AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Dragoman Overland

Dragoman Overland Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Dragoman Overland

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 55
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 56
Reviews Accepted: 56
Reviews Rejected: 0
56 reviews
Sort by:
Backwaters, Ghats & Terraces by Nico Ivan, 29 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Get off the beaten track and meet the locals.

The trip was just amazing, we got to see big cities in India like Mumbai or Kolkatta, and small town and villages in the south or in the tribal Odisha region. Everything was perfectly organized and at the same time there is pleanty of flexibility to do your own thing. Bhutan was also a mayor highlight, a superb guide and driver, they took us all the most significant places in the country and told us about the culture and history of this land.

The trip was just amazing, we got to see big cities in India like Mumbai or Kolkatta, and small town and villages in the south or in the tribal Odisha region. Everything was perfectly organized and at the same time there is pleanty of flexibility to do your own thing. Bhutan was also a mayor highlight, a superb guide and driver, they took us all the most significant places in the country and told us about the culture and history of this land.

Rating for tour operator:

I had many trips with Dragoman already, and in all of them I had an unforgetable adventure. I think what I like the most about their trips is that you are able to get really close to local communities and experience cultures first hand by interacting with them, it feels less like a holiday and more like traveling to explore or like an adventure, in which you know everything will be organized and ok anyway.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 30 Jul 2018:

Thanks Nico for your wonderful review of our Overlanding Adventures through Asia.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 30 Jul 2018:

This is great to hear Nico, we look forward to having you on our next Dragoman adventure.

West African Atlantic Explorer by Never too old, 28 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

West Africa overland with Dragoman

In October 2016 I travelled with Dragoman on a 7 week overland trip to 8 countries in West Africa. I have travelled overland before so Iknew what to expect. As I expected it was very hot and humid and there were some long driving days on bumpy roads but there were some unexpected surprises: a hotel with a swimming pool; interactions with local people; beautiful beaches; intriguing and historic towns and lots more. The Dragoman leader was excellent...

In October 2016 I travelled with Dragoman on a 7 week overland trip to 8 countries in West Africa. I have travelled overland before so Iknew what to expect. As I expected it was very hot and humid and there were some long driving days on bumpy roads but there were some unexpected surprises: a hotel with a swimming pool; interactions with local people; beautiful beaches; intriguing and historic towns and lots more. The Dragoman leader was excellent. she went out of her way to make sure everyone was OK, was always cheerful and an excellent driver. The co-leader/driver was good humoured, efficient and knowledgable. The both knew how to make things happen and how to overcome expected and unexpected difficulties. An unforgetable trip!

Rating for tour operator:

Dragoman are an established operator of overland trips to many parts of the world.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 30 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your brilliant review of our Overlanding Tours through Africa

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 30 Jul 2018:

Thank you, The Dragoman Team

Backroads of Patagonia by Lemax, 28 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Adventure into Patagonia

Well a bunch of 20 people aged from19 to 79 with an English driver and an Irish guide met In Ushuaia. The guide and driver insisted this was the best way to travel, leave expectations behind, put in what you expect to get out of this and treat each other as family. And so it was. We drove through beautiful landscapes- steppe, mountains, glaciers, volcanoes, lakes. We camped, slept on bunkbeds and occasionally had our own room. We explored some ...

Well a bunch of 20 people aged from19 to 79 with an English driver and an Irish guide met In Ushuaia. The guide and driver insisted this was the best way to travel, leave expectations behind, put in what you expect to get out of this and treat each other as family. And so it was. We drove through beautiful landscapes- steppe, mountains, glaciers, volcanoes, lakes. We camped, slept on bunkbeds and occasionally had our own room. We explored some small and large towns. Most enjoyable were the challenges -trekking Torres del Paine, horseriding on a lovely estancia, white water rafting at Fetaleufu, volcano trekking. After this I felt amazing. I appreciated the support of the 'family' and enjoyed the pitching in to together to do tasks and adventures.

Rating for tour operator:

Dragoman supplied the tour organizer who managed the group, equipment and bookings and gave some brief orientations to places and sometimes drove, the driver who was very competent and also gave good advice. To find out more about where we were we read and sometimes did a local tour. A local agent helped me book the tour, perhaps a bit more information could have been supplied eg about currencies, we assumed we needed to pay for activities in US dollars as the costs were given in US dollars, but this was not the case. ATM withdrawals with local currency were available.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 30 Jul 2018:

Thanks so much for your amazing review of your latest Dragoman trip!

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 30 Jul 2018:

Thanks again for your kind words regarding our Dragoman Team.

Nomads & Wilds of Mongolia by Matt, 27 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Go to Mongolia with Dragoman!

The trip consisted of several weeks overlanding a loop of Mongolia, beginning and ending in Ulaanbaator. On the way we camped, hiked and swam in some beautiful corners of the world and learnt about Mongolia’s incredible history.

The trip consisted of several weeks overlanding a loop of Mongolia, beginning and ending in Ulaanbaator. On the way we camped, hiked and swam in some beautiful corners of the world and learnt about Mongolia’s incredible history.

Rating for tour operator:

Dragoman was excellent. The tour was everything we expected, was well organised and thought out. Our leader Sinead was amazing, the trucks were comfortable (as comfy as they can be on Mongolian ‘roads’) and the trip was excellent value for money. My only other advice would be that Dragoman consider trucks with 4 wheel drive for Mongolia. Digging out a bogged truck is often unavoidable, but 4x4 equipped trucks would make for smoother sailing. That being said, I’d certainly do it all again!

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 27 Jul 2018:

Thanks for your fantastic feedback of our Dragoman Overlanding Tours! Mongolia truly is stunning and we are so happy you loved your experience with us.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 27 Jul 2018:

Thanks again for such lovely words regarding our Dragoman team - it sounds like you had a real Overlanding experience and it's great to hear you would be keen to do it again.

In the Footsteps of Marco Polo by splat, 27 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

silk road

i did the dragoman silk road tour from Istanbul to Beijing... it was simply mind-blowing amazing

i did the dragoman silk road tour from Istanbul to Beijing... it was simply mind-blowing amazing

Rating for tour operator:

The drivers were excellent - they got us from A to B safely, comfortably with no problems - sure there was high drama when the truck got bogged but at no time was I worried or concerned - it was all part of the experience and the skill and competence of our guys was awesome !!! . The dragoman office was competent and professional - again no issues... . The tour guides and interpreters were on the whole, fantastic... . yup I loved this a lot and was sorry it had to end...

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 27 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your review! We are really glad that you found the Dragoman Tour mind-blowing!

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 27 Jul 2018:

Thanks for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you were happy with your Dragoman experience.

Western Silk Route by Kel, 27 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Best Holiday I've Had

I traveled overland with Dragoman from Istanbul to Ashgabat camping and staying in homestays, hostels and hotels throughough Turkey, Georgia, Azerbaijan and Turkmenistan. The tour leaders were great, enthusiastic and did all they could to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. The people on the tour were not what I was expecting but were so friendly and a great group of people to travel with.

I traveled overland with Dragoman from Istanbul to Ashgabat camping and staying in homestays, hostels and hotels throughough Turkey, Georgia, Azerbaijan and Turkmenistan. The tour leaders were great, enthusiastic and did all they could to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. The people on the tour were not what I was expecting but were so friendly and a great group of people to travel with.

Rating for tour operator:

Dragoman was great from the time I booked. I had single contact at the company to deal with in Australia which was great. He answered all my questions. The bus was decked out with all we needed for camping and travelling. Again not what I expected but was great anyway. The tour leaders were fantastic.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 27 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your excellent review, it really means a lot to us at Dragoman.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 27 Jul 2018:

Thanks for your wonderful comments. It is great to hear how smoothly you found the Dragoman experience.

Patagonia & Beyond by AndrewOz, 27 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Patagonia

34 days, Santiago to Ushuaia to Buenos Aires - ZSB. A mix of hotels/hostels & camping. Amazing scenery! Quite different landscapes from our previous Dragoman trip (97 days - Columbia to Rio - LTR) The truck & group participation worked very well. Our tour leaders were great & had everything well organised.

34 days, Santiago to Ushuaia to Buenos Aires - ZSB. A mix of hotels/hostels & camping. Amazing scenery! Quite different landscapes from our previous Dragoman trip (97 days - Columbia to Rio - LTR) The truck & group participation worked very well. Our tour leaders were great & had everything well organised.

Rating for tour operator:

As above described, well balanced itinerary, good feedback & interesting stops with enough flexibility to overcome daily issues etc. We are about to join our next Dragoman tour (109 days Anchorage to Panama City - CAP)

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 27 Jul 2018:

Many thanks for your wonderful review of your Overlanding Advneture earlier this year. We are glad you enjoyed the Dragoman experience.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 27 Jul 2018:

That is great to hear! We hope you enjoy your next Dragoman Tour as much as you did with this one.

Dragoman Overland by tazzie, 26 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Silk Road overlanding discovering real insights into history, local cultures and beautiful nature experiences.

This was my first overland tour. I joined part of the Silk Road from Tehran, Iran through to Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan via Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. The range of accommodation such as yurts, tents, a caravanserai, local guesthouse and hotels made for fun and fascinating experiences. The history of the Silk Road and ancient cultures and experiencing the current situation was eye-opening. The local interaction was excellent ranging from; performances ...

This was my first overland tour. I joined part of the Silk Road from Tehran, Iran through to Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan via Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. The range of accommodation such as yurts, tents, a caravanserai, local guesthouse and hotels made for fun and fascinating experiences. The history of the Silk Road and ancient cultures and experiencing the current situation was eye-opening. The local interaction was excellent ranging from; performances by local musicians using traditional instruments; a yurt maker, carpet weavers, an eagle hunter, traditional nomadic games, local wine tasting, traditional felt making to traditional silk making and weaving etc etc. Hiking in the beautiful Kyrgyzstan mountains was one of the highlights. Traveling overland style makes for meeting people with similar adventure curiosity and not being stuck with large groups of bus-loads of other tourists on the ‘typical’ circuit. The major historical sites were included and, whilst unmissable, would be covered by any good tour operator, the differentiation with Dragoman are the additional experiences and opportunities.

Rating for tour operator:

Dragoman are professional overlanders with a true sense of adventure. They provide opportunities to explore, interact and appreciate local cultures. Tour itineraries are carefully planned to provide enough time to experience key areas but with enough momentum to cover a great deal of territory. The camping experiences allow clients the freedom to see locations that are off the beaten track and the beauty of remote locations. The combination of professional tour leaders in conjunction with local guides give a smooth overall experience but with the extra touches, stories and insights and answers to questions that only a local guide can provide. Responsive support staff are helpful from initial booking to visa preparation.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 27 Jul 2018:

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of our Overlanding Tours in Asia. We are so glad you had a fantastic time.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 27 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your wonderful comments of our Dragoman team.

Dragoman Overland by DOG STEVENS, 26 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Africa

An overland trip jammed pack with things happening...went to some great places, some i would never have experienced had i have travelled differently. I feel I really did see that part of Africa that I travelled, From Vic falls to Cape town. And when we got there we all decided and there and then to climb table mountain, a holiday that never stopped for a whole month.. I loved my dragoman holiday.

An overland trip jammed pack with things happening...went to some great places, some i would never have experienced had i have travelled differently. I feel I really did see that part of Africa that I travelled, From Vic falls to Cape town. And when we got there we all decided and there and then to climb table mountain, a holiday that never stopped for a whole month.. I loved my dragoman holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Made it so easy, the only oroblem I had was of my own doung but the team in the office sorted it out over the phone and I made the trip... they are enthusiiastic about what they do and and really lived up to it on the trip.. ,

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 27 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your excellent review, we are glad that you had a fantastic Adventure Holiday with Dragoman!

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 27 Jul 2018:

Thanks for your wonderful comments and I'm glad we could help and assist with everything.

Central Silk Route by May, 26 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Interesting, entertaining and memorable

Visited China, Mongolia and Russia. Had been to China and Russia before so only did part of The Trans Siberia Journey. Went through a 4 1/2 hour sand storm on the Gobi dessert, sat on the train while the bogies were changed (something that would never happen in the UK under Health an Safety Laws.). Not that we have different size lines. Spending 2 and a half days on a train going through a county as we would call it, just makes you realise how ...

Visited China, Mongolia and Russia. Had been to China and Russia before so only did part of The Trans Siberia Journey. Went through a 4 1/2 hour sand storm on the Gobi dessert, sat on the train while the bogies were changed (something that would never happen in the UK under Health an Safety Laws.). Not that we have different size lines. Spending 2 and a half days on a train going through a county as we would call it, just makes you realise how big Russia is.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful throughout from first booking to obtaining visas.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Thanks for your great review. We're delighted to hear that you had such a memorable experience.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Dragoman experience so much.