AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot - Northern Provence Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot - Northern Provence

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 13
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 13
Reviews Accepted: 13
Reviews Rejected: 0
13 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot - Northern Provence by Ausssie walker , 5 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent adventure

It was a 3 day walk in Provence

It was a 3 day walk in Provence

Rating for tour operator:

Onfootholidays was professional, prompt and very efficient in all communication and the overall arranging of the self guided walk . Highly recommended

On Foot - Northern Provence by Ian, 29 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Another enjoyable On Foot experience

Independent walking holiday in northern Provence, staying at a range of hotels, each with its own distinct character but all welcoming and comfortable and all located in or close to villages which more than demanded exploration.

Independent walking holiday in northern Provence, staying at a range of hotels, each with its own distinct character but all welcoming and comfortable and all located in or close to villages which more than demanded exploration.

Rating for tour operator:

The quality of support information was first class. In addition, On Foot were patient and helpful with making a number of tweaks that we'd hoped might be possible from the standard itinerary for this holiday: these greatly enhanced our enjoyment of the holiday.

On Foot - Northern Provence by Nan, 3 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Northern Provence with Onfoot Holidays

We walked/hiked from Venasque in Northern Provence to Vaison la Romaine. Two days we did loop hikes out of venasque and Gigondas. these were on steeper, more challenging terrain. there is also an option to climb Mt. Ventoux. the scenery, paths and towns were lovely.

We walked/hiked from Venasque in Northern Provence to Vaison la Romaine. Two days we did loop hikes out of venasque and Gigondas. these were on steeper, more challenging terrain. there is also an option to climb Mt. Ventoux. the scenery, paths and towns were lovely.

Rating for tour operator:

we used Onfoot Holidays out of the UK. we had used them previously for a hike on the Rheinstieg. they have excellent routes which are generally easily followed from their directions, though we have found a GPS helpful at times. Their office answers questions quickly. Inns have generally been top rate. good booklet on history and geology of area, restaurant suggestions, sightseeing, etc. Very flexible with route planning in terms of days, difficulty, etc.

On Foot - Northern Provence by MacCara, 13 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Exhausting, exhilarating and wonderful!

My husband and I just completed our week long Côtes du Rhone and the foothills of Mont Ventoux. It was fantastic! On Foot never left a stone unturned and were easily contactable at any given moment. Harriet, especially, was extremely helpful. The accommodations were delightful, and the choices of towns to visit, so full of history and enchanting. Of course, great food and wine all along the way. Long hiking days, but well worth the effort, ...

My husband and I just completed our week long Côtes du Rhone and the foothills of Mont Ventoux. It was fantastic! On Foot never left a stone unturned and were easily contactable at any given moment. Harriet, especially, was extremely helpful. The accommodations were delightful, and the choices of towns to visit, so full of history and enchanting. Of course, great food and wine all along the way. Long hiking days, but well worth the effort, through vineyards, rolling hills, forests, some serious climbs. Would definitely choose to go on another trip with On Foot. Many, many thanks. Sue-Ann and Scott MacCara. Vancouver, Canada

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays, Harriet Letherbarrow, was exceptionally organized, friendly and prompt.

On Foot - Northern Provence by NV_Chuck, 15 May 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Provence Hiking -- On Foot Holidays

We had a group of ten friends that greatly enjoyed the Northern Provence walking tour arranged through On Foot Holidays. All of us raved about the quality of the various hotels, each with unique character, their restaurants, their wine lists, and, especially, the hikes themselves. The route notes and maps were extraordinarily well done with great clarity. We all would recommend On Foot Holidays without reservations.

We had a group of ten friends that greatly enjoyed the Northern Provence walking tour arranged through On Foot Holidays. All of us raved about the quality of the various hotels, each with unique character, their restaurants, their wine lists, and, especially, the hikes themselves. The route notes and maps were extraordinarily well done with great clarity. We all would recommend On Foot Holidays without reservations.

Rating for tour operator:

Highly organized, easily contacted, very friendly, prompt. Great trip!

On Foot - Northern Provence by Betty, 31 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Relaxed and spectacular walking holiday in Northern Provence

We spent a week walking through the stunning scenery of Northern Provence, staying in quaint hotels in hilltop villages, enjoying the wonderful food and wine of the region, walking on to the next night's destination guided by the excellent, detailed and accurate notes provided by On Foot Holidays, knowing our luggage would be transported and awaiting us on arrival. A truly relaxing, indulgent and highly invigorating experience that I would recommend ...

We spent a week walking through the stunning scenery of Northern Provence, staying in quaint hotels in hilltop villages, enjoying the wonderful food and wine of the region, walking on to the next night's destination guided by the excellent, detailed and accurate notes provided by On Foot Holidays, knowing our luggage would be transported and awaiting us on arrival. A truly relaxing, indulgent and highly invigorating experience that I would recommend to anyone like us who loves walking, food and wine.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays is a small operator with the personal touch. They phoned on the day before our departure to wish us a happy holiday. Their local representative texted to welcome us to France and establish himself as our contact for any eventuality. Everything ran like clockwork. Customer service is clearly their absolute top priority.

On Foot - Northern Provence by David, 2 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Cotes du Rhone: walking

Brilliant walking holiday in wonderful surroundings.

Brilliant walking holiday in wonderful surroundings.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient. Reliable. Courteous. Always ready to go the extra mile!

On Foot - Northern Provence by JASSAM, 18 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Cherry Scrumping in French heaven!!

Walking in Provence for a week.Unguided with luggage transported from hotel to hotel.Excellent route through unspoilt areas with hotels in lovely towns we had never even heard of.Very few English speaking tourists which was heaven as we felt part of France by the end of the week.Great organisation with personal touches which were much appreciated.It was thr cherry season and we could help ourselves from the trees as we walked through landscape ...

Walking in Provence for a week.Unguided with luggage transported from hotel to hotel.Excellent route through unspoilt areas with hotels in lovely towns we had never even heard of.Very few English speaking tourists which was heaven as we felt part of France by the end of the week.Great organisation with personal touches which were much appreciated.It was thr cherry season and we could help ourselves from the trees as we walked through landscape that appeared untouched by time.

Rating for tour operator:

See above.Feels like a real family operation and made us feel part of the family.

On Foot - Northern Provence by Ruby, 7 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Expertly organised holiday in a beautiful area

We went to Provence with On Foot and had an excellent time. All the hotels we stayed in were lovely, the food was delicious and the weather was perfect for walking - dry and sunny but not too hot. The office staff, particularly Debbie, were very helpful with sorting out arrangements for getting to the start of the walk and advice on where else we might want to visit in the area.

We went to Provence with On Foot and had an excellent time. All the hotels we stayed in were lovely, the food was delicious and the weather was perfect for walking - dry and sunny but not too hot. The office staff, particularly Debbie, were very helpful with sorting out arrangements for getting to the start of the walk and advice on where else we might want to visit in the area.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot have an excellent range of walking holidays in beautiful unspoilt areas. We have been on two of their trips and all the arrangements were very well organised - hotels, trip notes, luggage transfer - and the staff take a personal interest in ensuring clients have a good holiday. They even rang us up the day before we left to say they hoped we had a good time.

On Foot - Northern Provence by Wanderer, 7 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

A delightful introduction to a charming part of provence at ground level

I had not travelled in Provence before , nor with what the French insist on calling One Foot, and I was attracted by a reasonably strenuous walk, unaccompanied and to my own timetable. I made my own way by rail to Avignon Station with my 42 year old son and was delighted that thereafter the beds, catering and routes were able to unroll with a minimum of confusion as the maps and village plans were highly comprehensive and annotated. Some of ...

I had not travelled in Provence before , nor with what the French insist on calling One Foot, and I was attracted by a reasonably strenuous walk, unaccompanied and to my own timetable. I made my own way by rail to Avignon Station with my 42 year old son and was delighted that thereafter the beds, catering and routes were able to unroll with a minimum of confusion as the maps and village plans were highly comprehensive and annotated. Some of our evening meals were excellent and where we were fending for ourselves suitable guidance was available. All accommodation was perfectly adequate and occasionally eccentric but enjoyable and although variable the range of packed lunches was also fine. The area was far less densely populated than I had anticipated and I felt a genuine affinity with a natural area. Our 2 nights in Avignon were well based booked through On Foot although we were properly left to our own devices. The individual taxi arrangements were efficiently executed although the first driver did not know where the hotel was in the small village where our walk began. The local contact was extremely helpful to my son lending him walking poles when he was suffering from knee strain but we were treated as grown up walkers and not pestered. On Foot has a light touch which in preparation is very personal and in due course I would hope to travel under their arrangements again.

Rating for tour operator:

See above