AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Dragoman Overland

Dragoman Overland Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Dragoman Overland

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 55
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 56
Reviews Accepted: 56
Reviews Rejected: 0
56 reviews
Sort by:
Backroads of Patagonia by Tina, 26 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Such an amazing overland adventure!

Our group was amazing along with our guide and driver. The itinerary was a perfect mix of drive days and time at each stop to explore. When the weather was poor and the opportunity was available, we had cabins instead of tents. Bush camping was so much fun though in just being out in the wilderness somewhere. Patagonia is a stunning place to explore and experience with trekking, mountains, glaciers, snow and overall fun and laughs. I couldn't ...

Our group was amazing along with our guide and driver. The itinerary was a perfect mix of drive days and time at each stop to explore. When the weather was poor and the opportunity was available, we had cabins instead of tents. Bush camping was so much fun though in just being out in the wilderness somewhere. Patagonia is a stunning place to explore and experience with trekking, mountains, glaciers, snow and overall fun and laughs. I couldn't have asked for a better holiday or experience with Dragoman.

Rating for tour operator:

Dragoman's trip notes prior to leaving were extensive and thorough. They were also on hand prior for any extra questions. On the road, our guide and driver were each friendly, professional and knowledgeable. Their enthusiasm and enjoy for the job and the road was clear. It was a pleasure to travel alongside them. I hope to travel with Dragoman again in the future.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 28 Nov 2018:

Thanks for your great review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your trip with Dragoman so much.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 28 Nov 2018:

Great to hear that you found our guides so knowledgeable and professional and it was such a pleasure to travel with us. We look forward to welcoming you another time soon!

South China & Indochina Explorer by Anne, 24 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Great overlanding to out of the way places with top notch Group leader and co driver. from Bangkok, through Cambodia to Laos and onto Kunming in China.. None of these places are ‘easy’ from an organisational point of view, but Will had it ‘sorted’ ev

It was in two sections - Imaginative Traveller to Beijing, Xian and Chengdu and the three lady guides were really very good, and they took away all the problems I would have had in China. The hotels were very good and on my own I felt completely comfortable, safe and taken care of. The Dragoman trip from Bangkok to Kunming was simply amazing. Group leader Will and co driver Anita couldn’t have done more for us. The itinerary was SO comprehensive ...

It was in two sections - Imaginative Traveller to Beijing, Xian and Chengdu and the three lady guides were really very good, and they took away all the problems I would have had in China. The hotels were very good and on my own I felt completely comfortable, safe and taken care of. The Dragoman trip from Bangkok to Kunming was simply amazing. Group leader Will and co driver Anita couldn’t have done more for us. The itinerary was SO comprehensive and extra trips he organised went to surprising places - a day kayaking between three out of the way little local villages, foraging for food in the jungle, and a really worthwhile trekking day to a waterfall. I did two extra cooking days which were totally different from each other and were very successful - both organised at day before notice only!

Rating for tour operator:

Dragoman I have had 6 or 7 month long trips with to very exciting off the beaten track holidays in South America, Africa, Asia, India - all overlanding with varying degrees of ‘hardiness’ and every one has been completely different and enjoyable. Part of the charm is meeting people of all ages from all walks of life and different nationalities. They are an organisation which strives to give anyone interested in overlanding the very best experience and help that they can to visit very interesting places.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 28 Nov 2018:

Thank you for your great review of both Dragoman and our sister company Imaginative Traveller. We're delighted to hear that both legs of your journey were such a success.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 28 Nov 2018:

Its great to hear that you've travelled with Dragoman so many times and had such amazing experiences!

Backroads of Patagonia by Dr. L. Stockbridge. , 24 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

It was a wonderful if slightly challenging trip for us with loads of fantastic memories. Quite superb.

Santiago to Ushuaia overlanding, 26/10 to 21/Nov. 2018. Weather mixed, all 4 seasons, as expected in Patagonia. 20 clients from 8 different countries, brilliant bunch of people of different backgrounds and ages. I was the oldest male and my wife the oldest female. All mixed well and helped each other all the time.

Santiago to Ushuaia overlanding, 26/10 to 21/Nov. 2018. Weather mixed, all 4 seasons, as expected in Patagonia. 20 clients from 8 different countries, brilliant bunch of people of different backgrounds and ages. I was the oldest male and my wife the oldest female. All mixed well and helped each other all the time.

Rating for tour operator:

Dragomen seem a very experienced operator with cool trucks and classic equipment. I would certainly recommend them to like minded friends with a desire for adventure, with a good sense of punctuality, communal spirit and flexibility!

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 28 Nov 2018:

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the mix of cultures, ages and even the weather on your Dragoman tour!

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 28 Nov 2018:

Thank you for recommending Dragoman!

Spanish Main to the Patagonian P by Ed, 23 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

It is not only the destination but the journey

Fantastic experience, the first time on an overland trip of 4 months. I saw a lot of South America , the local people, I learned a lot about the culture (especially the pre and Inca culture) and I enjoyed the astonishing Andes mountains area

Fantastic experience, the first time on an overland trip of 4 months. I saw a lot of South America , the local people, I learned a lot about the culture (especially the pre and Inca culture) and I enjoyed the astonishing Andes mountains area

Rating for tour operator:

People that do things away from the touristic routes and that makes traveling with Dragoman so special

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 28 Nov 2018:

Thank you for your great review of your Dragoman tour across South America.

Reviewer's images:
Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 28 Nov 2018:

We're delighted that overlanding with Dragoman suited you so well.

Heritage Nepal & Safari by SEC86, 17 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Experience!

I joined Dragoman for a 12 day overlanding trip round Nepal. It was an absolutely amazing trip and would highly recommend it. I'm a 32yo female who joined the group on my own and felt safe the whole time. I have never been on a trip like this before (or outside of Europe) but it was a great trip, well organised and very friendly. The tour guide (Prim) was amazing, she was so friendly and knowledgeable and helpful that she honestly made the whole ...

I joined Dragoman for a 12 day overlanding trip round Nepal. It was an absolutely amazing trip and would highly recommend it. I'm a 32yo female who joined the group on my own and felt safe the whole time. I have never been on a trip like this before (or outside of Europe) but it was a great trip, well organised and very friendly. The tour guide (Prim) was amazing, she was so friendly and knowledgeable and helpful that she honestly made the whole trip even more fantastic that it already was. Matt (the driver) was also really friendly and his driving skills were amazing. I had a brilliant time and would highly recommend to anyone thinking of joining. It doesn't matter what age or fitness ability you are for this trip, our group ranging from fit 18yos to 70yos that had to miss the odd hiking excursion.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised and helpful. I'm saving up to go on my next Dragoman next year. Thanks for the great experience!!

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 20 Nov 2018:

So pleased to hear that you had such a fantastic experience with Matt and Prim in Nepal with Dragoman!

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 20 Nov 2018:

We look forward to welcome you on another Dragoman trip very soon!

Serengeti & Zanzibar Wanderer by PaulD79, 21 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

A great overland trip with a mix of wildlife and culture.

The trip was an overland trip from Nairobi to Zanzibar. This included trips to the Tarangire National Park, Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater. Also exploration of Nairobi itself and a number of excursions/trips/walks to see various areas on the tour.

The trip was an overland trip from Nairobi to Zanzibar. This included trips to the Tarangire National Park, Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater. Also exploration of Nairobi itself and a number of excursions/trips/walks to see various areas on the tour.

Rating for tour operator:

We went with Dragoman. A very good professional company who delivered a great first experience of overlanding. The trip was well organised by them with the use of experienced/knowledgeable personal. Will defiantly travel with them again.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 07 Nov 2018:

Great to hear that your overlanding trip with Dragoman was such a success.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 07 Nov 2018:

Thank you for you great feedback about Dragoman. We hope you decide on another overlanding trip very soon.

Namibia & Botswana Wanderer by Marilyn, 22 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Great Overlanding in Africa

Month long overland trip starting in Cape Town, travelling up the west coast to Namibia, Botswana, & Zimbabwe.

Month long overland trip starting in Cape Town, travelling up the west coast to Namibia, Botswana, & Zimbabwe.

Rating for tour operator:

To get the most out of a Drago trip you must be prepared to pitch in... pitching your own tent, washing up, helping to prep meals & truck jobs. Drago staff are friendly, very helpful, and knowledgeable about the areas they travel to and through

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 24 Aug 2018:

Thanks for your comments. We really hope you enjoyed your month long Dragoman adventure in Africa with us!

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 24 Aug 2018:

Thanks again for your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overlanding experience with our Dragoman team.

Namibia & Botswana Wanderer by Panda, 22 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous journey

I love travelling to places that are not filled with tourists and i love the overlanding style. Both my trips with them were great, full of adventures and lifetime memories.

I love travelling to places that are not filled with tourists and i love the overlanding style. Both my trips with them were great, full of adventures and lifetime memories.

Rating for tour operator:

I have been with Drago two times, and both times were great. Organization is flawless, but the way this overlanding trips run is that they don’t take the unexpected away from you, since those things make travelling so special.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 24 Aug 2018:

Thank you so much for your kind feedback! We too are thrilled that you have had several amazing overlanding adventures with Dragoman.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 24 Aug 2018:

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your experience with our Dragoman Tours. You are quite correct, overlanding is all about the unexpected but it is also a great way to get around and see things off the beaten track. We hope to see you again soon!

India & Nepal Encompassed by AJ, 13 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Perfect 3-month tour of India and Nepal

The 90 day tour of India and Nepal was sensational. From the mountains of Nepal to the Taj Mahal and over to the desert in Rajastan, the beaches of Goa, the ruins of Hampi, the tribal region of Odisha and back to the moutains of Darjeeling, everything went smoothly. The Dragoman truck was comfortable and the crew ensure we had a great experience.

The 90 day tour of India and Nepal was sensational. From the mountains of Nepal to the Taj Mahal and over to the desert in Rajastan, the beaches of Goa, the ruins of Hampi, the tribal region of Odisha and back to the moutains of Darjeeling, everything went smoothly. The Dragoman truck was comfortable and the crew ensure we had a great experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Dragoman takes travelers around teh world in truck outfitted for overlanding. The truck have a lot of characters! They are safe and comfortable, and give us a home for the duration of the tour.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 13 Aug 2018:

Thanks so much for your great review of your Dragoman tour of India and Nepal.

Ethiopia, Historic Route & Danak by Natasha, 10 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Dragoman overland trip from Addis Ababa to Gondar

My trip with Dragoman was a true overlanding adventure! The highlight of my trip was spending 3 days in the Danakil Depression. We climbed volcanoes, swam in salt lakes and saw the ground erupt in colour at Dallol. Time spent interacting with local people and sampling Ethiopian food made me feel as though I was truly experiencing the country rather than just watching from afar. All of this combined with visits to Lalibela, the lake monasteries ...

My trip with Dragoman was a true overlanding adventure! The highlight of my trip was spending 3 days in the Danakil Depression. We climbed volcanoes, swam in salt lakes and saw the ground erupt in colour at Dallol. Time spent interacting with local people and sampling Ethiopian food made me feel as though I was truly experiencing the country rather than just watching from afar. All of this combined with visits to Lalibela, the lake monasteries and hiking in the Simien Mountains made it a trip I will always remember.

Rating for tour operator:

As the Destination Manager for Africa here at Dragoman I feel like it is vital I directly experience the product we are delivering. I am proud to say that the experience I had in Ethiopia matched with the standard, ethos and vision we have back in the office for what our trips should be. Our crew stood out as exceptionally prepared and calm in the face of the inherent challenges Ethiopia presents.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 10 Aug 2018:

That's great to hear such positive feedback regarding your Dragoman trip!

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 10 Aug 2018:

It is great to here these positve comments from yourself as the Destinations Manager for Africa. It ensures our Dragoman trips are keeping to the high standards we strive for.