AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Art Pursuits Abroad

Art Pursuits Abroad Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Art Pursuits Abroad

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 121
Good 7
Average 2
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 130
Reviews Accepted: 130
Reviews Rejected: 0
130 reviews
Sort by:
Art Pursuits Abroad by Percy, 29 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Organisation and Leadership Throughout

We travelled with a group of 12 to Venice at the end on March 2015. Art Pursuits Abroad is a very experienced operator and it was able to keep our schedule on track despite some mixed ability athletes. The leader's (Dr Joachim Strupp...cheerful/can-do and with perfect English) knowledge of the City and its major artistic treasures was encyclopaedic, and our visits benefited from his very detailed analysis of all the paintings and buildings ...

We travelled with a group of 12 to Venice at the end on March 2015. Art Pursuits Abroad is a very experienced operator and it was able to keep our schedule on track despite some mixed ability athletes. The leader's (Dr Joachim Strupp...cheerful/can-do and with perfect English) knowledge of the City and its major artistic treasures was encyclopaedic, and our visits benefited from his very detailed analysis of all the paintings and buildings and their historical context. The programme of visits was extensive, but the pace humane with a welcome coffee break most mornings about 11 o-clock. The restaurants chosen for the group dinners were good quality without being Ritzy. The same went for a the charming, well located hotel at which we stayed. It was my first visit to Venice and Art Pursuits Abroad provided a great in-depth introduction.

Rating for tour operator:

See above...but also, we found APA efficient and well organised. Our week ran like clockwork.

Art Pursuits Abroad by Austere, 22 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Well-planned, unusual and fascinating

A fascinating look at the early Christian sites in and around Aquileia, with a great itinerary, high quality visits, great lecturers and good food and wine.

A fascinating look at the early Christian sites in and around Aquileia, with a great itinerary, high quality visits, great lecturers and good food and wine.

Rating for tour operator:

A small, specialist firm with an unrivalled level of personal care and attention to detail.

Art Pursuits Abroad by Jennifer, 21 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

An interesting visit to a lesser known part of Italy: Aquileia

This was an excellent study break. The lecturers were very good - Joachim Strupp and Cathy Oakes. `the tour was given an historical perspective, so we saw material from late Roman BC to 15th century Italian frescoes. My main interest was the mosaics in the two aule of the basilica in Aquileia but it was good to see this highlight in relation to later developments. We looked in particular at Lombard architecture which was new to me. The company ...

This was an excellent study break. The lecturers were very good - Joachim Strupp and Cathy Oakes. `the tour was given an historical perspective, so we saw material from late Roman BC to 15th century Italian frescoes. My main interest was the mosaics in the two aule of the basilica in Aquileia but it was good to see this highlight in relation to later developments. We looked in particular at Lombard architecture which was new to me. The company was congenial, the hotel in Udine, Astoria, was pleasant and the food on our trip was excellent. All in all, this was a very good experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Art Pursuits is company which specialises in study tours abroad and lectures in the UK. This is my first holiday with this company but I understand from others that the company not only concentrates on the quality of its lecture but also on the quality of the meals it provides.

Art Pursuits Abroad by Joshua, 20 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Learning about early Christian worship places and art forms

We visited Aquileia and other sites of importance nearby

We visited Aquileia and other sites of importance nearby

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent: lectures and visits, travelling, hotel and meals

Art Pursuits Abroad by Poppo, 20 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

I'm sorry, I don't know what you mean

What would you like to know?

What would you like to know?

Rating for tour operator:

They are called Art Pursuits Abroad

Art Pursuits Abroad by Mrs N t 15, 19 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

well organised and enjoyable

Really good organisation , excellent teaching and a relaxing and positive experience

Really good organisation , excellent teaching and a relaxing and positive experience

Rating for tour operator:

excellent in every respect

Art Pursuits Abroad by PRR, 17 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Serious but fun

Fitted in all important sights and more, but with enough breaks to prevent it feeling like an endurance test. Very helpful explanations from the expert guide.

Fitted in all important sights and more, but with enough breaks to prevent it feeling like an endurance test. Very helpful explanations from the expert guide.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organized trip, attention to detail. A very reliable operator.

Art Pursuits Abroad by Vero, 16 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Intensely enjoyable way to satisfy both body and soul

A study tour that ticked all the boxes. The lecturer and tour manager excelled in their fields and went beyond the call of duty. There had obviously been very good planning, that the tour guide was a native of the town was of great advantage. Though part of a group everyone was carefully looked after and treated as individuals. It was not all work; the meals and even the coffee stops were fabulous. The best food I have ever enjoyed in Italy...

A study tour that ticked all the boxes. The lecturer and tour manager excelled in their fields and went beyond the call of duty. There had obviously been very good planning, that the tour guide was a native of the town was of great advantage. Though part of a group everyone was carefully looked after and treated as individuals. It was not all work; the meals and even the coffee stops were fabulous. The best food I have ever enjoyed in Italy. I can honestly say that I cannot find anything that didn't exceed my best hopes in the whole tour.

Rating for tour operator:

Wonderfully efficient and genuinely friendly. The very high level of scholarship is lightly borne and totally comprehensive. On every level of caring for your intellectual and bodily needs. Underlying everything there is a sense of fun and enjoyment.

Art Pursuits Abroad by mr reasonable, 6 Dec 2014
Holiday Rating:

excellent in all aspects

guide and tour leader excellent, with well chosen hotel, restaurants and culture sites. all aspects of tour well thought out and well executed. staff extremely knowledgeable

guide and tour leader excellent, with well chosen hotel, restaurants and culture sites. all aspects of tour well thought out and well executed. staff extremely knowledgeable

Rating for tour operator:

art pursuits is a company I have travelled with on many occasions, it has always proved to offer a first class experience and good value

Art Pursuits Abroad by Maggie, 27 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

An excellent tour visiting less well-known sites in Florence and looking closely some of the great works of Renaissance artists.

It is always a privilege as well as a pleasure to travel with such an experienced and well-informed tour leader as Joachim Strupp. He is an excellent communicator and introduced us to splendid art and architecture in unexpected places in and around Florence, as well as giving us the opportunity to study in some depth more familiar works in the Uffizi and Pitti Palace. We stayed at the Hotel Berchielli which is very comfortable and in an excellent ...

It is always a privilege as well as a pleasure to travel with such an experienced and well-informed tour leader as Joachim Strupp. He is an excellent communicator and introduced us to splendid art and architecture in unexpected places in and around Florence, as well as giving us the opportunity to study in some depth more familiar works in the Uffizi and Pitti Palace. We stayed at the Hotel Berchielli which is very comfortable and in an excellent location.

Rating for tour operator:

This was the first time I had travelled with Art Pursuits but I shall have no hesitation in booking with this company again.