Art Pursuits Abroad

Reviews of Art Pursuits Abroad

Overall company rating
4 98%
Reviews submitted: 119
Reviews accepted: 119
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
112
Good
6
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0

quite hard work; I was learning all the time and shall for ever after enjoy paintings, sculpture & architecture more.

By Fading Beauty on 5 Mar 2014

Rating for this holiday Good

Intensive study of frescoes, paintings, sculptures and architecture in Florence. We walked everywhere, mostly in the pouring rain, and were privileged to have the analysis and commentary of Dr. Joachim Strupp, the breadth and depth of whose knowledge is impressive - and lightly delivered. A decent hotel (brilliant location), some good meals, but time left for us to wander off and make our own discoveries - and do a bit of shopping!

Rating for tour operator Good

A small specialist firm whose title - Art Pursuits Abroad - tells it all. Their itineraries are extremely well planned, and delivered with grace and humour.

Insightful art history in a splendid environment

By Mrs J S 14 on 25 Feb 2014

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This study tour of Renaissance Rome was exceptionally well organised from start to finish. The on-site lectures (many of them in places normally unavailable to the public) were insightful and erudite - but accessible and bounded with enthusiasm and love of the subject. The hotel was very well appointed (absolutely worthy of all its 4 stars)and conveniently located. I have just returned from a joyful 6 days, and my first task has been to book another trip with Art Pursuits Abroad!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I had no previous experience of Art Pursuits Abroad, having simply found a loose insert they placed in the V&A Members magazine. However, I had heard of the lecturer, Dr Paula Nuttall. I have not been disappointed. All arrangements, both before and during the trip itself were impeccable and timely. As I've noted above, I've already booked another trip!

Fantastic experience in Munich

By Dinah on 9 Dec 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Saw wonderful things, varied programme, efficiently run and well organised

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Efficient organisation; excellent varied itinerary; surprising delights, good hotel; great meals and restaurants; caring tour managers; lecturers excellent - a real experience to savour.

ISTA13

By PeterPan on 30 Nov 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Excellent in every wau.Quiet comfortable hotel with fantastic staff.Visited many different sites & restaurants.Lecturer extremely knowledgeable & fullof enthusiasm,as was the tour manager & local guide. Journeys went withut a hitch.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Efficint & friendly.Nothing too much trouble for them.

Excellent tour

By George on 24 Nov 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Excellent organisation of travel to and within Florence, most comfortable and centrally situated hotel, very interesting and stimulating choice of venues visited, with first class commentary at the various sites. Nice relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Art Pursuits Abroad are now a very well established tour operator with the highest standards of practical arrangements and professional art-historical commentary. The clients are very well looked after and the small group contributes to very friendly atmosphere during the trip. Highly recommended.

Very good organisation, excellent lecturer, well-thought-out itinerary. Meals enjoyable.

By Granita on 22 Nov 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A stimulating, interesting, well-organised and happy week in and around Florence with a friendly group. Joachim Strupp was the excellent guide and lecturer who brought to each visit his great knowledge imparted with skill and humour, while at the same time making room for our own comments on the various works of art. Joachim and Patrizia were unfailingly kind and solicitous throughout the week.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I cannot fault the organisation of Art Pursuits Abroad. The whole trip was not only without the anxiety usually found in travelling, but was well-planned in every aspect.

BERLIN - AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE

By Mogie on 11 Nov 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Our hotel, The Regent, was excellent but we were too busy to fully enjoy its 5* luxury. Our lecturer, Tom Abbott, was very knowledgable about the galleries and museums, the history of Prussia and the modern state of Germany.
Berlin is stuffed full of things to see and although we saw a great deal I will be revisiting the city. All the food we had was very good and lunch in the Reichstag was one of the highlights of our trip.

We were a very small group, only 6 women, so did not have the benefit of a separate tour manager. As Tom lived in Berlin there was no one with us at the hotel once the day was over. Fortunately there were no emergencies to cope with.

Also, when we arrived in Berlin at lunchtime several cafes were pointed out to us on the Ku'dam but were left to get on with it in a city that was new to most of us. Of course we managed as we were all capable women but I felt a table could have been reserved for us so that we could get to know one another right at the beginning of the tour.

Apart from these small niggles I very much enjoyed my tour to Berlin.

Rating for tour operator Good

Art Pursuits Abroad is a small company that specialises in cultural tours mainly to Italy, France and Germany. I have been on quite a few and always enjoyed them.

Comprehensive and well organized

By Annimaggie on 9 Nov 2013

Rating for this holiday Good

This short tour of one week enabled us to see nearly all the principal régions of Armenia and the most interesting tourist sites, many of them situated in the mountains and difficult of access.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The whole tour was organized very carefully. The hôtels were good. The coach departed on time and arrived at the different places to be visited each day as planned. The tour manager foresaw when there might be delays and dealt efficiently with any rearrangement of visits and meals and was also a constant source of information.

Armenia - hidden treasures and history: study tour.

By Pip on 29 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Wonderful: ancient country about which I knew very little but it lies at the crossroads of Europe and Asia. Its cultural differences (religion, alphabet, language)have for centuries defined its identity and the Armenians are keen (and need) to develop cultural tourism. Hotels excellent and the food good - lots of locally grown fruit, herbs and vegetables. A busy itinerary but there is so much to see (especially if you like ancient churches in wild settings). We went in October when still warm but the trees were turning gold and the high mountains dusted with fresh snow. I understand it is beautiful too in the spring when tulips and wild flowers appear on the usually barren hillsides. Really good trip.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Small company that seems to have developed a loyal group of followers. Many in our tour had been with them before. Interesting people. Efficient and as a single traveller, I felt well looked after.

Arousing Armenian Awareness

By Rosie on 28 Oct 2013

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A 9 day 2 centre tour of Armenia staying for 6 nights in Yerevan and 2 nights in Dzoraget.During the tour we learnt about the history and culture of this ancient country. Visits were organised to see museums, library, cultural features, 7th-13th century re-constructed castles, forts, churches and monasteries. A very comprehensive picture of the architectural and artistic competence of this nation was given, while appreciating the variety of landscape. I now have some understanding of the skills,learning and tragedies of the Armenian people.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Detailed descriptions of tours are published with clear itineraries and booking details. Booking is straight forward and simple. Pre- tour details are excellent with a day-by -day itinerary and meals menu. Travel arrangements are simple and a list of fellow travellers is given. Any queries are efficiently dealt with at the headquarters. A study lecturer and tour manager accompany all the tours.
Overall a well organised experience.