AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Art Pursuits Abroad

Art Pursuits Abroad Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Art Pursuits Abroad

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 121
Good 7
Average 2
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 130
Reviews Accepted: 130
Reviews Rejected: 0
130 reviews
Sort by:
Art Pursuits Abroad by Florence, 10 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

Siena, stunning and sublime

This was the first Art Pursuits Abroad Tour I have undertaken. OK, Siena is stunning and sublime, and we were blessed with brilliant weather, but the tour was made very special by first class organisation both before and during the tour and by having the benefit of an outstanding lecturer. The city, it's art, architecture and history were all brought to life by the knowledge so well imparted by our inspiring lecturer.

This was the first Art Pursuits Abroad Tour I have undertaken. OK, Siena is stunning and sublime, and we were blessed with brilliant weather, but the tour was made very special by first class organisation both before and during the tour and by having the benefit of an outstanding lecturer. The city, it's art, architecture and history were all brought to life by the knowledge so well imparted by our inspiring lecturer.

Rating for tour operator:

Art Pursuits Abroad - well organised trip that treated you like intelligent adults.

Art Pursuits Abroad by Fading Beauty, 5 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

quite hard work; I was learning all the time and shall for ever after enjoy paintings, sculpture & architecture more.

Intensive study of frescoes, paintings, sculptures and architecture in Florence. We walked everywhere, mostly in the pouring rain, and were privileged to have the analysis and commentary of Dr. Joachim Strupp, the breadth and depth of whose knowledge is impressive - and lightly delivered. A decent hotel (brilliant location), some good meals, but time left for us to wander off and make our own discoveries - and do a bit of shopping!

Intensive study of frescoes, paintings, sculptures and architecture in Florence. We walked everywhere, mostly in the pouring rain, and were privileged to have the analysis and commentary of Dr. Joachim Strupp, the breadth and depth of whose knowledge is impressive - and lightly delivered. A decent hotel (brilliant location), some good meals, but time left for us to wander off and make our own discoveries - and do a bit of shopping!

Rating for tour operator:

A small specialist firm whose title - Art Pursuits Abroad - tells it all. Their itineraries are extremely well planned, and delivered with grace and humour.

Art Pursuits Abroad by Mrs J S 14, 25 Feb 2014
Holiday Rating:

Insightful art history in a splendid environment

This study tour of Renaissance Rome was exceptionally well organised from start to finish. The on-site lectures (many of them in places normally unavailable to the public) were insightful and erudite - but accessible and bounded with enthusiasm and love of the subject. The hotel was very well appointed (absolutely worthy of all its 4 stars)and conveniently located. I have just returned from a joyful 6 days, and my first task has been to book ...

This study tour of Renaissance Rome was exceptionally well organised from start to finish. The on-site lectures (many of them in places normally unavailable to the public) were insightful and erudite - but accessible and bounded with enthusiasm and love of the subject. The hotel was very well appointed (absolutely worthy of all its 4 stars)and conveniently located. I have just returned from a joyful 6 days, and my first task has been to book another trip with Art Pursuits Abroad!

Rating for tour operator:

I had no previous experience of Art Pursuits Abroad, having simply found a loose insert they placed in the V&A Members magazine. However, I had heard of the lecturer, Dr Paula Nuttall. I have not been disappointed. All arrangements, both before and during the trip itself were impeccable and timely. As I've noted above, I've already booked another trip!

Art Pursuits Abroad by Dinah, 9 Dec 2013
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic experience in Munich

Saw wonderful things, varied programme, efficiently run and well organised

Saw wonderful things, varied programme, efficiently run and well organised

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient organisation; excellent varied itinerary; surprising delights, good hotel; great meals and restaurants; caring tour managers; lecturers excellent - a real experience to savour.

Art Pursuits Abroad by PeterPan, 30 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

ISTA13

Excellent in every wau.Quiet comfortable hotel with fantastic staff.Visited many different sites & restaurants.Lecturer extremely knowledgeable & fullof enthusiasm,as was the tour manager & local guide. Journeys went withut a hitch.

Excellent in every wau.Quiet comfortable hotel with fantastic staff.Visited many different sites & restaurants.Lecturer extremely knowledgeable & fullof enthusiasm,as was the tour manager & local guide. Journeys went withut a hitch.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficint & friendly.Nothing too much trouble for them.

Art Pursuits Abroad by George, 24 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Excellent tour

Excellent organisation of travel to and within Florence, most comfortable and centrally situated hotel, very interesting and stimulating choice of venues visited, with first class commentary at the various sites. Nice relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

Excellent organisation of travel to and within Florence, most comfortable and centrally situated hotel, very interesting and stimulating choice of venues visited, with first class commentary at the various sites. Nice relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

Rating for tour operator:

Art Pursuits Abroad are now a very well established tour operator with the highest standards of practical arrangements and professional art-historical commentary. The clients are very well looked after and the small group contributes to very friendly atmosphere during the trip. Highly recommended.

Art Pursuits Abroad by Granita, 22 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Very good organisation, excellent lecturer, well-thought-out itinerary. Meals enjoyable.

A stimulating, interesting, well-organised and happy week in and around Florence with a friendly group. Joachim Strupp was the excellent guide and lecturer who brought to each visit his great knowledge imparted with skill and humour, while at the same time making room for our own comments on the various works of art. Joachim and Patrizia were unfailingly kind and solicitous throughout the week.

A stimulating, interesting, well-organised and happy week in and around Florence with a friendly group. Joachim Strupp was the excellent guide and lecturer who brought to each visit his great knowledge imparted with skill and humour, while at the same time making room for our own comments on the various works of art. Joachim and Patrizia were unfailingly kind and solicitous throughout the week.

Rating for tour operator:

I cannot fault the organisation of Art Pursuits Abroad. The whole trip was not only without the anxiety usually found in travelling, but was well-planned in every aspect.

Art Pursuits Abroad by Mogie, 11 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

BERLIN - AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE

Our hotel, The Regent, was excellent but we were too busy to fully enjoy its 5* luxury. Our lecturer, Tom Abbott, was very knowledgable about the galleries and museums, the history of Prussia and the modern state of Germany. Berlin is stuffed full of things to see and although we saw a great deal I will be revisiting the city. All the food we had was very good and lunch in the Reichstag was one of the highlights of our trip. We were a ...

Our hotel, The Regent, was excellent but we were too busy to fully enjoy its 5* luxury. Our lecturer, Tom Abbott, was very knowledgable about the galleries and museums, the history of Prussia and the modern state of Germany. Berlin is stuffed full of things to see and although we saw a great deal I will be revisiting the city. All the food we had was very good and lunch in the Reichstag was one of the highlights of our trip. We were a very small group, only 6 women, so did not have the benefit of a separate tour manager. As Tom lived in Berlin there was no one with us at the hotel once the day was over. Fortunately there were no emergencies to cope with. Also, when we arrived in Berlin at lunchtime several cafes were pointed out to us on the Ku'dam but were left to get on with it in a city that was new to most of us. Of course we managed as we were all capable women but I felt a table could have been reserved for us so that we could get to know one another right at the beginning of the tour. Apart from these small niggles I very much enjoyed my tour to Berlin.

Rating for tour operator:

Art Pursuits Abroad is a small company that specialises in cultural tours mainly to Italy, France and Germany. I have been on quite a few and always enjoyed them.

Art Pursuits Abroad by Annimaggie, 9 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Comprehensive and well organized

This short tour of one week enabled us to see nearly all the principal régions of Armenia and the most interesting tourist sites, many of them situated in the mountains and difficult of access.

This short tour of one week enabled us to see nearly all the principal régions of Armenia and the most interesting tourist sites, many of them situated in the mountains and difficult of access.

Rating for tour operator:

The whole tour was organized very carefully. The hôtels were good. The coach departed on time and arrived at the different places to be visited each day as planned. The tour manager foresaw when there might be delays and dealt efficiently with any rearrangement of visits and meals and was also a constant source of information.

Art Pursuits Abroad by Pip, 29 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Armenia - hidden treasures and history: study tour.

Wonderful: ancient country about which I knew very little but it lies at the crossroads of Europe and Asia. Its cultural differences (religion, alphabet, language)have for centuries defined its identity and the Armenians are keen (and need) to develop cultural tourism. Hotels excellent and the food good - lots of locally grown fruit, herbs and vegetables. A busy itinerary but there is so much to see (especially if you like ancient churches in ...

Wonderful: ancient country about which I knew very little but it lies at the crossroads of Europe and Asia. Its cultural differences (religion, alphabet, language)have for centuries defined its identity and the Armenians are keen (and need) to develop cultural tourism. Hotels excellent and the food good - lots of locally grown fruit, herbs and vegetables. A busy itinerary but there is so much to see (especially if you like ancient churches in wild settings). We went in October when still warm but the trees were turning gold and the high mountains dusted with fresh snow. I understand it is beautiful too in the spring when tulips and wild flowers appear on the usually barren hillsides. Really good trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Small company that seems to have developed a loyal group of followers. Many in our tour had been with them before. Interesting people. Efficient and as a single traveller, I felt well looked after.