Art Pursuits Abroad

Reviews of Art Pursuits Abroad

Overall company rating
4 98%
Reviews submitted: 110
Reviews accepted: 110
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
105
Good
4
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0

enjoyable and informative

By Libby on 10 Oct 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

An excellent introduction to an unknown part of the world (the Silk road cities of Uzbekistan)

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We could not have had a better lecturer and tour manager

Extremely informative, interesting, well organised, efficiently managed and congenial

By Kirsty on 9 Oct 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A tour through Uzbekistan to visit the ancient cities of the Silk Road: Khiva, Bukhara and Samarkand. Destinations were all fascinating in their own way, contrasting each other in architecture, history and atmosphere. We were given just the right amount of academic instruction, pitched at a level which assumed intelligence, but not prior knowledge. The itinerary was managed with efficiency but also care and personal warmth. Hotels and restaurants were generally good, probably the best available, given the undeveloped and, at times, unpredictable nature of the country.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Art Pursuits completed the booking process efficiently, and were helpful when I had queries about visa application and required additional documentation from Uzbekistan.

The golden road to Samarkand was the title of the tour and perfectly reflected the experience.

By Grateful on 7 Oct 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A lecturer/leader with deep knowledge of multiple aspects of the place and all the warmth and sense of fun of a good friend is the key of a 'study tour'. Her husband/tour manager shared the fun along with great patience, energy and generosity in looking after every aspect of the group entertainment and welfare. They're a splendid team.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Got us sorted and on our way to Uzbekistan in very good order, helpful in anticipating and answering any questions.

Uzbekistan - well paced, well led, good itinerary, fabulous sights

By MEM on 7 Oct 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Uzbekistan - 4 cities visited with excellent tour/study leader, excellent tour manager ensuring the whole trip worked. Travel is rather 3rd-world but the bus was good and managed the poor roads well. Hotels are variable but on the good side, food can vary but we were well fed with many tasty dishes. Wine can be variable too, so beer is always a good fall-back. Uzbekistan is remarkably clean, the many wonderful monuments heavily repaired/reconstructed but nevertheless great to see especially with our study leader who explained so much about how they were made and their historical context etc. The only downside were the souvenir sellers who can be remarkably persistent, and the risk of course of stomach upsets.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Art Pursuits Abroad arranges study tours with specialist tour leaders knowledgeable about the history and art of the places visited.

One of the best cultural tours I have been on in the past few years

By Nonno on 16 Jul 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The tour was based in Regensburg, an attractive and historic city, and featured visits to churches and museums there and in several other towns along the Bavarian Danube. The visits provided an interesting and balanced mix of history and art,led by friendly knowledgeable lecturers. Our hotel was excellent, conveniently situated yet quiet, with friendly helpful staff.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Everything ran smoothly from booking onwards. The group leaders were personable and efficient, always ready to sort any minor admin problems that arose and to book restaurants for independent meal evenings. The choice of hotel and of the restaurants for the group meals was very good and obviously a lot of research had been done to ensure venues were open as planned. Nothing went wrong!

a wonderful experience

By happy customer on 23 Jun 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

my holiday was superbly organised and thought out. The hotel was excellent. As a study tour, it could not have been bettered. I learned an enormous amount in an easy, interesting, exciting and humorous way. I loved the conceptual connections made between the places we visited, history and religious issues of the time. How the artists and art of the time influenced and were relevant.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Well organised and well planned and well considered, with clients comfort and interests at its heart.

Lucas Cranach and Martin Luther in Weimar and surrounds

By helen on 20 Jun 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

6 nights in Weimar in a wonderful hotel, bus trips each day to relevant locations. Art and propaganda surrounding the Reformation, mainly by Lucas Cranach the Elder and his workshop, but also other notable artists, and locations.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Extremely knowledgeable and experienced company, everything was thought of and taken care of. A good pace for elderly travellers. A very friendly group, lots of good humour from tour guides, as well as golden nuggets of information and art historical analysis.

ABSORBING AND FUN

By Matisse! on 18 May 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

It was a short break of 6 days dealing with painting picture techniques from the end of the 19th. century to the present. The lecturer is simply ace and the organiser made everything go so smoothly.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Joachim Strupp has gathered around him people of ability and knowledge.

ALTOGETHR ENJOYABLE AND EFFICIENTLY ORGANISED

By wanderer on 13 May 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A carefully organised tour, with a researched itinerary which left me feeling very satisfied. It was enjoyable in all respects thanks to an efficient tour manager and a lecturer full of detailed knowledge.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I have travelled with them many times and have always found the tours well organised in all respects and both stimulating and enjoyable.

So many places I wouldn't have got to on my own.

By Austere on 29 Apr 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A brilliant itinerary carefully put together. Special access to out of the way places. Wonderful private catering. Luxury lunches At Villa Aldobrandini or La Ladriana like being in a Fellini film.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

A huge amount of pre-planning and great individual customer care makes for perfect holidays.