AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Lunana Snowman in Bhutan

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 15
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 15
Reviews Accepted: 15
Reviews Rejected: 0
15 reviews
Sort by:
Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by tangledweb, 13 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

LUNANA SNOWMAN TREK ... WOW

What an incredible experience I had …. Truly challenging but thoroughly rewarding…. Both physically and mentally …. The Lunana Snowman trek was through a variety of beautiful, rugged and extraordinarily expansive landscapes …. Towering mountain peaks, spectacular mountain passes offering breathtaking views, glacier rock valleys, rhododendron covering mountain sides, miniature alpine flowers …. naming just a few of this expedition highlights …...

What an incredible experience I had …. Truly challenging but thoroughly rewarding…. Both physically and mentally …. The Lunana Snowman trek was through a variety of beautiful, rugged and extraordinarily expansive landscapes …. Towering mountain peaks, spectacular mountain passes offering breathtaking views, glacier rock valleys, rhododendron covering mountain sides, miniature alpine flowers …. naming just a few of this expedition highlights …. Absolutely there were times it was extremely demanding … whether that was due to weather, trail conditions, tiredness and/or exhaustion or the continual effort this trek demands from you …. Luckily, any negative feelings were short lived due to the total team commitment for everyone to succeed … this helped everyone through any and all difficulties A very special thanks to the team leaders and support staff … they were excellent in every way ….

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Company needs to be commended on its thoroughness and attention to detail … everything was covered within the information package … there was nothing omitted … all queries and questions answered promptly … google group formed for all participants … The trek team leaders and guides were exceptional and completely committed to the safety and welfare of everyone on the team…. The leaders and support staff were competent, personable and showed great hospitality. They shared their country and their culture with knowledge, pride and passion, which was very much appreciated. I highly recommend Mountain Company to everyone …

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by Leo, 11 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Remote trekking in Bhutan

Remote 4 week trek in Bhutan - trek covered many passes at high altitude.

Remote 4 week trek in Bhutan - trek covered many passes at high altitude.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company run a standout organisational support for their treks with total involvement in all aspects of the trip. This is the main feature to set them apart from many large international competitors who contract out to a local agency while keeping a substantial part of the trip cost. I gave a couple of feedback points which were readily acknowledged and will be incorporated into future trips.

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by KW, 9 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Challenging

The views of the trek were amazing, the guide knowledgeable and the food and hospitality are excellent. This is a life-changing experience for me.

The views of the trek were amazing, the guide knowledgeable and the food and hospitality are excellent. This is a life-changing experience for me.

Rating for tour operator:

Well planning and experienced staff. The tour guides, porters and chefs are all helpful and supportive. I am happy to join the trip through The Mountain Company.

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by deadwood, 3 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

A smoothly run and very enjoyable adventure in the high Himalayas

We spent ask excellent 35 days in Bhutan hiking in the mountains and visiting remote villages and temples. The trip was very professionally organised and executed.

We spent ask excellent 35 days in Bhutan hiking in the mountains and visiting remote villages and temples. The trip was very professionally organised and executed.

Rating for tour operator:

At any stage before our during the trip we were able to get prompt and comprehensive answers to questions and the execution of the trip was perfect.

Reviewer's images:
Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by wild squirrel, 26 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Awesome Snowman Trek

I took part in the 33-day Snowman Trek in Bhutan w a group through the Mountain Company. it was amazing experience: the food was excellent, the local crew was amazing, not to mention the awesome nature and sceneys. Bhutan is an incredible country w deep Buddhist culture, would not hesitate to do it all over again.

I took part in the 33-day Snowman Trek in Bhutan w a group through the Mountain Company. it was amazing experience: the food was excellent, the local crew was amazing, not to mention the awesome nature and sceneys. Bhutan is an incredible country w deep Buddhist culture, would not hesitate to do it all over again.

Rating for tour operator:

TMC gave us very detailed and organized info before hand to help prepare and train for the trip, and during the trek has very experienced TMC as well as local guides to help us trek through high altitude terrain with extended camping (28 days) w/o complications. The local crew was simply superb, food wonderful - the food on the trek and the fun and caring local staff really separated TMC from other operators!

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by Oddy, 1 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Snowman trek, 2019

A sensational long distance, remote trekking adventure that has been on my bucket list for a long time

A sensational long distance, remote trekking adventure that has been on my bucket list for a long time

Rating for tour operator:

Having trekked many times with other companies in the Himalayan Mountains, THE MOUNTAIN COMPANY has surprised and delighted me with its degree of excellence in all areas. To start with there was the thorough and professional planning of the trip details, including enough rest and contingency days to suit the remote conditions. It was clear early on that this was a company that understood remote mountains. Then there was the seamless execution of a very challenging trek, including the problem solving of trekker-created problems that could have derailed the expedition. There was the meticulous care for the health and safety of all the trekkers AND the local support crew. There was the exceptional quality and volume of great food provided to sustain our energy levels over an extended period of time in very remote parts of Bhutan. Also, THE MOUNTAIN COMPANY provided an experienced western leader which added massive value being the bridge between the trekkers and the local company with whom they have been working for many years. THE MOUNTAIN COMPANY sits above all the other companies in my experience. Well done!!

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by Peter Look, 1 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Snowman Trek Walk

This is a very tough and hard walk because long duration, high altitude, rough track (muddy and rocky), continuous walks (some more than 8 hours). It is a physical and psychological challenging journey. But the view is excellent if you are lucky in good weather. Excellent operation is MUST for the completion of the whole walk.

This is a very tough and hard walk because long duration, high altitude, rough track (muddy and rocky), continuous walks (some more than 8 hours). It is a physical and psychological challenging journey. But the view is excellent if you are lucky in good weather. Excellent operation is MUST for the completion of the whole walk.

Rating for tour operator:

They have good ground operation in background, the support team is excellent in co-operation with horse arrangement/movement, tent setting, kitchen, etc.

Reviewer's images:
Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by Kelly, 30 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Successful Snowman trek in Bhutan

A challenging trek (approx 400km) in remote parts of Bhutan.

A challenging trek (approx 400km) in remote parts of Bhutan.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised with great attention to detail, pre, during and post trek. The crew were top notch. A month of trekking in remote parts - no one got sick or injured, everyone completed the trek. The Mountain Company were efficient and thorough, operating with integrity and responsibility.

Reviewer's images:
Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by Katrine, 14 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

The Mountain Company - Snowman Trek II, 2017

This autumn I was finally able to join a group for the famous Lunana/Snowman trek in Bhutan. With a duration of 35-days and taking the long exit via Bumthang, the so-called Snowman II, it was by far the longest trek I've ever done. But the benefit of trekking for this long, is that it also puts you right in the middle of one of the most beautiful and remote places in the Himalayas. Not seeing a car, road, no wifi and other modern comforts for ...

This autumn I was finally able to join a group for the famous Lunana/Snowman trek in Bhutan. With a duration of 35-days and taking the long exit via Bumthang, the so-called Snowman II, it was by far the longest trek I've ever done. But the benefit of trekking for this long, is that it also puts you right in the middle of one of the most beautiful and remote places in the Himalayas. Not seeing a car, road, no wifi and other modern comforts for such an extended period was a much needed reset of myself. That said, lots of thought was put into the preparations for this trip and our staff did a magnificent job at keeping us feed and happy, so you could enjoy the scenery and walking and relax and recover at camp. Very quickly you got into a daily routine starting with bed-tea at 6am and no day in itself was particularly difficult with no altitudes above 5400M - but continuously trekking 6-8 hours everyday for almost a month is definitely a challenge. In many ways it was both the toughest and most beautiful trip I've ever done - Bhutan is truly a magical country with a fascinating culture, wonderful people and stunning nature. And definitely choose the Bumthang exit if you ever consider going - one of the highlights of my trip was the hot-springs at Duer Tsachu, which was just an amazing treat after all the mountain passes.

Rating for tour operator:

It was very obvious throughout, that the The Mountain Company have many years of experience in doing the challenging Snowman trek in Bhutan. Everything from the preparations that had been month underway, to the highly experienced crew selected for the trip. Roland Hunter himself provided what felt like 24/7 e-mail support in the month leading up to our departure, and Almas, our trekking leader, turned out to be a very charismatic leader with a combination of highly experienced leadership (this was his 10th snowman) and excellent social skills and humor. From the food to tents and itinerary, everything had been selected specifically to give the best experience and comfort - no cutting corners. Making such an unpredictable trip run like clockwork is a truly impressive feat.

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by Snowman trekker, 10 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic trip. Great organisation and lucky with the weather

The Lunana Snowman trek is a major logistical challenge for the leader to organise horses and food over such a long remote trek. On this trip everything worked really smoothly. TMC offer the Bumthang exit to the trek which is much less frequently visited and we had a real sense of being in a quite different world in Lunana. The scenery is fantastic, the walk is long but most days are quite straightforward. There is a bit of a sting in the ...

The Lunana Snowman trek is a major logistical challenge for the leader to organise horses and food over such a long remote trek. On this trip everything worked really smoothly. TMC offer the Bumthang exit to the trek which is much less frequently visited and we had a real sense of being in a quite different world in Lunana. The scenery is fantastic, the walk is long but most days are quite straightforward. There is a bit of a sting in the tail going over the last few passes but by then we were all pretty fit and acclimatised.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient. Potential trekkers are screened for suitability so the risk of being held up by someone unfit is minimised. From personal experience I can confirm this is important!