AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Dragoman Overland

Dragoman Overland Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Dragoman Overland

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 55
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 56
Reviews Accepted: 56
Reviews Rejected: 0
56 reviews
Sort by:
Uzbekistan & Turkmen Explorer by emmasarah, 26 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

fantastic trip, seeing the most spectacular scenery, off the beaten track!

I travelled with Dragoman on a short section of the Silk Route between Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan. It was absolutely incredible, the guides were fantastic and the places we visited were genuinely breathtaking

I travelled with Dragoman on a short section of the Silk Route between Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan. It was absolutely incredible, the guides were fantastic and the places we visited were genuinely breathtaking

Rating for tour operator:

overlanding is a great way to see the hidden gems of countries!

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Thanks for your excellent review. We're delighted to hear that you had an incredible experience

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Thanks for your great review of the Dragoman overlanding experience.

Namibia & Botswana Wanderer by retiredadventurer, 26 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Awesome experience and fantastic adventure

Travelled from Cape Town to Victoria Falls. First Dragoman trip and although we knew about Dragoman as I had a relative who worked for the company and we had been in a truck prior to the trip, the actual doing it was an unknown and a bit of an adventure. It was a fantastic trip, the leaders were great, the group was small and interesting, very multi-national and gelled. The places were just out of this world, I loved being right off the beaten ...

Travelled from Cape Town to Victoria Falls. First Dragoman trip and although we knew about Dragoman as I had a relative who worked for the company and we had been in a truck prior to the trip, the actual doing it was an unknown and a bit of an adventure. It was a fantastic trip, the leaders were great, the group was small and interesting, very multi-national and gelled. The places were just out of this world, I loved being right off the beaten track, especially the Namib desert and Okovango delta. The scenery was just awesome and the wildlife great, so a great success. We have already booked the next trip with Dragoman.

Rating for tour operator:

Very good. I booked directly with Dragoman and rang the office so felt I was able to build a more personal relationship. They were extremely helpful and communicated well. During the trip everything went well, the leaders were experienced and I felt safe travelling with them. Good all round.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Glad to hear that you had a fantastic adventure with us and delighted to hear that we can look forward to welcoming you back onto another Dragoman trip in the future!

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Thank you so much for your positive comments about your booking experience and your tour leaders on trip. We are so pleased to hear that you found us accommodating and helpful.

Nepal & Rajasthan Explorer by Maz57, 26 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Experience of a liftime

We arrived in Kathmandu and stayed one night independently, the next day we moved hotels to start the tour and was greeted by our tour guide, in the evening we had a welcome meeting and given details of our tour, and met all the other guests, it was then arranged for all us to have a meal together and introduce ourselves. Early the next day left left Kathmandu and loaded our kit onto the truck and travelled to our first destination of Chitwan ...

We arrived in Kathmandu and stayed one night independently, the next day we moved hotels to start the tour and was greeted by our tour guide, in the evening we had a welcome meeting and given details of our tour, and met all the other guests, it was then arranged for all us to have a meal together and introduce ourselves. Early the next day left left Kathmandu and loaded our kit onto the truck and travelled to our first destination of Chitwan National Park where we spent two nights in a lodge hotel, beautifully located next to a river, the next day we were up early for a trip down the river in dugout long canoes, an amazing trip, so much wildlife including elephants, crocodiles, rhino and many birds. In the evening we were entertained by a dance troop. The next day a long journey to the Indian border, the crossing went smoothly as possible considering how busy the border is, then a stop over night in a local hotel, a drive to Varanasi for a two night stay, our trips included a boat ride down the Ganges to watch the bathing and religious ceremonies, cremations, visited temples and wandered the streets to see stalls of brightly coloured vegetables, clothing, silks etc, opportunities to attend Siri and silk factories, or local arts and crafts. Then moving on the next day we moved to Ken river lodge where we stayed for three nights, visiting the erotic temples, went on safari tiger watching, took a rowing boat to a small island in the river to watch the sun go down, an incredible place. The on to Agra, visited the Taj Mahal at dawn, and again from the other side of river to watch the sun set. Also visited the Red fort, one morning it was arranged that we went in tuk tuks to a local guides house, where the family treated us all to breakfast, next on to Jaipur where we stayed in a wonderful colonial hotel, which had once hosted Prince Charles and Princess Diana, we had the opportunity for an early morning ballon flight over the Indian countryside Amazing!! and finally we moved onto Delhi, we saw many temples, forts, spice markets, a Sikh temple where we helped to make chapatis in the kitchens used to feed 2000 + locals, we Street walked around the old town and had the opportunity to purchase marble items. The tour with Dragoman was for 16 nights, we saw and did so many things, we ate from street vendors to roof top restaurants, we rode in carts drawn by oxen, tuk tuks, man and engine powered, and of course the incredible truck, with our amazing drivers/ tour operators. This was an experience of a life time we enjoyed all of it, so carefully planned and organised by Rachel her knowledge of India was second to none, and Ewan who drove the truck and maintained it, ensuring the trip ran a smoothly as it could. A trip not to be missed

Rating for tour operator:

Dragoman, before leaving the UK, we were invited to our local travel agency to meet with staff from Dragoman and we had the opportunity to see a truck similar to the one we were going to be travelling in, we had a detailed itinerary of our tour, so we knew exactly what we could expect. Excellent tour staff, excellent tour

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

We're so pleased to hear that you had such an amazing Dragoman trip and had so many amazing experiences in India.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Its great to hear that our Dragoman staff were so helpful.

Georgia & Turkmen Discovery by phil parry, 26 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

a trip along the Silk Road

an overland adventure holiday from Georgia to Uzbekistan taking 28 days. Some excellent wild camping. Brilliant leader.

an overland adventure holiday from Georgia to Uzbekistan taking 28 days. Some excellent wild camping. Brilliant leader.

Rating for tour operator:

my tenth trip with them. They deliver what they promise and their trip notes are disarmingly honest. tends to attract a slightly "edgy" bunch who differ widely in age and experience.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Thanks for your great review, we're pleased to hear your trip through Georgia and Uzbekistan with Dragoman was such a success.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Wow. Thanks for your great review and its wonderful to hear that you've travelled with Dragoman so many times.

Ethiopia, East Africa & Gorillas by Musafa, 26 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

A great way to see so much more

Travelling with Dragoman takes you to places you would not otherwise reach so you see sights and meet people you would not normally see. Throughout our journey the Dragoman team look after us so if a "problem" arises in a particular area they reroute you, but to equally interesting locations. We traveled from Nairobi, up through northern Kenya and throughout Ethiopia to Gondar and saw amazing sights and met amazing people, particularly the ...

Travelling with Dragoman takes you to places you would not otherwise reach so you see sights and meet people you would not normally see. Throughout our journey the Dragoman team look after us so if a "problem" arises in a particular area they reroute you, but to equally interesting locations. We traveled from Nairobi, up through northern Kenya and throughout Ethiopia to Gondar and saw amazing sights and met amazing people, particularly the Samburu who made us so welcome. Travelling with Dragoman is a great way of seeing some of the amazing places on our planet without having to spend a huge amount of money.

Rating for tour operator:

Out tour operator looked after us well and coped with the many snags and complications that occur when travelling in regions such as those we traveled through. Our journey was to take us into the Bale Mountains, but there was "trouble" in the region so we visited the Awash Falls and Harar instead, which was a really great experience. The two person team that traveled with us were always there for us and despite some "tricky" situations they were faced with.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Thanks for your excellent review. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great Dragoman trip despite the odd well handled "challenge" along the way.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Its great to hear that you enjoyed the Dragoman overlanding experience and hope to welcome you on another trip some time soon.

Dunes, Delta & Falls - Family Ov by karenl, 26 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Dragoman Family Holiday Windhoek to Vic Falls

Fantastic trip, everyone had a great time and we were well looked after. It was fast paced and non stop but we wouldn't have wanted to change any of it. There were 11 kids on the trip and they all got on really well, Highlights were sandboarding in Swakopmund and Rafting in Vic Falls, and all the amazing wildlife we saw,

Fantastic trip, everyone had a great time and we were well looked after. It was fast paced and non stop but we wouldn't have wanted to change any of it. There were 11 kids on the trip and they all got on really well, Highlights were sandboarding in Swakopmund and Rafting in Vic Falls, and all the amazing wildlife we saw,

Rating for tour operator:

Dragoman staff were fantastic and we were well looked after,

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Thanks so much for your great review of the Dragoman family tour to Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe

Reviewer's images:
Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Its great to hear that our staff looked after you and your family so well on this Dragoman tour.

Dragoman Overland by Bryan, 26 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

West African Adventure

An overland trip starting in Accra Ghana moving onto Ivory Coast, Mali, Guinea, Sierra Leone, Guinea Bissau, Gambia and Senegal, leaving from Dakkar .

An overland trip starting in Accra Ghana moving onto Ivory Coast, Mali, Guinea, Sierra Leone, Guinea Bissau, Gambia and Senegal, leaving from Dakkar .

Rating for tour operator:

A Dragoman trip. brilliantly led, excellent balance or adventure and relaxation time

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Great to hear that you covered so much ground on your West African Adventure with Dragoman.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

We're delighted to hear that your Dragoman trip was such a success.

Alaska, the Rockies & Mexico by Clumsy, 26 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Bears, national parks and more bears!

An amazing tour from Mexico City to Anchorage sampling the delights of a myriad of national parks. Stunning scenery, wildlife galore and spectacular sunrises viewed through our tent flaps.

An amazing tour from Mexico City to Anchorage sampling the delights of a myriad of national parks. Stunning scenery, wildlife galore and spectacular sunrises viewed through our tent flaps.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised overland specialists.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

What a lovely review, thanks for your great feedback on your Dragoman tour

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Thanks for your great feedback on your Dragoman tour. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the experience so much.

Gorillas, Wildlife & Zanzibar by Longey, 26 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Africa

Our Dragoman holiday in Africa was amazing , full of safaris of different kinds and we saw so many wild animals way more than expected the whole trip was fantastic . So much so we booked another trip with Dragoman almost immediately.

Our Dragoman holiday in Africa was amazing , full of safaris of different kinds and we saw so many wild animals way more than expected the whole trip was fantastic . So much so we booked another trip with Dragoman almost immediately.

Rating for tour operator:

Ive traveled with Dragoman before and had great times but this was so much better with a good group of people and having a cook with us made a huge difference . Rob our tour leader was fantastic and handled some awkward situations very well, the whole group all loved and respected him.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Thanks for you great review of the Dragoman experience. Its good to know that you booked again so quickly.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Great to hear that you're such a Dragoman fan!

Uzbekistan & Turkmen Explorer by MaryH, 26 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Adventure, excitement, wonder and great company

This was our third trip with Drago. If you want something off the beaten track in areas unreachable by other means, look no further. This Silk Route trip will certainly fulfill these criteria and more. As always we were a little anxious about travelling with a group but again had no reason to be, everyone rubbed along, working together as a team and having loads of fun. Usually there is a wide age range - we are in our late 60’s, our youngest ...

This was our third trip with Drago. If you want something off the beaten track in areas unreachable by other means, look no further. This Silk Route trip will certainly fulfill these criteria and more. As always we were a little anxious about travelling with a group but again had no reason to be, everyone rubbed along, working together as a team and having loads of fun. Usually there is a wide age range - we are in our late 60’s, our youngest travel companion was 22. The group leaders were brilliant. Don’t expect them to be tour guides - locals are picked up at various points en route where necessary to give inside knowledge, this works well. The truck is very functional, surprisingly comfortable over bad terrain and carries all you will need for any emergency and a good supply of basic foods. Shopping is done as necessary by the cook group for the day, often an amazing experience in local food markets etc. The kitty system for group purchases is very easy and safe.We have always found Drago prices very reasonsble for this type of travel. We would thoroughly recommend this company from first contact to sad goodbyes.

Rating for tour operator:

What great service! The Back office staff are sooo helpful right from the word go. All the trucks are well maintained with trained leaders who can fix most things en route if necessary. Everything runs like clockwork.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

We're delighted to hear you had such an amazing Dragoman experience on the Silk Route.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Thanks so much for such a great detailed review that gives a great understanding of the full Dragoman experience.