Discover Adventure

Reviews of Discover Adventure

Overall company rating
4 96%
Reviews submitted: 98
Reviews accepted: 98
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
87
Good
6
Average
3
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Great local agent support, itinerary change needed

By nakster on 3 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Average
Find more about Mount Kilimanjaro - Machame >

The itinerary and group size made what could be a really top trip, much more arduous, uncomfortable and, on summit day, dangerous than is necessary. As a result many people experienced unnecessary difficulties and illness.

The local crew were extremely slick and professional and took care of the group and their needs very well. The Western leader also did a good job in keeping moral high and the group contained

Rating for tour operator Average

The trip is on the limits of what is safe in terms of rate of ascent. Group size of 28 per leader is well over the international guidance. It seems clear that the operator is putting profit above quality and safety.

Cycle ride from Ho Chi Mihn to Ankor wat

By Hallsy on 17 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Ho Chi Minh to Angkor Wat Cycle >

The trip was extremely well organised and the crew were excellent. The journey was well planned taking in all major sights along the way. Highly recommended

Rating for tour operator Excellent

they did exactly what was required. Fast responses when needed and answered questions in full

DA Costa Rica Rainforest Trek

By Kim on 14 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Coast to Coast Rainforest Trek >

This was an amazing, once-in-a-lifetime, adventure into the tropical rain and cloud forests of Costa Rica topped off by a day of exciting white water rafting!

Much of the time was spent with local families who welcomed us into their homes, or camping - even the cowshed was an experience!

Local guide, Randall, provided a wonderful insight into the wildlife of Costa Rica, and the local support team of Memo and Sonia managed to produce amazing lunches in the middle of nowhere!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The DA crew were fantastic, they engaged with the group with good humour whilst offering professional advice and support. Cannot recommend Alan, Duncan and Doc Lucy highly enough.

The whole challenge was well organised and managed from the start of booking to final night.

Costa Rica Coast to Coast Rainforest Trek.

By Miss C S 17 on 14 Feb 2017

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The support given from Discover Adventure was great, and the team of leaders on the trek were faultless. They were knowledgeable, professional, friendly and approachable.

Amazing temples & colourful countryside in Burma

By Shep on 26 Nov 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Burma Hilltribe Trek >

Surprising scenery from coloured patchwork fields of yellow sesame, white mustard, red chile's and yellow wild sunflowers to elaborately decorated temples. Maroon robed monks on motorbikes is a sight to behold.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

A very well organised company with nothing being too much trouble. The staff are very friendly and take the trouble to make you feel well supported.

Coast to Coast Costa Rica

By PT on 23 Nov 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Coast to Coast Rainforest Trek >

trekking and white water rafting across Costa Rica on a challenging but highly rewarding itinary

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Good, excellent local crew

A great adventure

By Ling Fold on 15 Nov 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Inca Trail to Machu Picchu >

Although the flights didn't connect as there were technical issues, once there and I'm our way it's was an awesome experience that I will never forget! The holiday was well organised, the agents in Cuscoe were always on hand, they made sure we were in the right places at the right times. On the trail itself, the porters were ready to receive everyone at lunchtimes and when going into camps that they had gone ahead and set up. The food was excellent - - three course meal in he middle of nowhere is quite an achievement, that is all down to all the porters and staff that accompany the trek. Wow awesome

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The information that is in the brochure is accurate in what to expect. They do stress a fitness required and not being fully prepared is not the best way to tackle such a trek. In this trek the altitude is a challenge and that is not an easy one to train for.
All the information, where to meet the time was always handled efficiently.
There is many varied treks across the world on offer and they are all graded so depending on your ability you can choose accordingl.
That was my second trek with them, I'm looking to book my third!

Rajasthan cycle

By Shirley S on 15 Nov 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Rajasthan Cycle >

A wonderful mix of cycling and cultural events. Great guides

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very well organised responsive to feedback
Supports ethical sustainable tourism
Coped well with a diverse large group

Madagascar the sleep deprivation trek 2016

By Mr Grin on 14 Nov 2016

Rating for this holiday Poor
Find more about Madagascar Trek >

)upon arrival the transfer to the first Hotel took so long we had between 2 to 3 hours sleep (if you were lucky) before a 13 hour bus ride.As a single male I was asked to share with another lone male in a room with one double bed. Whilst sharing a room was bad enough, sharing a tent became an ordeal. and I suffered severely from lack of sleep as a result. I did notice that there were 4 other trekkers all in single tents yet in spite of my complaints, mostly via the doctor Cath who was on our bus all the time, I wasn't offered the chance of a tent on my own to catch uo on lost sleep. This was my 8th trek, so I am used to putting up with things and putting on a brave face, but this trek tested my patience to the limit and will make me think twice about ever taking on another trek. I hate writing such a negative story when there was so much that was great about Madagascar, ie the people the guides the porters the scenery etc.But because of the constant lack of sleep and the effects it had on my energy levels and my health I didn't manage the trek to the summit of Pic Boby and will forever be disappointed.I realise how much Dave & Cath had on their plate with the water situation and hotel standards etc so my problems were probably small compared with what they were dealing with behind the scenes. I have nothing but praise for the way they dealt with the situations that were thrown at them and they make a very professional team togeather.I feel somewhat mislead when I signed up for this trek as I didn't realise so much time would be spent travelling in Buses or 4x4 trucks (up to 13 hours at a time) and so little time was spent trekking. The duration of this trek needs to be extended to allow for the time spent on the road. The hotel accomadation whilst it improved as we went along, the allocation of rooms needs to be made more fairly.

Rating for tour operator Good

Good information at the airport. Transfers all went smoothly. Some improvements required in getting around Madagascar need to be made as 13 hours in a bus is far too long.The standard of the Hotels needs to be looked at as well as the number of single rooms available. The three days spent trekking in this country is not good value for money especially for those of us that were self funded on this trip.

By Ian on 9 Nov 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Sahara Desert Trek >

Excellently organised and facilitated by the local team

Rating for tour operator Excellent

First class communications, guidance and follow up throughout