AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - The Rhine

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 21
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 22
Reviews Accepted: 22
Reviews Rejected: 0
22 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Jimbo, 3 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

Self guided walk

I walked along the Rhine, using ferry to cross and walk both sides. Very beautiful and lots of castles and history too.

I walked along the Rhine, using ferry to cross and walk both sides. Very beautiful and lots of castles and history too.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot holiday organised the hotels, luggage transfers and provided very detailed route notes and background information. They were very friendly and quick to respond. Everything went very smoothly.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by MQS, 7 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Spectacular walk along the Rhine

The Castles of the Rhine was our third walking holiday with On Foot Holidays and was the best so far, helped by the warm sunny weather which meant jumpers remained in the suitcases the whole week. We orginally planned to do this in September 2020 but due to Covid, it was postponed twice and this was to our advantage as we could have an extra day walking than we might have had in 2020. We stared at Lorch and finished at Koblenz - most days ...

The Castles of the Rhine was our third walking holiday with On Foot Holidays and was the best so far, helped by the warm sunny weather which meant jumpers remained in the suitcases the whole week. We orginally planned to do this in September 2020 but due to Covid, it was postponed twice and this was to our advantage as we could have an extra day walking than we might have had in 2020. We stared at Lorch and finished at Koblenz - most days involved a ferry crossing which was easy and then started the walk with an ascent. The views were stunning down the Rhine and each hotel was welcoming, the stay at Schloss Rheinfels was particularly memorable with a good restaurant with excellent service. On Foot and the hotel had co-ordinated so well, that the waiter knew Margaret could not eat onions!

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot are a great companty with very helpful and flexible staff, we are now thinking which walk to do in 2023. We had to rebook this twice due to Covid and Agin Foot were very helpful in doing this and made no charge at all for doing this.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Blue in SF, 11 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Castles of the Rhine Walking Tour with On Foot Holidays

Unbelievably well organized and so thrilling to explore this world heritage site -- the sparkling Rhine river, steep vineyards, flat areas on top with well-sited gazebos, challenging downhills past more castles and lush forests -- friendly people and hikers to meet on the trail -- On Foot, as usual, planned each and every step for us to perfection. Hiking is hard but knowing you will be at an exquisite hotel or inn with a fresh, delicious dinner ...

Unbelievably well organized and so thrilling to explore this world heritage site -- the sparkling Rhine river, steep vineyards, flat areas on top with well-sited gazebos, challenging downhills past more castles and lush forests -- friendly people and hikers to meet on the trail -- On Foot, as usual, planned each and every step for us to perfection. Hiking is hard but knowing you will be at an exquisite hotel or inn with a fresh, delicious dinner or breakfast in each place...Could not have been more perfect!

Rating for tour operator:

They are nice people who actually walk their own routes and value the history, culture and terrain of each place where they plan a route. This is my 4th trip with them and I could not recommend them more highly. Very thorough, kind, understanding people -- I always know I am in good hands with them!

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by ACL, 14 Jul 2020
Holiday Rating:

Perfectly organised self-directed walking trip in the Rhine Valley

We had a fantastic 6 days walking in the Rhine Valley, footloose and fancy free to enjoy the beautiful scenery and the well-chosen hotels, thanks to the expert organisation of our tour operator.

We had a fantastic 6 days walking in the Rhine Valley, footloose and fancy free to enjoy the beautiful scenery and the well-chosen hotels, thanks to the expert organisation of our tour operator.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely knowledgeable about the destination, well-organised, responsive, offering personalised advice and recommendations, willing to take into account special needs or requests, and always available to answer a question or react to an unforeseen situation. Excellent materials provided for the walking holiday, very clear instructions and informative tourist literature. Everything one could want from a tour operator!

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Susan, 28 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic hike along the Rhine

This was a terrific trip along the Rhine River in Germany, through forests, fields, vineyards and charming villages. The river was nearly always in view and it was fascinating to learn about shipping on the Rhine, as well as the architecture and history of the towns through which we walked. The accommodations were varied but comfortable. It was fun to eat traditional German foods, and try out the local beers and wines.

This was a terrific trip along the Rhine River in Germany, through forests, fields, vineyards and charming villages. The river was nearly always in view and it was fascinating to learn about shipping on the Rhine, as well as the architecture and history of the towns through which we walked. The accommodations were varied but comfortable. It was fun to eat traditional German foods, and try out the local beers and wines.

Rating for tour operator:

The route notes for this self-guided waking trip were excellent. The hotels gave us a warm welcome as "On Foot" guests and our luggage was always there. On Foot provided good recommendations for lunches and dinners as well as suggestions for visiting various sites along the way. On Foot provided us with many helpful tools, such as train and ferry schedules for the route as well as for getting to and from the airport. I had a few questions prior to the trip which were answered promptly and completely. I like that On Foot provides a local contact who can help if there is a problem or just a simple question like where to eat. This was our third trip with On Foot and we will definitely plan a fourth.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Happy walkers, 27 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Marvelous walking through the Rhine Gorge.

We're sitting in the Hotel Brenner in Koblenz, after our splendid 7-day walk. We are VERY happy customers. Thank you for your attention to every detail in designing our hike. Quite pleased with your choice of lodgings, many tips and recommendations and superb customer service. Most of all, though, your very specific word choices--when specific words mean the difference between getting lost and staying on track--were just great. We never ...

We're sitting in the Hotel Brenner in Koblenz, after our splendid 7-day walk. We are VERY happy customers. Thank you for your attention to every detail in designing our hike. Quite pleased with your choice of lodgings, many tips and recommendations and superb customer service. Most of all, though, your very specific word choices--when specific words mean the difference between getting lost and staying on track--were just great. We never got lost! We are seniors (70 and 62), maybe a little more fit than average, and found the routes just challenging enough (while taking shortcuts sometimes to explore castles or towns).

Rating for tour operator:

Couldn’t be better.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by mr P N 18, 11 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

A challenging walk

I enjoyed my walk not too hot I got lost a bit but usually found my way in the end. I liked the very individual and cozy German hotels.

I enjoyed my walk not too hot I got lost a bit but usually found my way in the end. I liked the very individual and cozy German hotels.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot were very organised and responsive to emails. Their walkers pack seemed to think of everything and all arrangements with hotels worked fine

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Tony, 27 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Great walk

We did the castles on the Rhine walk using Onfoot Holidays. We had a wonderful time, it is an amazing walk with beautiful views. The accommodations were excellent and the arrangements and instructions were excellent

We did the castles on the Rhine walk using Onfoot Holidays. We had a wonderful time, it is an amazing walk with beautiful views. The accommodations were excellent and the arrangements and instructions were excellent

Rating for tour operator:

This is the second time we have used OnFoot and would definitely recommend them. We are already planning our next walking holiday

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by Weston-belle, 20 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Great walking holiday

We took our 2nd holiday with On Foot and I thought it couldn't be better than the first but it was. We did the Castles of the Rheine and everything about it exceeded our expectations. The walk was lovely, varied and accurately described. The accommodation was really good and where we had an evening meal it was great. Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty and the villages we went through were interesting and beautiful. Our luggage was moved ...

We took our 2nd holiday with On Foot and I thought it couldn't be better than the first but it was. We did the Castles of the Rheine and everything about it exceeded our expectations. The walk was lovely, varied and accurately described. The accommodation was really good and where we had an evening meal it was great. Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty and the villages we went through were interesting and beautiful. Our luggage was moved without fuss every day and we highly recommend this holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot are up there as tour operators go. They are responsive, friendly, helpful and accommodating. I would recommend them to friends and fully expect to book through them again.

On Foot Holidays - The Rhine by greeneggsandpam, 2 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Great Walking - Castles of the Rhine

Following 2 previous walking holidays booked through On Foot, it wasn't a hard decision to book their Castles of the Rhine walk to include in our next trip to Europe. We had beautiful weather as we followed their route, up hill from the little villages next to the river, through woods and vineyards and over farmland always with a view down to the river not far away. Each night we ended up in an interesting hotel in a little village with lovely ...

Following 2 previous walking holidays booked through On Foot, it wasn't a hard decision to book their Castles of the Rhine walk to include in our next trip to Europe. We had beautiful weather as we followed their route, up hill from the little villages next to the river, through woods and vineyards and over farmland always with a view down to the river not far away. Each night we ended up in an interesting hotel in a little village with lovely old buildings, interesting food choices and friendly people.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot were once again very thorough in their organisation of our walking holiday. They always replied quickly by email to any queries, provided all the details we needed to make the trip run smoothly and booked us into some interesting, quirky, local accommodation options. We have been really impressed with their trip notes, suggestions for local activities and help with all matters, such as eating out, shopping, buying provisions, local contacts etc.