AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Casas Cantabricas

Casas Cantabricas Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Casas Cantabricas

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 205
Good 8
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 214
Reviews Accepted: 214
Reviews Rejected: 0
214 reviews
Sort by:
COM8 Casita de Rikke by Family McP, 24 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

An excellent family holiday in Northern Spain

We travelled to Spain on the overnight Brittany ferry arriving into Santander - with two young children and lots of entertainment on the ferry, that was an adventure in itself! From Santander, we drove our car along the coast and to a town called Nava, the heart of "sidre" country where we stayed for several nights in a mountain cottage. This was followed by a wonderful few days in Comillas on the coast at Casita Rikke - let and organised for ...

We travelled to Spain on the overnight Brittany ferry arriving into Santander - with two young children and lots of entertainment on the ferry, that was an adventure in itself! From Santander, we drove our car along the coast and to a town called Nava, the heart of "sidre" country where we stayed for several nights in a mountain cottage. This was followed by a wonderful few days in Comillas on the coast at Casita Rikke - let and organised for us by Andy at Casas. The accommodation was perfect for our family of four, with a sweet upstairs bedroom for the children, and their own play area outside their room and then a cosy living area and separate double bedroom and family bathroom for us downstairs. The house had all the utensils and other items that you could need (too often we find that there is no tin opener or no cheese grater and the property is impractical) which made self-catering easy. Our children also loved the few toys available in the property, and we were able to enjoy the burner each night which kept us cosy and warm on the greyer days. We sadly left Comillas after just a few days (we would have stayed longer) but moved on to Bilbao for the sights of the Guggenheim and much more besides before our return ferry home to England.

Rating for tour operator:

Andy was very helpful throughout booking and during our stay - explaining to us the layout and amenities of the property in detail so we knew what to expect with the children, and even helping us on another part of our holiday not booked through Casas. The information provided by Casas of things to do and restaurants and so on was also very useful and Andy was kind in providing the information for all regions of northern Spain (about which he seemed very knowledgable), and not just for the Comillas area. We would highly recommend his services.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 24 Apr 2019:

Thanks Charlotte - grat to hear that you had such a wonderful time in northern Spain, especially Comillas. We'll pass your comments on to Rikke who will surely be delighted to hear them too!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 24 Apr 2019:

And thanks for those kind words! We really do try to go that little bit further to ensure you get the very best out of your holiday in northern Spain and it's so rewarding when that's appreciated. Hope to hear from you again sometime in the future

PO10 Porto, Douro, Las Beiras by HSD, 13 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous northern Portugal

We had a 2 week self driving tour which took us to 6 very different and diverse places and accommodation. It was fabulous

We had a 2 week self driving tour which took us to 6 very different and diverse places and accommodation. It was fabulous

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabricas delivered a great experience for us at 2 weeks notice. This was a return to Portugal for me after 40 years and a first visit for my wife. We loved it all and the tour operators were fabulous

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 13 Dec 2018:

Thanks Hamish - it was fabulous doing business with you too - glad to hear you had such a great time!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 13 Dec 2018:

And thanks for those kind words, it's so nice when our efforts are appreciated!

PO7 The Porto Run by Blue Streak, 11 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

A tour of North Spain prior to visiting Portugal

An enjoyable relaxing introduction to Spain and Portugal, not having visited either country before

An enjoyable relaxing introduction to Spain and Portugal, not having visited either country before

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient and knowledgeable, ready to help if we got into any difficulty

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 11 Oct 2018:

Thank you Charles for your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your relaxing holiday in Spain and Portugal.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 11 Oct 2018:

Thanks again for your kind words, happy to be of help!

NC3 Taste of the North by CJ Herts, 9 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Circular driving tour of northern Spain

Excellent detailed arrangements and directions throughout the tour which was put together according to our wishes.. Hotels were well chosen in areas that were away from the tourist trail and allowed the chance to see both the countryside and rural life. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Excellent detailed arrangements and directions throughout the tour which was put together according to our wishes.. Hotels were well chosen in areas that were away from the tourist trail and allowed the chance to see both the countryside and rural life. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Easy to contact with quick response to any question. Provided ample information and expertise.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 10 Oct 2018:

Thank you Colin for your great feedback, we're very happy to see you enjoyed your holiday in Northern Spain.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 10 Oct 2018:

Thank you again for your comments, we're always happy to respond to all your queries.

PC1 Cross Pyrenees Tour by Angus, 3 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Good hotels and locations

Well organised holiday touring the best of the Pyranees and North East Spain, with a sojourn on the Med at Cadaques

Well organised holiday touring the best of the Pyranees and North East Spain, with a sojourn on the Med at Cadaques

Rating for tour operator:

With good, friendly and personal service, Casas Cantabricas took one of their standard tours and amended for our personal requirements. Having personally met Any McCullouch I feel that he is a person we can trust to meet our needs.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 03 Oct 2018:

Thank you Andrew for your feedback. We're glad you had an excellent holiday in the Pyrenees and North East Spain.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 03 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your very kind words, it's very rewarding to see our work and knowledge get appreciated.

NC2 Pyrenees-Santiago (Frances) by Rose, 1 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Friendly Spain

Self-drive with pre-booked accommodation in interesting hotels. They included a converted farmhouse, a former monastery and a 19th century hotel built in the style of a castle. People were very friendly & helpful.

Self-drive with pre-booked accommodation in interesting hotels. They included a converted farmhouse, a former monastery and a 19th century hotel built in the style of a castle. People were very friendly & helpful.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabricas. Very helpful over the phone & responded quickly to email enquiries. Expert knowledge of the area. Provided a personalised travel app with included local information, maps & the weather at each destination.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 02 Oct 2018:

Thank you Carol for your feedback, it's great to see you've enjoyed your holiday in Northern Spain.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 02 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your comments, we're glad you found our Vamoos app useful, it's great to see our work is appreciated!

AST3 Casita La Pipa by Hurryhome, 28 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Enlightening Odyssey In Northern Spain

Two centre, DIY fly drive, of Northern Spain using Casa Cantabricas to source our accommodation. This is now our norm to book our own flights, arrange our own car hire and source our own accommodation. Works well for us but can carry risk as currently you won't have ATOL / AITO protection should a carrier fail. I have never visited the north west coast of Spain and was persuaded too. What a revelation. Lush, verdant, mountainous and 'alp' like...

Two centre, DIY fly drive, of Northern Spain using Casa Cantabricas to source our accommodation. This is now our norm to book our own flights, arrange our own car hire and source our own accommodation. Works well for us but can carry risk as currently you won't have ATOL / AITO protection should a carrier fail. I have never visited the north west coast of Spain and was persuaded too. What a revelation. Lush, verdant, mountainous and 'alp' like. Simply stunning and a warm, welcoming populace too. Excellent roads and so lightly used. We booked two properties, both fairly remote but in total contrast to each other. One being suited strictly to two while the other slept six with ease. In each case the properties were exactly as described. We will certainly return to the region.

Rating for tour operator:

From first use of their website to leaving Spain we really can't fault them. Booking and payment was straight forward. One of our first choices of accommodation wasn't available, the one Casa Cantabricas suggested in its stead was wonderful and fitted the bill perfectly. E mail contact, the delivery of directions to the casas was good. Their app surprisingly good and thorough too. It allowed access to all required documents to back up the ones we had printed. Quite simply everything worked. The properties booked were exactly as described on the website.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 01 Oct 2018:

Thank you Graeme for your feedback. we're very happy you found the Northern Spain region to be a "revelation".

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 01 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your very kind words, we're glad to see our hard work is appreciated.

IC3 Wine & Castles of Spain by Big Al, 28 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Lovely

Castles and wine tour in the Rioja and Ribera de Duero regions. We stayed at three castles, 3 days in each and toured several bodegas. It was marvellous fun and we fitted in other visits to museums and a bullfight.

Castles and wine tour in the Rioja and Ribera de Duero regions. We stayed at three castles, 3 days in each and toured several bodegas. It was marvellous fun and we fitted in other visits to museums and a bullfight.

Rating for tour operator:

We have toured with Casas Cantábricas last year in Galicia and loved it. That was in small hotels and B&Bs this time we stayed in castles which was grander and also very good.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 01 Oct 2018:

Thank you Alastair for your feedback, we're very happy to see you enjoyed your holiday.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 01 Oct 2018:

Glad to have helped you again this year and looking forward to arranging new holidays for you in the future!

CUD3 Casa Lorenzo by cornish rover, 28 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

house ok, but garden completely overgrown and unusable

Garden completely overgrown with brambles and nettles, no grass or sun loungers to sit on as shown in pictures on website, had clearly been neglected for the whole season, if not longer. Only part usable was small dirty terrace area that was in the shade all day after 9.00 am. Was a "premier selection" property.

Garden completely overgrown with brambles and nettles, no grass or sun loungers to sit on as shown in pictures on website, had clearly been neglected for the whole season, if not longer. Only part usable was small dirty terrace area that was in the shade all day after 9.00 am. Was a "premier selection" property.

Rating for tour operator:

Disappointed that they allowed us to turn up to this "premier selection" property with the garden in the condition it was.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 01 Oct 2018:

We're so sorry that you found the garden at your holiday home overgrown. As discussed previously, had you alerted us to this fact upon your arrival (via our 24 hour helpline) we would have sent a team round immediately and the issue could have been resolved in good time.
As it was we were not made aware of your problem until after your return home and therefore could only offer financial compensation for the inconvenience caused. This we did as quickly as possible and on the understanding that you were in agreement with the settlement offered.
Having made the settlement and improved arrangements for garden maintenance at the property we considered the matter satisfactorily resolved and we are very disappointed to read your negative comments.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 01 Oct 2018:

As with all our properties we did carry out a thorough inspection shortly before the start of the summer season and the garden, though 'informal' as depicted on our website, was in good order.
We have a long-term collaborative relationship with this particular property and its owner and have never had this type of problem previously but unfortunately, although highly unusual, things can slip during the course of the summer season and in this case, due to the owner having a serious back problem, the garden had become overgrown and nobody had informed us of the fact.
It is our overriding priority that guests have the best possible holiday experience and had this been pointed out we would have resolved it within 24 hours. We sincerely regret that we were not given this opportunity.

Casas Cantabricas by Moya, 28 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Motorbike tour of Northern Spain and Portugal - Loved it!

We spent 10 days touring Northern Spain and Portugal - from Bilbao in Spain to Rotondo outside Evora in Portugal - on a motorbike and had a fantastic holiday! We loved it! The Casas Cantabricas team was always really helpful with any changes we made - and there were a few! The information which we received before we went was really useful but didn't fully prepare us for the beautiful places that we were to discover! The accommodation was ...

We spent 10 days touring Northern Spain and Portugal - from Bilbao in Spain to Rotondo outside Evora in Portugal - on a motorbike and had a fantastic holiday! We loved it! The Casas Cantabricas team was always really helpful with any changes we made - and there were a few! The information which we received before we went was really useful but didn't fully prepare us for the beautiful places that we were to discover! The accommodation was superb - from boutique modern city hotels to a baroque castle hotel and 11th Century monastery. Each time we thought it couldn't get better - and it did! Each hotel was a fantastic surprise. Amazing places - in beautiful locations - that we would never have discovered ourselves. Thank you!

Rating for tour operator:

The Casas Cantabricas team chose a great bespoke tour for us. The team was always very friendly and really helpful with any changes we made - and there were a few! The information which we received before we went was really useful but didn't fully prepare us for the beautiful places that we were to discover!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 01 Oct 2018:

Thank you very much Moya for your feedback, we're very happy you enjoyed discovering northern Spain and Portugal with all their beautiful places.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 01 Oct 2018:

Thanks again for your comments, we're always ready to help!