AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Art Pursuits Abroad

Art Pursuits Abroad Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Art Pursuits Abroad

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 121
Good 7
Average 2
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 130
Reviews Accepted: 130
Reviews Rejected: 0
130 reviews
Sort by:
Via Emilia by TravelMaddy, 23 Apr 2017
Holiday Rating:

Bravissimo!

A wonderfully varied programme taking in the sights, art and gastronomy in Parma and neighbouring Modena. We had a lot of good food and were very lucky with the weather - bright, sunny days all week. The hotel was mediocre but as we didn't spend a lot of time in the room in didn't really matter that much. It would have been nice to have seen Ricotta cheese being made (fresh ricotta is my favourite!) but it gives me a reason to want to go ...

A wonderfully varied programme taking in the sights, art and gastronomy in Parma and neighbouring Modena. We had a lot of good food and were very lucky with the weather - bright, sunny days all week. The hotel was mediocre but as we didn't spend a lot of time in the room in didn't really matter that much. It would have been nice to have seen Ricotta cheese being made (fresh ricotta is my favourite!) but it gives me a reason to want to go back!

Rating for tour operator:

This was my first trip with Art Pursuits Abroad and it was a very well structured programme with an excellent tour leader in Roberto. We had an amazing holiday, thank you APA.

Frascati and the Roman Hills by traveller, 18 Apr 2017
Holiday Rating:

great itinerary, excellent guide and local tour leader

study tour of Frascati and the Roman hills

study tour of Frascati and the Roman hills

Rating for tour operator:

long established company, founded and led by a dedicated art and architecture scholar, offering a wide range of cultural tours abroad, plus UK lecture days.

The Genius of Venice by Mrs p k 17, 6 Apr 2017
Holiday Rating:

looking at art in Venice

It was a wonderful experience

It was a wonderful experience

Rating for tour operator:

Art Pursuits is very professional and takes enormous care to ensure that its clients have a stressfree and completely stimulated tour and

Renaissance Rome by Antoinette , 6 Apr 2017
Holiday Rating:

A very enjoyable art history tour of Renaissance Rome

A five day in depth art Tour with an expert Lecturer and Tour Manager and a small group of enthusiastic participants. We stayed in a very conveniently situated and comfortable hotel for visiting the major sites. Also included was a delightful trip to Tivoli.

A five day in depth art Tour with an expert Lecturer and Tour Manager and a small group of enthusiastic participants. We stayed in a very conveniently situated and comfortable hotel for visiting the major sites. Also included was a delightful trip to Tivoli.

Rating for tour operator:

This company specialises in Art History Tours, using first class Experts to guide throughout the Historical Sites Holidays are well researched and the administration provides ample information to allow a clear timetable for travel and for each day of the tour. A Tour Manager facilitates logistic matters , so participants concentrate on enjoying the visits. I have travelled with this company on a number of Tours now and all have proceeded seamlessly and been delightful experiences

Art Pursuits Abroad by JAH, 16 Mar 2017
Holiday Rating:

A terrific tour of features of Medieval Milan

An escorted study tour with a first class Lecturer, a luxurious Hotel near the Duomo and the services of a tour manager , could not have been better.

An escorted study tour with a first class Lecturer, a luxurious Hotel near the Duomo and the services of a tour manager , could not have been better.

Rating for tour operator:

I have had several holidays with this company and have always found them First Class, excellent management and well planned tours, with really expert Lecturers, who are excellent communicators.

Madrid: Museum City Masterpieces by lizn, 5 Mar 2017
Holiday Rating:

An intensive exploration of art and culture of Madrid

A five day programme exploring key elements of Madrid's art and history, led by two excellent art historians with contrasting interest and styles

A five day programme exploring key elements of Madrid's art and history, led by two excellent art historians with contrasting interest and styles

Rating for tour operator:

Care and attention to detail, considerate of everyone in the group

On the Golden Road by Richard, 1 Mar 2017
Holiday Rating:

Enlightening

This was a themed tutored trip examining the life and legacy of Charles IV. It was logically planned, excellent guide with wide ranging knowledge delivered in a most engaging fashion. The accommodation was most conveniently located. The meals provided in the tour were outstanding with well chosen wines.

This was a themed tutored trip examining the life and legacy of Charles IV. It was logically planned, excellent guide with wide ranging knowledge delivered in a most engaging fashion. The accommodation was most conveniently located. The meals provided in the tour were outstanding with well chosen wines.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent, efficient and personal. The tour was exactly as described, with helpful study notes.

In the footsteps Riemenschneider by Peter, 13 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

A fully engaging study tour comfortably accomplished

An art study tour focusing on one of the master sculptors of the German Renaissance, visiting both well-known and out of the way locations to see sculptures in situ, and in the company of a lecturer who imparted a wealth of information about artistic techniques and historical context with ease and good humour.

An art study tour focusing on one of the master sculptors of the German Renaissance, visiting both well-known and out of the way locations to see sculptures in situ, and in the company of a lecturer who imparted a wealth of information about artistic techniques and historical context with ease and good humour.

Rating for tour operator:

Arts Pursuits Abroad does exactly what it says. They operated seamlessly throughout, providing the ideal balance of first class intellectual interest and faultless travel and accommodation.

In the footsteps Riemenschneider by Art lover Oxfordshire, 10 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

An exciting trip to a fascinating part of Europe the British hardly know.

'In the steps of Tilman Riemenschneider' was based in Wuerzburg and took us to charming towns, large museums, tiny parish churches (opened specially) and much in between. The tour leader, Joachim Strupp, is an expert scholar and shared his knowledge of German renaissance sculpture with wit and enthusiasm. Our hotel was pleasant and comfortable with lovely, friendly staff. As a bonus, Wuerzburg has the beautiful Residenz with its spectacular ...

'In the steps of Tilman Riemenschneider' was based in Wuerzburg and took us to charming towns, large museums, tiny parish churches (opened specially) and much in between. The tour leader, Joachim Strupp, is an expert scholar and shared his knowledge of German renaissance sculpture with wit and enthusiasm. Our hotel was pleasant and comfortable with lovely, friendly staff. As a bonus, Wuerzburg has the beautiful Residenz with its spectacular baroque staircase and Tiepolo ceiling.

Rating for tour operator:

One of the most inspiring trips I've ever been on: this company really knows how to get things right.

Andalucia by jo-jo B., 26 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Excellent choice of venues and hotels - and excellent guides and tour manager

Excellent choice of venues and hotels - and excellent guides and tour manager + unique private entries into fascinating private properties and a charming private entry to Alcozar in Seville. A lovely hotel in Seville in enchanting labyrinth of the old Jewish quarter full of passages and patios.

Excellent choice of venues and hotels - and excellent guides and tour manager + unique private entries into fascinating private properties and a charming private entry to Alcozar in Seville. A lovely hotel in Seville in enchanting labyrinth of the old Jewish quarter full of passages and patios.

Rating for tour operator:

Used them before - always excellent choice of venues (often private entries to unusual venues) and very knowledgeable guides. Good care taken over participants and their needs.