Bamboo Travel Ltd

Reviews of Bamboo Travel Ltd

Overall company rating
4 97%
Reviews submitted: 21
Reviews accepted: 21
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
19
Good
1
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Highlights of Sri Lanka tour

By RosieP on 21 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

An excellent trip, well organised, enabling us to see a lot of the country at a comfortable pace. The driver/guide was very good and informative, the scenery was spectacular, the hotels good and the food delicious, No complaints. We were looked after very well

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Informative, kept in touch with us, happy to discuss any queries we had, good written information. enjoyed having an app specifically for our holiday and impressed to be given a mobile phone in Sri Lanka in case we needed to make contact. Were phone a couple of times on the trip to ask if we had any problems. Good follow up when we returned. Would definitely recommend them and would use them again.

Interesting, varied , well planned with excellent hotels

By Ro on 20 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Mixture of culture, adventure and relaxation.
Enjoyed whale watching, safaris, cookery class, , temples etc

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Have been on five holidays withbBamboo travel
China. Burma. Indoctrination - Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam. Nepal and Bhutan and SriLanka
All perfectly placed
Nned

A pure delight from start to finish

By Mike on 28 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Our third visit to S.E Asia, this time taking in northern Thailand, Laos and, briefly, Cambodia, proved just as fascinating and memorable as our two previous visits. It's not just the incredible sights, the varied scenery, and the exotic experience of it all, it's really the people. We quite simply find the people of S.E Asia the most welcoming and friendly we've ever met; just delightful people. Bamboo Travel's organisation was again perfect, the guides this holiday in Thailand, Laos and Cambodia looked after us with great care. Our 10 day Pandaw cruise this year, on the boat Laos Pandaw, was from Chiang Saen to Vientiane and was again perhaps the highlight of the holiday. Having said that we actually loved every minute of our time away.

Rating for tour operator Average

This was the second year that we used Bamboo Travel to organise our holiday; last year to Myanmar, this year to northern Thailand, Laos and, briefly, Cambodia. We like the fact that we deal with one person when we discuss and plan our itinerary. They are knowledgeable, flexible and helpful in helping us to get it right for us. The ongoing contact is also excellent, right up to the moment we leave; checking all is OK. Their choice of guides has also always proved successful; welcoming, flexible, knowledgeable and with good English. The transfers have always gone like clockwork. It is so important to have confidence that plans will work, that you will be met, the car will be ready, the guide will speak English, the tickets have been booked and so on. We would recommend Bamboo Travel to anyone.

EXCELLENT VISIT TO JAPAN

By Ali Peo on 28 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We travelled by train around Japan, visiting Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka and Hiroshima, as well as visiting rural locations such as Hakone and Miyajima.

The arrangements went very smoothly in Japan. We were greeted off our flight and taken straight to a waiting vehicle. Our guides spoke excellent English and really helped to personalise our trip on the 2 days they accompanied us. They also helped us become familiar with the local transport systems and showed us how to reserve train tickets and top up our travel cards.

The hotels were great. They were located in great areas with good access to the sights, amenities and restaurants. The ryokans were also very good and we experienced sleeping on the floor in the traditional Japanese way. We were able to try out local food, although weren't so keen on the Japanese breakfasts! The choice of Yamaichi Bekkan in Miyajime was excellent with the friendliest hosts I've ever known plus excellent food.


Rating for tour operator Excellent

Bamboo Travel were very responsive. We only asked for a quote about a month before travel and were asked to clarify our requirements so that it could be tailored to our needs. The quote proved to be thorough and thereafter the booking process and pre-holiday information pack was really good. We received a detailed itinerary, plus individual location booklets giving information on hotels, local attractions, and restaurants etc. We also had electronic access to loads of our holiday information on the Vamoose app. This also included a link to weather conditions at our hotel destinations so helped with our packing!

The details provided in finding our accommodation, finding our way around the rail, subway and bus networks, and the suggestions for day trips/excursions were very good. We didn't get lost once!!

I would highly recommend Bamboo Travel

The Wonders of Myanmar

By johnnyg on 21 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

With the help of Ewen at Bamboo we had just over two weeks in Myanmar visiting a wide diversity of climates/cultures/scenic sights and people
If was a brilliant experience
The people are lovely and the scenery amazing
The dawn balloon flight being a personnal high point.
Loved the food and strangely the internal flights.We had expected an ad hoc arrangement but the local airline ABZ were very efficient,on time and all very quick boarding/ deplaning etc. A large number of UK airines could learn alot from them
Overall would completely recommend the country and its smilimg people.Recommend using local guides who always know the hidden gems
Would love to revisit but so many other places in the world to see!!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very good,Ewen knew what we wanted and built an itinerary for our specific needs.
I am sure that wewill use Bamboo travel again.

Private tour of Myanmar (Burma)

By Denise's Perspective on 18 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

It went from one splendid sight to another....
is still unspoilt which is part of it's charm. The hot air balloon flight over Bagan is an optional must as is the River Cruise from Mandalay to Bagan - a welcome moment of calm. Time spent in Inle Lake is also a highlight - seeing river life and fishermen who row with one leg is amazing. You cruise along in a wooden canoe with an outboard motor which feels like a speed boat! These are virtual taxis, another take on Venice for sure! To end the holiday, I highly recommend a trip to Ngapali Beach, golden sand and swimming in the Bay of Bengal - warm, calm and clear.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Luke Stapylton-Smith from Bamboo Travel did us proud. After several discussions he offered a detailed itinerary and nothing was too much trouble. He arranged great guides and excellent transportation. We were met at every airport and taken to our hotels.

By Teddington Traveller on 18 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We had the MOST AMAZING trip.

There were so many great & fascinating experiences… the Angkor temples near Siem Reap (Ta Prohm was totally superb); the cycle ride, bamboo train and bat cave in Battambang; learning about the atrocities in Phnom Penh, which was of course very harrowing but essential to hear about it (and Sa Em , our guide, handled it with such sensitivity); the stunning venue at Champa Lodge; and then the gorgeous hotel by the beach (couldn’t have been more relaxing)… and to top it all off, the Novotel in Bangkok was absolutely fabulous. Throughout our journey, the guides were excellent. The combination of beautiful landscapes & temples, learning about the culture and history, and meeting such welcoming and friendly people made this a truly wonderful trip through Cambodia.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have experienced several tours with Bamboo Travel and each one has been fabulous. Always meticulously organised, building all our thoughts and preferences into the trip as well as giving knowledgable advice on where to go and what to do. Luke has supported us a 100%, he is brilliant! We will definitely be planning more trips with Bamboo Travel in the future.

The Best of South India

By Larry on 17 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This was a customised trip to South India. Started in Pondicherry, then to Chennai, then to Mysore, across to the West Coast and down to the Cochin area and finally to Mumbai.

We had dedicated drivers and guides throughout, we stayed at superb hotels, b&bs and homesteads. We visited cities, villages, an overnight houseboat, wildlife/safari parks and beach resorts.

Our 3 week trip gave us a wonderful insight into this incredible region of India

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This trip to South India is the third holiday arranged for us by Bamboo Travel. Previously we travelled to Myanmar and Sri Lanka.

Their planning for our trip encapsulated all of the likes and dislikes we wanted from the drivers and guides through to the quality of hotels, the sights and everything we wanted to see and do.

A cultural treat

By Another Proposition on 17 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We had a great visit to Calcutta, where we spent three nights at the excellent Oberoi Grand.and visited old childhood haunts and included some sightseeing with an excellent guide and driver. Then flew up to Gowahati in Assam for our river cruise, seeing local village life in stilted houses,visiting temples and enjoyed a great elephant ride, followed by jeep ride in the National Park where we saw wild elephant, the famous one-horned rhino and wonderful birds, and rounded the whole trip off with a wonderful lunch at a tea estate before flying back to Calcutta fo the homeward flight.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Charming, helpful and patient. Nothing was too much trouble.

By Camilla Palmer on 17 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

My mother Trish and I travelled to Calcutta via Dubai on 1st February to revisit my mother's original teenage home as well as City where she was born. As part of this trip we also did some local sightseeing including the Victoria Memorial and Mother Theresas centre. Our brilliant Periplus team drove us around the old districts and facilitated access to mums second home in Ballygunge.

We flew die to Cochin via Chennai and enjoyed beautiful sigg5s, seafood, traditional dancing and even their bi-annual bienale. Next we had a two day houseboat cruise on the Backwaters and relaxation in gorgeous surroundings befor3 flying home on 11th Feb I wish we'd done two weeks!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Like Stapleton Smyth went above and beyond putting a bespoke holiday together for my 80 year Old mother and I to revisit Kolkuta where she'd been born and then on to Fort Cochin and the Backwaters in Kerala. Not only did he put up with endless phone calls and emails but he also went after work to provide details to my mother at home as she was loathe to go out very often.

All the tour provision, guides and drivers were exceptionally kind, knowledgeable and patient throughout. Peripluswere fantastic in arranging all of the above. We especially enjoyed Eighth Bastion and Purity in Kerala as unique hotels. Special thanks to our exemplary driver/guide Santosh Kumar from Cochin. Fantastic experience thank you Luke et al.