Art Pursuits Abroad

Reviews of Art Pursuits Abroad

Overall company rating
4 98%
Reviews submitted: 121
Reviews accepted: 121
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
113
Good
7
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Rare insights into treasures

By Art fan on 20 Dec 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about The Genius of Venice >

A well-curated survey of the finest elements of art and architecture in and around Venice. Our expert lecturer gently imparted important observations - and our local guide organised resturants, transport, tickets etc. smoothly.

Rating for tour operator Good

Organisation, including an extra day, was clear.

This was an expensive tour (and if less-expensive options were available I'd be interested), but contributing to the cost were ALL entrance tickets, most meals, local transport - and a hefty single-room supplement.

Taking a water taxi through rough water to Marco Polo airport was scary. I wished we had travelled around by train instead!

Wonderful cultural tour

By Jo on 15 Dec 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Munich: Museum city masterpieces >

A tour of Munich churches and galleries led by two excellent art historians. Munich was at its Christmassy best with lots of markets and great atmosphere so not only did we learn a lot but had a lot of fun too.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

APA (art pursuits abroad) specialise in cultural tours led by expert art historians.
They excelled themselves when our flight was cancelled due to the snow at Heathrow, arranging for us to go on the next available flight 24hrs later, be taken back to our hotel and taken back to the airport again the next day -all with very little fuss and absolutely no stress for us.

A brilliant trip around Baroque Rome for those interested in Art History organised on a small group basis.

By Antoinette on 17 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Caravaggio to Bernini >

We spent our days visiting Churches and Palazzos to examine the major architectural themes, sculpture and paintings of the Baroque period. Lead by a superb and extremely knowledgable Art Historian., and managed by a first class Tour Manager.
Stayed in a very satisfactory location by Ponte Sisto .

Rating for tour operator Excellent

An established company that does its upmost to satisfy its many returning customers.

Excellent tour leadership, tour management and office administration

By Wulfrunian on 16 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Good
Find more about Caravaggio to Bernini >

A well planned programme was led by an impressive scholar wide-ranging interests and knowledge and a considerable ability to deliver a great deal of information in the most relaxed and accessible way. The tour manager was excellent, friendly, helpful and efficient and always able to anticipate clients' needs and deal with any problems.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Tours are very carefully researched and planned and always contain something special or out of the ordinary. All the tour leaders I have met are serious scholars with considerable communication skills. Tour managers are friendly, professional and very helpful. Everyone involved in APA, both abroad and in the office,radiates enthusiasm for the programme, the company and works very hard to ensure client satisfaction.

Stunning paintings and architecture shown us by two enthusiastic guides

By Aggie on 20 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about St Petersburg >

Given that we only had six days, we covered all that I wanted to see, with good food and an excellent hotel in the evenings.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Friendly and efficient service

St Petersburg

By Proops on 16 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about St Petersburg >

A 6 day arts tour which for most of us was the first time.

Rating for tour operator Good

Our tour guide had a great deal of knowledge, but I should have pteferred to have heard more from the art historian. She frequently went off on a tangent and it took time.
The food arranged by the tour operator was not good. I think she thought we should have a Russian menu, but many times it wasn’t very nice. If it was an economic necessity, far better to have stayed in a less good hotel. However it was well organised.

Study + Art Tour

By Andrea on 6 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Romanesque Rhineland >

The holiday focussed on the history and architecture of the Romanesque Cathedrals of the Rhineland, in addition there was a short cruise along the Rhine Gorge, a tour and demonstration in the Guttenberg Museum and a visit to see Chagall Windows. The balance of the tour in terms of the visits was perfect. The erudition of our guide was eclectic, a true expert. The delivery of the information and place within the wider historical context was masterly. The whole tour was very well organised, most enjoyable and stimulating. Having been so enthused we are looking forward to booking up another tour with this company.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

A company specialising in study days and tours related to Art in the widest sense. The tours are well constructed and led by experts in the specific fields in question. Whilst the content would appeal to the academic those with a passing interest in the subjects would feel catered for. The contact with the office is always helpful and personal.

Study Tour : Villas of the Veneto

By nicked on 4 Oct 2017

Rating for tour operator Good

As above

CORT17

By FJ on 4 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Giotto to Piero Della Francesca >

Meticulous planning and organisation, with an excellent hotel and good travel arranhements.A stimulating imaginative programme led by an outstanding lecture and tour manager.Full marks.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Art Pursuits Abroad is a first rate small company,efficient and welcoming.

Art in hillside towns of sunny and beautiful Tuscany and Umbria

By Anon on 30 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Giotto to Piero Della Francesca >

Serene and beautiful historic towns and countryside illuminated by a first class and knowledgeable art historian who in a relaxed and friendly way showed us masterpieces of Early Renaissance art and related them to the topography and many-layered cultures of the area. This was backed up by comfortable and attractive hotel in a great situation, delicious food and a tour manager who couldn't have been more helpful and efficient.

Rating for tour operator Excellent


Experienced and knowledgeable