AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Casas Cantabricas

Casas Cantabricas Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Casas Cantabricas

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 152
Good 8
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 160
Reviews Accepted: 160
Reviews Rejected: 0
160 reviews
Sort by:
Casas Cantabricas by Margaret, 19 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

A relaxing holiday - well-organised company and friendly owners

One week in Picos mountains

One week in Picos mountains

Rating for tour operator:

Clear emails. Good directions, easy instructions.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 20 Jul 2018:

Thank you Margaret for your comments, we're glad you had an excellent and relaxing holiday.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 20 Jul 2018:

Thank you again for your comments, we're very happy to have helped making your holiday easy and enjoyable.

NC1 Bilbao to Santiago - Norte by AMS, 13 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Great holiday in Northern Spain

Completely new part of Spain for us. We started in Bilbao and ended in Santiago and toured along the coast and explored the Picos Europas in between. Hotels were great, scenery was amazing and food was fantastic. We had a ball.

Completely new part of Spain for us. We started in Bilbao and ended in Santiago and toured along the coast and explored the Picos Europas in between. Hotels were great, scenery was amazing and food was fantastic. We had a ball.

Rating for tour operator:

Heard about Casa Cantabricas from a friend who had done the same route a few years ago. Everything felt personal and all the bookings and directions went smoothly. The chosen hotels and stopping points were perfect and much better than we could ever have hoped to find ourselves. Would certainly use again and would happily recommend to others.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 18 Jul 2018:

Thank you Anne, we're really pleased you had such a good holiday and enjoyed discovering the North of Spain, it is indeed great!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 18 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your kind words, it's great to see all our work and effort are appreciated.

NC7 Camino Norte Out and Back by Fred, 12 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

It was well organised and we were well carred for.

A driving tour of Northern Spain and Portugal over 16 days via Portsmouth-Santander Car Ferry, between 14th to 1st July. The hotels and holiday information were excellent and we enjoyed all the places we visited. (The sea was a little cold for swimming, though)

A driving tour of Northern Spain and Portugal over 16 days via Portsmouth-Santander Car Ferry, between 14th to 1st July. The hotels and holiday information were excellent and we enjoyed all the places we visited. (The sea was a little cold for swimming, though)

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful on the phone in booking the tour which included a couple of days out to see friends in Porto. Endless patience when we wanted to make changes after booking. Well planned and well organised!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 13 Jul 2018:

Thank you Tom for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your holiday discovering Northern Spain and Northern Portugal.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 13 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your very kind comments. We're happy to make adjustments whenever they are needed.

PC2 Western Pyrenees tour by Spanish Flea, 10 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Road trip through the Western Pyrenees

Travelling East from Bilbao we enjoyed a range of fabulous scenery and the different activities it engendered: walking in the mountains, paddling in the sea, driving through desert landscapes and meandering through interesting villages in search of a welcome drink. The route was expertly mapped out with all the information we could possibly need and the choice of hotels excellent: each one offering something very different but all the hosts ...

Travelling East from Bilbao we enjoyed a range of fabulous scenery and the different activities it engendered: walking in the mountains, paddling in the sea, driving through desert landscapes and meandering through interesting villages in search of a welcome drink. The route was expertly mapped out with all the information we could possibly need and the choice of hotels excellent: each one offering something very different but all the hosts welcoming and keen to share their knowledge of the local area (and usually in English)

Rating for tour operator:

We travelled with Casas Cantabricas last year and were so impressed we returned to them. From the very first enquiry they provided speedy responses that exactly matched our needs. Always friendly both by email and on the phone, their knowledge of the area and the hotel owners ensures an enjoyable and trouble free holiday - with a surprise as you move from hotel to hotel - no two quite the same and each one excellent in its own way. The Vamoos App with directions and all the information you need makes planning just what to see very easy. Already wondering what we can ask them to organise on future occasions.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 12 Jul 2018:

Thank you Elaine and Gordon, we're very happy to see you discovered the beauty and the diversity the Western Pyrenees have to offer.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 12 Jul 2018:

Thank you again for your very kind words. They make all our work worthwhile!
We look forward to organising new holidays for you to discover new regions of the Iberian Peninsula in the future.

NC3 Taste of the North by Biscotti, 22 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

City, Castle, Cobbles

A fantastic holiday in 3 different areas. Bilbao was a nice city for a bit of culture. The castle hotel was more than we could have hoped for. The cobbled streets of Santillana del Mare were picturesque. All the recommended sights were good suggestions.A perfect holiday, off the beaten track.

A fantastic holiday in 3 different areas. Bilbao was a nice city for a bit of culture. The castle hotel was more than we could have hoped for. The cobbled streets of Santillana del Mare were picturesque. All the recommended sights were good suggestions.A perfect holiday, off the beaten track.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabrica were very helpful throughout . We were able to extend our car hire period, lots of information, including road maps, guide books were sent as soon as we had booked, road closures and alternative routes were advised before we left. We had absolute confidence that they would be available if we should need them.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 28 Jun 2018:

Thanks Louise, sounds like you had a great time and really made the most out of the contrasts northern Spain has to offer!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 28 Jun 2018:

And glad to hear that all our efforts are appreciated - music to our ears!

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Jem, 17 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Tour of Northern Spain

Driving tour of Northern Spain using the ferry from Portsmouth. Three weeks with 7 hotel stops.

Driving tour of Northern Spain using the ferry from Portsmouth. Three weeks with 7 hotel stops.

Rating for tour operator:

Brilliant organisation of the tour. Really helpful, made changes to their tour to suit us. Excellent information provided. Directions between locations and to hotels excellent also recommendations places to stop at en route. Lots of information on places of interest and restaurants. The Vamoos app was excellent. Our touring holiday couldn't be bettered.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 19 Jun 2018:

Thank you Jan for your feedback. We're happy to see you enjoyed your 3 weeks of discovering northern Spain.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 19 Jun 2018:

Thank you for your very kind words. It's great to see you've made the most of all the extras we provide and taken advantage of all our years of expertise.

IC3 Wine & Castles of Spain by traveller in spain, 17 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

excellent

touring northern spain

touring northern spain

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful, well organised, good hotels and excellent at providing a bespoke itinerary.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 19 Jun 2018:

Thank you Susan for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your holiday.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 19 Jun 2018:

Thank you again for your kind words. We're very pleased to see our work is appreciated.

PO7 The Porto Run by Monty, 9 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Very wet but a good experience

Well planned out offering an excellent experience. Good food and lovely locations. Very wet and did dampen our enthusiasm.

Well planned out offering an excellent experience. Good food and lovely locations. Very wet and did dampen our enthusiasm.

Rating for tour operator:

All on internet and virtually paperless. We should have been informed of hotel parking charges at time of booking , also more info needed on motorway tolls, which were complicated in Portugal and we may get fined.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 11 Jun 2018:

Thanks Bob. Glad to hear you enjoyed the experience in spite of the awful early-spring weather we've had this year (the worst May on record in many parts of Spain, and certainly not the norm).

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 11 Jun 2018:

We certainly try to inform about parking charges in our initial quote email and the Portuguese toll regime (which is indeed more involved than the Spanish) are covered in our 'Driving in Portugal' advice, but we're sorry if it wasn't clear enough and we will certainly review our quotation emails and info pack. We certainly hope you don't get a fine and we're glad to hear that you had such a great time overall!

NC7 Camino Norte Out and Back by Welsh road tripper, 29 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Made to measure!

Excellent accommodation and itinerary, very clear information prior to booking and to guide us on our journeys.

Excellent accommodation and itinerary, very clear information prior to booking and to guide us on our journeys.

Rating for tour operator:

Real attention to detail for all aspects of the trip

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 30 May 2018:

Thank you for your feedback Patrick, we're very happy you enjoyed your holiday and found the itinerary excellent!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 30 May 2018:

Thank you for your kind words, it's very rewarding to see our hard work is appreciated.

AC2 Andalucia Guadalquivir tour by Docjon , 24 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Self drive tour of Andalusia

From the start the team at Casas were both friendly, efficient and knowledgable, with their excellent advice we had a father and son road trip that was perfect. Interesting, exciting, memorable and well planned with some unusual and delightful hotels we would never have discovered on our own.

From the start the team at Casas were both friendly, efficient and knowledgable, with their excellent advice we had a father and son road trip that was perfect. Interesting, exciting, memorable and well planned with some unusual and delightful hotels we would never have discovered on our own.

Rating for tour operator:

Very friendly, great depth of knowledge about Spain, reasonably priced, helpful developing our tailor made tour route, brilliant app with all the details of our trip in electronic format.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 25 May 2018:

Thank you for your feedback Johnathan, we're glad you enjoyed your holiday and had the chance to discover the magnificent region of Andalucia, full of hidden gems.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 25 May 2018:

And thank you very much for your kind words, it's great to see all our hard work has been appreciated!