AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Dragoman Overland

Dragoman Overland Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Dragoman Overland

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 55
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 1
Reviews Submitted: 56
Reviews Accepted: 56
Reviews Rejected: 0
56 reviews
Sort by:
Voodoo & Vibes of West Africa by Rivka P., 5 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Dragoman ZAA tour

ZAA is a wonderful ethnic trip: Don't be afraid of the heat – it is only at noon hours, neither pay too much attention to mosquitoes – they rarely appear ( I took Melarone). Togo-Benin: We met only few tourists, and the public transportation is bad, so it is a good idea to take a camping tour, which also leaves enough time to be on your own. Not to mention that the spoken language is not English. We attended 3 different voodoo ceremonies ...

ZAA is a wonderful ethnic trip: Don't be afraid of the heat – it is only at noon hours, neither pay too much attention to mosquitoes – they rarely appear ( I took Melarone). Togo-Benin: We met only few tourists, and the public transportation is bad, so it is a good idea to take a camping tour, which also leaves enough time to be on your own. Not to mention that the spoken language is not English. We attended 3 different voodoo ceremonies in Benin, 2 of them at Abomey on voodoo day 10th January and a dumming-dancing show in Togo. Usually the drives were until midday. A local guide waited us ay every destintion, with whom we visited the villages and had some (short) treks. Ghana: We were only in Accra-Akosombo. I visited Ghana by myself – they all speak English, pleanty of guesthouses and transportation by tro-tro in easily founded. Donwt miss 2 adventures: Kakum-sleeping on a tree, and Kumasi: Akwasidea festival (in happen every 42-45 days, see on web-site, and you can go there either before ZAA tour or after). I would like to recommend the trip with all my heart, Rivka, 74 years old, Israel.

Rating for tour operator:

I had fluent contact with Dragoman. The trip was well organized and excellentely carried out

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 05 Mar 2020:

Thanks you for your great feedback of your Voodoo and Vibes Trip with Dragoman. We're delighted to hear that you were so happy.

Wildlands of Patagonia & the Alt by Anne, 28 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

Overlanding southamerica Ushuaia-Santiago

We were on the Dragoman truck for 23 days through patagonia! The scenery it self was amazing and the stops we did as Well. BUT at the end on this trip we had to pay extra because the kitty didn’t cover it all and we already paid a lot of money!! The worst part of it all was one of our drivers! He didn’t respect the human lives he had in his truck, he would get drunk the Night before an early drive and also drink during the day!

We were on the Dragoman truck for 23 days through patagonia! The scenery it self was amazing and the stops we did as Well. BUT at the end on this trip we had to pay extra because the kitty didn’t cover it all and we already paid a lot of money!! The worst part of it all was one of our drivers! He didn’t respect the human lives he had in his truck, he would get drunk the Night before an early drive and also drink during the day!

Rating for tour operator:

When we took our concerns to Dragoman they basically didn’t believe us because the driver Said he never drank before a driving day. We would never recomend Dragoman to any one after this experience! The Company should take a little more Care of their costumors!!!

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 02 May 2019:

We're very disappointed to see your feedback of your trip and did just want to highlight two points for you. The kitty which covers the cost of all accommodation, included activities and food whilst camping. Whilst there is usually a small refund due to the group at the end of this trip, in this case, the tour leader did included quite a few upgrades and extras on kitty than usual. As a result they went slightly over budget and had to ask for just an extra 2 EURs per person (1500 CLPs) to cover the overspend. This is a very rare occurrence on a Dragoman trip for which we apologise.

We take any allegations of drinking and driving very seriously and if after investigation, the allegation had been substantiated; our contract of employment with the crew member would have been terminated immediately. We did carry out an investigation at the time and were satisfied that our co-leader was not drinking and driving. Our co-leader is an extremely experienced crew member, having worked for us for over 5 years and, like all of our crew, is very aware of the consequences of drinking and driving. However, we are very sorry that you were worried about this at the time.

Zanzibar, Zambezi & the Falls by Tricky, 2 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant

Overland adventure travel from Victoria Falls to Nairobi, via Zanzibar.

Overland adventure travel from Victoria Falls to Nairobi, via Zanzibar.

Rating for tour operator:

Dragoman are a very long established overland adventure travel company. Their tours aim to get off the beaten track to explore the more remote locations as well as the major attractions.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 07 Feb 2019:

Thanks for your great feedback of your Dragoman tour in Africa.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 07 Feb 2019:

We're delighted to hear that you have such a great trip with Dragoman.

Voodoo & Vibes of West Africa by Andrea, 24 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

An overlanding trip through Ghana, Benin and Togo.

We have just finished an amazing three week trip through West Africa. Whilst there are no 'wow' sites in this area, the opportunity to learn about the traditions and culture of these little-visited countries makes the journey worthwhile. Highlights for us included game drives in Pendjari National Park and visiting the stilt village of Ganvie, the 'Venice of Africa'.

We have just finished an amazing three week trip through West Africa. Whilst there are no 'wow' sites in this area, the opportunity to learn about the traditions and culture of these little-visited countries makes the journey worthwhile. Highlights for us included game drives in Pendjari National Park and visiting the stilt village of Ganvie, the 'Venice of Africa'.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second trip with Dragoman. We love the whole overlanding experience and rate Drago highly for their vehicles, their crew, and the fact that they use local guides in the places they go to.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 28 Jan 2019:

Thanks for your great feedback about Dragoman's Voodoo and Vibes of West Africa Trip.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 28 Jan 2019:

We're delighted to hear that you had an amazing tour and thank you for sharing this.

India - the Chaos, Charm & Calm by elslo, 16 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing trip

I spent a couple of months travelling around various parts of India and Nepal with Dragoman in 2018 and I must say I had an amazing time. The countries are a complete culture shock, but a very worthwhile one - but, apart from that, the crew were fantastic at their job and made the journey very manageable. As a bonus they also made for awesome and very knowledgeable travelling companions.

I spent a couple of months travelling around various parts of India and Nepal with Dragoman in 2018 and I must say I had an amazing time. The countries are a complete culture shock, but a very worthwhile one - but, apart from that, the crew were fantastic at their job and made the journey very manageable. As a bonus they also made for awesome and very knowledgeable travelling companions.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the second time I've travelled with Dragoman as in 2017 I went through Turkey & Iran with them and had an equally unforgettable experience. I can't recommend these guys highly enough. They consistently offer a good product.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 24 Jan 2019:

Thanks for your great review of Dragoman.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 24 Jan 2019:

We're delighted to see that you've traveled with Dragoman twice now and both times had an unforgettable experience

Dragoman Overland by HRW, 8 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

My favourite holiday ever

Overlanding through Bolivia, Chile & Argentina

Overlanding through Bolivia, Chile & Argentina

Rating for tour operator:

Fantastic- great route, really good crew and a brilliant trip. Only downside was itinerary planning meant some trip features (such as stargazing in the atacaama) could never have happened due to timing

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 10 Jan 2019:

Thank you for your great feedback.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 10 Jan 2019:

Its great to hear that your Dragoman trip to South America was your favourite holiday ever!

Namibia & Botswana Wanderer by Ali, 3 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely EPIC!!

I have just returned from the Cape Town to Vic Falls trip which took place from 3rd December to 26th December. I have been on a number of adventure tours before but nothing quite like this. Every day of the trip was fantastic! It was 3.5 weeks but it felt like so much longer as we saw and experienced so much. I really feel like we got off the beaten track and got to experience so much of the incredible countries visited. There are too many highli...

I have just returned from the Cape Town to Vic Falls trip which took place from 3rd December to 26th December. I have been on a number of adventure tours before but nothing quite like this. Every day of the trip was fantastic! It was 3.5 weeks but it felt like so much longer as we saw and experienced so much. I really feel like we got off the beaten track and got to experience so much of the incredible countries visited. There are too many highlights to name them all, but tracking white rhino on foot, and bush camping in the Okavango Delta, and meeting the SAN Bushmen are a few that really stood out for me. The trip has everything - breath-taking scenery - from the stunning granite mountains of Spitzkoppe, climbing dune 45 at dealvlei to watch the sunrise, to the sprawling grassy plains of the Okavango delta. An abundance of wildlife (we saw the big five, and so much more!) and flora (understanding the many uses of the local plants from washing, medicine and those that can kill you in 30 minutes! and the chance to learn about different cultures along the way. The african sunrises and sunsets are also breathtaking! There is a great balance of optional activities as well so you can decide whether to take a day chilling with a Gin and Tonic by the pool at one of the many really well equipped campsites we stayed in, or pick up one of the activities (I would definitely recommend white water rafting at Vic falls!) We had a really nice group of people on the trip and sent many nights sat under a sky layered with stars getting to know each other around a fire which is how life should be lived! I want to say a huge shout out to our driver David and cook Denford who are truly awesome guys. They looked after us so well. The food was incredible every night, and David took on days of long drives across tricky terrain. Speaking of which, if it is possible to fall in love with a truck, I certainly did. Imani did us proud, taking us the whole way across four countries, never failing us so she deserves a bit thank you too! I loved the trip so much. I am already looking at booking my next Dragoman trip for March this year (officially addicted now)

Rating for tour operator:

I firmly believe that a tour leader can make or break a trip. I am therefore so happy and thankful for Ben. This guy is nothing short of awesome! Finding the perfect balance of ensuring everything is organised and prepared and running smoothly, whilst being completely laid back and chilled; and getting involved and having a laugh with the group is an art he has thoroughly mastered. His enthusiasm and PMA was infectious, ensuring the vibe on the truck was always a happy one. Nothing was ever too much trouble. He was always professional and ensured the safety and welfare of the group was first and foremost and that all shared tasks were completed fairly by the group. This again was executed in such a way that everyone was aware, but relaxed and able to enjoy their time. We had it nailed pretty quickly and everyone chipped in. He is extremely knowledgeable on travel, wildlife and bush craft, his passion in these areas really came through and added to our great experience. He even showed us some survival techniques, which included making our own fire! Literally the best tour leader I have ever toured with, he made an already great trip that much more awesome.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 08 Jan 2019:

Thank you for your amazing feedback on your recent Dragoman trip. We are delighted to hear that you are already planning another trip and look forward to welcoming you again in a few weeks time!

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 08 Jan 2019:

Its wonderful to hear that your tour leader made your trip so epic and that we've got you addicted to Dragoman!

South China & Indochina Explorer by AJ, 29 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

SE Asia over land was incredible

My tour with Dragoman was beyond fantastic! From the temples of Angkor wat and a sunset cruise in Phnom Penh, to biking on the islands of southern Laos, to the Shillin Stone forest of China, and all the way back south through Myanmar, this tour was packed with nature, culture, food, and experiences. I really got under the skin of each country, I highly recommend it.

My tour with Dragoman was beyond fantastic! From the temples of Angkor wat and a sunset cruise in Phnom Penh, to biking on the islands of southern Laos, to the Shillin Stone forest of China, and all the way back south through Myanmar, this tour was packed with nature, culture, food, and experiences. I really got under the skin of each country, I highly recommend it.

Rating for tour operator:

Dragoman offers unique ways to see the world on an overland truck that provides the convenience of a home on wheels and a family too while on the road. Their vehicle and their crew are outstanding.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 07 Jan 2019:

Great to hear that you had such a good trip with Dragoman through Asia.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 07 Jan 2019:

Thank you for your amazing review of Dragoman.

Mexico, Central America & Colomb by Tired Legs, 17 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Get down and dirty and expect the unexpected

Its hardcore without sufferings of being real backpacker. The fact that Dragoman have been doing these sort of trips for a long time only benefits the traveller. The crew are as always enthusiastic about what they do and what they can do for you. It is bloody hard work but it is so much fun and you see and do so much. Never a dull moment except maybe for a few long drives but if you don't drive places you won't see anything. A great experience ...

Its hardcore without sufferings of being real backpacker. The fact that Dragoman have been doing these sort of trips for a long time only benefits the traveller. The crew are as always enthusiastic about what they do and what they can do for you. It is bloody hard work but it is so much fun and you see and do so much. Never a dull moment except maybe for a few long drives but if you don't drive places you won't see anything. A great experience for those willing to be less than 5 star.

Rating for tour operator:

A very experienced overland company , probably the best ever.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 18 Dec 2018:

Thank you for your great comments about Dragoman's experience and knowledge in overlanding. We're delighted that you had so much fun and saw and did so much.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 18 Dec 2018:

Thank you for saying Dragoman is probably the best ever overland company!

India & Nepal Encompassed by Mumma, 2 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

The time of my life!

I travelled on an overland Dragoman truck from Kathmandu in Nepal, completed the circuit of India and returned to Nepal. I experienced the most wonderful people, temples, palaces, festivals, smells, foods and atmosphere of both countries. So many times, we would be the only Western people in a village or a market and I am sure may locals had never seen a Westerner before.

I travelled on an overland Dragoman truck from Kathmandu in Nepal, completed the circuit of India and returned to Nepal. I experienced the most wonderful people, temples, palaces, festivals, smells, foods and atmosphere of both countries. So many times, we would be the only Western people in a village or a market and I am sure may locals had never seen a Westerner before.

Rating for tour operator:

Dragoman operate overland truck trips to wonderful places around the world. Their drivers are tour leaders and are informative, safe and lots of fun.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 03 Dec 2018:

Thank you for your great review of Dragoman. We're delighted to hear that it was the trip of a lifetime for you.

Dragoman Overland responded to this review on 03 Dec 2018:

Great to hear that you really got off the beaten track with Dragoman.