour boat. We will definitely take another trip like this in the future.

Rating for tour operator:

Organized, quick response to emails, detailed information that was accurate. This tour operator allowed you to anticipate your visit while taking away the stress of planning the details!

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Boots, poles and compass., 9 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Castles of the Rhine

This was a stunning walk with remarkably varied terrain but the constants of stunning wildflowers and surprising bird life which included buzzards, peregrine falcons and woodpeckers. As well as dramatic Rhine views from well above the river, we learned a great deal about this historic and incredibly busy waterway. We stayed in a good selection of hotels along the Rhine: a couple of them produced delectable dinners of Michelin star quality. A ...

This was a stunning walk with remarkably varied terrain but the constants of stunning wildflowers and surprising bird life which included buzzards, peregrine falcons and woodpeckers. As well as dramatic Rhine views from well above the river, we learned a great deal about this historic and incredibly busy waterway. We stayed in a good selection of hotels along the Rhine: a couple of them produced delectable dinners of Michelin star quality. A bonus of this route was the discovery of several excellent Café Konditorei:with so many kilometres behind us we felt entirely justified in a little indulgence!

Rating for tour operator:

This was our fifth "Unspoilt Europe Waiting for You" walk with On Foot Holidays. The walks have always been well organised and live up to their unspoilt Europe billing. Everything we need is perfectly organised: we have access to help if we want or need it but to date instructions and compass have always got us to our destination with some lovely accommodation surprises at the end of the day's walking. We have always found the On Foot staff helpful and knowledgeable and in the case of this holiday particularly so: we had to cancel a walk at fairly short notice last year for health reasons and a great deal of effort was made by On Foot Holidays to unwind a planned holiday and start again with a new booking for some months later.