AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Casas Cantabricas

Casas Cantabricas Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Casas Cantabricas

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 205
Good 8
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 214
Reviews Accepted: 214
Reviews Rejected: 0
214 reviews
Sort by:
Casas Cantabricas by Juan, 27 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Idyllic - Spain at its best

Little cottage in a little hamlet (Piasca) halfway up a mountain. Lovely walks and a south facing terrace with views to die for. Very friendly neighbours, but the property itself is quite private. About 5Km from the nearest bar/ restaurant (and also a local baker) , 10Km to nearest town (Potes) and supermarkets.

Little cottage in a little hamlet (Piasca) halfway up a mountain. Lovely walks and a south facing terrace with views to die for. Very friendly neighbours, but the property itself is quite private. About 5Km from the nearest bar/ restaurant (and also a local baker) , 10Km to nearest town (Potes) and supermarkets.

Rating for tour operator:

Great, prompt answers to our questions before we went out, and quick to help while we were out there - we had a brief episode with hornets trying to nest under the roof, which was passed by them to the owners, sorted within the day, and then checked with us afterwards.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 28 Oct 2015:

Thanks John for that wonderful feedback! Casuca Piasca is an old favourite, simple yet perfect for getting into the mountains and the rural life of the Picos de Europa - we're so glad you enjoyed it.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 28 Oct 2015:

We remember your hornet incident - always a little unsettling but, as you obviously appreciate, one of those things that can happen in such a rural area. The important thing is to act quickly and we're glad that the owners got it sorted so efficiently on this occasion.

Casas Cantabricas by Julia, 27 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful atmospheric house, set in a beautiful large garden, surrounded by lovely scenery and an amazingly helpful rep.

we had a fun packed holiday staying in the unspoilt area of Northern Spain, Cantabria. The house, garden and area provided something for everyone (three generations), including stunning scenery, quiet beaches, surf, canyoning, horse-riding, good food, historic towns/villages, stunning prehistoric caves and a tour round a Gaudi designed house. The views from the balcony of our house were stunning and sunsets and sunrises were a real treat.

we had a fun packed holiday staying in the unspoilt area of Northern Spain, Cantabria. The house, garden and area provided something for everyone (three generations), including stunning scenery, quiet beaches, surf, canyoning, horse-riding, good food, historic towns/villages, stunning prehistoric caves and a tour round a Gaudi designed house. The views from the balcony of our house were stunning and sunsets and sunrises were a real treat.

Rating for tour operator:

Andy McCulloch went out of his way to send me all the information I wanted and more. he was very friendly and helpful.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 27 Oct 2015:

That sounds wonderful Julia - many thanks for those comments. It sounds as if you got the most out of our Cantabrian adventure!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 27 Oct 2015:

And thanks for those kind words - Andy, and the whole Casas team, will be so pleased!

Casas Cantabricas by Adrian, 26 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful and interesting part of Spain - just watch out for the weather

Had an interesting two weeks staying in various accommodation and travelling from Santander to Santiago via Leon and back again along the coast. Beaches are fantastic sandy/rocky coves, if you like waves and get the right weather. Many old and historic villages around. Rather underwhelmed by the prehistoric museum at Almeira (?) but it whiled away a wet afternoon. Exchange rate of 1.4 euros to pound made everything great value - it ...

Had an interesting two weeks staying in various accommodation and travelling from Santander to Santiago via Leon and back again along the coast. Beaches are fantastic sandy/rocky coves, if you like waves and get the right weather. Many old and historic villages around. Rather underwhelmed by the prehistoric museum at Almeira (?) but it whiled away a wet afternoon. Exchange rate of 1.4 euros to pound made everything great value - it was a treat not to see one Costa Coffee/Starbucks etc anywhere

Rating for tour operator:

Good

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 27 Oct 2015:

Thanks for those comments Adrian. Sorry to hear you didn't get the best of weather - the north of Spain has had the better weather this year (especially when compared with the extremes they've suffered in the south) but there were some wet days as always.
Shame you didn't enjoy the museum at Altamira - the replica cave, though an exact copy, isn't everybody's favourite but you can see the real thing in dozens of smaller caves scattered throughout the area - there are 28 in total which make up the World Heritage site

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 27 Oct 2015:

Thanks

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by PC, 21 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Tour of north spain

Enjoyable tour of part of northern Spain, staying in some interesting hotels. Autumn is good time of year to go as not too many other sightseers and good weather.

Enjoyable tour of part of northern Spain, staying in some interesting hotels. Autumn is good time of year to go as not too many other sightseers and good weather.

Rating for tour operator:

Heplful and knowledgeable about the north of Spain. Efficient instructions on finding hotels and useful website and restaurant guide.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 21 Oct 2015:

Thanks Pat, we're glad you liked the autumn here we think it's one of the best times to come.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 21 Oct 2015:

Many thanks again!

NAV8 Eguzkialdea by Irene21, 11 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

A different Spanish holiday

We stayed in a beautiful house in a small village in the Bidosoa valley and the scenery was absolutely stunning. The area has a different feel to other parts of Spain, more reserved people and a less hectic pace. But we were within easy travelling distance to San Sebastian, a very attractive and chic resort on the north coast and also to Pamplona which was very typically Spanish the day we visited with a noisy fiesta taking place.

We stayed in a beautiful house in a small village in the Bidosoa valley and the scenery was absolutely stunning. The area has a different feel to other parts of Spain, more reserved people and a less hectic pace. But we were within easy travelling distance to San Sebastian, a very attractive and chic resort on the north coast and also to Pamplona which was very typically Spanish the day we visited with a noisy fiesta taking place.

Rating for tour operator:

We do not normally use a tour operator but accommodation in the Navarra seemed more difficult to find and the Basque language incomprehensible. The tour operator liaised with the owners to arrange the accommodation and supplied travelling directions so we did not have to worry about finding the house.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 15 Oct 2015:

Thanks Barbara, we're so pleased you had a lovely time. The area is certainly different to the Spain most people get to know and we're glad you found it so interesting.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 15 Oct 2015:

And thanks for those comments - so nice when our services (and Basque language skills) are appreciated!

Casas Cantabricas by Irene21, 11 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

A different Spanish holiday

We stayed in a beautiful house in a small village in the Bidosoa valley and the scenery was absolutely stunning. The area has a different feel to other parts of Spain, more reserved people and a less hectic pace. But we were within easy travelling distance to San Sebastian, a very attractive and chic resort on the north coast and also to Pamplona which was very typically Spanish the day we visited with a noisy fiesta taking place.

We stayed in a beautiful house in a small village in the Bidosoa valley and the scenery was absolutely stunning. The area has a different feel to other parts of Spain, more reserved people and a less hectic pace. But we were within easy travelling distance to San Sebastian, a very attractive and chic resort on the north coast and also to Pamplona which was very typically Spanish the day we visited with a noisy fiesta taking place.

Rating for tour operator:

We do not normally use a tour operator but accommodation in the Navarra seemed more difficult to find and the Basque language incomprehensible. The tour operator liaised with the owners to arrange the accommodation and supplied travelling directions so we did not have to worry about finding the house.

PC1 Cross Pyrenees Tour by Stormin Norman, 29 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

fascinating, educational and superb

Self drive with eight days in five hotels in the eastern Pyrenees. Varied styles of accommodation but all excellent with friendly staff and superb food. Plus interesting fellow travellors to talk to. Magnificent scenery especially in Andorra,and the Ordessa national park. Good walks and wildlife.Catalans all very friendly. Everything ran smoothly from start to finish and would highly recommend

Self drive with eight days in five hotels in the eastern Pyrenees. Varied styles of accommodation but all excellent with friendly staff and superb food. Plus interesting fellow travellors to talk to. Magnificent scenery especially in Andorra,and the Ordessa national park. Good walks and wildlife.Catalans all very friendly. Everything ran smoothly from start to finish and would highly recommend

Rating for tour operator:

Andy McCullough at Casas Cantabricas was extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. Everything arrived on time and nothing appeared too much trouble.He also has superb support staff. I will certainly return to this company.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 30 Sep 2015:

Many thanks Norman - great to hear your adventure in the Pyrenees went so well! The eastern route uses some of our more 'individual' hotels and we're delighted that you found them to your liking.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 30 Sep 2015:

And thanks so much for those kind comments - we try to stand out for our flexibility and personal service and it's very gratifying to see that appreciated - Andy and the team will be thrilled!

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Amigo., 29 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Real Spain with delightful surprises at every turn.

As a keen driver, an internet search for European motoring holidays led us to the services of Casas Cantabricas We indicated when, for how long and our ultimate destination and they did the rest. They provided a guide,super road map of Northern Spain booked our acomadation and provided detailed directions to find the properties. All properties were interesting, often in properties that were centuries old with all the comforts required ...

As a keen driver, an internet search for European motoring holidays led us to the services of Casas Cantabricas We indicated when, for how long and our ultimate destination and they did the rest. They provided a guide,super road map of Northern Spain booked our acomadation and provided detailed directions to find the properties. All properties were interesting, often in properties that were centuries old with all the comforts required by the modern traveller. Each property provided a fabulous welcome, often treating us as a member of the family. Spanish roads are brilliant. 85 % of motorways are free, usually deserted so journey times can be predicted accurately.Our car was petrol powered. 95 lead free averaged 90p/litre. The exchange rate was very favourable. We chose the Plymouth- Santander crossing on the excellent Pont Aven (Britanny Ferry's Flag Ship). Great restaurant with food provided by very tallented chefs. All in all this was one of our most enjoyable holidays ever.

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful, efficient service at a very fair price. Our itinary was put together in a matter of days. A very useful phone app was included giving great detail of the areas covered.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 29 Sep 2015:

Thanks Neil, glad to hear everything went smoothly and that you had such a good time!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 29 Sep 2015:

So pleased you found the app helpful, as you can appreciate we poured a lot of time and effort (and 30 years of local expertise) into the content so it's fantastic to hear that it has made a difference to your holiday.

GVIG3 El Estudio by Jamie, 22 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic first trip to Galicia

A lovely spot, friendly people, fantastic food and beautiful landscapes.

A lovely spot, friendly people, fantastic food and beautiful landscapes.

Rating for tour operator:

Very professional and helpful in all communications.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 28 Sep 2015:

Many thanks Jamie, we're so glad you has a great time!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 28 Sep 2015:

Thanks for your kind comments. We pride ourselves on our personal service and local expertise and it's so nice when that's appreciated.

NC1 Bilbao to Santiago - Norte by Tony, 12 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Great variety in an unspoilt part of Spain

Mixture of historic cities and rural locations, with many unspoilt beaches and coastal villages in one of the best parts of Spain. The old towns in Bilbao and Santiago de Compostela offered the chance to walk through medieval streets with many shops, bars and restaurants. Santillana del Mar was a real surprise - an ancient town almost unaltered over the centuries, but with interesting shops and good restaurants. Luarca is a jewel of a fishing ...

Mixture of historic cities and rural locations, with many unspoilt beaches and coastal villages in one of the best parts of Spain. The old towns in Bilbao and Santiago de Compostela offered the chance to walk through medieval streets with many shops, bars and restaurants. Santillana del Mar was a real surprise - an ancient town almost unaltered over the centuries, but with interesting shops and good restaurants. Luarca is a jewel of a fishing village, with ancient harbour, excellent beaches and none of the tourist attractions and modern hotels that, for me, spoil large parts of Spain, especially in the south. All our hotels were excellent, all being small and very traditional - several of them historic buildings of some note.

Rating for tour operator:

Very useful to have everything arranged for us, but to our individual specification and not as part of a package or tourist group. We arranged our own flights, but everything else was done for us. This included a hire car at Bilbao airport, which we left at Santiago de Compostela two weeks later, maps and instructions to guide us to each of the six locations we stayed in, guide books and information about the whole area and the booking of traditional small hotels in unusual locations that we would never have found ourselves. The tour operator had personal, first-hand knowledge of all the places we stayed at and was well-known to all the hotel owners.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 14 Sep 2015:

That's fantastic Tony, many thanks! Knowing that you have travelled quite extensively in southern Spain it's all the more satisfying that you found the north so much to your liking.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 14 Sep 2015:

And thanks so much for those kind words, most appreciated!