Art Pursuits Abroad

Reviews of Art Pursuits Abroad

Overall company rating
4 98%
Reviews submitted: 125
Reviews accepted: 125
Reviews rejected: 0

Excellent tour

By George on 24 Nov 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Excellent organisation of travel to and within Florence, most comfortable and centrally situated hotel, very interesting and stimulating choice of venues visited, with first class commentary at the various sites. Nice relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Art Pursuits Abroad are now a very well established tour operator with the highest standards of practical arrangements and professional art-historical commentary. The clients are very well looked after and the small group contributes to very friendly atmosphere during the trip. Highly recommended.

Very good organisation, excellent lecturer, well-thought-out itinerary. Meals enjoyable.

By Granita on 22 Nov 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A stimulating, interesting, well-organised and happy week in and around Florence with a friendly group. Joachim Strupp was the excellent guide and lecturer who brought to each visit his great knowledge imparted with skill and humour, while at the same time making room for our own comments on the various works of art. Joachim and Patrizia were unfailingly kind and solicitous throughout the week.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I cannot fault the organisation of Art Pursuits Abroad. The whole trip was not only without the anxiety usually found in travelling, but was well-planned in every aspect.


By Mogie on 11 Nov 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Our hotel, The Regent, was excellent but we were too busy to fully enjoy its 5* luxury. Our lecturer, Tom Abbott, was very knowledgable about the galleries and museums, the history of Prussia and the modern state of Germany.
Berlin is stuffed full of things to see and although we saw a great deal I will be revisiting the city. All the food we had was very good and lunch in the Reichstag was one of the highlights of our trip.

We were a very small group, only 6 women, so did not have the benefit of a separate tour manager. As Tom lived in Berlin there was no one with us at the hotel once the day was over. Fortunately there were no emergencies to cope with.

Also, when we arrived in Berlin at lunchtime several cafes were pointed out to us on the Ku'dam but were left to get on with it in a city that was new to most of us. Of course we managed as we were all capable women but I felt a table could have been reserved for us so that we could get to know one another right at the beginning of the tour.

Apart from these small niggles I very much enjoyed my tour to Berlin.

Rating for tour operator Good

Art Pursuits Abroad is a small company that specialises in cultural tours mainly to Italy, France and Germany. I have been on quite a few and always enjoyed them.

Comprehensive and well organized

By Annimaggie on 9 Nov 2013

Rating for this holiday Good

This short tour of one week enabled us to see nearly all the principal régions of Armenia and the most interesting tourist sites, many of them situated in the mountains and difficult of access.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The whole tour was organized very carefully. The hôtels were good. The coach departed on time and arrived at the different places to be visited each day as planned. The tour manager foresaw when there might be delays and dealt efficiently with any rearrangement of visits and meals and was also a constant source of information.

Armenia - hidden treasures and history: study tour.

By Pip on 29 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Wonderful: ancient country about which I knew very little but it lies at the crossroads of Europe and Asia. Its cultural differences (religion, alphabet, language)have for centuries defined its identity and the Armenians are keen (and need) to develop cultural tourism. Hotels excellent and the food good - lots of locally grown fruit, herbs and vegetables. A busy itinerary but there is so much to see (especially if you like ancient churches in wild settings). We went in October when still warm but the trees were turning gold and the high mountains dusted with fresh snow. I understand it is beautiful too in the spring when tulips and wild flowers appear on the usually barren hillsides. Really good trip.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Small company that seems to have developed a loyal group of followers. Many in our tour had been with them before. Interesting people. Efficient and as a single traveller, I felt well looked after.

Arousing Armenian Awareness

By Rosie on 28 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A 9 day 2 centre tour of Armenia staying for 6 nights in Yerevan and 2 nights in Dzoraget.During the tour we learnt about the history and culture of this ancient country. Visits were organised to see museums, library, cultural features, 7th-13th century re-constructed castles, forts, churches and monasteries. A very comprehensive picture of the architectural and artistic competence of this nation was given, while appreciating the variety of landscape. I now have some understanding of the skills,learning and tragedies of the Armenian people.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Detailed descriptions of tours are published with clear itineraries and booking details. Booking is straight forward and simple. Pre- tour details are excellent with a day-by -day itinerary and meals menu. Travel arrangements are simple and a list of fellow travellers is given. Any queries are efficiently dealt with at the headquarters. A study lecturer and tour manager accompany all the tours.
Overall a well organised experience.


By Leigh on 27 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The tour was very enjoyable with excellent tour and local guides. My suitcase was lost on the outward journey and they were both very helpful in getting it returned. The hotels were very good; the Marriot was better than the Tufenkian Avan Dzoraget, but it was in a very good position. We had good and interesting food which was previously arranged. The tour itself was excellent, very interesting, very well organized. We went to some remote and stunning places which I would never have visited otherwise and were driven by a very capable and experienced driver.It went like clockwork.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very organised,very friendly and helpful.

informative and very well run

By Elizabeth on 26 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Armenia is an unusual destination. We saw the best of it in 8 days and were well looked after (as always on Art Pursuits holidays).

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very capable and good at picking local guides and events. I have had three excellent holidays with Art Pursuits.

Study Tour: Armenia

By Gregory on 24 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This was one of the best holidays I have ever had. Our British lecturer was excellent and very well-prepared, and our local Armenian guide was fluent in English, entertaining and thoughtful. The sights we saw were remarkable and the local people welcoming and keen to share their culture, faith, cuisine etc. We saw exceptional mountainous landscapes in the north of the country where villages are perched on top of plateaus, and early churches cling to the rocks and are sometimes even carved out of the volcanic rock. We saw eagles, tasted freshly-dried locally grown apricots, basked in the sun and drank Armenian brandy. What more could you ask for?

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Art Pursuits Abroad provides for clients who wish to learn through travel and to enjoy the company of like-minded enquiring travellers. Groundwork is always well carried out in advance, and you can forget day-to-day worries, relax and enjoy good restaurants and hotels as well as top-class lecturers.

It was very interesting but not the right tour for me.

By delgirl on 9 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Good

It was an Art History tour based in the Saxony-Anhalt region of Germany. The tour was well thought out and very interesting, the hotel was good and the lecturers were excellent but I had made a poor selection. There was a lot of travelling by coach from place to place and the scenery (if it can be called that) consisted of never ending wind turbines. Having viewed what seems like (and probably was!) thousands I feel that I am amply qualified to write a dissertation on the styles, colours, sizes and efficiency of wind turbines in the field of sustainable energy.
Although my fellow travellers were extremely pleasant I think the average age was probably upper 70s and they all retired to bed after dinner. As I said, the tour was excellent it was just not right for me.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Art Pursuits Abroad Ltd is a small company which has organised Art History tours for some years. I have been on 15 tours to date and they have all been excellent, interesting and well thought out. The lecturers are amazing and very approachable: they don't make you feel an idiot for asking questions on subjects that they would probably have assumed you are familiar with.