AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Art Pursuits Abroad

Art Pursuits Abroad Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Art Pursuits Abroad

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 121
Good 7
Average 2
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 130
Reviews Accepted: 130
Reviews Rejected: 0
130 reviews
Sort by:
Munich: Museum city masterpieces by Jo, 15 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful cultural tour

A tour of Munich churches and galleries led by two excellent art historians. Munich was at its Christmassy best with lots of markets and great atmosphere so not only did we learn a lot but had a lot of fun too.

A tour of Munich churches and galleries led by two excellent art historians. Munich was at its Christmassy best with lots of markets and great atmosphere so not only did we learn a lot but had a lot of fun too.

Rating for tour operator:

APA (art pursuits abroad) specialise in cultural tours led by expert art historians. They excelled themselves when our flight was cancelled due to the snow at Heathrow, arranging for us to go on the next available flight 24hrs later, be taken back to our hotel and taken back to the airport again the next day -all with very little fuss and absolutely no stress for us.

Art Pursuits Abroad responded to this review on 18 Dec 2017:

We're very pleased - although never complacent - to receive such glowing feedback. We always strive to deliver a high-quality experience to our clients, and this extends to our response when unexpected problems occasionally arise.

Caravaggio to Bernini by Antoinette, 17 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

A brilliant trip around Baroque Rome for those interested in Art History organised on a small group basis.

We spent our days visiting Churches and Palazzos to examine the major architectural themes, sculpture and paintings of the Baroque period. Lead by a superb and extremely knowledgable Art Historian., and managed by a first class Tour Manager. Stayed in a very satisfactory location by Ponte Sisto .

We spent our days visiting Churches and Palazzos to examine the major architectural themes, sculpture and paintings of the Baroque period. Lead by a superb and extremely knowledgable Art Historian., and managed by a first class Tour Manager. Stayed in a very satisfactory location by Ponte Sisto .

Rating for tour operator:

An established company that does its upmost to satisfy its many returning customers.

Caravaggio to Bernini by Wulfrunian, 16 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Excellent tour leadership, tour management and office administration

A well planned programme was led by an impressive scholar wide-ranging interests and knowledge and a considerable ability to deliver a great deal of information in the most relaxed and accessible way. The tour manager was excellent, friendly, helpful and efficient and always able to anticipate clients' needs and deal with any problems.

A well planned programme was led by an impressive scholar wide-ranging interests and knowledge and a considerable ability to deliver a great deal of information in the most relaxed and accessible way. The tour manager was excellent, friendly, helpful and efficient and always able to anticipate clients' needs and deal with any problems.

Rating for tour operator:

Tours are very carefully researched and planned and always contain something special or out of the ordinary. All the tour leaders I have met are serious scholars with considerable communication skills. Tour managers are friendly, professional and very helpful. Everyone involved in APA, both abroad and in the office,radiates enthusiasm for the programme, the company and works very hard to ensure client satisfaction.

St Petersburg by Aggie, 20 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Stunning paintings and architecture shown us by two enthusiastic guides

Given that we only had six days, we covered all that I wanted to see, with good food and an excellent hotel in the evenings.

Given that we only had six days, we covered all that I wanted to see, with good food and an excellent hotel in the evenings.

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly and efficient service

St Petersburg by Proops, 16 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

St Petersburg

A 6 day arts tour which for most of us was the first time.

A 6 day arts tour which for most of us was the first time.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour guide had a great deal of knowledge, but I should have pteferred to have heard more from the art historian. She frequently went off on a tangent and it took time. The food arranged by the tour operator was not good. I think she thought we should have a Russian menu, but many times it wasn’t very nice. If it was an economic necessity, far better to have stayed in a less good hotel. However it was well organised.

Romanesque Rhineland by Andrea, 6 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Study + Art Tour

The holiday focussed on the history and architecture of the Romanesque Cathedrals of the Rhineland, in addition there was a short cruise along the Rhine Gorge, a tour and demonstration in the Guttenberg Museum and a visit to see Chagall Windows. The balance of the tour in terms of the visits was perfect. The erudition of our guide was eclectic, a true expert. The delivery of the information and place within the wider historical context ...

The holiday focussed on the history and architecture of the Romanesque Cathedrals of the Rhineland, in addition there was a short cruise along the Rhine Gorge, a tour and demonstration in the Guttenberg Museum and a visit to see Chagall Windows. The balance of the tour in terms of the visits was perfect. The erudition of our guide was eclectic, a true expert. The delivery of the information and place within the wider historical context was masterly. The whole tour was very well organised, most enjoyable and stimulating. Having been so enthused we are looking forward to booking up another tour with this company.

Rating for tour operator:

A company specialising in study days and tours related to Art in the widest sense. The tours are well constructed and led by experts in the specific fields in question. Whilst the content would appeal to the academic those with a passing interest in the subjects would feel catered for. The contact with the office is always helpful and personal.

Villas of the Veneto by nicked, 4 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Art Pursuits Abroad review

As above

As above

Giotto to Piero Della Francesca by FJ, 4 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

CORT17

Meticulous planning and organisation, with an excellent hotel and good travel arranhements.A stimulating imaginative programme led by an outstanding lecture and tour manager.Full marks.

Meticulous planning and organisation, with an excellent hotel and good travel arranhements.A stimulating imaginative programme led by an outstanding lecture and tour manager.Full marks.

Rating for tour operator:

Art Pursuits Abroad is a first rate small company,efficient and welcoming.

Art Pursuits Abroad responded to this review on 04 Oct 2017:

Thank you very much for this glowing feedback. As this client well knows, we are never complacent when we receive such praise, and continually strive to improve further the quality of the experiences we offer our travellers.

Giotto to Piero Della Francesca by Anon, 30 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Art in hillside towns of sunny and beautiful Tuscany and Umbria

Serene and beautiful historic towns and countryside illuminated by a first class and knowledgeable art historian who in a relaxed and friendly way showed us masterpieces of Early Renaissance art and related them to the topography and many-layered cultures of the area. This was backed up by comfortable and attractive hotel in a great situation, delicious food and a tour manager who couldn't have been more helpful and efficient.

Serene and beautiful historic towns and countryside illuminated by a first class and knowledgeable art historian who in a relaxed and friendly way showed us masterpieces of Early Renaissance art and related them to the topography and many-layered cultures of the area. This was backed up by comfortable and attractive hotel in a great situation, delicious food and a tour manager who couldn't have been more helpful and efficient.

Rating for tour operator:

Experienced and knowledgeable

Villas of the Veneto by Mopsy, 26 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Touring Palladian villas in the Veneto

Very good. Well planned, excellent guiding and management.

Very good. Well planned, excellent guiding and management.

Rating for tour operator:

trip very well planned and executed. Good level of academic information on Palladio, well presented with good group participation.