AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Dragoman Overland

Dragoman Overland Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Dragoman Overland

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 55
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 56
Reviews Accepted: 56
Reviews Rejected: 0
56 reviews
Sort by:
Nomads & Wilds of Mongolia by DanielleW, 9 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

A way of travelling not to be missed

I went to Mongolia for three weeks in July/August 2017 and it was unlike any trip that I have ever been on before. There were times when it was fun and exhilarating, times when it was hard but the whole thing was worth it. Even on the days when we were just driving long distances, there was always something to see out of the window or something happening.

I went to Mongolia for three weeks in July/August 2017 and it was unlike any trip that I have ever been on before. There were times when it was fun and exhilarating, times when it was hard but the whole thing was worth it. Even on the days when we were just driving long distances, there was always something to see out of the window or something happening.

Rating for tour operator:

Dragoman is an excellent company specialising in overlanding trips, which is a style of travelling that I had never done before but I'm very glad that I did. You really do get to see much more of the country you are visiting this way and it is much more fun than flying everywhere. Dragoman is a company that I would definitely travel with again - hopefully to South America!

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 10 Aug 2018:

We are glad to hear you had a wonderful trip with Dragoman. Our overland adventures are very different to a traditional holiday however we do agree that it is a great way to see a country and really get off the beaten track.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 10 Aug 2018:

Thanks again for such wonderful comments regarding Dragoman. We are so pleased you enjoyed your trip and hope to see you again overlanding with us very soon!

Circle South East Asia by Congo Pete, 6 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

South East Asia Adventure

When I travel outside Europe, I do a lot of research as to the best itinerary available before committing. This one with Dragoman met my requirements, an extensive itinerary visiting all the important sights along with many lesser but equally rewarding locations I would have missed on my own. Travelling overland not only gives me more chance to experience the local people and atmosphere, but for me it additionally offers a more complete experience...

When I travel outside Europe, I do a lot of research as to the best itinerary available before committing. This one with Dragoman met my requirements, an extensive itinerary visiting all the important sights along with many lesser but equally rewarding locations I would have missed on my own. Travelling overland not only gives me more chance to experience the local people and atmosphere, but for me it additionally offers a more complete experience.

Rating for tour operator:

This was my first time with Dragoman, I found all my pre departure queries were dealt with efficiently, for example visa support documentation and kitty payments. On the trip everything flowed very smoothly with knowledgeable local guides/driver plus the tour leader. I have since my return booked a further trip with Dragoman this time to Africa.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 07 Aug 2018:

Thank you for your positive comments. It's great to hear that we deliver a more complete experience.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 07 Aug 2018:

Thank you - we are delighted to hear that you have booked another trip with us and look forward to welcoming you back on another Dragoman trip soon.

Gorillas, East & Southern Africa by Di, 6 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

African explorer

72 days with the Dragoman team in a fully fitted camping truck. We went to around 15 wildlife reserves of varying sizes in 9 countries. Most of the trip was camping with some upgrades available. On this particular trip a local cook is assigned and ours was fabulous as was our driver. The tour leaders were in this instance English and very experienced. Many of my friends questioned the safety of such a long trip through Africa but at no time ...

72 days with the Dragoman team in a fully fitted camping truck. We went to around 15 wildlife reserves of varying sizes in 9 countries. Most of the trip was camping with some upgrades available. On this particular trip a local cook is assigned and ours was fabulous as was our driver. The tour leaders were in this instance English and very experienced. Many of my friends questioned the safety of such a long trip through Africa but at no time did I feel unsafe probably because we were in a group when sightseeing or in cities. The tour went a a pace that I would prefer to be a bit slower in some areas especially with many days of up before sunrise to be in a park by daylight, but this is the nature of Overlanding and trips need to fit into a time and budget enticing to the most people. A few days on Zanzibar halfway throug the trip gave us time to energize.

Rating for tour operator:

Dragoman is an English company that has overland trucks on nearly all continents. It is one of the cheapest ways to travel in a group situation. I have been on 7 separate trips the shortest was 5 weeks the longest nearly 5 months. The tour leaders employed by Dragoman that I have had the pleasure to travel with have all been professional, fun loving and firendly. Herding a gaggle of tourists around the world making sure that they are fed and have a bed is not always easy but they have all managed well.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 06 Aug 2018:

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your latest Dragoman Trip. We take on board all feedback and look to continuously ensure our adventurous overlanding trips are the best they can be.

Reviewer's images:
Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 06 Aug 2018:

Thank you again for your wonderful comments regarding our Draqgoman crew. We are pleased to hear that Dragoman are a regular option for your adventures and we hope you continue to travel with us.

Dragoman Overland by Smiggy, 5 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

A great opportunity to visit Ethiopia

A chance to see a large part of Ethiopia which was brilliant, travelling with like minded travellers is great. Disappointing that we could visit the Danakil Depression at the time of our trip but I see that this is now included.

A chance to see a large part of Ethiopia which was brilliant, travelling with like minded travellers is great. Disappointing that we could visit the Danakil Depression at the time of our trip but I see that this is now included.

Rating for tour operator:

I have travelled with Dragoman many times and will continue to do so, they give opportunities to see many places and I like the trip style, overloading is so enjoyable and a great way to meet people who remain friends for life.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 06 Aug 2018:

Thank you for your great comments. The itineraries have changed slightly and may cover places that we previously hadn't on our Dragoman Adventures, however we are glad you had a great time!

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 06 Aug 2018:

Thank you again for such wonderful comments regarding our company and our Dragoman Crew.

Backroads of Patagonia by Ned, 4 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

An excellent introduction and experience of Bhutan

The support and guidance from all involved was first class. The organisation and choice of locations to visit included famous places and hidden gems. Some of it was up close and personal and some at a more relaxed distance, a really well balanced and fascinating mix.

The support and guidance from all involved was first class. The organisation and choice of locations to visit included famous places and hidden gems. Some of it was up close and personal and some at a more relaxed distance, a really well balanced and fascinating mix.

Rating for tour operator:

Top rate operator. The itinerary and the support from the crew showed this company has a great depth of experience on both places to visit and on travelers. Highly recommended for this type of holiday.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 06 Aug 2018:

Thank you for your great comments, we are really happy you enjoyed your overlanding trip from Santiago to Ushuaia with our Dragoman Crew.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 06 Aug 2018:

Thanks again for your excellent review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next Dragoman adventure!

Andes, Amazon, Altiplano & Ataca by Robbo , 30 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Overlanding gets you to the unknown

Travelled 60 days from Santiago to Quito in South America on ‘the’ truck. With driver and administrator sharing their roles, taking us on a magic journey, we visited places both unknown and famous. A highlight; Cuzco and the great walk along the classic Inca trail to Machu Picchu.

Travelled 60 days from Santiago to Quito in South America on ‘the’ truck. With driver and administrator sharing their roles, taking us on a magic journey, we visited places both unknown and famous. A highlight; Cuzco and the great walk along the classic Inca trail to Machu Picchu.

Rating for tour operator:

Dragoman is a well organised operator from their administration through to their ground operations. Their set itineraries cover all places one expects to visit plus more, usually arriving at the unexpected. Overlanding is one of those experiences that you need to go with the flow, expect the unexpected; Dragoman will get you to the destination in the end.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 31 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your excellent feedback of your latest Dragoman Overlanding Tour.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 31 Jul 2018:

Thanks again for your wonderful feedback regarding our Dragoman staff.

Altiplano & Gaucho Explorer by Plane injuneer, 30 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Northern South America - INTERESTING

Bolivia - very good, surreal in places. Fabulous scenery. La Paz was indifferent but Uyuni and environs was BRILLIANT Northern Argentina - more friendly than expected Northern Chile - Atacama / Moon Valley and Star gazing is a MUST Central Argentina - Cordaba area is very green and Mendoza was hot and many vineyards. Crossing into Chile over Andes was SLOW but superb scenery

Bolivia - very good, surreal in places. Fabulous scenery. La Paz was indifferent but Uyuni and environs was BRILLIANT Northern Argentina - more friendly than expected Northern Chile - Atacama / Moon Valley and Star gazing is a MUST Central Argentina - Cordaba area is very green and Mendoza was hot and many vineyards. Crossing into Chile over Andes was SLOW but superb scenery

Rating for tour operator:

I have done 4 trips with Dragoman - I have rated them between OK to Bloody brilliant. The rating depends on world location, fellow travelers and the personality of the Dragoman team. Good points - generally the Dragoman team work really hard and motivate the travelers. The lorries are FUN (the school bus isn't). You can REALLY get out of the mainstream and into remote areas. GOOD VALUE for money Less good points - Trip notes are poor and don't really give a good indication of what to expect (get a good guide book and try to interpret the itinerary). 'Home base' contact staff work hard and very helpful but let down my their management. Bad point - their emergency back up phone system is RUBBISH. Basically didn't work when I needed it (comment does not apply to the ZZS trip though)

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 31 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your great comments regarding your Dragoman Adventure.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 31 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your comments regarding your experiences with Dragoman. Sorry to hear that you are disappointed with our trip notes and our management team. I can assure you that we take all negative feedback very seriously and we are constantly striving to ensure a consistent standard of customer service. Your comments have been passed on to our team for their attention. In this respect, I would like to reassure you that any issues with the emergency back up phone system have now been resolved.

Serengeti, Zambezi & Vic Falls by French Seb, 29 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing overland through East and South Africa

I did a trip from Nairobi to Cape Town to discover Africa and all the wildlife, cultures and people. I did 6 safaris with different landscapes and atmosphere.

I did a trip from Nairobi to Cape Town to discover Africa and all the wildlife, cultures and people. I did 6 safaris with different landscapes and atmosphere.

Rating for tour operator:

Dragoman crew was well organized and really helpful to improve my knowledge of african wildlife. They could answer to any questions i had during the preparation, the payment and the trip

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 30 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your Dragoman Overlanding experience.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 30 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your Dragoman experience.

Eastern Trans Africa by Yasu, 29 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Nile Route Between CAIRO and NAIROBI

During my trip I had visited four countries . That was my firt good experience to visit those countries . Each country had unique landscape and treindly people . I was so happy that I could enjoy this trip. So I want to visit those countries again in the future.

During my trip I had visited four countries . That was my firt good experience to visit those countries . Each country had unique landscape and treindly people . I was so happy that I could enjoy this trip. So I want to visit those countries again in the future.

Rating for tour operator:

Our Tour Leader and Driver were very kind and friendly . Especially when I had some troubles they helped me. Thanks to them I could enjoy my trip from departure to end . I want to see them again .

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 30 Jul 2018:

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip with us.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 30 Jul 2018:

We are delighted to hear that our crew helped you enjoy your trip.

Northern India & Nepal by Roz.b, 29 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Perfect trip

This was to celebrate my 60th. I was with a group of friends and this itinerary interested us all. It was amazing! A well planned itinerary that took us to places we would not find on our own. The organisation of the trip was excellent and there were no hiccups. The driving, information about places and sites were excellent and the hotels and lodges stayed at were all so lovely. We had a wide variety of experiences and many, many laughs. We ...

This was to celebrate my 60th. I was with a group of friends and this itinerary interested us all. It was amazing! A well planned itinerary that took us to places we would not find on our own. The organisation of the trip was excellent and there were no hiccups. The driving, information about places and sites were excellent and the hotels and lodges stayed at were all so lovely. We had a wide variety of experiences and many, many laughs. We met fabulous fellow passengers who added to the great experience

Rating for tour operator:

They were very helpful with organising our trip and adding an extra person later on! Nothing was too much trouble. They were friendly, polite, courteous, and professional to just the right degree. I would highly recommend Dragoman - and have done so many times!

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 30 Jul 2018:

That sounds like a fantastic birthday experience! We are so pleased you lvoed your Dragoman Adventure.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 30 Jul 2018:

We are very pleased you were happy with your Dragoman Overlanding Tour.