Art Pursuits Abroad

Reviews of Art Pursuits Abroad

Overall company rating
4 98%
Reviews submitted: 119
Reviews accepted: 119
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
112
Good
6
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Well-planned, unusual and fascinating

By Austere on 22 Mar 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A fascinating look at the early Christian sites in and around Aquileia, with a great itinerary, high quality visits, great lecturers and good food and wine.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

A small, specialist firm with an unrivalled level of personal care and attention to detail.

An interesting visit to a lesser known part of Italy: Aquileia

By Jennifer on 21 Mar 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This was an excellent study break. The lecturers were very good - Joachim Strupp and Cathy Oakes. `the tour was given an historical perspective, so we saw material from late Roman BC to 15th century Italian frescoes. My main interest was the mosaics in the two aule of the basilica in Aquileia but it was good to see this highlight in relation to later developments. We looked in particular at Lombard architecture which was new to me. The company was congenial, the hotel in Udine, Astoria, was pleasant and the food on our trip was excellent. All in all, this was a very good experience.



Rating for tour operator Excellent

Art Pursuits is company which specialises in study tours abroad and lectures in the UK. This is my first holiday with this company but I understand from others that the company not only concentrates on the quality of its lecture but also on the quality of the meals it provides.

Learning about early Christian worship places and art forms

By Joshua on 20 Mar 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We visited Aquileia and other sites of importance nearby

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Excellent: lectures and visits, travelling, hotel and meals

I'm sorry, I don't know what you mean

By Poppo on 20 Mar 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

What would you like to know?

Rating for tour operator Excellent

They are called Art Pursuits Abroad

well organised and enjoyable

By Mrs N t 15 on 19 Mar 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Really good organisation , excellent teaching and a relaxing and positive experience

Rating for tour operator Excellent

excellent in every respect

Serious but fun

By PRR on 17 Mar 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Fitted in all important sights and more, but with enough breaks to prevent it feeling like an endurance test. Very helpful explanations from the expert guide.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Well organized trip, attention to detail. A very reliable operator.

Intensely enjoyable way to satisfy both body and soul

By Vero on 16 Mar 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A study tour that ticked all the boxes. The lecturer and tour manager excelled in their fields and went beyond the call of duty. There had obviously been very good planning, that the tour guide was a native of the town was of great advantage. Though part of a group everyone was carefully looked after and treated as individuals. It was not all work; the meals and even the coffee stops were fabulous. The best food I have ever enjoyed in Italy. I can honestly say that I cannot find anything that didn't exceed my best hopes in the whole tour.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Wonderfully efficient and genuinely friendly. The very high level of scholarship is lightly borne and totally comprehensive. On every level of caring for your intellectual and bodily needs. Underlying everything there is a sense of fun and enjoyment.

excellent in all aspects

By mr reasonable on 6 Dec 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

guide and tour leader excellent, with well chosen hotel, restaurants and culture sites. all aspects of tour well thought out and well executed. staff extremely knowledgeable

Rating for tour operator Excellent

art pursuits is a company I have travelled with on many occasions, it has always proved to offer a first class experience and good value

An excellent tour visiting less well-known sites in Florence and looking closely some of the great works of Renaissance artists.

By Maggie on 27 Nov 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

It is always a privilege as well as a pleasure to travel with such an experienced and well-informed tour leader as Joachim Strupp. He is an excellent communicator and introduced us to splendid art and architecture in unexpected places in and around Florence, as well as giving us the opportunity to study in some depth more familiar works in the Uffizi and Pitti Palace. We stayed at the Hotel Berchielli which is very comfortable and in an excellent location.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This was the first time I had travelled with Art Pursuits but I shall have no hesitation in booking with this company again.

An exhilarating visit to Florence

By Anne Bryant on 24 Nov 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A six day tour to Florence which concentrated on more unusual aspects of Renaissance Florentine Art History. We walked through the Vasari Corridor, visited the Medici Villa in Poggio a Caiano and wondered at the intricate processes of painting frescoes and the complicated details of restoring them. We followed the development of 'Mannerism' and discovered the joy of examining a painting in a dark corner, easily dismissed, that was a a revelation of artistic beauty. Art Pursuits have once again come up trumps; good company, good food and excellent accommodation. Well done Joachim and Patrizia!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Art Pursuits offer cultural holidays on many aspects of what could be called Art/ History. The study tours are lead by experts though always with a background of comfortable hotels and good food at the end of the day. Groups are round 20 in number and, because of a shared interest, very congenial. Having taken several holidays I confirm that they are very well organised and I have always come home feeling enriched in both academic knowledge of the topic and a greater understanding of the country visited. If that sounds too dry, these holidays are great fun too.