AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Discover Egypt

Discover Egypt Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Discover Egypt

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 10
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 10
Reviews Accepted: 10
Reviews Rejected: 0
10 reviews
Sort by:
Classic Egypt Nile & Cairo by Raster , 19 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing

Recently come back from a great holiday with Discover Egypt We stopped on the tulips the staff where helpful and friendly. Our tour guild waheem was very knowledgeable extremely helpful. He went out of his way to help you and make feel almost at home The disappointment was in Cairo, I would recommend you don’t buy any Jewellery or gifts here as it’s cost about 25% more than in LuxorThe tour guild I. Cairo took us to her cousins shop where ...

Recently come back from a great holiday with Discover Egypt We stopped on the tulips the staff where helpful and friendly. Our tour guild waheem was very knowledgeable extremely helpful. He went out of his way to help you and make feel almost at home The disappointment was in Cairo, I would recommend you don’t buy any Jewellery or gifts here as it’s cost about 25% more than in LuxorThe tour guild I. Cairo took us to her cousins shop where I was talked into buying a chain, only found out later she was on commission which I thought was a bit wrong. Otherwise a great trip

Rating for tour operator:

Very good and efficient

Discover Egypt responded to this review on 20 Nov 2019:

Thank you for your feedback and in particular about the gift shops - for better or worse tour guides, throughout the world, do tend to collect commissions from shops. Glad the holiday went well.

Discover Egypt responded to this review on 20 Nov 2019:

Thank you

Nile Cruise by Mrs C H 19, 13 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

7 Day Nile Cruise - MS Tulip

MS Tulip - Luxor to Aswan 7 day Nile Cruise Myself and my family have just returned from an amazing holiday on MS Tulip. It was the first visit to Egypt for my family and my seventh as I love the country and people very much, however, this was my first experience sailing on this beautiful boat. The fabulous food and service onboard is second to none. The manager and staff could not do enough to make this a memorable holiday for all of ...

MS Tulip - Luxor to Aswan 7 day Nile Cruise Myself and my family have just returned from an amazing holiday on MS Tulip. It was the first visit to Egypt for my family and my seventh as I love the country and people very much, however, this was my first experience sailing on this beautiful boat. The fabulous food and service onboard is second to none. The manager and staff could not do enough to make this a memorable holiday for all of us, all so friendly and helpful. The decor is stunning, cabins spacious, all areas so clean, kept to such a high standard. The guide, Omar, was fabulous as usual, very knowledgeable and went out of his way to ensure we had a wonderful time, not only during the inclusive trips but also a coffee shop experience in his hometown. I can not rate Discover Egypt and MS Tulip & staff highly enough. Thank you for a memorable & wonderful holiday yet again!

Rating for tour operator:

I would not use any other company for this region, very experienced and honest when it comes to meeting your needs.

Classic Egypt Nile & Cairo by KB13, 6 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful holiday with Discover Egypt

My husband & I (late 40’s) did the 10 night break - 3 nights Cairo & 7 nights Nile Cruise with Discover Egypt and wow!! we had a brilliant holiday. They take care of all the arrangements, the Egyptologists are super-knowledgeable and really help you to understand all the history & keep it fun too. We stayed on the Steinenburger Legacy & were very happy with the boat. Good food, with plenty of choices. Excellent service all around. Rooms good ...

My husband & I (late 40’s) did the 10 night break - 3 nights Cairo & 7 nights Nile Cruise with Discover Egypt and wow!! we had a brilliant holiday. They take care of all the arrangements, the Egyptologists are super-knowledgeable and really help you to understand all the history & keep it fun too. We stayed on the Steinenburger Legacy & were very happy with the boat. Good food, with plenty of choices. Excellent service all around. Rooms good with full sliding doors/views. Very clean. Entertainment a bit lacking but you don’t go on this type of river cruise expecting full-on ship cruise entertainment. We were super happy with the whole holiday & experience & met some great, likeminded holiday pals. Would certainly recommend Discover Egypt & wouldn’t hesitate to travel with them again.

Rating for tour operator:

Would certainly recommend Discover Egypt - everything was organised & taken care of - just what you need in Egypt & felt safe at all times. The Egyptologists on our tours were amazingly knowledgeable & added so much to our trip. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.

Classic Egypt Nile & Cairo by Slainte Y'all, 4 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cairo and Dahabiya Nile Cruise 10 night vacation

After planning and anticipating this trip for over 6 months, we spent 10 days in Egypt in February and our holiday surpassed all our expectations. We were a group of five, with three of the group traveling from the USA and the other two traveling from Ireland. We were met in the airport, helped through the visa controls and then escorted to a welcome van. We were even helped through the check in process at our hotel, the Marriott Mena House...

After planning and anticipating this trip for over 6 months, we spent 10 days in Egypt in February and our holiday surpassed all our expectations. We were a group of five, with three of the group traveling from the USA and the other two traveling from Ireland. We were met in the airport, helped through the visa controls and then escorted to a welcome van. We were even helped through the check in process at our hotel, the Marriott Mena House. The Mena House was lovely and tranquil, with an amazing view of the Giza Pyramids. I want to go back to Egypt just to stay there again. Each morning in Cairo we were met promptly by our driver with the van and our guide. Raham, who was so much more for us than a tour guide - mostly guide, but also group photographer, shopping director and culture interpreter - was fabulous. Our transportation to the Cairo Airport for our flight to Aswan, was also seamless, and we were met at the Aswan Airport without incident. A Dahabiya is a small boat. Ours, the Sonesta Amarit, had a total of five regular cabins and two suites. Our group, along with another couple who had booked with Discover Egypt, had our own guide along for the cruise. Assem, just as our guide in Cairo had been, was excellent. He was very accommodating for our group, and unselfishly shared the history and his love for his country with us. He went out of his way, at every turn, to ensure that we were enjoying our holiday. The crew on the Dayabiya was amazing. They were polite and always eager to do anything that would make our holiday more memorable. The trip was planned for my birthday. When a member or our party told our guide, Assem, he worked with the boat crew to arrange a birthday celebration and a gorgeous cake. I can't recommend Mena House, Sonesta Amarit or Discover Egypt enough. This was truly an amazing vacation.

Rating for tour operator:

We booked with Discover Egypt because they offered the combination package of Cairo and a Nile Cruise on a Dahabiya. Discover Egypt worked tirelessly on the planning and the logistics and making sure that we were able to squeeze in every sight we wanted to see along the way. Our experience with Discover Egypt was, from start to finish, simply amazing. We won’t hesitate to book with them again when we start planning our next vacation.

Discover Egypt by Mrs L L 18, 3 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful 10 days in Egypt

Would just like to let you know that we had a fabulous time in Egypt recently. Everything went according to plan, the drivers were all on time and where they should be and the guide on the boat was excellent. We took the guided tour on the first day to the pyramids and Saqqara and then arranged a driver with the hotel for the second day to revisit the pyramids for more photos then on to the Museum. We took the early 7 am flight to Aswan ...

Would just like to let you know that we had a fabulous time in Egypt recently. Everything went according to plan, the drivers were all on time and where they should be and the guide on the boat was excellent. We took the guided tour on the first day to the pyramids and Saqqara and then arranged a driver with the hotel for the second day to revisit the pyramids for more photos then on to the Museum. We took the early 7 am flight to Aswan so before going to the boat we had a taxi to take us to Philae, the unfinished obelisk, a stop for lunch and then the Old Cataract Hotel. What an experience; cocktails on the balcony overlooking the Nile and a guided tour of Agatha Christie's Room by one of the staff. The driver then met us and took us to the boat in time to get across the High Dam. Journey back to Luxor was long but I guess flights are expensive but it gave us a chance to see another side of Egypt. So sad to see so few visitors though. We had Nefertari's temple to ourselves. Hotels and boat were all fine. Everyone very pleasant and helpful.

Rating for tour operator:

We used Discover Egypt. They were very patient with all our queries and made sure that the holiday was tailored to our needs. Would definitely recommend them.

Discover Egypt by redders, 3 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

fantastic throughout

We booked a 13 night Ultimate Egypt tour with Discover Egypt. This included a cruise from Luxor to Aswan, cruise from Abu Simbal to Aswan, three nights hotel in Aswan and three nights hotel in Cairo. The whole tour went like clockwork. it was well organised with all the transfers seamless.

We booked a 13 night Ultimate Egypt tour with Discover Egypt. This included a cruise from Luxor to Aswan, cruise from Abu Simbal to Aswan, three nights hotel in Aswan and three nights hotel in Cairo. The whole tour went like clockwork. it was well organised with all the transfers seamless.

Rating for tour operator:

We used Discover Egypt as they were able to provide a tour that suited us. All the correspondence was good and the staff were knowledgeable to any questions we asked prior to departure. we were met at each airport and the transfers were seamless. the guides used were very informative throughout.

Classic Egypt Nile & Cairo by DebbieT, 29 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Perfect tailor made holiday

We organised a tailor made holiday to Egypt with an emphasis on travelling to sites that aided our study of Egyptology. We had amazing guides and drivers who provided us with the flexibility we needed to enjoy the sites in our own timescales. Perfct hotels added to an enjoyable holiday.

We organised a tailor made holiday to Egypt with an emphasis on travelling to sites that aided our study of Egyptology. We had amazing guides and drivers who provided us with the flexibility we needed to enjoy the sites in our own timescales. Perfct hotels added to an enjoyable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Discover Egpyt and especially Philip Breckner who worked with us to arrange everything to meet our needs was fantastic. He listened to what we wanted and provided the perfect itinerary for us and a very reasonable cost. Discover Egypt was so good at arranging our tailor made holiday we are doing something similar next year with them.

Classic Egypt Nile & Cairo by Gus, 26 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

10-Day Nile Cruise

We had a great time on our Egypt tour. We never had a problem and everything from meet & greet to hotels, cruises and tours were all looked after and properly arranged. Our Cairo guide, Mrs. Amal (Hope), was very helpful and amazingly knowledgeable. She interacted with the group and was very pleasant and sociable, even after those long, long days. The love for her job and pride for Egypt was evident. Our guide in Luxor, Mohamed Fouad, was equally ...

We had a great time on our Egypt tour. We never had a problem and everything from meet & greet to hotels, cruises and tours were all looked after and properly arranged. Our Cairo guide, Mrs. Amal (Hope), was very helpful and amazingly knowledgeable. She interacted with the group and was very pleasant and sociable, even after those long, long days. The love for her job and pride for Egypt was evident. Our guide in Luxor, Mohamed Fouad, was equally up to the task! Mr. Fouad was always available to resolved issues and went out of his way to accommodate our wishes...even going off the tourist path to experience some amazing Turkish coffee at local coffee houses. His knowledge of the sites are exceptional, his kindness refreshing, his professionalism outstanding. Combining all of the above, from the time we set foot in Cairo, to the time we lifted it in Luxor, we can truly say we have discovered Egypt!

Rating for tour operator:

For booking something last minute on the internet, through a tour operator I knew nothing about, to go to a place I have never been...the process could not have gone eaiser. I used the live chat and Philip answered right away. Philip answered my questions and put me at ease. I then checked a few more sites, but soon realized dicovery egypt was heads over the rest. Once I decided, I had everything booked in 20 minutes. Everything from the flights to the meet & greet was right on plan.

Classic Egypt Nile & Cairo by CP, 23 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Well organized great value

Excellent advice from Philip and David so itinerary what we asked for. Transfers well organized without stress. Good guide and superb facilities on Ms Tulip for Nile cruise. High standard of hotels in Jordan.

Excellent advice from Philip and David so itinerary what we asked for. Transfers well organized without stress. Good guide and superb facilities on Ms Tulip for Nile cruise. High standard of hotels in Jordan.

Rating for tour operator:

See above

Classic Egypt Nile & Cairo by coatesy89, 23 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic tailormade tour from Discover Egypt

We had a fantastic 15 days in Egypt! Every detail or reccommendation that Discover Egypt organised was fantastic, from their hotel suggestions, to the boat they recommended and they even saved us money! The boat, cruise, hotels and transfers were fantastic, clean, organised and discover egypt reps were ever present! Highly impressed.

We had a fantastic 15 days in Egypt! Every detail or reccommendation that Discover Egypt organised was fantastic, from their hotel suggestions, to the boat they recommended and they even saved us money! The boat, cruise, hotels and transfers were fantastic, clean, organised and discover egypt reps were ever present! Highly impressed.

Rating for tour operator:

We were really able to tailor our holiday and from when we arrived in Egypt until when we left there was always discover Egypt staff were always there to make sure we had a great holiday. During the quotation stage they gave great advice and helped us save money and every tweak they suggested were fantastic (such as a different hotel to which I had picked). We travel 6-8 weeks per year, and it was one of the most organised holidays, with seamless transfers that I have ever experienced. I would highly recommend them!