AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Undiscovered Destinations

Burma – Beyond the Tourist Trail Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Burma – Beyond the Tourist Trail

Overall Holiday Rating
97%
Excellent 11
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 13
Reviews Accepted: 13
Reviews Rejected: 0
13 reviews
Sort by:
Burma – Beyond the Tourist Trail by johnb42, 20 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Undiscovered destinations, Myanmar

Exceptional experience

Exceptional experience

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent. Extremely helpful and professional.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 20 Apr 2018:

Thank you.

Burma – Beyond the Tourist Trail by alic, 10 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

Varied and a cultural experience

The holiday was a real experience and showed the real Burma. the was varied activities from walking, washing an elephant, and touring on a long boat. A real life experience.

The holiday was a real experience and showed the real Burma. the was varied activities from walking, washing an elephant, and touring on a long boat. A real life experience.

Rating for tour operator:

.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 10 Jan 2017:

Thank you for the kind feedback.

Burma – Beyond the Tourist Trail by SaraD, 17 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

fantastic magical trip

Wonderfully organised, fun trip. All guides were exceptional, accommodation good (some excellent), very enjoyable trip. Exceeded all expectations

Wonderfully organised, fun trip. All guides were exceptional, accommodation good (some excellent), very enjoyable trip. Exceeded all expectations

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful friendly and efficient

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 18 Nov 2016:

We are delighted you enjoyed Burma and that it exceeded your expectations

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 18 Nov 2016:

Thanks for your comments

Burma – Beyond the Tourist Trail by Phil R, 22 Feb 2016
Holiday Rating:

A trip to Myanmar experiencing local sites, people and villages as well as the more popular tourist landmarks.

The trip was well described using local transport and local hotels. It was not luxurious, but comfortable throughout. Local guides, transport and hospitality was quite superb. This is a very friendly and unthreatening country and the trip enabled contact with local people away from some of the normal tourist sites.

The trip was well described using local transport and local hotels. It was not luxurious, but comfortable throughout. Local guides, transport and hospitality was quite superb. This is a very friendly and unthreatening country and the trip enabled contact with local people away from some of the normal tourist sites.

Rating for tour operator:

We got exactly what it said on the tin! The trip was well described, made it clear that there would be some quite long journeys on local transport (some public) and that accommodation and meals would be locally provided. This was not rough and ready though---the itinerary was accurate, guiding superb and everything punctual and helpful.

Burma – Beyond the Tourist Trail by Olands, 7 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

Myanmar- Beyond the tourist trail

An extremely well organised holiday with a fantastic range of experiences. Thoroughly enjoyable.

An extremely well organised holiday with a fantastic range of experiences. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Rating for tour operator:

A highly efficient personal service and an interesting and varied itinerary.

Burma – Beyond the Tourist Trail by Ms W B 15, 17 Dec 2015
Holiday Rating:

Exciting country full of wonder with a wide variety of sights and activities

Three weeks in Myanmar travelling on planes, boats, trains,a local bus, private vehicles, bikes and even a horse drawn cart was a truly enriching and fascinating experience at a hopeful turning point in the history of the country.The hospitality we received was wonderful and we learnt so much about Myanmar's Buddhism and other aspects of this fascinating country including experiencing rural life first hand guided by informative and professional ...

Three weeks in Myanmar travelling on planes, boats, trains,a local bus, private vehicles, bikes and even a horse drawn cart was a truly enriching and fascinating experience at a hopeful turning point in the history of the country.The hospitality we received was wonderful and we learnt so much about Myanmar's Buddhism and other aspects of this fascinating country including experiencing rural life first hand guided by informative and professional local guides throughout the trip. Highly recommended.

Burma – Beyond the Tourist Trail by Andy, 1 Dec 2015
Holiday Rating:

Adventure in Myanmar!

We had a great trip around Myanmar for 2 weeks varied and interesting while helped at all times by a guide and another 'expert' in some places.

We had a great trip around Myanmar for 2 weeks varied and interesting while helped at all times by a guide and another 'expert' in some places.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised and knowledgable and even offering a great price would travel again without hesitation.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 01 Dec 2015:

Thank you

Burma – Beyond the Tourist Trail by Fizz, 29 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

Myanmar is a wonderful destination for culture, scenery, cycling, trekking, visiting local villages and tribes and the people

Great trip with a good mix of activity - cycling and trekking. Enjoyed visits to local villages and would advocate homestays as a great way to get a feel for village life. Lots of culture and obviously the politics are interesting at the moment. Interesting to see the colonial heritage and its legacy to the country. Elephant conservation camp is a great idea which we hope is copied across the country where feasible. Myanmar still has the feel ...

Great trip with a good mix of activity - cycling and trekking. Enjoyed visits to local villages and would advocate homestays as a great way to get a feel for village life. Lots of culture and obviously the politics are interesting at the moment. Interesting to see the colonial heritage and its legacy to the country. Elephant conservation camp is a great idea which we hope is copied across the country where feasible. Myanmar still has the feel of the Far east before too much of the west has intruded. Would love to re visit the country

Rating for tour operator:

Very happy with their handling of our initial enquiry and the translation of our requirements for our trip in to the itinerary. If anything the reality of the trip was better than the written version!!

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 30 Nov 2015:

Many thanks for your review and feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience in Myanmar.

Burma – Beyond the Tourist Trail by Vansugar, 25 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

Amazing

The trip covered a variety of places within Myanmar. The group was able to experience the historical sites, beautiful scenery and the most hospitable/ friendly people living there. It was great to also be able to participate in cycling, trekking and canoeing . A special treat was feeding and bathing the elephants and seeing them so well cared for in their retirement. Wonderful to stay overnight with the hill tribes and experience their way ...

The trip covered a variety of places within Myanmar. The group was able to experience the historical sites, beautiful scenery and the most hospitable/ friendly people living there. It was great to also be able to participate in cycling, trekking and canoeing . A special treat was feeding and bathing the elephants and seeing them so well cared for in their retirement. Wonderful to stay overnight with the hill tribes and experience their way of life. Amazing sunsets . Splendid temples and stupas . Beautiful people. Crazy markets . Delicious food . All enjoyable. Look forward to returning there!

Rating for tour operator:

Beyond the Tourist Trail

Burma – Beyond the Tourist Trail by Mrs D W 14, 4 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fascinating country, wonderful people

The Burmese people were wonderful; polite, happy, elegant and colourful. We felt we had a glimpse of a country as it really is - not manufactured experiences for tourists. Lots of amazing Buddha stupas, statues and temples - each one bigger and more gold than the last!

The Burmese people were wonderful; polite, happy, elegant and colourful. We felt we had a glimpse of a country as it really is - not manufactured experiences for tourists. Lots of amazing Buddha stupas, statues and temples - each one bigger and more gold than the last!

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient and helpful booking service in the UK. A pleasant and helpful guide in Burma, and everything went very smoothly. Her English could have been better, but despite that, she made the holiday a wonderul experience.

Undiscovered Destinations responded to this review on 04 Feb 2015:

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments.