AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Casas Cantabricas

Casas Cantabricas Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Casas Cantabricas

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 205
Good 8
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 214
Reviews Accepted: 214
Reviews Rejected: 0
214 reviews
Sort by:
NC1 Bilbao to Santiago - Norte by Dr J H 15, 9 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Northern Spain Adventure

A fantastic trip through the real Spain. Historic villages, cities, beaches, fishing villages and the magnificent Picos. Relaxation, history, walking and plenty of great food. Small, friendly family run hotels each with something special.

A fantastic trip through the real Spain. Historic villages, cities, beaches, fishing villages and the magnificent Picos. Relaxation, history, walking and plenty of great food. Small, friendly family run hotels each with something special.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful at every contact and excellent local knowledge....really got the feeling they care about their tours and would definitely travel with them again.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 10 Sep 2015:

Excellent! So pleased to hear that you had such a great time - sounds like you really discovered the essence of Northern Spain!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 10 Sep 2015:

We certainly do care and it's lovely when that is acknowledged. We'd love to hear from you again in the future and are preparing plenty of exciting new tours in other parts of 'Real Spain'

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Mmouse, 9 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Superb

We toured around Northern Spain on a tour devised by our tour operator who gave us road routes and booked our hotels, all the hotels were excellent with perfect information offered at all the destinations

We toured around Northern Spain on a tour devised by our tour operator who gave us road routes and booked our hotels, all the hotels were excellent with perfect information offered at all the destinations

Rating for tour operator:

Our main contact at Casa Cantarbrias was Andy McCulloch who gave us excellent information and sourced the road routes and hotels all of which was faultless. Andy acted extremely professionally and very quickly as we left it somewhat late to book.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 10 Sep 2015:

Many thanks Susanne - so glad it worked out well for you!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 10 Sep 2015:

And thanks for that it's great to be appreciated!

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Sue, 9 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Our first experience of Spain was incredible.

The whole experience from the initial enquiry to the final minute was first class. We were talked through which options were available, all the itinerary was discussed before being booked. Each hotel had a different character and added to the adventure. The people we met seemed genuinely pleased that we were there and encouraged our attempts at speaking Spanish. We wanted to sample the "real" Spain away from high rise hotels and we weren't ...

The whole experience from the initial enquiry to the final minute was first class. We were talked through which options were available, all the itinerary was discussed before being booked. Each hotel had a different character and added to the adventure. The people we met seemed genuinely pleased that we were there and encouraged our attempts at speaking Spanish. We wanted to sample the "real" Spain away from high rise hotels and we weren't disappointed by anything. The food and wine were delicious and very reasonably priced (except in Bilbao, but that's to be expected in any major city). We would thoroughly recommend this travel company and this area of Spain.

Rating for tour operator:

What impressed us from the outset was the fact that we were able to talk to a person about what we wanted from our holiday. Having never been to Spain before, we needed some advice as to how our preferences could be accommodated. There was regular contact in the run-up to departure and the phone app was very useful whilst we were there. We spoke to a few other families who had travelled with them and they were also pleased with the service provided.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 10 Sep 2015:

Thanks so much for those comments Sue, that's really made our day! It's so rewarding when the tour we've put together is so appreciated in every aspect - and with such enthusiasm!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 10 Sep 2015:

And thanks again for those kind words. We do pride ourselves on our local knowledge and personal service, which we think are the key elements which differentiate us from our competitors, and it's so nice to hear that it really makes a difference.

NC3 Taste of the North by Eva from Scotland, 1 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Culture, scenery and food in abundance

This was the first time my husband and I had visited Northern Spain. We had booked a self-drive holiday that included overnight accommodation just outside Bilbao, in Laguardia and Santilliana del Mar. It was fantastic. The different landscape and scenery, accompanied by amazing food and wine, plus really nice hotel and friendly people was brilliant. Even though the holiday was during peak-time in August the region did not feel overrun, with ...

This was the first time my husband and I had visited Northern Spain. We had booked a self-drive holiday that included overnight accommodation just outside Bilbao, in Laguardia and Santilliana del Mar. It was fantastic. The different landscape and scenery, accompanied by amazing food and wine, plus really nice hotel and friendly people was brilliant. Even though the holiday was during peak-time in August the region did not feel overrun, with beaches being easily accessible, a good choice of restaurants and plenty to do.

Rating for tour operator:

Very knowledgable, friendly and helpful. Organised booking quickly and without fuss and was always available over the phone and by email. Also, the operator has a very comprehensive website, and provided access to an App which contained our travel documents, maps, infomation etc.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 01 Sep 2015:

Thanks Eva, glad to hear you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed all the contrasts that northern Spain has to offer!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 01 Sep 2015:

And thanks so much for those comments - glad you found the app useful, it's a new development this year but everyone seems to be very happy with it.

NC1 Bilbao to Santiago - Norte by comqua, 12 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Very well organised and instructions excellent

We thoroughly enjoyed the variety of hotels we stayed in. It was great to have different types of places and to enjoy the countryside surrounding them. The distances between the hotels was about right and gave us plenty of time for exploring. We didn't feel pressured at all. We received wonderful welcomes at all the hotels - almost as though we were members of the family returning home!

We thoroughly enjoyed the variety of hotels we stayed in. It was great to have different types of places and to enjoy the countryside surrounding them. The distances between the hotels was about right and gave us plenty of time for exploring. We didn't feel pressured at all. We received wonderful welcomes at all the hotels - almost as though we were members of the family returning home!

Rating for tour operator:

The organisation of the booking was extremely good and they kept in touch with us throughout ensuring that we got exactly what we wanted. They even made some suggestions about the best time to give up the hire car as there was nowhere to park in Santiago.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 13 Aug 2015:

That's wonderful thanks Rosemary, particularly the last comment about the welcome received at the hotels - that's exactly what we are trying to achieve by working with small, individual hotels rather than larger hotels or Paradors. So glad to hear you had a nice time!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 13 Aug 2015:

And thanks so much for those comments. We hope it's that level of personal service and local knowledge which differentiates us from our competitors and which help you get so much more out of the experience!

PC1 Cross Pyrenees Tour by Louise, 11 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Camino Trans-Pirinaica

What a wonderful holiday! This was our second road trip holiday with Casas Cantabricas and was equally as good as our first holiday two years ago in which we drove across northern Spain. We started our trip in Bilbao and finished just north of Barcelona, following the French/Spanish border on the Spanish side. We stayed for 2 nights each in 6 different hotels, each hotel very different in style ranging from small country hotels, mountain ...

What a wonderful holiday! This was our second road trip holiday with Casas Cantabricas and was equally as good as our first holiday two years ago in which we drove across northern Spain. We started our trip in Bilbao and finished just north of Barcelona, following the French/Spanish border on the Spanish side. We stayed for 2 nights each in 6 different hotels, each hotel very different in style ranging from small country hotels, mountain hotels, a luxurious spa hotel and even a modern art / gastronomic hotel! All the owners were really friendly and welcoming. The scenery en route was stunning and we saw vultures, wild horses, marmots, mountain goats as well as discovering many lovely towns and villages along the way. We found beautiful forest walks and cycle paths and of course fantastic restaurants. This part of the world is so beautiful, quiet and unspoilt. Thank you Andy for putting together another great trip for us, this was a real value for money holiday. We would definitely recommend a Casas holiday to anyone.

Rating for tour operator:

Andy from the Casas team has put together two fantastic road trip holidays for us. He and his team have a wealth of knowledge of the regions and has personally visited the hotels we stayed in. He listens to what his customers want and makes recommendations when they don't know what they want! The point to point instructions and information given is excellent. He is always at the end of a phone if you have a query.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 12 Aug 2015:

Many thanks Louise - so glad you enjoyed your adventure in the Pyrenees!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 12 Aug 2015:

And thanks so much for those comments. We do work very hard to build up our local knowledge of each area and it's very rewarding when that is appreciated.

NC1 Bilbao to Santiago - Norte by Prioress, 10 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Northern Spain - self-drive

We travelled from Bilbao to Santiago de Compostela and back over 2 weeks staying at 6 different hotels. We enjoyed the variety of the holiday, it gave us a good experience of northern Spain.

We travelled from Bilbao to Santiago de Compostela and back over 2 weeks staying at 6 different hotels. We enjoyed the variety of the holiday, it gave us a good experience of northern Spain.

Rating for tour operator:

Casa Cantabricas sorted the hotels, car hire and provided information on routes and points of interest. We sourced flights independently. They also made sure that some individual requests were accommodated, and tailored the holiday to suit our flight preferences.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 12 Aug 2015:

Excellent! We're so happy you enjoyed your Camino del Norte tour.

Casas Cantabricas by Julie, 29 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Mountains and beach in Asturias

Great, detailed info from Casas Cantabricas. Clear directions to the beautiful holiday home, which was just as descibed on the website. Brilliant location, 20 minute wander down paths to the beach. Short walk into the village centre with supermarkets, cafes and restaurants. Short drive to stunning hills and countryside. We had a very enjoyable and relaxing 10 day stay.

Great, detailed info from Casas Cantabricas. Clear directions to the beautiful holiday home, which was just as descibed on the website. Brilliant location, 20 minute wander down paths to the beach. Short walk into the village centre with supermarkets, cafes and restaurants. Short drive to stunning hills and countryside. We had a very enjoyable and relaxing 10 day stay.

Rating for tour operator:

Lots of information given. Clear instructions and details for the ferry and the drive to the holiday house. Accurate information given about the accommodation and it's location and amenities. Extra information given about things to do in the local area and places to visit further afield.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 29 Jul 2015:

Thanks Julie, great to hear that you had such a great time at Casa Sergio, it really is one of our favourite corners of Asturias!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 29 Jul 2015:

And thanks for that, as it's such an unknown area for most people we believe in-depth local information is the key to our clients' holiday enjoyment, so glad you found it helpful.

NC5 Discover Galicia Round trip by Adventurer, 27 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

touring fortnight in Galicia

A wonderful holiday travelling throughout Galicia, staying at small rural hotels. The route combined beaches, mountains, river valleys and towns. Each hotel was special in its own way and their locations meant that we could explore areas of Galicia that we had not visited on previous trips. Some of the routes that we chose to drive would not be for the feint-hearted driver, but the rewards were so worth the efforts. Breath-taking views, ...

A wonderful holiday travelling throughout Galicia, staying at small rural hotels. The route combined beaches, mountains, river valleys and towns. Each hotel was special in its own way and their locations meant that we could explore areas of Galicia that we had not visited on previous trips. Some of the routes that we chose to drive would not be for the feint-hearted driver, but the rewards were so worth the efforts. Breath-taking views, superb scenery, such peace and quiet and only Spanish being spoken.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabricas has now arranged 5 holidays for us in Spain and northern Portugal. They have all been wonderful. We are quite selective in the kinds of places we like to stay, but we have never been disappointed and that is quite a record as on each trip we have stayed in at least 5 different hotels. The information provided beforehand is always thorough and useful, helping us to reach our destinations and also knowing something of the area before arriving. After each trip we do find ourselves looking forward to booking another one with Casas Cantabricas!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 27 Jul 2015:

Many thanks Julia, that's really most appreciated and we're so glad you enjoyed your Galician adventure. This time you really got off the beaten track, which is all the more satisfying for us when it works out well.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 27 Jul 2015:

And thank you so much for those comments. We do pride ourselves on our personal service and in-depth local knowledge so it makes it all worthwhile when that is recognised by our clients - and particularly in view of our long track-history with yourselves!

NC3 Taste of the North by Mrs A N 15, 21 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Touring holiday in North Spain

WE went by ferry from Portsmouth to Bilbao, spent two night in Bilbao, two in Laguardia three nights in Santillan del Mar. We stayed in hotels on a B&B basis.

WE went by ferry from Portsmouth to Bilbao, spent two night in Bilbao, two in Laguardia three nights in Santillan del Mar. We stayed in hotels on a B&B basis.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabrica arranged everything for us.