AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Casas Cantabricas

Casas Cantabricas Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Casas Cantabricas

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 192
Good 8
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 201
Reviews Accepted: 201
Reviews Rejected: 0
201 reviews
Sort by:
NC3 Taste of the North by Rowland, 25 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

A WONDERFUL HOLIDAY IN NORTHERN SPAIN

Portsmouth to Bilboa then hotels and a cottage in La Rioja and Cantabrica. Just the right of amount of driving and the distances were fine. We received very useful advice from Andy and Guru when we explained we didn't want to do too much daily driving.

Portsmouth to Bilboa then hotels and a cottage in La Rioja and Cantabrica. Just the right of amount of driving and the distances were fine. We received very useful advice from Andy and Guru when we explained we didn't want to do too much daily driving.

Rating for tour operator:

We received very useful advice from Andy and Guru when we explained we didn't want to do too much daily driving. We had a few initial issues with the self catering cottage but these were quickly and efficiently dealt with and it was fantastic to have Andy at the end of the phone. In fact, it was this cottage in the Picos which proved to be a real highlight of the holiday. We would not have included the locations we finally chose without Casas Cantabricas. One point forth future: the directions and access details to the hotels needs to be updated e.g. entrances now chained off (Santalliana Del Mer); no longer entry bollards (Leon) and a note about the tricky new key (Picos).

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 25 Jun 2019:

Thank you Tracey and Andrew, we're very happy you've enjoyed your holidays in Northern Spain, with so many different regions within short distances.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 25 Jun 2019:

Thank you for your kind words, we're glad to help. Also thank you for your suggestions, we'll make sure those improvements get in the system.

AC2 Andalucia Guadalquivir tour by Keith, 21 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fascinating and fun

The itinerary was well-planned and the accommodation well-selected. Everything lived up to our high expectations. The itinerary took us to places we wouldn't have thought of, which added to the whole experience.

The itinerary was well-planned and the accommodation well-selected. Everything lived up to our high expectations. The itinerary took us to places we wouldn't have thought of, which added to the whole experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Very personable and helpful with telephone enqiries. No hitches at all with the arrangements they made on our behalf. Very pleased with their recommendations.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 24 Jun 2019:

Thank you Keith for your feedback, we're very happy you found Andalucia fascinating and fun and we're glad we helped with your experience.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 24 Jun 2019:

Thank you for your comments, we're always glad to help!

AC2 Andalucia Guadalquivir tour by Mark, 20 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Madrid and Andalusian Spain May/June 2019

Three weeks spent wandering central and southern Spain, overnighting in small superbly located, clean, and charming lodging expertly chosen and booked by Casas Cantabrisas!

Three weeks spent wandering central and southern Spain, overnighting in small superbly located, clean, and charming lodging expertly chosen and booked by Casas Cantabrisas!

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabricas delivered far beyond my expectations! They promised and over-delivered on every aspect of my journey! They were supremely professional, helpful, courteous, and skillful in all aspects of planning and assuring my enjoyment of the itinerary they’d crafted! BRAVO! BRAVO!!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 20 Jun 2019:

Thank you Mark and Susan, we're really happy you enjoyed your holiday in Madrid and southern Spain and you found our selection of hotels so much to your liking.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 20 Jun 2019:

Thank you for your kind words, it's very rewarding to see our work pays off! It was a pleasure working with you from start to finish and hope to see you again some time soon.

Casas Cantabricas by Margaret, 17 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Very easy company to deal with.

One week in the Picos

One week in the Picos

Rating for tour operator:

Fantastic. We have used them a few times now, and will continue to do so. It's great to have the personal service.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 18 Jun 2019:

Thank you Margaret for your feedback, we're very happy you enjoyed your week in the mountains, as always, it's a pleasure to have you as our customer.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 18 Jun 2019:

Thank you for your kind words, we're always happy to be helpful.

PO2 Caminando North Portugal by Ed and Sue, 17 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

A varied and interesting tour with lovely hotels

We had a very varied and interesting tour with lovely hotels, which we would have been hard pressed to have found for ourselves. Two of the hotels were in towns/ cities (Porto and Guimares); three were quintas with swimming pools in lovely rural locations in northern Portugal. The varied requirements of our party of 7 in terms of relaxation, scenery, walking and places to see were all satisfied in spades and the amount of driving was about right...

We had a very varied and interesting tour with lovely hotels, which we would have been hard pressed to have found for ourselves. Two of the hotels were in towns/ cities (Porto and Guimares); three were quintas with swimming pools in lovely rural locations in northern Portugal. The varied requirements of our party of 7 in terms of relaxation, scenery, walking and places to see were all satisfied in spades and the amount of driving was about right. The 10 day duration was perfect. We would certainly recommend Caminos/ book again with them in future.

Rating for tour operator:

Caminos were very good, taking a personal interest in us and our booking and communicating well with us both before the holiday and during. The Vamoos Travel app was a great idea, which enabled us to have all the holiday information and bookings readily available on our phones/ iPads.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 17 Jun 2019:

Thank you Ed and all the group for your feedback, we're very happy you enjoyed your holiday in Northern Portugal and look forward to helping you with your holidays in the future!

Reviewer's images:
Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 17 Jun 2019:

Thank you again for your kind words, we're glad you found our Vamoos app useful, it's great to see our work is appreciated!

AC2 Andalucia Guadalquivir tour by Scruffy, 23 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Touring Andalucia

The tour worked liked clockwork, with a few minor adjustment regarding directions to a few hotels and parking modifications.

The tour worked liked clockwork, with a few minor adjustment regarding directions to a few hotels and parking modifications.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabricas did an excellent job in planning our trip, and kept us well informed. The Vamos app was great help wish all operators followed suit.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 23 May 2019:

Thank you for your comments Brian, we're glad you enjoyed Andalucia. And thank you for pointing out the issue with our directions, we have already amended the required documentation.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 23 May 2019:

Thank you for your kind comments, it's great to see our work is appreciated.

PO2 Caminando North Portugal by julietwow, 22 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic self-drive tour around the north of Portugal staying in delightful Quintas and hotels off the beaten track.

We loved touring round this green and lush part of Portugal being able to make our own daily itinerary. The chosen pre-booked accommodation was fabulous in every case. Unusual pousadas, quintas and medieval city hotels that we probably would not have discovered on our own.

We loved touring round this green and lush part of Portugal being able to make our own daily itinerary. The chosen pre-booked accommodation was fabulous in every case. Unusual pousadas, quintas and medieval city hotels that we probably would not have discovered on our own.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent and responsive service. Great little app called Vamoos which had all the holiday information, maps, guides, car hire and hotel information included.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 23 May 2019:

Thank you Julie for your feedback, we're glad to see you enjoyed the north of Portugal and all its beauty.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 23 May 2019:

Thank you for your kind words, we're very happy you found our Vamoos app useful, it's great to see our work is appreciated!

COM8 Casita de Rikke by Family McP, 24 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

An excellent family holiday in Northern Spain

We travelled to Spain on the overnight Brittany ferry arriving into Santander - with two young children and lots of entertainment on the ferry, that was an adventure in itself! From Santander, we drove our car along the coast and to a town called Nava, the heart of "sidre" country where we stayed for several nights in a mountain cottage. This was followed by a wonderful few days in Comillas on the coast at Casita Rikke - let and organised for ...

We travelled to Spain on the overnight Brittany ferry arriving into Santander - with two young children and lots of entertainment on the ferry, that was an adventure in itself! From Santander, we drove our car along the coast and to a town called Nava, the heart of "sidre" country where we stayed for several nights in a mountain cottage. This was followed by a wonderful few days in Comillas on the coast at Casita Rikke - let and organised for us by Andy at Casas. The accommodation was perfect for our family of four, with a sweet upstairs bedroom for the children, and their own play area outside their room and then a cosy living area and separate double bedroom and family bathroom for us downstairs. The house had all the utensils and other items that you could need (too often we find that there is no tin opener or no cheese grater and the property is impractical) which made self-catering easy. Our children also loved the few toys available in the property, and we were able to enjoy the burner each night which kept us cosy and warm on the greyer days. We sadly left Comillas after just a few days (we would have stayed longer) but moved on to Bilbao for the sights of the Guggenheim and much more besides before our return ferry home to England.

Rating for tour operator:

Andy was very helpful throughout booking and during our stay - explaining to us the layout and amenities of the property in detail so we knew what to expect with the children, and even helping us on another part of our holiday not booked through Casas. The information provided by Casas of things to do and restaurants and so on was also very useful and Andy was kind in providing the information for all regions of northern Spain (about which he seemed very knowledgable), and not just for the Comillas area. We would highly recommend his services.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 24 Apr 2019:

Thanks Charlotte - grat to hear that you had such a wonderful time in northern Spain, especially Comillas. We'll pass your comments on to Rikke who will surely be delighted to hear them too!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 24 Apr 2019:

And thanks for those kind words! We really do try to go that little bit further to ensure you get the very best out of your holiday in northern Spain and it's so rewarding when that's appreciated. Hope to hear from you again sometime in the future

PO10 Porto, Douro, Las Beiras by HSD, 13 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous northern Portugal

We had a 2 week self driving tour which took us to 6 very different and diverse places and accommodation. It was fabulous

We had a 2 week self driving tour which took us to 6 very different and diverse places and accommodation. It was fabulous

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabricas delivered a great experience for us at 2 weeks notice. This was a return to Portugal for me after 40 years and a first visit for my wife. We loved it all and the tour operators were fabulous

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 13 Dec 2018:

Thanks Hamish - it was fabulous doing business with you too - glad to hear you had such a great time!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 13 Dec 2018:

And thanks for those kind words, it's so nice when our efforts are appreciated!

PO7 The Porto Run by Blue Streak, 11 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

A tour of North Spain prior to visiting Portugal

An enjoyable relaxing introduction to Spain and Portugal, not having visited either country before

An enjoyable relaxing introduction to Spain and Portugal, not having visited either country before

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient and knowledgeable, ready to help if we got into any difficulty

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 11 Oct 2018:

Thank you Charles for your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your relaxing holiday in Spain and Portugal.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 11 Oct 2018:

Thanks again for your kind words, happy to be of help!