AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Andante Travel

Andante Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Andante Travel

Overall Company Rating
86%
Excellent 7
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 10
Reviews Accepted: 10
Reviews Rejected: 0
10 reviews
Sort by:
Andante Travel by rellac, 5 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

They do not seem to have the clients best interests at heart

We recently joined their Pompeii and Herculaneum tour and whilst I have nothing but admiration for the tour manager and the lecturer I am extremely critical of the company. The hotel we stayed at was quite inappropriate. Difficult access, in need of considerable capital investment for upgrading, good breakfast but food otherwise awful, rooms shabby, bathrooms inadequate, no local amenities and so on. Andante are supposed to be at the top ...

We recently joined their Pompeii and Herculaneum tour and whilst I have nothing but admiration for the tour manager and the lecturer I am extremely critical of the company. The hotel we stayed at was quite inappropriate. Difficult access, in need of considerable capital investment for upgrading, good breakfast but food otherwise awful, rooms shabby, bathrooms inadequate, no local amenities and so on. Andante are supposed to be at the top of their game but seem to be sitting on their laurels. They have used this hotel for 20 years and whether for financial or other reasons have stopped seeing it objectively, thus doing their clientele a great disservice. Although I wrote to them some five weeks ago I have yet to get a reply. I would never travel with them again nor would I recommend them to anyone. There are other companies doing much the same thing with far better customer service. My criticism is not of the hotel; it is what it is, but Andante should not be using it.

Rating for tour operator:

Please see above

Andante Travel responded to this review on 24 Jan 2018:

Thank you for your feedback Dr Caller and we are pleased that you had a great experience with our Tour Manager and Guide Lecturer on your tour, who are also available to sort any accommodation issues raised during the tour and will do their upmost to resolve. It is important to us the hotels we stay out are strong partners and meet the expectations of our guests, and have continually reviewed our Pompeii and Herculaneum tour hotels over the last 30 years of visits, however, we value the continual and honest feedback from our guests to ensure we can continue to meet our own and our guests expectations. We have taken your comments on board to investigate further.

Andante Travel by Painter, 30 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Miss information in brochure change of accommodation

I had a fabulous holiday with authentic adventures in Italy last year,just wonderful in every way.So I had no hesitation to book again. Ah It did not go well . I booked a painting holiday in a small village by the sea in La Gomera.Small hotel ,by the sea front ,walks along the beach sea views for spectacular sunsets. Just what I was in need of after a family bereavement. A few weeks before departure I was informed that the hotel had been ...

I had a fabulous holiday with authentic adventures in Italy last year,just wonderful in every way.So I had no hesitation to book again. Ah It did not go well . I booked a painting holiday in a small village by the sea in La Gomera.Small hotel ,by the sea front ,walks along the beach sea views for spectacular sunsets. Just what I was in need of after a family bereavement. A few weeks before departure I was informed that the hotel had been changed to a huge totally un authentic golf resort ,the other side of the island .to walk to the sea front took a journey in a lift and a twenty minute walk .No sea view just a wall ,a very basic room in a terrace of units which meant a long walk to the reception or dinning room .Dinning was buffet style ,not what you need after a long day painting and quality and authenticity of food not what I expected from this company that provided for me so well last year ..If I had wanted a resort experience I would have booked with TUI who use the same resort for half the price I paid to Authentic adventures.so dissatisfaction all round with the fact I was not staying where I chose . Brochure states the necessity of arriving in time for afternoon ferry .To enable me to do this involved staying over night at the airport for a 7a.m.flight.Only to be met at the airport by a very apologetic rep who informed us we had to wait for the other guests and get the evening ferry! We were deposited at the ferry terminal and left to our own devices for the next six hours. The heat was a bit more than the cold wet day we had left in Bristol,and we were dressed for that ! Not the way one wants to start a holiday with a personal touch company! Spending six hours in a dreadful resort that I would never choose to visit was dreadful . Then a two hour ferry ,then to find my self in a hideous impersonal resort was just awful . The outcome of the wait in Tenerife was my companion suffered heat exhaustion and was confined to her room for most of the week and was wheelchair ed home . I wrote to the company who took a week to respond .They said they took our views on board and will accordingly alter the flight recommendations for next year! However they would not recompense us for the totally un authentic holiday that we had . One not happy Authentic Adventures customer

Rating for tour operator:

Last year couldn't fault . This year not good .they knew we would have a six hour wait but did nothing to make it bearable . They totally changed the sort of accommodation. They took almost two weeks to respond . There was just a brief apology.

Andante Travel responded to this review on 24 Jan 2018:

Thank you for the honest feedback, Mrs Molyneaux. We were disappointed to learn of your experiences and that your previous great adventure with us was not met the second time round. As you reference, we have taken on board your valuable feedback and have investigated the reasons behind the issues on this occasion, in order to ensure this isn't an experience replicated on future tours.

Andante Travel by cathyq, 13 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding access to Cambodian sites

A wonderful opportunity to see more sites in Cambodia than other operators offer. This is combined with a week in Vietnam, though there are fewer sites of historic interest there. Two weeks in just Cambodia would have been perfect!

A wonderful opportunity to see more sites in Cambodia than other operators offer. This is combined with a week in Vietnam, though there are fewer sites of historic interest there. Two weeks in just Cambodia would have been perfect!

Rating for tour operator:

Andante took great care in organising the tour, and most of the time things ran very smoothly. The expert lecturer in Cambodia, Dr Damian Evans, was outstanding.

Andante Travel by C.G., 30 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful overview of Rome

A most informative and enjoyable week in the company of an accomplished guide lecturer, and unbelievably efficient tour manager and a friendly group of fellow travelers. Special access in certain sites, including a private visit to the Sistine Chapel, enhanced a week which took us to see almost every site in Rome I have ever wanted to see, and a few that I had not previously known about.

A most informative and enjoyable week in the company of an accomplished guide lecturer, and unbelievably efficient tour manager and a friendly group of fellow travelers. Special access in certain sites, including a private visit to the Sistine Chapel, enhanced a week which took us to see almost every site in Rome I have ever wanted to see, and a few that I had not previously known about.

Rating for tour operator:

Smooth organisation and plenty of information provided in advance of the holiday to aid preparation.

Andante Travel by Tony, 25 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

A great week exploring the archaeology of the classical Campania area of Italy

We had a lovely and very busy week. We explored many sites incuding the fabulous Pompeii and Herculaneum and climbed up Vesuvius on the last day. We stayed at 2 very different hotels - one up a steep mountain road with beautiful views and lovely gardens, and one modern one with huge rooms overlooking the Bay of Naples very near the entrance to Herculaneum archeological site.

We had a lovely and very busy week. We explored many sites incuding the fabulous Pompeii and Herculaneum and climbed up Vesuvius on the last day. We stayed at 2 very different hotels - one up a steep mountain road with beautiful views and lovely gardens, and one modern one with huge rooms overlooking the Bay of Naples very near the entrance to Herculaneum archeological site.

Rating for tour operator:

Andante specialise in small group archaeology type holidays. Everything is included - even wine with most meals. They employ specialist guides with a good knowledge of the subject.

Andante Travel by SB, 23 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

epicurean archaeology

It was an andante tour of Etruscan sites in Italy. It wass expertly led ; the sites were excellent,the tour leaders expert and the food and accomodation was superb. it was a great trip with a convivial group of people.

It was an andante tour of Etruscan sites in Italy. It wass expertly led ; the sites were excellent,the tour leaders expert and the food and accomodation was superb. it was a great trip with a convivial group of people.

Rating for tour operator:

Andante lead intensive archaeological tours in small groups supported by expert guides and great food and accommodation.

Andante Travel by Ellen, 23 Apr 2014
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

After 23 years living in 10 countries in government service, this was my first personal holiday--and to destinations that were dreams. Key to this experience is that I did not want to have to think about details--only to focus on the places, history, and experience of each site with a scholar to guide it. The Andante experience met my dream in every way. The group was small (11 people), and we walked entire days--with not a moment of boredom--but ...

After 23 years living in 10 countries in government service, this was my first personal holiday--and to destinations that were dreams. Key to this experience is that I did not want to have to think about details--only to focus on the places, history, and experience of each site with a scholar to guide it. The Andante experience met my dream in every way. The group was small (11 people), and we walked entire days--with not a moment of boredom--but continuous inspiration enlightened by the ability of a brilliant leader to convey ancient lives to us in a way that one could almost feel, hear and smell life in sites like the Baths of Caracalla, Ostia Antica, Herculaneum and Pompeii, and to feel the overwhelming grandeur of Rome in the time of Augustus. The hotels in Rome and in Herculaneum were welcoming, with gracious staff, excellent breakfasts and very agreeable rooms--each in perfect locations. Andante's careful, detailed planning, outstanding scholarship and meticulous tour manager simply cannot be improved upon. This was an inspiring and serene experience and a dream come true.

Rating for tour operator:

Each person with whom I was in contact at Andante is outstanding. It seemed that no question had not been considered, and great care was taken to ensure that my concerns were met--and more. Simply the best scholarship in combination with administrative elements (transportation, timeliness, meals, comfort and care) one could imagine. The level of hotel accommodation was perfect for this tour, which was focused on archaeological travel that stimulated the mind and exercised the body (I loved the days filled with walking). I plan to take other tours with Andante and look forward to the new experiences with great enthusiasm, and have already been encouraging others to do the same..

Andante Travel by Bix, 21 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

A brilliant tour

If you want your Roman history brought to life, so that you feel what it must have been like to be a Roman living in these small coastal towns, this is the tour for you. We usually travel independently, but we wouldn't have got a tenth of the interest and enjoyment if we had done this trip by ourselves. One small reservation - there's a lot of wonderful things packed in to a short time, so you can get a bit tired toward the end! I have wanted ...

If you want your Roman history brought to life, so that you feel what it must have been like to be a Roman living in these small coastal towns, this is the tour for you. We usually travel independently, but we wouldn't have got a tenth of the interest and enjoyment if we had done this trip by ourselves. One small reservation - there's a lot of wonderful things packed in to a short time, so you can get a bit tired toward the end! I have wanted to see Pompeii since I was at school (more years ago than I care to remember) and I can't think of a better way of seeing it.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything about this short holiday was first class - the planning, the organisation, the guide and tour leader, the hotel (location left a bit to be desired, though), even the weather - and it was January. Everyone was friendly and superbly good at their jobs.

Andante Travel by Mrs S T 13, 17 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant.

Archaeology tour of classical Campania led by archaeologist. Fantastic time, really packed in as much history as possible! Guide was brilliant. A holiday for genuine enthusiasts!

Archaeology tour of classical Campania led by archaeologist. Fantastic time, really packed in as much history as possible! Guide was brilliant. A holiday for genuine enthusiasts!

Rating for tour operator:

Really well organised tour, friendly staff.

Andante Travel by Ange, 14 Sep 2013
Holiday Rating:

Romania: Frontier Lands of Transylvania and Dobruga (archaeology)

For much of its history Romania has been a frontier land and we learnt about its occupation by the Greeks, Dacians, and Romans through to the medieval period, visiting relevant sites from Constanta in the east to Hunedoara in the west, and led as a group by a Romanian archaeologist.

For much of its history Romania has been a frontier land and we learnt about its occupation by the Greeks, Dacians, and Romans through to the medieval period, visiting relevant sites from Constanta in the east to Hunedoara in the west, and led as a group by a Romanian archaeologist.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with Andante on many occasions and have appreciated the high quality of their tours, so have returned happily stimulated and informed time and time again.